DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeta et al (US 2018/0293929; hereinafter Shigeta).
• Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Shigeta discloses a display, pixel drive circuit, and method (figures 11 and 12) comprising:
an array of micro-LEDs (µLEDs) (elements 100 in figure 11 and element 130 in figures 1 and 2 and ¶s 50-53); and
a pixel drive circuit configured to drive each uLED of the array (elements 110, 120, and 140 in figures 1 and 2 ¶s 54-57),
each pixel drive circuit comprising:
a drive transistor including a gate terminal configured to control a gate voltage of the drive transistor based on a demura compensation voltage signal to control a current supplied to the µLED to adjust an amount of light emitted by the µLED (element 125-1 in figure 2A and ¶s 54-57 and 241; where the claimed “demura compensation” is seen to be equivalent to the disclosed corrections made to Va and Vw “to heighten the luminance uniformity” and where ¶s 87 and 88 disclose where Va is applied to the gate of element 125-1 in figure 4A via element 112),
wherein a value of the demura compensation is based on at least one of a temperature of the pixel drive circuit and a desired brightness of the µLED (¶ 241, as previously explained).
• Regarding claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, 19, and 21-23, Shigeta discloses everything claimed, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15. Additionally, Shigeta discloses where:
Claims 4, 11, & 18: the pixel drive circuit further comprises a capacitor configured to store a value of the demura compensation (element 111 in figure 10B in view of ¶s 181 and 241).
Claims 5, 12, & 19: the pixel drive circuit further comprises a transistor configured to store a value of the demura compensation (element 112 in figure 10B in view of ¶s 181 and 241).
Claims 21-23: the pixel drive circuit comprises:
the µLED (element 130 in figures 1 and 2 and ¶s 50-53),
the µLED includes an electrode electrically connected to the drive transistor to allow current to flow from the drive transistor through the µLED (note the relationship between elements 125 and 130 in figure 2 and ¶ 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta, in view of Genoe (US 2015/0317951).
• Regarding claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20, Shigeta discloses everything claimed, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15. However, Shigeta fails to disclose the additional details of the display, pixel drive circuit, and method.
In the same field of endeavor, Genoe discloses where:
Claims 6, 13, & 20: the pixel drive circuit further comprises:
a dual gate transistor configured to store a pixel value and a value of the demura compensation (elements C1, C2, and M1 in figure 7 and ¶s 71-73).
Claims 7 & 14: the value of the demura compensation is stored while the display is off (¶ 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Shigeta according to the teachings of Genoe, for the purpose of driving the pixels in a display at substantially the same current (¶ 67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
a. Regarding applicant’s argument that “[t]he compensation circuit 1000 described in Shigeta does not apply a demura compensation voltage signal that is based on at least one of a temperature of the pixel drive circuit or a desired brightness of the PLED to a gate terminal of a drive transistor” (page 6), the examiner disagrees. Figure 10A and ¶ 209 discloses where “[t]he D/A converter 1020 may apply the amplitude setup voltage Va and the pulse width setup voltage Vw of the drive current Id corresponding to the image data or the image data corrected by the corrector 1010 to the data signal line 410” and ¶ 88 discloses where “the amplitude setting circuit 110 of the pixel circuit 400 may charge the capacitor 111 with the amplitude setup voltage Va applied through a data signal line 410 while the transistor 112 is turned on in accordance with the control signal GATE(n) input to the gate terminal of the transistor 112, and may apply the voltage charged in the capacitor 111 to the gate terminal of the driving transistor 125-1”. Therefore, Shigeta teaches the invention of claims 1, 8, and 15.
Closing Remarks/Comments
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN DANIELSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622