DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Application # 18/861,497 was filed on 10/29/2024.
Claims 1-15 are subject to examination.
An IDS filed 8/25/2025 and 10/29/2024 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0404387 (hereinafter Kim1) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2)
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (Paragraph 50), comprising:
-a wireless communication interface (Fig. 1 element 173) configured to transmit and receive signals with at least one peripheral device (i.e. Display device and another display device which can be a wearable device, smart watch, glass etc.) (Paragraph 81-82); a controller configured to obtain position information of the peripheral device (i.e. movement of the remote controller sensed by a sensor of the remote controller is transmitted to the image display apparatus) (Paragraph 108-113) and
Kim1 does not explicitly show a display configured to display a home map in which peripheral devices are arranged on a floor plan based on the position information of the peripheral device, wherein the controller is configured to: when receiving a control command for at least one peripheral device displayed on the home map, transmit a control signal to the peripheral device to operate according to the control command.
Kim2 teaches a display configured to display a home map (i.e. home appliance map) in which peripheral devices are arranged on a floor plan based on the position information of the peripheral device (i.e. home appliance map may indicate the operation state of the homes appliance as well as the type and the position of the appliance and provides different appliance location in the map)(Fig. 10)(Paragraph 131, 139), wherein the controller is configured to: when receiving a control command for at least one peripheral device (i.e. when the home appliance map is indicated on the mobile terminal, and touch input of selecting an icon corresponding to a washing machine is received among icons respectively corresponding to a plurality of home appliances indicated on the home appliance map, the mobile terminal may additionally receive a command with respect to an operation to be performed by the selected washing machine) (Paragraph 139), transmit a control signal to the peripheral device to operate according to the control command (i.e. mobile terminal may generate a control command and may transmit the same to the mobile robot)(Paragraph 139-142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kim2’s teaching in Kim1’s teaching to come up with having displaying a home map in which peripheral devices are arranged and receiving control command for at least one peripheral device. The motivation for doing so would be to remotely control the selected home appliance using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth.
With respect to claim 8, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: display a plurality of floor plans (i.e. plurality of areas), and when receiving a command to select at least one of the displayed plurality of floor plans (i.e. classify plurality of small areas and plurality of large separate area) (Paragraph 65, 66, 93-96), obtain the home map based on the selected floor plan (i.e. selecting priority area first)(Paragraph 95)
With respect to claim 9, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim1 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain position information of the peripheral device through ultra-wideband (UWB) communication (Paragraph 71, 81)
With respect to claim 10, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 9, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: detect a movement of a position of the peripheral device (i.e. position of the mobile robot) through the ultra-wideband communication (i.e. short-distance wireless communication) (Paragraph 125), and when the movement of the position of the peripheral device is detected (Paragraph 125-126), display the home map by changing the position of the peripheral device on the floor plan according to the detected movement of the position (Paragraph 131)
With respect to claim 11, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive an input (i.e. turning the illumination) that sets at least one of type or position (i.e. when vacuum enters the room) of the peripheral device on the floor plan (i.e. when the main body of the vacuum enters the room, the illumination turns on)(Paragraph 214-215)
Claim(s) 2-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0404387 (hereinafter Kim1) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) further in view of Link et al. U.S. Patent # 11,533,531 (hereinafter Link)
With respect to claim 2, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: when receiving a do-not-disturb setting command for a first peripheral device from a first user terminal, set the first peripheral device to a do-not-disturb mode controlled only by the first user terminal
Link teaches when receiving a do-not-disturb setting command for a first peripheral device from a first user terminal, set the first peripheral device to a do-not-disturb mode controlled only by the first user terminal (i.e. user may select a status of do not disturb for any number of devices. The user may use the application on a smart phone to set all devices to do not disturb status) (column 11 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim1 and Kim2’s teaching to come up with receiving do not disturb command for a peripheral device from a user terminal and setting the do not disturb mode controlled by the first user terminal. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid operating the peripheral device during meeting or certain important time period such baby sleeping to avoid disturbing the baby etc.
With respect to claim 3, Kim1, Kim2 and Link teaches the display device of claim 2, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the first peripheral device is displayed with a controllable icon on a home map displayed on the first user terminal (Paragraph 191-193), and the first peripheral device is displayed with an uncontrollable icon on the home map displayed on a second user terminal (i.e. TV) (Paragraph 194)
With respect to claim 4, Kim1, Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 2, but Link further teaches further comprising a microphone for obtaining a voice command for setting a do-not-disturb (column 12 lines 14-16)(column 24 lines 26-45), and the controller is configured to: detect a user terminal when receiving the voice command for setting the do-not-disturb (column 24 lines 26-45)(column 22 lines 45-51), and set a first peripheral device located in a first area where a first user terminal is located to a do-not-disturb mode when the first user terminal is detected (column 24 lines 26-45)(column 22 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim1 and Kim2’s teaching to come up with receiving do not disturb command for a peripheral device from a user terminal and setting the do not disturb mode controlled by the first user terminal. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid operating the peripheral device during meeting or certain important time period such baby sleeping to avoid disturbing the baby etc.
With respect to claim 5, Kim1, Kim2 and Link teaches the display device of claim 4, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the first peripheral device is displayed with a controllable icon on a home map displayed on the first user terminal and a user terminal located in the first area (Fig. 10), and the first peripheral device is displayed with an uncontrollable icon on a home map displayed on a user terminal located in a second area (i.e. different room) (Fig. 10)(Paragraph 131, 139-142).)
With respect to claim 6, Kim1, Kim2 and Link teaches the display device of claim 4, but Kim2 further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: release setting for the first peripheral device when detecting departure of the first user terminal from the first area (Paragraph 215)
Kim2 does not explicitly teach releasing the do-not-disturb mode setting.
Link teaches do-not-disturb mode setting (column 11 lines 45-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Link’s teaching in Kim1 and Kim2’s teaching to come up with releasing do not disturb setting for the first peripheral device when detecting departure of the first user terminal from the first area. The motivation for doing so would be to going back to normal operating status once meeting has ended to let the appliance finish its task.
Claim(s) 7, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0404387 (hereinafter Kim1) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0387945 (hereinafter Kim2) further in view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2014/0167931 (hereinafter Lee)
With respect to claim 7, Kim1, Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 1, but fails to further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: when a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained, and obtain the home map based on the floor plan corresponding to the obtained home address
Lee teaches when a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained, and obtain the home map based on the floor plan corresponding to the obtained home address (Paragraph 66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Lee’s teaching in Kim1 and Kim 2’s teaching to come up with having a home address is entered, a floor plan corresponding to the entered home address is obtained. The motivation for doing so would be the room can edited virtually according to user’s demand so see what the changes will look like.
With respect to claim 12, Kim1 and Kim2 teaches the display device of claim 2, but does not explicitly further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain names of each space distinguished on the floor plan.
Lee teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain names of each space distinguished on the floor plan (Fig. 11 and Fig. 12)(Paragraph 100-102). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Lee’s teaching in Kim1 and Kim2’s teaching to come up with having obtain names of each space distinguished on the floor plan. The motivation for doing so would be to distinguish each area/room with different devices and appliances and provide different setting for each device/appliance for respectively different rooms.
With respect to claim 13, Kim1, Kim2 and Lee teaches the display device of claim 12, but Lee further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: change a name of the space based on a position movement of at least one user terminal (Paragraph 67)(Paragraph 100-105)(Fig. 11 and Fig. 12)
With respect to claim 14, Kim1, Kim2 and Lee teaches the display device of claim 12, but Lee further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain a name of the space based on a time each of a plurality of user terminals stayed in each space distinguished on the floor plan (Paragraph 101-102)
With respect to claim 15, Kim1, Kim2 and Lee teaches the display device of claim 12, but Lee further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: set a name of a first space to a name of a first user if a first user terminal stays in the first space for a predetermined time or longer (Paragraph 101-102), and, if a control command including the name of the first user and a type of device is received, transmit a control signal to a peripheral device corresponding to the type of device placed in the first space (Paragraph 101-102)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Sasaki et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0373874 which teaches about second control screen Is displayed on a display as overlapped on second display screen and outing second control command to the network.
B). Jeong et al. U.S. Patent # 11,132,886
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453