DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 5/12/2026.
Claims 1-19 are subject to examination. Claims 16-19 are newly added claims.
An IDS filed 6/9/2025 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) in view of Sasaki et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2016/0026365 (hereinafter Sasaki)
With respect to claim 1, Kim2 teaches a display device (Paragraph 50), comprising:
-a wireless communication interface configured to transmit and receive signals with at least on peripheral device (i.e. mobile robot and the home appliance may perform communication through Bluetooth, wifi other short-distance wireless communication)(Paragraph 125)
-a controller configured to obtain a floor plan (Paragraph 85-86)
a display configured to display a home map (i.e. home appliance map) at least one peripheral device icon are arranged on the floor plan (i.e. home appliance map through a mobile terminal wherein the home appliance may may be displayed on a display of the mobile terminal. In this map, it shows mobile robot icon, ventilator icon, computer icon, refrigerator icon, air conditioner icon)(Fig. 10)(Paragraph 184, 186-189), wherein the controller is configured to: receive a command for selecting one peripheral device icon among the at least one device icon on the home map (i.e. when the home appliance map is indicated on the mobile terminal, and touch input of selecting an icon corresponding to a washing machine is received among icons respectively corresponding to a plurality of home appliances indicated on the home appliance map, the mobile terminal may additionally receive a command with respect to an operation to be performed by the selected washing machine) (Paragraph 139),
-receive a control command for the selected peripheral device icon (i.e. upon receiving a cleaning command, the controller may determine whether a position on the map and the current position of the mobile robot correspond to each other) (Paragraph 89, 138-139)
transmit a control signal to a peripheral device corresponding to the selected peripheral device icon to operate according to the control command (i.e. mobile terminal may generate a control command and may transmit the same to the mobile robot)(Paragraph 137, 139-142), and
when receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map (i.e. mobile robot moves to the traveling area, and may determine an operation state of each of the illumination apparatus wherein the positions of the illumination apparatus are acquired image when the mobile robot moves)(Paragraph 188), display the home map which the peripheral device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position of the peripheral device icon (i.e. position of the illumination apparatuses which are functionally equivalent to the peripheral devices are displayed in the home based mobile robot moving and determining operational state of each of the illumination apparatuses(Paragraph 188)(Fig. 10)
Although Kim2 teaches implicitly teaches receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon, but Kim2 does not explicitly state that input is sent by the user.
Sasaki teaches when receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map (i.e. user moves the device icon to an appropriate position on the floor plan for each the device on the floor plan)(Paragraph 223-225); display the home map which the peripheral device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position of the peripheral device icon (Paragraph 221-225, 216)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Sasaki’s teaching in Kim2’s teaching to come up with having receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map and displaying the home map where the device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position. The motivation for doing so would be to remotely control the selected home appliance using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, wherein a robotic vacuum or robot can travel through the floor plan at ease based on the actual arrangement of the appliances in the home.
With respect to claim 8, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: display a plurality of floor plans (i.e. plurality of areas), and when receiving a command to select at least one of the displayed plurality of floor plans (i.e. classify plurality of small areas and plurality of large separate area) (Paragraph 65, 66, 93-96), obtain the home map based on the selected floor plan (i.e. selecting priority area first)(Paragraph 95)
With respect to claim 9, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain position information of the peripheral device through ultra-wideband (UWB) communication (Paragraph 125)
With respect to claim 10, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 9, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: detect a movement of a position of the peripheral device (i.e. position of the mobile robot) through the ultra-wideband communication (i.e. short-distance wireless communication) (Paragraph 125), and when the movement of the position of the peripheral device is detected (Paragraph 125-126), display the home map by changing the position of the peripheral device on the floor plan according to the detected movement of the position (Paragraph 131)
With respect to claim 11, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: detect the at least on peripheral device icon through wireless communication(i.e. wireless communication))(Paragraph 125, 142)
With respect to claim 16, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 1, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the peripheral device includes at least one of a TV, an air conditioner, a refrigerator, a washing machine, a dryer, a vacuum cleaner, a robot vacuum cleaner, a clothes manager or lighting (Paragraph 125)
With respect to claim 17, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 1, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive an input for selecting an operation of the selected peripheral device icon after receiving the command for selecting the peripheral device icon (Paragraph 138-139, 143)
With respect claim 19, it teaches same limitation as claim 1, therefore rejected under same basis.
Claim(s) 2-6, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) in view of Sasaki further in view of Link et al. U.S. Patent # 11,533,531 (hereinafter Link)
With respect to claim 2, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: when receiving a do-not-disturb setting command for a first peripheral device from a first user terminal, set the first peripheral device to a do-not-disturb mode controlled only by the first user terminal
Link teaches when receiving a do-not-disturb setting command for a first peripheral device from a first user terminal, set the first peripheral device to a do-not-disturb mode controlled only by the first user terminal (i.e. user may select a status of do not disturb for any number of devices. The user may use the application on a smart phone to set all devices to do not disturb status) (column 11 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim2 and Sasaki’s teaching to come up with receiving do not disturb command for a peripheral device from a user terminal and setting the do not disturb mode controlled by the first user terminal. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid operating the peripheral device during meeting or certain important time period such baby sleeping to avoid disturbing the baby etc.
With respect to claim 3, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the first peripheral device is displayed with a controllable icon on a home map displayed on the first user terminal (Paragraph 191-193), and the first peripheral device is displayed with an uncontrollable icon on the home map displayed on a second user terminal (i.e. TV) (Paragraph 194)
With respect to claim 4, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 2, but Link further teaches further comprising a microphone for obtaining a voice command for setting a do-not-disturb (column 12 lines 14-16)(column 24 lines 26-45), and the controller is configured to: detect a user terminal when receiving the voice command for setting the do-not-disturb (column 24 lines 26-45)(column 22 lines 45-51), and set a first peripheral device located in a first area where a first user terminal is located to a do-not-disturb mode when the first user terminal is detected (column 24 lines 26-45)(column 22 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim2 and Sasaki’s teaching to come up with receiving do not disturb command for a peripheral device from a user terminal and setting the do not disturb mode controlled by the first user terminal. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid operating the peripheral device during meeting or certain important time period such baby sleeping to avoid disturbing the baby etc.
With respect to claim 5, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 4, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the first peripheral device is displayed with a controllable icon on a home map displayed on the first user terminal and a user terminal located in the first area (Fig. 10), and the first peripheral device is displayed with an uncontrollable icon on a home map displayed on a user terminal located in a second area (i.e. different room) (Fig. 10)(Paragraph 131, 139-142).)
With respect to claim 6, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 4, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: release setting for the first peripheral device when detecting departure of the first user terminal from the first area (Paragraph 215)
Kim2 does not explicitly teach releasing the do-not-disturb mode setting.
Link teaches do-not-disturb mode setting (column 11 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim2 and Sasaki’s teaching to come up with releasing do not disturb setting for the first peripheral device when detecting departure of the first user terminal from the first area. The motivation for doing so would be to going back to normal operating status once meeting has ended to let the appliance finish its task.
With respect to claim 12, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 2, but Sasaki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain names of each space distinguished on the floor plan (Fig. 52, 53, 56)(Paragraph 404-405, 42), display the obtained each name on the home map (Fig. 52, 53, 56)(Paragraph 404-405, 422).
With respect to claim 13, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 12, but Sasaki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: when receiving a command for changing the name of at least one space, display the home map according to the changed name (Paragraph 405, 597)
With respect to claim 14, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 12, but Sasaki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain a name of the space based on a time each of a plurality of user terminals stayed in each space distinguished on the floor plan (Paragraph 597-601, 602-603)
With respect to claim 15, Kim2, Sasaki and Link teaches the display device of claim 12, but Sasaki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: set a name of a first space to a name of a first user if a first user terminal stays in the first space for a predetermined time or longer (Paragraph 403-405), and, if a control command including the name of the first user and a type of device is received, transmit a control signal to a peripheral device corresponding to the type of device placed in the first space (Paragraph 439-442)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) in view of Sasaki further in view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2014/0167931 (hereinafter Lee)
With respect to claim 7, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 1, but fails to further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: when a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained, and obtain the home map based on the floor plan corresponding to the obtained home address
Lee teaches when a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained, and obtain the home map based on the floor plan corresponding to the obtained home address (Paragraph 66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Lee’s teaching in Kim2 and Sasaki’s teaching to come up with having a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained. The motivation for doing so would be the room can edited virtually according to user’s demand so see what the changes will look like.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) in view of Sasaki further in view of Minamino et al. U.S. Patent # 2011/0029311 (hereinafter Minamino)
With respect to claim 18, Kim2 and Sasaki teaches the display device of claim 1, but Sasaki teach wherein the controller is configured to: obtain a command including a name of at least one space on the home map, a name of a peripheral device and an operation(Fig. 52, 53, 56)(Paragraph 404-405, 422) but Kim2 and Sasaki does not teach command being voice command.
Minamino teaches obtaining a voice command including name of at least one space on the home map, a name of the peripheral device and operation (Paragraph 309). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Minamino’s teaching in Kim2 and Sasaki’s teaching to come up with a voice command. The motivation for doing so would be to have a voice instructions, a robot dialogue system which configured to make conversation with a user with ease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A). Applicant states Kim2 does not teach wherein receiving an input that sets a position…of the peripheral device icon.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant because in Paragraph 188, Fig, 10, Kim2 teaches when receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map (i.e. mobile robot moves to the traveling area, and may determine an operation state of each of the illumination apparatus wherein the positions of the illumination apparatus are acquired image when the mobile robot moves)(Paragraph 188), display the home map which the peripheral device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position of the peripheral device icon (i.e. position of the illumination apparatuses which are functionally equivalent to the peripheral devices are displayed in the home based mobile robot moving and determining operational state of each of the illumination apparatuses(Paragraph 188)(Fig. 10)
Although Kim2 teaches implicitly teaches receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon, but Kim2 does not explicitly state that input is sent by the user.
Sasaki teaches when receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map (i.e. user moves the device icon to an appropriate position on the floor plan for each the device on the floor plan)(Paragraph 223-225); display the home map which the peripheral device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position of the peripheral device icon (Paragraph 221-225, 216)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Sasaki’s teaching in Kim2’s teaching to come up with having receiving an input that sets a position of one peripheral device icon among the at least one peripheral device icon on the home map and displaying the home map where the device icon is arranged according to the input that sets the position. The motivation for doing so would be to remotely control the selected home appliance using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, wherein a robotic vacuum or robot can travel through the floor plan at ease based on the actual arrangement of the appliances in the home.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Sasaki et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0373874 which teaches about second control screen Is displayed on a display as overlapped on second display screen and outing second control command to the network.
B). Jeong et al. U.S. Patent # 11,132,886
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453