DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
3. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
4. Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "a first extended direction" on line 2 is unclear on whether it is referring to "a first extended direction" as established in claim 1, or if it is referring to a different first extended direction. Examiner suggests rewording the limitation to "the first extended direction". Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "an original position point of the region image" on lines 1-2 is unclear on whether it is referring to "an original position point of the region image" as previously established in claim 2, or a newly established original position point. Examiner suggests rewording the limitation to "the original position point of the region image". Appropriate correction is required.
6. Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "a . Appropriate correction is required.
7. Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "an original position point of the region image" on lines 1-2 is unclear on whether it is referring to "an original position point of the region image" as previously established in claim . Appropriate correction is required.
8. Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "a . Appropriate correction is required.
9. Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "an original position point of the region image" on lines 1-2 is unclear on whether it is referring to "an original position point of the region image" as previously established in claim . Appropriate correction is required.
10. Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "a . Appropriate correction is required.
11. Claim 22 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation "an original position point of the region image" on lines 1-2 is unclear on whether it is referring to "an original position point of the region image" as previously established in claim . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
14. Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the displacement velocity" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as “the displacement velocity” was not previously established earlier in the claim or in any of the claims it is dependent on. For the purposes of examination, claim 20 will be treated as if it is dependent on claim 19, which does properly define “a displacement velocity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1, 6, 15-16, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20240273681 A1), hereinafter Huang '681, in view of Tao (CN 113490050 A), hereinafter Tao.
Regarding claim 1, Huang ‘681 teaches a method of video synthesis, comprising: obtaining a region image corresponding to a target object and a background image excluding the region image by performing an image segmentation (Fig. 2, paragraph 43-45, performing object segmentation to obtain a target object image, which is interpreted as a region image corresponding to a target object, and a background image) on an image frame in a video to be processed (Fig. 1, paragraph 37, video generating process, wherein the original input image is processed to obtain a target video which is interpreted as being an image frame in a video to be processed); determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image (paragraph 68-69, wherein performing mirror image rotation on the target region, wherein the target region contains the target object, is interpreted as determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image); and obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing a video synthesis on the target rendered image corresponding to the image frame (Fig. 4, paragraph 95-97, wherein target video acquiring module aligning and encoding frames in the plurality of target images, which is interpreted as including the target rendered image, to obtain a target video, is interpreted as obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing video synthesis on the target rendered image).
Huang ‘681 does not teach obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image; obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction; and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering.
Tao teaches obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a first positional relationship including a first direction and first distance of the target object relative to a first object is interpreted as a first extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the first object, which is interpreted as obtaining a first extended image by extending the region image in a first direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a second positional relationship including a second direction and second distance of the target object relative to a second object is interpreted as a second extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the second object, which is interpreted as obtaining a second extended image by extending the region image in a second direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering (Fig. 8A, paragraph 107-108, wherein the background, clones of the target object, which is interpreted as extended images, and the target object can be composited to obtain a composite frame; paragraph 134, wherein compositing involves drawing the target object, rendering material, and the background area onto different layers and composite the layers together to obtain a composite frame, which is interpreted as obtaining a target rendered image).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang with the teachings of Tao for this method of video synthesis. Huang ‘681 teaches a method to synthesize videos based on segmenting and obtaining a target object and a background image within an original image, and editing the obtained images to more efficiently synthesize a video that accurately conveys the specified edits. Similarly, Tao discusses segmenting a target object and a background in a video frame, and editing the target object by cloning the target object and synthesizing a new video frame, in order to more efficiently render multiple copies of the target object. Both references discuss video synthesis based on user inputted edits to an original frame, and both discuss segmenting a target object from the background as part of the image editing and video synthesizing process. As both references discuss analogous art for more effective video synthesis based on edits done on an original image, it would be obvious to combine them.
Regarding claim 7, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Tao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image, and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering comprises: obtaining the target rendered image at the end of the rendering by successively rendering the background image, the at least one first extended image, the at least one second extended image in an overlay way (Fig. 8A, paragraph 107-108, wherein the background image, clones of the target object, which is interpreted as extended images, and the target object can be composited to obtain a composite frame, which is interpreted as the extended images and the background images being rendered in an overlay way, wherein the extended images and the background are on a different rendering order), with the background image in a first rendering order, the at least one second extended image in a second rendering order and the at least one first extended image in a third rendering order (paragraph 103, wherein different objects and clones can be drawn into different intermediate buffer frames, which suggests that each clone can be drawn into separate intermediate buffer frames and suggests that each intermediate buffer frame can be drawn into a different layer, which is interpreted as the first extended image and second extended images being able to separate rendering orders).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Huang ‘681 teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory; the memory storing computer execution instructions (Fig. 5, paragraph 109); and the processor executing the computer execution instructions stored in the memory to cause the processor to be configured with a method of video synthesis, comprising: obtaining a region image corresponding to a target object and a background image excluding the region image by performing an image segmentation (Fig. 2, paragraph 43-45, performing object segmentation to obtain a target object image, which is interpreted as a region image corresponding to a target object, and a background image) on an image frame in a video to be processed (Fig. 1, paragraph 37, video generating process, wherein the original input image is processed to obtain a target video which is interpreted as being an image frame in a video to be processed); determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image (paragraph 68-69, wherein performing mirror image rotation on the target region, wherein the target region contains the target object, is interpreted as determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image); and obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing a video synthesis on the target rendered image corresponding to the image frame (Fig. 4, paragraph 95-97, wherein target video acquiring module aligning and encoding frames in the plurality of target images, which is interpreted as including the target rendered image, to obtain a target video, is interpreted as obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing video synthesis on the target rendered image).
Huang ‘681 does not teach obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image; obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction; and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering.
Tao teaches obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a first positional relationship including a first direction and first distance of the target object relative to a first object is interpreted as a first extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the first object, which is interpreted as obtaining a first extended image by extending the region image in a first direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a second positional relationship including a second direction and second distance of the target object relative to a second object is interpreted as a second extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the second object, which is interpreted as obtaining a second extended image by extending the region image in a second direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering (Fig. 8A, paragraph 107-108, wherein the background, clones of the target object, which is interpreted as extended images, and the target object can be composited to obtain a composite frame; paragraph 134, wherein compositing involves drawing the target object, rendering material, and the background area onto different layers and composite the layers together to obtain a composite frame, which is interpreted as obtaining a target rendered image).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Huang ‘681 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores computer execution instructions (Fig. 5, paragraph 109, storage device storing programs and data) which, when a processor executes the computer execution instructions, implement a method comprising: obtaining a region image corresponding to a target object and a background image excluding the region image by performing an image segmentation (Fig. 2, paragraph 43-45, performing object segmentation to obtain a target object image, which is interpreted as a region image corresponding to a target object, and a background image) on an image frame in a video to be processed (Fig. 1, paragraph 37, video generating process, wherein the original input image is processed to obtain a target video which is interpreted as being an image frame in a video to be processed); determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image (paragraph 68-69, wherein performing mirror image rotation on the target region, wherein the target region contains the target object, is interpreted as determining a mirror image corresponding to the region image); and obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing a video synthesis on the target rendered image corresponding to the image frame (Fig. 4, paragraph 95-97, wherein target video acquiring module aligning and encoding frames in the plurality of target images, which is interpreted as including the target rendered image, to obtain a target video, is interpreted as obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing video synthesis on the target rendered image).
Huang ‘681 does not teach obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image; obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction; and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering.
Tao teaches obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extension direction, the at least one first extended image comprising the region image (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a first positional relationship including a first direction and first distance of the target object relative to a first object is interpreted as a first extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the first object, which is interpreted as obtaining a first extended image by extending the region image in a first direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); obtaining at least one second extended image by extending the mirror image in a second extension direction, the first extension direction being different from the second extension direction (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a second positional relationship including a second direction and second distance of the target object relative to a second object is interpreted as a second extension direction; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the second object, which is interpreted as obtaining a second extended image by extending the region image in a second direction, wherein the extended image comprises clones of the region image); and rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering (Fig. 8A, paragraph 107-108, wherein the background, clones of the target object, which is interpreted as extended images, and the target object can be composited to obtain a composite frame; paragraph 134, wherein compositing involves drawing the target object, rendering material, and the background area onto different layers and composite the layers together to obtain a composite frame, which is interpreted as obtaining a target rendered image).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the device of claim 15. Additionally, Tao teaches the device of claim 15, wherein the rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image, and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering comprises: obtaining the target rendered image at the end of the rendering by successively rendering the background image, the at least one first extended image, the at least one second extended image in an overlay way (Fig. 8A, paragraph 107-108, wherein the background image, clones of the target object, which is interpreted as extended images, and the target object can be composited to obtain a composite frame, which is interpreted as the extended images and the background images being rendered in an overlay way, wherein the extended images and the background are on a different rendering order), with the background image in a first rendering order, the at least one second extended image in a second rendering order and the at least one first extended image in a third rendering order (paragraph 103, wherein different objects and clones can be drawn into different intermediate buffer frames, which suggests that each clone can be drawn into separate intermediate buffer frames and suggests that each intermediate buffer frame can be drawn into a different layer, which is interpreted as the first extended image and second extended images being able to separate rendering orders).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 1.
18. Claims 2, 4, 6, 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang ‘681 in view of Tao as applied to claims 1, 15 above, and further in view of Huang (US 10404996 B1), hereinafter Huang '996.
Regarding claim 2, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Huang ‘996 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extended direction comprises: determining a displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein determining point motion vectors between anchor points is interpreted as determining a displacement velocity, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of an object region of the image); obtaining, using an original position point of the region image as a basis, at least one forward displacement point corresponding to the original position point by performing a displacement processing according to the displacement velocity and the first extension direction (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-30, determining point motion vectors between anchor points, wherein anchor points in a first and second sequential frames are interpreted as an original point position and a forward displacement point, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of a region of the image).
Neither Huang ‘681 nor Huang ‘996 teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point.
Tao additionally teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a first positional relationship including a first direction and first distance of the target object relative to a first object is interpreted as including a forward displacement point; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the first object, which is interpreted as obtaining a first extended image by copying the region image to the forward displacement point).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang ‘681 in view of Tao to incorporate the teachings of Huang ‘996 for this method of video synthesis. Huang ‘681 teaches a method to synthesize videos based on segmenting and obtaining a target object and a background image within an original image, and editing the obtained images to more efficiently synthesize a video that accurately conveys the specified edits. Similarly, Tao discusses segmenting a target object and a background in a video frame, and editing the target object by cloning the target object and synthesizing a new video frame, in order to more efficiently render multiple copies of the target object. While Huang ‘996 does not discuss video synthesis, it does teach editing consecutive image frames by tracking motion vectors of objects within the image, in order to reduce overall noise in the images. It would be obvious to utilize the motion vector tracking and noise reduction detailed in Huang ‘996 in the image editing of both Huang ‘681 and Tao, in order to synthesize higher quality videos and to better track the target objects within the video. As Huang ‘681 and Tao both teach analogous art on image and video synthesis, and Huang ‘996 teaches helpful aspects for improving image quality, it would be obvious to combine them.
Regarding claim 4, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Huang ‘996 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a second extended direction comprises: determining a displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein determining point motion vectors between anchor points is interpreted as determining a displacement velocity, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of an object region of the image); obtaining, using an original position point of the region image as a basis, at least one reverse displacement point corresponding to the original position point by performing a displacement processing according to the displacement velocity and the first extension direction (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-30, determining point motion vectors between anchor points, wherein anchor points in a first and second sequential frames are interpreted as a reverse displacement point and an original position point, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of a region of the image).
Neither Huang ‘681 nor Huang ‘996 teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point.
Tao additionally teaches obtaining a second extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one reverse displacement point by copying the region image to the reverse displacement point (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a second positional relationship including a second direction and second distance of the target object relative to a second object is interpreted including a reverse displacement point; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the second object, which is interpreted as obtaining a second extended image by copying the region image to the reverse displacement point).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao and Huang ‘996 discloses the method of claim 2. Additionally, Huang ‘996 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the determining a displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame comprises: determining a previous image frame corresponding to the image frame in the video to be processed (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein changes in position of anchor points between two consecutive frames is determined, including determining from a previous image frame); determining a first position of the target object in the previous image frame and a second position of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein a point motion vector is determined by determining the position changes of anchor points between the two consecutive frames, which is interpreted as determining a first position of the anchor point in a previous image frame, and a second position of the anchor point of the image frame, and wherein the anchor point may correspond to a specific object within the frame); computing an amount of displacement corresponding to the target object based on the first position and the second position (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein determining a point motion vector corresponding to the anchor point is interpreted as computing the displacement based on a first and second position); and computing the displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame using a display time interval of the image frame of the video to be processed and the amount of displacement (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein the point motion vector is determined based on consecutive frames captured a specified time apart, and wherein the motion vector can have a specific magnitude and direction, which is interpreted as computing a displacement velocity based on a time interval between sequentially captured frames).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the electronic device of claim 15. Additionally, Huang ‘996 teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a first extended direction comprises: determining a displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein determining point motion vectors between anchor points is interpreted as determining a displacement velocity, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of an object region of the image); obtaining, using an original position point of the region image as a basis, at least one forward displacement point corresponding to the original position point by performing a displacement processing according to the displacement velocity and the first extension direction (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-30, determining point motion vectors between anchor points, wherein anchor points in a first and second sequential frames are interpreted as an original point position and a forward displacement point, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of a region of the image).
Neither Huang ‘681 nor Huang ‘996 teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point.
Tao additionally teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a first positional relationship including a first direction and first distance of the target object relative to a first object is interpreted as including a forward displacement point; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the first object, which is interpreted as obtaining a first extended image by copying the region image to the forward displacement point).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the electronic device of claim 15. Additionally, Huang ‘996 teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the obtaining at least one first extended image by extending the region image in a second extended direction comprises: determining a displacement velocity of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-23, wherein determining point motion vectors between anchor points is interpreted as determining a displacement velocity, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of an object region of the image); obtaining, using an original position point of the region image as a basis, at least one reverse displacement point corresponding to the original position point by performing a displacement processing according to the displacement velocity and the first extension direction (Fig. 8, Col. 5 lines 6-30, determining point motion vectors between anchor points, wherein anchor points in a first and second sequential frames are interpreted as a reverse displacement point and an original position point, and the point motion vectors are based on local motion, which is defined as the motion of objects within the image and suggests being the displacement velocity of a region of the image).
Neither Huang ‘681 nor Huang ‘996 teaches obtaining a first extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one forward displacement point by copying the region image to the forward displacement point.
Tao additionally teaches obtaining a second extended images respectively corresponding to the region image at the at least one reverse displacement point by copying the region image to the reverse displacement point (Fig. 3A, paragraph 86-87, wherein a second positional relationship including a second direction and second distance of the target object relative to a second object is interpreted including a reverse displacement point; paragraph 74, wherein the target object is cloned to correspond to specified objects, such as the second object, which is interpreted as obtaining a second extended image by copying the region image to the reverse displacement point).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 2.
19. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang '681 in view of Tao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 20180017897 A), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein after rendering the background image, the at least one second extended image and the at least one first extended image to obtain a target rendered image at the end of the rendering, the method further comprises: obtaining a sticker image selected by a user for the target object (paragraph 54-60, wherein a sticker image is determined based on a detected object in an image acquired by a user, which is interpreted as obtaining a sticker image selected by a user for the target object); determining a sticker position of the sticker image in the image frame based on an original position point of the region image in the image frame (Fig. 13, paragraph 60, wherein the sticker's location is overlaid on the location of the recognized object, which is interpreted as determining a sticker position of the sticker image based on an original position point of a region image; paragraph 39, wherein the recognized object can be an extracted object region image); obtaining a target sticker image by rendering the sticker image to the target rendered image according to the sticker position (Fig. 13, paragraph 60, wherein overlaying the sticker at a predetermined location based on the location of a recognized object is interpreted as obtaining a target sticker image by rendering the sticker image according to the sticker position); and obtaining a target sticker video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing a video synthesis on the target sticker image corresponding to the image frame (paragraph 70, wherein video sticker footage can be composed by compositing stickers based on an object's movement frame by frame in the video, which is interpreted as obtaining sticker video by performing video synthesis on the target sticker image corresponding to the image frame).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang ‘681 in view of Tao for this method of video synthesis. Huang ‘681 teaches a method to synthesize videos based on segmenting and obtaining a target object and a background image within an original image, and editing the obtained images to more efficiently synthesize a video that accurately conveys the specified edits. Similarly, Tao discusses segmenting a target object and a background in a video frame, and editing the target object by cloning the target object and synthesizing a new video frame, in order to more efficiently render multiple copies of the target object. Lee additionally teaches extracting a target object image from a background image, and providing sticker images that correspond to the obtained target object image, for the purposes of providing novel ways for users to edit existing images. As all three references discuss extracting a target object image from an image frame, as well as ways to improve editing images and video, it would be obvious to combine them.
20. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang '681 in view of Tao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20100046830 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 10, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Wang teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the obtaining a region image corresponding to a target object and a background image excluding the region image by performing an image segmentation on an image frame in a video to be processed comprises: extracting the image frame from the video to be processed (Fig. 3, paragraph 54-55, wherein segmentation is performed on a video sequence, and wherein single frames of the video can be individually segmented, which suggests extracting the image frame from the video to be processed); identifying an object contour area of the target object in the image frame (Fig. 4, paragraph 54-55, wherein a segmentation contour between a foreground object and the background is determined, which is interpreted as identifying an object contour object in the image frame); and obtaining the region image corresponding to the object contour area and the background image excluding the region image by segmenting the image frame with the object contour area (Fig. 4, paragraph 60, wherein segmenting the image into a foreground object and a background based on a segmentation contour is interpreted as obtaining a region image corresponding to the object contour area and the background image excluding the region by segmenting the image with the object contour).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang ‘681 in view of Tao to incorporate the teachings of Wang for this method of video synthesis. Huang ‘681 teaches a method to synthesize videos based on segmenting and obtaining a target object and a background image within an original image, and editing the obtained images to more efficiently synthesize a video that accurately conveys the specified edits. Similarly, Tao discusses segmenting a target object and a background in a video frame, and editing the target object by cloning the target object and synthesizing a new video frame, in order to more efficiently render multiple copies of the target object. Wang similarly teaches segmenting video sequences by segmenting the contours of foreground objects and the background, as well as methods to automate the process and increase the speed of segmentation. As all three references utilize segmenting specified image objects from the background for video processing, and Wang teaches a method to speed up and automate the segmentation process using contours, it would be obvious to combine them.
21. Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang '681 in view of Tao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furment (US 9349414 B1), hereinafter Furment.
Regarding claim 11, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao discloses the method of claim 1. Additionally, Furment teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the video to be processed based on a target video collection request triggered by a first user (Fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 40-50, user initiated recording of video streams to be used for video synthesis); and wherein after the obtaining a target video corresponding to the video to be processed by performing a video synthesis on the target rendered image corresponding to the image frame, the method further comprises: outputting the target video for the first user (Fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 51-59, wherein user completed recording comprised of synthesized video is interpreted as outputting the target video for the first user).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang ‘681 in view of Tao to have incorporated the teachings of Furment for this method of video synthesis. Huang ‘681 teaches a method to synthesize videos based on segmenting and obtaining a target object and a background image within an original image, and editing the obtained images to more efficiently synthesize a video that accurately conveys the specified edits. Similarly, Tao discusses segmenting a target object and a background in a video frame, and editing the target object by cloning the target object and synthesizing a new video frame, in order to more efficiently render multiple copies of the target object. While Furment does not teach segmenting objects and background images, it does teach video synthesizing, and synthesizing video from multiple different data streams. It also discusses methods for easily sharing synthesized videos between peers, and connecting the video with other services such as social media. It would be obvious to combine Huang ‘681 and Tao, which both discuss methods for editing and synthesizing videos, with Furment, which discusses synthesizing and sharing the final output videos.
Regarding claim 12, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao and Furment discloses the method of claim 11. Additionally, Furment teaches the method of claim 11, wherein after the outputting the target video for the first user, the method further comprises: detecting a post request for the target video triggered by the first user (Fig. 9, Col. 8 lines 6-21, wherein user has the option to share the synthesized video, which is interpreted as the user being able to make a post request for the target video); and in response to the post request, posting the target video to a user video account of the first user for reading and playing by a second user equipment of a second user (Fig. 9, Col. 8 lines 6-21, wherein user can upload synthesized video to a social media application, which is interpreted as posting the video to a user video account; Fig. 13, Col. 9 lines 1-18, wherein all users in the social network can view uploaded synthesized video, including another second user; Col. 7 lines 7-12 wherein the synthesized video is captured and viewed by a user’s mobile device, which is interpreted as user equipment).
The motivation to combine would be the same as that set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Huang ‘681 in view of Tao and Furment discloses the method of claim 11. Additionally, Furment teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the obtaining the video to be processed based on a target video collection request triggered by a first user comprises: receiving the video to be processed sent by the first user equipment, the video to be processed being captured by the first user equipment of the first user when the user triggers the target video collection request (Fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 40-50, wherein user initiated recording of video streams to be used for video synthesis interpreted as the video to be processed captured by the first user equipment by a user triggered video collection request; Col. 7 lines 7-12, wherein video is captured on a user’s mobile device, which is interpreted as a user equipment); and wherein the outputting the target video for the first user comprising: sending the target video to the first user equipment; and controlling the first user equipment to play the target video (Fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 51-59, wherein video can be played back to replay the video on the user mobile device, which is interpreted as sending the target video to the user equipment and controlling the user equipment to play the target video).
Allowable Subject Matter
22. Claims 3, 5, 8, 20, 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JORDAN WAN YICK/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612