DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to Response to Election 09/24/2026. Application 18861588 filed on 10/30/2024. Claims 13, 14 and 27 are elected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of restriction request (filed in 08/11/2026) reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “In view of the amendments in the independent claims 1 and 13, both the amended claims 1 and 13 define "the BSR comprises a remaining data amount of the PDU set". According to the disclosure in paragraph 0049 of the original specification of the present application, in order to ensure data transmission, the terminal may transmit the BSR to the network side device and report the remaining data amount that has not been transmitted to the network side device in case that part of the PDUs in a to-be-transmitted PDU set are unable to be transmitted temporarily due to insufficient uplink transmission resources. After obtaining the remaining data amount, the network side device may allocate uplink transmission resources to the terminal in time to ensure that part of the PDUs that are unable to be transmitted temporarily may be transmitted in time, increase the reliability of data transmission, and reduce the delay. There is no need to allocate too many resources to adapt to the occasional larger data, which may effectively save resources.
Moreover, according to the disclosure in paragraph 0051 of the original specification of the present application, in the method for triggering and reporting the BSR provided by the embodiment of the present application, by determining a PDU set containing one or more associated PDUs, and triggering and transmitting the BSR containing the remaining data amount not transmitted in the PDU set, the network side device may timely allocate uplink transmission resources to the terminal based on the remaining data amount, which ensures both the reliability of data transmission and the low latency requirements of the service, and saves resources;
As can be seen from the above, triggering and transmitting the BSR is based on the
remaining data amount included in the BSR not transmitted in the PDU set, meanwhile allocating uplink transmission resources is also based on the remaining data amount included in the BSR not transmitted in the PDU set. And the actions performed by the amended claim 1 and claim 13 are in correspondence relationship with each other here fore, the Applicant respectfully submits that the above group I and group II include the same invention, and will not burden the examination to this patent application. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the objection under 35 U.S.C. § 121”.
Examiner’s Response:
This is not found persuasive because, although examiner agreed partially the applicants’ remark that the claims of group I and group II define "the BSR comprises a remaining data amount of the PDU set"; and the actions performed by the amended claim 1 and claim 13 are in some degree in correspondence relationship with each other;
However, in this special case, the claims in group 1 and the claims in group II are distinguished. For example, Claims 1, 3-12, 15 drawn to a method/terminal of for triggering and reporting buffer status report (BSR), wherein the BSR comprises a remaining data amount of the PDU set; which could not been found anywhere in Group II, Claims 13, 27;
Meanwhile, Group II, Claims 13, 27 drawn to a method/network side device for allocating resource to a terminal based on receiving remaining data amount of the PDU set, which could not been found anywhere in Group I, claim 1, 3-12, 15.
In addition to that, some limitation recited in Group I, claim 1, 3-12, 15, like: “determining that the PDU set comprises a PDU carrying a first PDU set sequence number (SN), wherein the first PDU set SN corresponds to the PDU set; determining PDUs belonging to the PDU set from a start PDU to an end PDU in a first time period, wherein the start PDU is a first PDU having an association relationship with the end PDU, and the end PDU carries an end identifier, or a size of the end PDU is smaller than sizes of all PDUs prior to the end PDU in the first time period; or determining that the PDU set comprises PDUs belonging to a same service frame, or a same slice, or a same tile, or a same subpicture”, “ the remaining data amount of the PDU set after a medium access control (MAC) PDU containing the BSR being transmitted; the remaining data amount of the PDU set after a first available preconfigured resource being used; or the remaining data amount of the PDU set after a second available preconfigured resource and/or a dynamically scheduled resource being used”, and so on, could not be found anywhere in Group II, claim 13, 27.
Since Invention Group I, Claims 1, 3-12, 15 and Invention Group II, Claims 13, 27 are independent distinct (Group I is for trigging and reporting BSR by a terminal; Group II is for allocation resource by a network device) and classified in different classes; It is obvious that there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
i. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
ii. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter.
iii. The inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
iv. The prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
v. The inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph. .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application 18861588 filed on 10/30/2024.
Priority # Filling Data Country
202210531176.4 2022-05-16 CN
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 13 and its dependent claim 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 13, it recites limitations of “ an association relationship” in “and the PDUs in the PDU set have an association relationship”; however, it is not clear that what the association relationship means; does it means the PDUs in the PDU set have an association relationship with each other or the PDUs in the PDU set have an association relationship with something else?
it recites limitations of “the remaining data amount” in “wherein the BSR comprises the remaining data amount of the PDU set”; however, there is no antecedence basis for this limitation; and it is not clear that what the remaining data amount of the PDU set means; does it means the remaining data amount of the PDU set in the buffer or the remaining data amount of the PDU in a terminal or something else?
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claim 27 are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
8. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):(d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
9. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 27 depend on independent claim 13 but fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. For claim 27, it dependents on claim 13, which is a method for allocating resource; however, the claim as a whole is a network side device. Therefore, it is not clear if it claims a network side device or a method for allocating resource. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 13, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (CN 116569631) and in view of OESTERGAARD et al. (WO 2010128927).
Regarding claim 13, YANG teaches a method for allocating resource (fig. 3; page 11, … Referring to FIG. 3, the process performed by the access node includes… A resource unit is allocated to the direct wireless link.), performed by a network side device (fig. 1, 110), comprising:
receiving a buffer status report (BSR) (fig. 3, step 302; page 11, … receiving (block 302) a message from the first terminal device, the message including a buffer status report of the first terminal device), wherein a packet data unit (PDU) set comprises one or more PDUs (fig. 4, 208, P2P PPDU and 404, P2P PPDU), and the PDUs in the PDU set have an association relationship (as shown in fig. 4, 208 and 404, page 14… The data packet may include a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). …100 may transmit a plurality of PPDUs (step 404), provided that the predefined duration of the TXOP is sufficiently long for the multi-frame transmission by the terminal device 100…; they are associated since they are transmitted by the terminal together);
and allocating an uplink transmission resource to a terminal based on information of the PDU set (fig. 3, step 304; page 013-14, … the access node may perform allocation of the resource unit to the direct wireless link (block 304), and send a trigger frame indicating the allocated resource unit in block 304).
It is noticed that YANG does not disclose explicitly of the BSR comprises the remaining data amount of the PDU set; a packet data unit (PDU) set comprised in the BSR.
OESTERGAARD discloses of the BSR comprises the remaining data amount of the PDU set (fig. 5, step 504; page 18, … When a packet data unit such as a MAC PDU is built, it includes a buffer status report such as a BSR MAC control element that accounts for data remaining in the user equipment buffer after the of building the packet data unit);
a packet data unit (PDU) set comprised in the BSR (fig. 6, step 612; page 21, … During a time period the user equipment 120 builds a packet data unit such as a MAC POU, for parts or all of the first and second data to be transmitted in, and includes a buffer status report in the packet data unit).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that the BSR comprises the remaining data amount of the PDU set; a packet data unit (PDU) set comprised in the BSR as a modification to the method for the benefit of that allocation resource effectively according to the status of remaining data (page 18).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of YANG and OESTERGAARD teaches the limitations recited in claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, YANG further discloses that a network side device (fig. 1, 110 and fig. 16), comprising a memory (fig. 16, component 20), a transceiver (fig. 16, TX/RX) and a processor (fig. 16, component 12, frame professor), wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program (fig. 16, component 22, software), the transceiver is used for receiving and transmitting data under control of the processor (as shown in fig. 16), and the processor is used for reading the computer program stored in the memory and performing the method (fig. 16; page 22-23, … FIG. 16 illustrates an embodiment of the above-described function structure of the device for performing the function of the device in the process of any one of the above-described embodiments of FIG. 3 or FIG. 3. The apparatus may be a wireless device such as an access node 110…The apparatus may be a computer (PC), a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a cell phone, a palm computer, a sensor device, a router device, or any other device having radio communication capability, or may be included therein).
14. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
15. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488