DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, 13-19, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US 2020/0187033 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Tang discloses A method, comprising and A wireless device, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and adapted to (Fig. 14, [0163]: communication apparatus 60 / terminal includes a storage module 603, a processing module 601, and a communications module 602):
receiving, by a wireless device, information on a cell list associated with a height range (Fig. 8, [0098]: 403. The terminal receives the measurement configuration information sent by the network device. [0089]: the measurement configuration information includes at least … height configuration information. [0093]: The height configuration information includes height information and a reporting trigger hysteresis value corresponding to the height information, the height information includes a plurality of height ranges, and the plurality of height ranges each may correspond to one reporting trigger hysteresis value. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list. After receiving the measurement configuration information, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Only when a measurement result that is of a cell in the cell list and that is obtained by the terminal through measurement meets the first condition, the terminal reports the measurement result of the cell in the cell list to the network device by using the foregoing reporting trigger hysteresis value related to the height configuration information);
monitoring, by the wireless device, a current height of the wireless device (Fig. 8, [0112]: the terminal first needs to determine a height of the terminal and determine a first reporting trigger hysteresis value according to the height. [0113]: Therefore, the terminal determines the first reporting trigger hysteresis value by using a current height of the terminal);
setting, by the wireless device, a measurement report while the current height of the wireless device is in the height range (Fig. 8, [0115]: after the terminal determines the height of the terminal, the terminal compares the height of the terminal with the plurality of height ranges, and determines that the height of the terminal is within a first height range, and the first height range corresponds to the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. In this case, the terminal reports the measurement report to the network device if the terminal determines that the duration in which the measurement result of the first neighboring cell meets the first condition reaches the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. For example, it is assumed that the first height range is [0, 100 m], the corresponding first reporting trigger hysteresis value is 80 ms, a second height range is (100, 200 m], and a corresponding second reporting trigger hysteresis value is 160 ms. When the terminal is at a height of 90 m, a corresponding height range is the first height range, and the first height range corresponds to the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. In this case, a reporting trigger hysteresis value obtained by the terminal is the first reporting trigger hysteresis value);
determining, by the wireless device, whether the measurement report includes measurement results of a first cell based on the cell list (Fig. 8, [0100]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list. After receiving the measurement configuration information, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Only when a measurement result that is of a cell in the cell list and that is obtained by the terminal through measurement meets the first condition, the terminal reports the measurement result of the cell in the cell list to the network device by using the foregoing reporting trigger hysteresis value related to the height configuration information); and
transmitting, by the wireless device, the measurement report (Fig. 8, [0102]: 405. The terminal reports the measurement report to the network device according to the measurement configuration information. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list. After receiving the measurement configuration information, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Only when a measurement result that is of a cell in the cell list and that is obtained by the terminal through measurement meets the first condition, the terminal reports the measurement result of the cell in the cell list to the network device by using the foregoing reporting trigger hysteresis value related to the height configuration information).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 16, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 15 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the measurement report includes measurement results of the first cell based on the first cell being included in an allowed cell list ([0100]-[0101]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell according to the measurement configuration information. It should be noted that the measurement configuration information includes the report configuration identifier used by the terminal to report the neighboring cell measurement result, and further includes the measurement object identifier used by the terminal to measure the neighboring cell, and the specific configuration information content. The configuration information content includes the measurement object information and the report configuration information. The measurement object identifier corresponds to one measurement object configuration item. In other words, the network device configures, in the measurement object configuration item, the object that needs to be measured by the terminal. The measurement object configuration item may include the … the cell list).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 17, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 15as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the measurement report includes measurement results of the first cell based on the first cell not being included in an excluded cell list ([0100]-[0101]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell according to the measurement configuration information. It should be noted that the measurement configuration information includes the report configuration identifier used by the terminal to report the neighboring cell measurement result, and further includes the measurement object identifier used by the terminal to measure the neighboring cell, and the specific configuration information content. The configuration information content includes the measurement object information and the report configuration information. The measurement object identifier corresponds to one measurement object configuration item. In other words, the network device configures, in the measurement object configuration item, the object that needs to be measured by the terminal. The measurement object configuration item may include the … the cell blacklist).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 18, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 15 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the measurement report does not include measurement results of a second cell based on the second cell being included in an excluded cell list ([0100]-[0101]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell according to the measurement configuration information. It should be noted that the measurement configuration information includes the report configuration identifier used by the terminal to report the neighboring cell measurement result, and further includes the measurement object identifier used by the terminal to measure the neighboring cell, and the specific configuration information content. The configuration information content includes the measurement object information and the report configuration information. The measurement object identifier corresponds to one measurement object configuration item. In other words, the network device configures, in the measurement object configuration item, the object that needs to be measured by the terminal. The measurement object configuration item may include the … the cell blacklist).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 19, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 15 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the measurement report does not include measurement results of a second cell based on the second cell not being included in an allowed cell list ([0100]-[0101]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell according to the measurement configuration information. It should be noted that the measurement configuration information includes the report configuration identifier used by the terminal to report the neighboring cell measurement result, and further includes the measurement object identifier used by the terminal to measure the neighboring cell, and the specific configuration information content. The configuration information content includes the measurement object information and the report configuration information. The measurement object identifier corresponds to one measurement object configuration item. In other words, the network device configures, in the measurement object configuration item, the object that needs to be measured by the terminal. The measurement object configuration item may include the … the cell list).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the cell list includes an allowed cell list and/or an excluded cell list ([0100]-[0101]: 404. The terminal measures the neighboring cell according to the measurement configuration information. It should be noted that the measurement configuration information includes the report configuration identifier used by the terminal to report the neighboring cell measurement result, and further includes the measurement object identifier used by the terminal to measure the neighboring cell, and the specific configuration information content. The configuration information content includes the measurement object information and the report configuration information. The measurement object identifier corresponds to one measurement object configuration item. In other words, the network device configures, in the measurement object configuration item, the object that needs to be measured by the terminal. The measurement object configuration item may include the … the cell list, the cell blacklist).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the wireless device is a mobile device capable of vertical mobility (Fig. 2, [0061]: terminal shown in FIG. 2 may be a drone. [0112]: the terminal first needs to determine a height of the terminal).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the height range is indicated by a maximum height and/or a minimum height ([0115]: the height configuration information includes height information and a reporting trigger hysteresis value corresponding to the height information, the height information includes a plurality of height ranges, and the plurality of height ranges each correspond to one reporting trigger hysteresis value... For example, it is assumed that the first height range is [0, 100 m], the corresponding first reporting trigger hysteresis value is 80 ms, a second height range is (100, 200 m], and a corresponding second reporting trigger hysteresis value is 160 ms.).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the information on the cell list associated with the height range is included in a measurement configuration ([0089]: the measurement configuration information includes at least … height configuration information. [0093]: The height configuration information includes height information and a reporting trigger hysteresis value corresponding to the height information, the height information includes a plurality of height ranges, and the plurality of height ranges each may correspond to one reporting trigger hysteresis value. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang discloses wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (Fig. 2, [0060]: The terminal communicates with the network device by using a wireless communications technology. Fig. 8, [0097]: 402. The network device sends the measurement configuration information to the terminal. [0098]: 403. The terminal receives the measurement configuration information sent by the network device).
Regarding claim 32, Tang discloses A base station, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and adapted to (Fig. 16, [0171]: communications apparatus 80 / network device includes a storage module 803, a processing module 801, and a communications module 802):
provide, to a wireless device, information on a cell list associated with a height range (Fig. 8, [0097]: 402. The network device sends the measurement configuration information to the terminal. [0098]: 403. The terminal receives the measurement configuration information sent by the network device. [0089]: the measurement configuration information includes at least … height configuration information. [0093]: The height configuration information includes height information and a reporting trigger hysteresis value corresponding to the height information, the height information includes a plurality of height ranges, and the plurality of height ranges each may correspond to one reporting trigger hysteresis value. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list. After receiving the measurement configuration information, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Only when a measurement result that is of a cell in the cell list and that is obtained by the terminal through measurement meets the first condition, the terminal reports the measurement result of the cell in the cell list to the network device by using the foregoing reporting trigger hysteresis value related to the height configuration information); and
receive, from the wireless device, measurement report which is set based on the cell list and a height of the wireless device (Fig. 8, [0141]: 406. The network device receives the measurement report reported by the terminal. [0102]: 405. The terminal reports the measurement report to the network device according to the measurement configuration information. [0122]: the measurement configuration information further includes the cell list. After receiving the measurement configuration information, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Only when a measurement result that is of a cell in the cell list and that is obtained by the terminal through measurement meets the first condition, the terminal reports the measurement result of the cell in the cell list to the network device by using the foregoing reporting trigger hysteresis value related to the height configuration information. [0115]: after the terminal determines the height of the terminal, the terminal compares the height of the terminal with the plurality of height ranges, and determines that the height of the terminal is within a first height range, and the first height range corresponds to the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. In this case, the terminal reports the measurement report to the network device if the terminal determines that the duration in which the measurement result of the first neighboring cell meets the first condition reaches the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. For example, it is assumed that the first height range is [0, 100 m], the corresponding first reporting trigger hysteresis value is 80 ms, a second height range is (100, 200 m], and a corresponding second reporting trigger hysteresis value is 160 ms. When the terminal is at a height of 90 m, a corresponding height range is the first height range, and the first height range corresponds to the first reporting trigger hysteresis value. In this case, a reporting trigger hysteresis value obtained by the terminal is the first reporting trigger hysteresis value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2020/0187033 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0388874 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang does not disclose, but Park discloses receiving, by the wireless device, information on a first cell list associated with a first height range and a second cell list associated with a second height range ([0257]: The neighbor cell information may comprise a first field indicating that the first cell has the at least one first neighbor cell at the first height level and/or a second field indicating that the first cell has the at least one second neighbor cell at the second height level … the second base station may send, to the wireless device and based on the neighbor cell information, a measurement configuration for the first cell, the at least one first neighbor cell (e.g., based on wireless device being at the first height level), the at least one second neighbor cell, and/or the like),
wherein a first cell is included in the first cell list and a second cell is included in the second cell list ([0257]: first cell has the at least one first neighbor cell … the first cell has the at least one second neighbor cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement configuration information, as taught by Tang, to further include a measurement configuration for a first cell, the at least one first neighbor cell, the at least one second neighbor cell, etc. based on a first field indicating that the first cell has the at least one first neighbor cell at the first height level and/or a second field indicating that the first cell has the at least one second neighbor cell at the second height level, as taught by Park.
Doing so allows the wireless device to report measurement comprising at least one measurement result of the first cell so that the second base station can determine to handover the wireless device to the first cell (Park: [0257]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2020/0187033 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0242055 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Tang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Tang does not disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the cell list is configured per frequency ([0009]: The cell list may include a list of cells per a frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell list, as taught by Tang, to include a list of cells per a frequency, as taught by Kim.
Doing so allows the UE to perform measurements on a frequency corresponding to the cell list if at least one cell in the cell list is detected (Kim: [0007]-[0008]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov