DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi (JPH 07322 A) as cited by Applicant – Please see Machine Translation attached.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ohashi teaches a cleaner (Fig. 1) comprising: a cleaning module (A; Fig. 1) including an agitator (rotor, 13) configured to suction external air and sweep a cleaning area (Paragraph [0020]); and a main body (nozzle) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module (Paragraph [0019]), wherein the agitator (13) includes: an agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) configured to rotate about a rotational axis (Annotated Fig. 4); a plurality of bristles (brushes, 14) disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) and extending outward in a radial direction (Fig. 4); and a blade (blades, 23) disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) and disposed in a circumferential direction of the agitator (13) from the bristle (14), and the blade (23) includes: an extension part (base, 25) extending outward from the agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) in the radial direction of the agitator (13); and a blocking part (tip, 29; Fig. 4 or tips, 43; Fig. 8) extending from one side of the extension part (25) toward the bristle (14).
Regarding Claim 2, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blade (23) is spaced apart from a housing (case, 2) of the cleaning module when the agitator (13) does not rotate, and is in close contact with the housing (2) of the cleaning module when the agitator (13) rotates (Ohashi teaches the agitator installed in the housing, thus when the vacuum is off and the agitator is not rotating, the blades can be placed apart from the housing and further is in close contact with the housing (2) of the cleaning module when the agitator (13) rotates (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the bristle (14) and the blade (23) are alternately disposed in the circumferential direction of the agitator (13; Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking part (29) extends in the circumferential direction of the agitator (13; Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohashi teaches a cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking part (43) extends in a direction opposite to a rotational direction of the agitator (13; Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blade (23) is connected by curving a connection part (bent portion, 26; Paragraph [0027]; Fig. 4) between the extension part (25) and the blocking part (29).
Regarding Claim 7, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blade (23) is connected by bending a connection part (bent portion, 26; Paragraph [0027]; Fig. 4) between the extension part (25) and the blocking part (29).
Regarding Claim 8, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking part (29) extends from an end portion of the extension part (25).
Regarding Claim 9, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking part (29) extends from an inside more than an end portion of the extension part (25; Fig. 4).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Ohashi teaches a cleaner (Fig. 1) comprising: a cleaning module (A; Fig. 1) including an agitator (rotor, 13) configured to suction external air and sweep a cleaning area (Paragraph [0020]); and a main body (nozzle) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module (Paragraph [0019]), wherein the agitator (13) includes: an agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) configured to rotate about a rotational axis (Annotated Fig. 4); a plurality of bristles (brushes, 14) disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) and disposed in a circumferential direction of the agitator (13); and a blocking member (blade, 23) disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the agitator (13) and isolating one bristle (14) from the other bristle (14; the blade, 23 separates on set of bristles from the next row of bristles).
Regarding Claim 12, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking member (23) includes: a first extension part (25) extending outward from the agitator bar (Annotated Fig. 4) in the radial direction of the agitator (13); a second extension part (29) extending outward from the agitator bar in the radial direction of the agitator and extending from a location spaced apart from the first extension part (25); and a blocking part (26) configured to connect the first extension part (25) with the second extension part (29) and extending in the circumferential direction of the agitator (13; Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi (JPH 07322 A) as cited by Applicant – Please see Machine Translation attached.
Regarding Claim 11, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) of claim 10, as discussed above.
Ohashi does not explicitly teach wherein the blocking member has a hollow formed therein.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blocking member of Ohashi to further include the blocking member has a hollow formed therein, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, Ohashi teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) of claim 12, as discussed above.
Ohashi further teaches the cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the blocking part (29) is spaced apart from a housing (case, 2) of the cleaning module when the agitator (13) does not rotate, (Ohashi teaches the agitator installed in the housing, thus when the vacuum is off and the agitator is not rotating, the blocking part can be placed apart from the housing (Fig. 1).
Ohashi does not explicitly when the agitator rotates, is deformed convexly in the radial direction of the agitator to be in close contact with a housing of the cleaning module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blocking member of Ohashi to further include the agitator rotates, is deformed convexly in the radial direction of the agitator to be in close contact with a housing of the cleaning module, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent No. 10,898,046 B2 to Shim et al. teaches an agitator and a robot cleaner including an agitator. The agitator includes a body configured to be rotated, a plurality of couplers formed at the body and arranged to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, and a first member and a second member coupled to any one of the couplers and configured to contact a surface to be cleaned during rotation of the body. The first member and the second member extend different lengths from the body in a radial direction.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723