DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group II and species I, Claims 4-6, in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4, “a measurer that measures a physical property of the material to be measured based on a current flowing through the element for physical property measurement as a result of the voltage applied, wherein the measurer measures a polarity of an ion contained in the material to be measured”, is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) . Prong 1: a measure (uses the generic placeholder), prong 2: measures a physical property of the material to be measured based on a current flowing through the element for physical property measurement as a result of the voltage applied, measures a polarity of an ion contained in the material to be measured (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function not recited. Therefore, claim 4 invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification (paragraph [0030]) such as measurer 2 includes I-V converter 21 and voltmeter 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (Changes caused to asymmetric I-V characteristics of LC cells having a single-sided alignment layer structure by doping 4-Dimethyl-aminopyridine (4-DMAP) into an LC layer, Molecular Crystals and liquid crystals, 2009, 510, 312-322). Inoue was provided in the previous restriction/election.
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches a physical property measurement system (ion density measurement system for LC cells having a single-sided alignment layer as shown in Fig.4) comprising:
a voltage applier (triangle waveform generator in Fig.4); and the limitation “that applies a voltage between a pair of electrodes in an element for physical property measurement, the voltage periodically varying and periodically reversing in polarity” is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, Inoue teaches the triangle waveform generator is connected to the ITO electrode with alignment layer side in LC cells and the ITO electrode without alignment layer side, and the triangle waveform as shown in Fig.4 and the I-V curve in Fig.5 show that the triangle waveform generator applies a voltage between the two ITO electrodes in the LC cell for physical property measurement, and the voltage periodically varying and periodically reversing in polarity (the measurement frequency and voltage were 0.1 Hz and [Symbol font/0xB1] 10V [section 2.2.2]). Thus, the disclosed triangle waveform generator is configured to perform the claimed functional limitation above, the element for physical property measurement including:
a material (LC layer in Fig.4) to be measured, the material being a solid (LC layer is a solid);
an insulation layer (SE-130 alignment layer in Fig.4 [section 2.1 and Fig.4]; SE-130 is a type of polyimide material, thus is an insulation layer) disposed on only one of both sides of the material to be measured in a thickness direction of the material to be measured (single-sided alignment layer structure [title and Fig.4]); and
the pair of electrodes (the pair of ITO electrodes as shown in Fig.4) between which the material to be measured and the insulation layer are interposed in the thickness direction (see Fig.4); and
a measurer (current measurement circuit including I-V converter and voltameter as shown in Fig.4); and the limitation “that measures a physical property of the material to be measured based on a current flowing through the element for physical property measurement as a result of the voltage applied, wherein the measurer measures a polarity of an ion contained in the material to be measured” is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, Inoue teaches the current measurement circuit to measure the current flowing through the element as a result of the voltage applied, as shown in the measured I-V curve of Fig.5. We observed different slope levels and area of ion peaks which were equivalent to Ion Density at positive and negative voltage application, because of the asymmetric structure of an LC cell and the difference in amount between positive and negative ions in the LC layer. We also could estimate an internal DC voltage in an LC cell from the shift of voltage vs. current curve in applied voltage direction (the 2nd paragraph on page 316). Furthermore, the disclosed current measurement circuit is the same as the measure 2 including I-V converter 21 and voltmeter 22 as shown in Fig.1 in instant application. Thus, the disclosed measurer is configured to perform the claimed functional limitation above.
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches the physical property measurement system according to claim 4, and the limitation “wherein the measurer further measures an amount of the ion contained in the material to be measured” is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, Inoue teaches the current measurement circuit and the voltmeter to measure the current flowing through the element as a result of the voltage applied, as shown in the measured I-V curve of Fig.5. We observed different slope levels and area of ion peaks which were equivalent to Ion Density at positive and negative voltage application, because of the asymmetric structure of an LC cell and the difference in amount between positive and negative ions in the LC layer. We also could estimate an internal DC voltage in an LC cell from the shift of voltage vs. current curve in applied voltage direction (the 2nd paragraph on page 316). Furthermore, the disclosed current measurement circuit is the same as the measure 2 including I-V converter 21 and voltmeter 22 as shown in Fig.1 in instant application. Thus, the disclosed measurer is configured to perform the claimed functional limitation above.
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches an element for physical property measurement (LC cell as shown in Fig.4), the element being used in the physical property measurement system according to claim 4 (Inoue teaches the element being used in the physical property measurement system according to claim 4, as outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Noguchi et al. (Charge accumulation at organic semiconductor interfaces due to permanent dipole moment and its orientation order in bilayer devices, J. Appl. Phys., 2012, 111, 114508) teaches DCM measurement system (Fig.2b). Fujii et al. (US5601903A) teaches a measurement system for measuring property of EL element as shown in Figs. 2-4. Inoue et al. (US20110121854A1) teaches a physical property measurement system as shown in Fig.1B. Lee et al. (US20040263450A1) teaches method and apparatus for measuring response time of liquid crystal.
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795