DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the phrase "optionally air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examining the claim, the limitation will be read as --or air--.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “the compressor system comprises an actuating means”, and the claim also recites “in particular a cooling fluid bypass valve” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “electronic components”, and the claim also recites “in particular a main processor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 11 recites the broad recitation “to the environment”, and the claim also recites “in particular to the air” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 18 recites the broad recitation directly to the main processor of the control device”, and the claim also recites “in particular without the interposition of further components, interfaces, etc” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 19 recites the broad recitation “taking into account the state conditions of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening determined via the temperature sensor or via the humidity sensor”, and the claim also recites “in particular taking into account the temperature Tein or humidity Fein of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening determined in this way” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 27 recites the broad recitation “taking into account the state conditions of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening of the compressor system”, and the claim also recites “in particular taking into account the temperature Tein or the humidity Fein determined in this way” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0252632 to Daniels et al..
Regarding claim 1, Daniels discloses a compressor system (1, fig. 1; [19]), for compressing gas, optionally air, comprising a compressor block (2, fig. 1) in which a compressor chamber is formed in which the gas is compressed via mechanical compression means (screw rotors), wherein the compressor chamber has an inlet opening (4, fig. 1; [19]) on the an inflow side and an outlet opening (6, fig. 1) on the an outflow side, and a control device (38, fig. 1; [37]) for controlling a drive of the compression means ([37]),
wherein the control device (16) is operatively connected to a temperature sensor (42, fig. 1; [38]-[40]) and/or a humidity sensor (44, fig. 1; [38]) in order to determine state conditions of the gas entering at the inlet opening,
wherein the temperature sensor and/or the humidity sensor are arranged at or in the control device (see fig. 1, 42 and 44 are on and in the control device 38) within the compressor system for detecting a temperature Tc prevailing there or a humidity Fc prevailing there, and the control device comprises a processing device (fig. 2; [37], [52]) in order to draw conclusions from the measured values Tc and/or Fc about the state conditions of the gas entering at the inlet opening.
Regarding claim 2, Daniels discloses a compressor system according to claim 1, wherein the compressor system comprises an actuating means (20 or 22, fig. 1; [24], [50]), in particular a cooling fluid bypass valve (16 or 22, fig. 1; [24], [50]), and in that the control device controls the actuating means via corresponding control commands based on the state conditions of the incoming gas at the inlet opening determined from Tc and/or Fc ([63]).
Regarding claim 3, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the control device is furthermore designed and set up, based on the state conditions of the incoming gas at the inlet opening determined from Tc and/or Fc, to control the compressor system in such a way that the temperature of the compressed gas at the outlet opening of the compressor chamber follows a target final compression temperature ([66], pre-set values)
Regarding claim 4, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the control device is further operatively connected to a pressure sensor (43, fig. 1) in order to also detect a pressure value Pc and, taking into account the pressure value Pc, to draw conclusions about the state conditions of the gas entering at the inlet opening ([63]).
Regarding claim 5, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 4, wherein the pressure sensor is also arranged at or in the control device (fig. 1) within the compressor system.
Regarding claim 6, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the control device is accommodated in a control housing (control device housing 38, fig. 1), wherein the temperature sensor and/or the humidity sensor are also accommodated within the control housing (21) ([69]-[70]).
Regarding claim 7, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the control device comprises one or more circuit boards with electronic components (fig. 2), in particular a main processor of the control device, and in that the temperature sensor and/or the humidity sensor is/are also arranged on the one or more circuit boards (fig. 2; sensors are arranged on circuit board electronically).
Regarding claim 8, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is designed as a MEMS sensor ([69]-[70]).
Regarding claim 9, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the humidity sensor is designed as a MEMS sensor ([69]-[70]).
Regarding claim 10, Daniels discloses a compressor system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature and the humidity sensor are integrated in a MEMS sensor ([69]-[70]).
Regarding claim 11, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein fluidic coupling means are provided to couple the temperature sensor and/or the humidity sensor to the environment, in particular to the air in the environment upstream of the inlet opening (fig. 1; sensors are ambient environment sensors).
Regarding claim 12, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 11, wherein the fluidic coupling means comprise corresponding openings in the control housing of the control device ([40]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ambient condition sensors will have opening to the ambient environment).
Regarding claim 13, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 11, wherein the fluidic coupling means (24) comprise a cooling air flow guide (30) and/or a fan (26) so as to guide or drive a supply air flow (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a CPU or control unit is cooled using a fan).
Regarding claim 14, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 13, wherein the fan (26) is provided as a component of a housing ventilation system (29) at or in the control housing (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a CPU or control unit is cooled using a fan).
Regarding claim 15, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 13, wherein a cooling air flow guide (30) for guiding a cooling air flow is formed in the control housing (21), wherein the fan (26) also drives the cooling air flow (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a CPU or control unit is cooled using a fan).
Regarding claim 16, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 13, wherein an air filter (5, fig. 1) is provided and is arranged in the cooling air flow guide (30) in such a way that the supply air flow is first guided via the supply air filter (35) before it reaches the temperature sensor (19) and/or the humidity sensor (20).
Regarding claim 17, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 8, wherein a spacing between the temperature sensor and the main processor of the control device is less than 30 cm, optionally less than 20 cm, and/or the spacing between the humidity sensor and the main processor of the control device is less than 30 cm, optionally less than 20 cm ([69]; sensors are provided in the control device).
Regarding claim 18, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor (19) is connected directly to the main processor (23) of the control device (16) and the humidity sensor (20) is connected directly to the main processor (23) of the control device (16), in particular without the interposition of further components, interfaces, etc (fig. 1) .
Regarding claim 19, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 1, wherein the compressor system has a fluid cooling circuit (fig. 1; from cooler 14 to different components; [22]-[24]), the cooling capacity of which can be adjusted via the actuating means (valves 22 and 16, fig. 1), such as one or more valves, and the control device adjusts the cooling capacity of the fluid cooling circuit taking into account the state conditions of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening determined via the temperature sensor or via the humidity sensor, in particular taking into account the temperature Tein or humidity Fein of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening determined in this way ([73]-[76]).
Regarding claim 20, Daniels discloses a compressor according to claim 19, wherein the actuating means comprise a cooling fluid bypass valve (16, fig. 1), by means of which it is gradually adjustable which amount of cooling fluid is fed via a heat exchanger integrated in the fluid cooling circuit or is fed past the heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 21. A method for controlling a compressor unit according to claim 1, taking into account state conditions of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening (14),wherein
a temperature Tc and/or a humidity Fc is determined at or in a control device (38, fig. 1; [37]) via a temperature sensor (42, fig. 1; [38]-[40]) or a humidity sensor (44, fig. 1; [38]-[40]) in order to detect a temperature Tc prevailing at or in the control device or a humidity Fc prevailing at or in the control device, and in that the measured values Tc and/or Fc are used to draw conclusions (153, fig. 2) about the state conditions of the gas entering at the inlet opening.
Regarding claim 22, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein from the temperature Tc measured at the temperature sensor at or in the control device and from the humidity Fc measured at the humidity sensor at or in the control device, a dew point Tauc representative of the air in the region of the control device or another value representative of the water vapor content of the air in the region of the control device is calculated and the dew point Tauc or the value WDGc representative of the water vapor content is taken into account when determining the target final compression temperature TS,VET of the compressed gas at the outlet opening of the compressor block ([60], [64]-[79]; dew point is determined and the temperature of the compressor is adjusted accordingly).
Regarding claim 23, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein the temperature Tc or the humidity Fc is determined in a supply air flow conducted via the control device (function of the control device and the sensors).
Regarding claim 24, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 23, wherein the supply air flow passes through a filter (5, fig. 1) to remove particles before it reaches the temperature sensor or the humidity sensor.
Regarding claim 25, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein the temperature Tc measured at the temperature sensor is used to infer a temperature of the gas Tein at the inlet opening of the compressor chamber ([40], the sensors can be placed outside the compressor unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the outside conditions are also the conditions of at the inlet of the compressor and as such the outside sensors will infer to the conditions of the inlet including the temperature).
Regarding claim 26, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein the temperature Tc measured at the temperature sensor and the humidity Fc measured at the humidity sensor are used to infer a dew point Tein or a water vapor content WDGein of the gas at the inlet opening of the compressor chamber ([60], [64]-[78]).
Regarding claim 27, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein the compressor system is cooled via an adjustable fluid cooling circuit (14 to 13, fig. 1) in order to keep a factually actual compression end temperature TI,VET as close as possible to a target final compression temperature TS,VET, wherein the cooling capacity of the fluid cooling circuit is set taking into account the state conditions of the gas flowing in at the inlet opening of the compressor system, in particular taking into account the temperature Tein or the humidity Fein determined in this way ([50]).
Regarding claim 28, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 27, wherein the cooling capacity of the cooling fluid circuit is set via a bypass regulation (via 33-35, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 29, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein a pressure prevailing in the environment of the control device is determined via a pressure sensor (40, fig. 1; [40]) at or in the control device.
Regarding claim 30, Daniels discloses a compressor system according to claim 1, wherein the compressor system comprises a screw compressor ([19]).
Regarding claim 31, Daniels discloses a method according to claim 21, wherein the method is for adjusting the temperature of the compressed gas at an outlet opening of a compressor block (fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,015,602 to Desiron
US 10,480,512 to Seghers et al.
US 7,204,678 to Truyens et al.
US 5,989,312 to Barnhard et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746