DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of PCT/CN2022/090607 on 4/29/2022 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant filed an IDS on 10/29/2024 and 8/14/2025. Each has been annotated and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 13 and 14), the Applicant claims a legged robot. As written, the robot can have any number of legs. However, according to Specification and drawings, only a four-legged version of a legged robot is disclosed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 13-14, 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN112327869 (hereinafter ‘69A).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 13 and 14), ‘69A teaches a legged robot control method (See at least: Figs. 2-3), comprising:
obtaining locomotion data of the legged robot;
determining a torso locomotion trajectory and foot placement of the legged robot according to the locomotion data and a preset inverted pendulum model corresponding to the legged robot (See at least: “The invention maps the diagonal gait motion model of the four-footed robot to a new inertial coordinate space, in one plane of the space, the robot is equivalent to inverted pendulum model, realizing the trunk attitude control and speed following, ensuring the balance and stability of the trunk.”); and
controlling the legged robot to perform lateral step locomotion based on the torso locomotion trajectory, such that feet of the legged robot move to the foot placement (See at least: As shown in FIG. 1, the present embodiment provides a four-footed robot based joint speed planning of the four-footed robot diagonal gait motion control method, comprising: mapping the robot diagonal gait motion model to the inertial coordinate space; in one plane of the inertial coordinate space, selecting the foot drop point according to the lateral speed of the trunk target, so as to control the lateral speed of the trunk; according to the target height of the body, forward speed and steering speed to obtain the hip joint position of the leg part; according to the position of the hip joint the transformation matrix of the inertial coordinate space to the trunk coordinate space, obtaining the position coordinate of the foot in the trunk coordinate space; controlling the diagonal gait motion of the robot according to the joint velocity of the leg of the foot obtained by the position coordinate of the foot and the selected foot drop point.).
Regarding claim 4 (and similarly 18 and 24), teaches wherein obtaining the locomotion data of the legged robot comprises: obtaining lateral disturbance data of a torso of the legged robot, wherein the lateral disturbance data includes lateral velocity and lateral displacement; and in response to the lateral disturbance data exceeding a preset disturbance threshold, determining that the lateral disturbance data is the locomotion data, wherein the preset disturbance threshold comprises a preset velocity threshold or a preset displacement threshold (See at least: “the second test is the anti-disturbance ability of the test algorithm; in the process of the robot to the diagonal gait, applying impact force to the body side; the robot is capable of actively adjusting leg movement after being impacted by lateral impact, ensuring balance and stability of the body.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘69A in view of Zhang (US 20190184575 hereinafter Zhang) and further in view of Takenaka et al. (US 20050021176 hereinafter Takenaka).
Regarding claim 2 (and similarly 16 and 22), ‘69A fails to teach the following limitations but teaches wherein obtaining the locomotion data of the legged robot comprises:
obtaining a working mode of the legged robot, wherein the working mode includes a dancing mode; and
in response to the lateral step locomotion in the dancing mode, obtaining a locomotion amplitude and a direction corresponding to the lateral step locomotion, and using the locomotion amplitude and the direction as the locomotion data.
However, Zhang teaches obtaining a working mode of the legged robot, wherein the working mode includes a dancing mode (See at least: [0025] FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a method for controlling the service robot to dance following the beats of a song in a regular dance mode according to another embodiment of the present disclosure;).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify ‘69A in view of Zhang to teach obtaining a working mode of the legged robot, wherein the working mode includes a dancing mode so the legged robot can be controlled specifically according to motions required in a dance mode which may go beyond standard lateral stepping.
Modified ‘69A further fails to teach in response to the lateral step locomotion in the dancing mode, obtaining a locomotion amplitude and a direction corresponding to the lateral step locomotion, and using the locomotion amplitude and the direction as the locomotion data.
However, Takenaka teaches obtaining a locomotion amplitude and a direction corresponding to the lateral step locomotion, and using the locomotion amplitude and the direction as the locomotion data (See at least: [0516] Then, the process proceeds to step S1302, where a characteristic quantity, such as amplitude or phase, of the reference body vertical position trajectory is calculated (extracted) in order to determine the floor reaction force vertical component trajectory which allows generation of a desired body vertical position trajectory resembling the reference body vertical position trajectory as closely as possible. For example, the amplitude of the reference body vertical position trajectory (that is, the difference between the minimum value and the maximum value thereof) is calculated as a characteristic quantity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to take modified ‘69A in view of Takenaka to teach in response to the lateral step locomotion in the dancing mode, obtaining a locomotion amplitude and a direction corresponding to the lateral step locomotion, and using the locomotion amplitude and the direction as the locomotion data so that the amplitude of the legged robot can be measured and tracked to generate the proper force with the floor in order to maintain stable control of the body while moving.
Conclusion
/HARRY Y OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657