DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 30 recites “a one or more pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders” in lines 1-2, but should be amended to omit “a”, i.e. to recite --one or more pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “the passage” in line 2, whereas multiple respective passages had been established. It is therefor unclear to which passage this refers. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as --the respective passages--.
Claim 25 recites “the one or more passages” in line 3, whereas plural passages had been previously established or implied. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as --the passages--.
Claim 26 similarly recites “the one or more passages”.
Claim 27 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19, 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (CN105042003, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 16: Feng et al. discloses a cutting device for cutting a plurality of parallel fingers (e.g. shear pins 4, 8-11) of at least one core component (intended use) in a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the fingers, the fingers being adapted to be introduced into a fuel assembly of a nuclear reactor core (intended use), the cutting device comprising: a first bearing plate (1) comprising a plurality of abutments (openings comprising the shear pins, see Figs. 1-2 and 4-7) respectively for a finger to be cut; and a rotatable cutting plate (2) comprising a corresponding cutting blade (defined by holes/slots therein, e.g. Figs. 4-7, noting that “blade” is broad and could be defined by anything that can effectively cut) for each abutment in the first bearing plate, the rotatable cutting plate being rotatable about a rotating axis (center axis toward the page in Figs. 4-7) between a starting position and a final position in a circumferential direction, the first bearing plate and the cutting plate being parallel to each other (Figs. 1-2), the cutting blades comprising a plurality of groups of cutting blades (e.g. three groups in Fig. 4, four groups as in Fig. 5, etc.), wherein for each group of cutting blades an angle between the cutting blades and the corresponding abutments is different to an angle between the cutting blades and the corresponding abutments of any other group of cutting blades (e.g. as defined by longer slots and/or different hole location/spacing in each group in each of Figs. 4-7).
Regarding the above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus the use of the device for cutting fingers of a core component for a nuclear reactor core pertains to the intended use and does not necessarily limit the device.
Additionally, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. In this case, the fingers are the article worked upon and do not necessarily limit the device.
Claim 17: The rotatable cutting plate includes at least three groups of the cutting blades (e.g. three gups in Fig. 4, four groups in Fig. 5, etc.).
Claim 18: Each group of cutting blades comprises at least four of the cutting blades (each of two or more groups of blades, i.e. holes and slots, of the embodiment of Figs. 6-7, has at least four such blades, those groups being the “each group” as claimed).
Claim 19: The first bearing plate (1) is arranged above or below the cutting plate (2) and adjacent to the cutting plate (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 31: As noted above, the core component is the article worked upon by the device, and therefore it being a control rod assembly, a neutron source, poisson rods, and/or a flow restrictor does not necessarily limit the claimed device.
Claim 32: Feng et al. discloses a method for cutting a plurality of parallel fingers (e.g. shear pins 4, 8-11) of at least one core component (“core component” is broad and not particularly limiting) in a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the fingers (Figs. 1-2) with a cutting device including a first bearing plate (1) comprising a plurality of abutments (openings comprising the shear pins, see Figs. 1-2 and 4-7) respectively for a finger to be cut, wherein the cutting device further includes a rotatable cutting plate (2) comprising a corresponding cutting blade (defined by holes/slots therein, e.g. Figs. 4-7, noting that “blade” is broad and could be defined by anything that can effectively cut) for each abutment in the first bearing plate, the rotatable cutting plate being rotatable about a rotating axis (center axis toward the page in Figs. 4-7) between a starting position and a final position in a circumferential direction, the first bearing plate and the cutting plate being parallel to each other (Figs. 1-2), the cutting blades comprising a plurality of groups of cutting blades (e.g. three groups in Fig. 4, four groups as in Fig. 5, etc.), wherein for each group of cutting blades an angle between the cutting blades and the corresponding abutments is different to an angle between the cutting blades and the corresponding abutments of any other group of cutting blades (e.g. as defined by longer slots and/or different hole location/spacing in each group in each of Figs. 4-7), the fingers being adapted to be introduced into a fuel assembly of a nuclear reactor core (the shear pins could theoretically be introduced in some manner into a fuel assembly of a nuclear reactor core), the method comprising: inserting the fingers into the cutting device (Figs. 1-2); and rotating the cutting plate from the starting position to the final position, wherein a first portion of the fingers is cut during a first phase of the rotating of the cutting plate from the starting position to the final position and a second portion of the fingers is cut during a second phase of the rotating movement of the cutting plate from the starting position to the final position (e.g. [0031]-[0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al.
Being that the device of Feng is an overload protector for any type of rotating machinery, whether or not it “includes a one or more pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders in order to rotate the cutting plate about the rotating axis” would be dependent on the type of machinery to which is attached. The examiner takes Official Notice that machinery is known which may be rotated via one or more pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders, and thus it would have been obvious to have implemented the Feng device with such machinery in order to have implemented overload protection thereto.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-23, 28-29, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 24-27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Feng et al. is considered the closest prior art of record. Regarding claim 20, Feng does not disclose a second bearing plate, wherein one of the first and second bearing plates is arranged below the cutting plate and adjacent to the cutting plate, and the other of the first and second bearing plates is arranged above the cutting plate and adjacent to the cutting plate.
Claim 21 depends from claim 20.
Regarding claim 22: Feng does not disclose at least one sealing device arranged above the cutting plate, wherein the sealing device comprises for each abutment a respective passage for the fingers, wherein the passages are aligned to the respective abutments.
Claims 23-29 depend from claim 22.
Regarding claim 33, Feng does not disclose prior to rotating the cutting plate, activating a sealing device; and during the rotation of the plate, sucking gases from a space around the abutments.
Furthermore, given the difference in intended use of Feng compared to the claimed invention, it would not necessarily have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have modified Feng to include any of the above features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR102269339 discloses an end-mill-type cutting tool for a spent nuclear fuel basket.
KR20120126550 discloses a diamond wheel cutting device for cutting a pipe for a nuclear device.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725