DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. he claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is reciting a program per se without any structural recitations (see MPEP § 2106.03). The computer and remote control device are only what the program is intended to be used for, they are not features of the claimed program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (“Lee”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0101233) in view of Palacharla (US Patent No. 8131151).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a remote control device that is connected to an optical node (fig. 3 as optical node and paragraph 0029, in view of paragraphs 0010-0014, the external source for the optical switch setting is the remote control device), a plurality of optical switches provided in the optical node are connected to each other (fig. 4 MEMS switches of element 100, paragraph 0039), a test beam is transmitted to one of the plurality of optical switches (fig. 3 element 310 and paragraph 0030), and whether or not an abnormality occurs in the plurality of optical switches is determined based on whether or not the test beam has been detected in the plurality of optical switches (fig. 3 element 360 and paragraphs 0031-0038). Lee is directed to an optical switch and its operation, not directed to an encompassing network, and thus does not disclose that the remote control device is connected to an optical fiber network in which a plurality of optical nodes are connected to each other and performs connection switching of the optical fiber network by remote operation using optical switches provided in the optical nodes. However, using optical switches in respective optical nodes of an optical network is conventional. Palacharla discloses an optical mesh network of optical switching nodes, with GMPLS control plane signaling for setting up light paths used for testing (figs. 1 and 3 and col. 2 lines 30-51, col. 6 lines 37-58 and col. 7 lines 27-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to network plural of the Lee nodes into a mesh network, with a central controller providing control plane signaling for externally sourcing the optical switch settings for the respective nodes, to provide the advantage of communicating between different locations with multiple signaling path options.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a method for detecting an abnormality which is executed by a remote control device that is connected to an optical node (fig. 3 as optical node and paragraph 0029, in view of paragraphs 0010-0014, the external source for the optical switch setting is the remote control device), the method comprising: connecting a plurality of optical switches provided in the optical node to each other (fig. 4 MEMS switches of element 100, paragraph 0039); transmitting a test beam to one of the plurality of optical switches (fig. 3 element 310 and paragraph 0030); and determining whether or not an abnormality occurs in the plurality of optical switches based on whether or not the test beam has been detected in the plurality of optical switches (fig. 3 element 360 and paragraphs 0031-0038). Lee is directed to an optical switch and its operation, not directed to an encompassing network, and thus does not disclose that the remote control device is connected to an optical fiber network in which a plurality of optical nodes are connected to each other and performs connection switching of the optical fiber network by remote operation using optical switches provided in the optical nodes. However, using optical switches in respective optical nodes of an optical network is conventional. Palacharla discloses an optical mesh network of optical switching nodes, with GMPLS control plane signaling for setting up light paths used for testing (figs. 1 and 3 and col. 2 lines 30-51, col. 6 lines 37-58 and col. 7 lines 27-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to network plural of the Lee nodes into a mesh network, with a central controller providing control plane signaling for externally sourcing the optical switch settings for the respective nodes, to provide the advantage of communicating between different locations with multiple signaling path options.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0101233) in view of Palacharla (US Patent No. 8131151), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ashwood-Smith (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0094577).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee and Palacharla discloses the remote control device according to claim 1, including with GMPLS control plane signaling for setting up optical mesh network light paths used for testing (Palacharla: figs. 1 and 3 and col. 2 lines 30-51, col. 6 lines 37-58 and col. 7 lines 27-52, as applicable for the combination) but does not disclose a program for causing a computer to function as the remote control device. Ashwood-Smith discloses implementing GMPLS signaling using a programmed computer (claims 14 and 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a programmed computer for the GMPLS signaling of the combination, since a programmable computer will be readily available and less expensive than custom hardware.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Optical switch/crossconnect management and/or testing – US Patent No. 6704508; US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0224033
Optical network connection testing – US Patent No. 7181138; US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0099099.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634