DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/CN2023/090890 filed on 4/26/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202210590306.1 filed on 5/26/2022. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15,17-21 and 23-24 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-14, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shepard et al. (US 2020/0029357, hereinafter Shepard).
Regarding claim 1, Shepard discloses a method for transmitting control channel, performed by a first communication device, comprising: receiving a synchronization sequence transmitted from a second communication device [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device). A base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070)];
Synchronizing with the second communication device based on the synchronization sequence [Shepard discloses that a receiver (e.g. a user) may perform a full correlation after receiving the synchronization sequence (Shepard paragraph 0071); indicating a synchronization. Shepard discloses that the user may perform a streaming cross-correlation on received samples to detect the synchronization sequence sent from the base station; and each user may compute the correlation at every sample to achieve time synchronization (Shepard paragraph 0080). Shepard further discloses various techniques for performing synchronization after receiving the synchronization sequence (see Shepard paragraphs 0082-0085)]; and
Receiving a control channel message transmitted from the second communication device [Shepard discloses that after synchronization, the base station may assign pilot slots to users and may reserve dedicated uplink pilot slots for association and random access (e.g. CSI collection). The base station may leverage the acquired CSI to provide connectivity to the users as well as any control channel information over the communication link (i.e. user receiving a control channel message from the base station) (Shepard paragraph 0072)].
Regarding claim 2, Shepard discloses the method of claim 1. Shepard further discloses wherein the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises one or more pieces of the following information: an identifier of the first communication device and/or an identifier of the second communication device; or frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device [Shepard discloses that a base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) that may also encode the base station ID (i.e. an identifier of the second communication device) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 6, Shepard discloses the method of claim 1. Shepard further discloses wherein the first communication device comprises a terminal whose peer end transmission entity is a base station, or a reception terminal whose peer end transmission entity is a transmission terminal [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device or a terminal). A base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 7, Shepard discloses a method for transmitting control channel, performed by a second communication device, comprising: determining a synchronization sequence [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device). A base station may generate a plurality of synchronization sequences by spreading the encoded base sequence with a set of orthogonal beam sequences (i.e. determining a synchronization sequence) (Shepard paragraph 0006)];
Transmitting the synchronization sequence to a first communication device, wherein the synchronization sequence is used for synchronizing the first communication device with the second communication device [Shepard discloses that a base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070). Shepard discloses that a receiver (e.g. a user) may perform a full correlation after receiving the synchronization sequence (Shepard paragraph 0071); indicating a synchronization. Shepard discloses that the user may perform a streaming cross-correlation on received samples to detect the synchronization sequence sent from the base station; and each user may compute the correlation at every sample to achieve time synchronization (Shepard paragraph 0080). Shepard further discloses various techniques for performing synchronization after receiving the synchronization sequence (see Shepard paragraphs 0082-0085)]; and
Transmitting a control channel message to the first communication device [Shepard discloses that after synchronization, the base station may assign pilot slots to users and may reserve dedicated uplink pilot slots for association and random access (e.g. CSI collection). The base station may leverage the acquired CSI to provide connectivity to the users as well as any control channel information over the communication link (i.e. base station transmitting a control channel message to the user) (Shepard paragraph 0072)].
Regarding claim 8, Shepard discloses the method of claim 7. Shepard further discloses wherein the synchronization sequence transmitted to the first communication device comprises one or more pieces of the following information: an identifier of the first communication device and/or an identifier of the second communication device; or frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device [Shepard discloses that a base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) that may also encode the base station ID (i.e. an identifier of the second communication device) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 12, Shepard discloses the method of claim 7. Shepard further discloses wherein the second communication device comprises a base station or a terminal [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device or a terminal). A base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 13, Shepard discloses a first communication device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program, the transceiver is used for receiving and transmitting data under control of the processor, and the processor is used for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the following operations of [Shepard Figure 14 discloses components of a wireless device which may be a base station or user terminal as shown in Figures 6A-6D, 7, etc. The device may include components such as a processor, memory, transmitter/receiver, etc. (Shepard Figure 14, paragraphs 0121-0125)]:
Receiving a synchronization sequence transmitted from a second communication device [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device). A base station may generate a plurality of synchronization sequences by spreading the encoded base sequence with a set of orthogonal beam sequences (i.e. determining a synchronization sequence) (Shepard paragraph 0006)];
Synchronizing with the second communication device based on the synchronization sequence [Shepard discloses that a receiver (e.g. a user) may perform a full correlation after receiving the synchronization sequence (Shepard paragraph 0071); indicating a synchronization. Shepard discloses that the user may perform a streaming cross-correlation on received samples to detect the synchronization sequence sent from the base station; and each user may compute the correlation at every sample to achieve time synchronization (Shepard paragraph 0080). Shepard further discloses various techniques for performing synchronization after receiving the synchronization sequence (see Shepard paragraphs 0082-0085)]]; and
Receiving a control channel message transmitted from the second communication device [Shepard discloses that after synchronization, the base station may assign pilot slots to users and may reserve dedicated uplink pilot slots for association and random access (e.g. CSI collection). The base station may leverage the acquired CSI to provide connectivity to the users as well as any control channel information over the communication link (i.e. user receiving a control channel message from the base station) (Shepard paragraph 0072)].
Regarding claim 14, Shepard discloses the first communication device of claim 13. Shepard further discloses wherein the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises one or more pieces of the following information: an identifier of the first communication device and/or an identifier of the second communication device; or frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device [Shepard discloses that a base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) that may also encode the base station ID (i.e. an identifier of the second communication device) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 18, Shepard discloses the first communication device of claim 13. Shepard further discloses wherein the first communication device comprises a terminal whose peer end transmission entity is a base station, or a reception terminal whose peer end transmission entity is a transmission terminal [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device or a terminal). A base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 19, Shepard discloses the method of claim 7. Shepard further discloses a second communication device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program, the transceiver is used for receiving and transmitting data under control of the processor, and the processor is used for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the method of claim 7 [Shepard Figure 14 discloses components of a wireless device which may be a base station (i.e. a second communication device) or user terminal as shown in Figures 6A-6D, 7, etc. The device may include components such as a processor, memory, transmitter/receiver, etc. (Shepard Figure 14, paragraphs 0121-0125)].
Regarding claim 20, Shepard discloses the second communication device of claim 19. Shepard further discloses wherein the synchronization sequence transmitted to the first communication device comprises one or more pieces of the following information: an identifier of the first communication device and/or an identifier of the second communication device; or frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device [Shepard discloses that a base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) that may also encode the base station ID (i.e. an identifier of the second communication device) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Regarding claim 24, Shepard discloses the second communication device of claim 19. Shepard further discloses wherein the second communication device comprises a base station or a terminal [Shepard discloses various examples (Shepard Figures 6A-6C, 7) of communication between a base station (e.g. a second device) and user (e.g. a first device or a terminal). A base station may transmit to a user synchronization sequences (e.g. beacons) (Shepard paragraph 0070)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepard in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0275420, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 3, Shepard discloses the method of claim 1. Although Shepard discloses that the beacon and a paging sequences can be repeated (Shepard paragraph 0099); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously transmitted from the second communication device in a time domain; or
wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a first synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device, wherein the first synchronization sequence includes frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and receiving the control channel message transmitted from the second communication device comprises: transmitting a second synchronization sequence to the second communication device, wherein the second synchronization sequence includes feedback information of the first communication device on the frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and receiving the control channel message transmitted from the second communication device.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses examples of synchronization signal and RMSI PDCCH (i.e. control channel message) patterns where SS blocks and RMSI PDCCH are continuously transmitted through time domain (See Chen Figures 9 and 11, paragraphs 0056 and 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously transmitted from the second communication device in a time domain; as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide techniques for providing remaining minimum system information to a UE and to improve system capacity (Chen paragraphs 0004 and 0005).
Regarding claim 9, Shepard discloses the method of claim 7. Although Shepard discloses that the beacon and a paging sequences can be repeated (Shepard paragraph 0099); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting the synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously to the first communication device in a time domain; or
wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting a first synchronization sequence to the first communication device, wherein the first synchronization sequence includes frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and transmitting the control channel message to the first communication device comprises: receiving a second synchronization sequence transmitted from the first communication device, wherein the second synchronization sequence includes feedback information of the first communication device on the frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and transmitting the control channel message to the first communication device based on the second synchronization sequence.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses examples of synchronization signal and RMSI PDCCH (i.e. control channel message) patterns where SS blocks and RMSI PDCCH are continuously transmitted through time domain (See Chen Figures 9 and 11, paragraphs 0056 and 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting the synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously to the first communication device in a time domain; as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide techniques for providing remaining minimum system information to a UE and to improve system capacity (Chen paragraphs 0004 and 0005).
Regarding claim 15, Shepard discloses the first communication device of claim 13. Although Shepard discloses that the beacon and a paging sequences can be repeated (Shepard paragraph 0099); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously transmitted from the second communication device in a time domain; or
wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a first synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device, wherein the first synchronization sequence including frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and receiving the control channel message transmitted from the second communication device comprises: transmitting a second synchronization sequence to the second communication device, wherein the second synchronization sequence includes feedback information of the first communication device on the frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and receiving the control channel message transmitted from the second communication device.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses examples of synchronization signal and RMSI PDCCH (i.e. control channel message) patterns where SS blocks and RMSI PDCCH are continuously transmitted through time domain (See Chen Figures 9 and 11, paragraphs 0056 and 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein receiving the synchronization sequence transmitted from the second communication device comprises: receiving a synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously transmitted from the second communication device in a time domain; as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide techniques for providing remaining minimum system information to a UE and to improve system capacity (Chen paragraphs 0004 and 0005).
Regarding claim 21, Shepard discloses the second communication device of claim 19. Although Shepard discloses that the beacon and a paging sequences can be repeated (Shepard paragraph 0099); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting the synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously to the first communication device in a time domain; or
wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting a first synchronization sequence to the first communication device, wherein the first synchronization sequence includes frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and transmitting the control channel message to the first communication device comprises: receiving a second synchronization sequence transmitted from the first communication device, wherein the second synchronization sequence includes feedback information of the first communication device on the frequency resource occupancy information of the second communication device; and transmitting the control channel message to the first communication device based on the second synchronization sequence.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chen discloses examples of synchronization signal and RMSI PDCCH (i.e. control channel message) patterns where SS blocks and RMSI PDCCH are continuously transmitted through time domain (See Chen Figures 9 and 11, paragraphs 0056 and 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein transmitting the synchronization sequence to the first communication device comprises: transmitting the synchronization sequence and a control channel message continuously to the first communication device in a time domain; as taught by Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide techniques for providing remaining minimum system information to a UE and to improve system capacity (Chen paragraphs 0004 and 0005).
Claims 5, 11, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepard in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0359003, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Shepard discloses the method of claim 1. Although Shepard discloses that the base station has information about CSI for a user (Shepard paragraph 0092); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kim discloses a downlink subframe structure (Kim Figure 5) where a Physical Hybrid ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH) may correspond to a response to a UL transmission, delivering an HARQ ACK/NACK signal (Kim paragraphs 0080-0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information; as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a UE to efficiently transmit/receive data and improve overall cell throughput (Kim paragraphs 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 11, Shepard discloses the method of claim 7. Although Shepard discloses that the base station has information about CSI for a user (Shepard paragraph 0092); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kim discloses a downlink subframe structure (Kim Figure 5) where a Physical Hybrid ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH) may correspond to a response to a UL transmission, delivering an HARQ ACK/NACK signal (Kim paragraphs 0080-0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information; as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a UE to efficiently transmit/receive data and improve overall cell throughput (Kim paragraphs 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 17, Shepard discloses the first communication device of claim 13. Although Shepard discloses that the base station has information about CSI for a user (Shepard paragraph 0092); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kim discloses a downlink subframe structure (Kim Figure 5) where a Physical Hybrid ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH) may correspond to a response to a UL transmission, delivering an HARQ ACK/NACK signal (Kim paragraphs 0080-0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information; as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a UE to efficiently transmit/receive data and improve overall cell throughput (Kim paragraphs 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 23, Shepard discloses the second communication device of claim 19. Although Shepard discloses that the base station has information about CSI for a user (Shepard paragraph 0092); Shepard does not expressly disclose wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kim discloses a downlink subframe structure (Kim Figure 5) where a Physical Hybrid ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH) may correspond to a response to a UL transmission, delivering an HARQ ACK/NACK signal (Kim paragraphs 0080-0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shepard to have the features of wherein the control channel message comprises one or more pieces of the following information: resource scheduling information; pre-configured resource information; indication information of a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback resource of a peer end; hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback information; or channel state information (CSI) feedback information; as taught by Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a UE to efficiently transmit/receive data and improve overall cell throughput (Kim paragraphs 0024-0025).
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414