Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/19/2025 and 07/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US 20240187823).
Regarding claim 1, Shrivastava discloses a method for performing operations by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (FIG. 16 illustrates an embodiment of the system 1600 for efficient and reliable reception of NR MBS; [0299]), the method comprising:
receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) for a Hybrid Automatic Repeat and request (HARQ) process (UE 10 may receive a. the PDCCH indicating the DL transmission addressed to the G-RNTI or the G-CS-RNTI, or the C-RNTI or the CS RNTI. gNB 20 can configure which retransmission (ReTx) is used, as illustrated by the method 210 in FIG. 2b. One of the following kinds of ReTx may be expected or configured: at step 212, start drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process; [0116-0120]);
receiving a Physical Downlink Shard Channel (PDSCH) including a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) based on the PDCCH, wherein the MAC PDU includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) command MAC control element (CE) (MBS DRX Command MAC CE and/or a MBS Long DRX Command MAC CE may be signaled to the UE 10 which is receiving the PTM MBS. The MAC CEs may be identified with specific LC IDs (logical channel identities) and/or mapped to the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and addressed with the G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI used for the relevant PTM MBS; [0078]); and
based on the MAC PDU further including multicast data, performing a multicast DRX operations based on the DRX command MAC CE (upon receiving, by the UE (10), one of a MBS DRX command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a MBS Long DRX command MAC CE for the MBS multicast service, at least one of the following timers is stopped: the drx-on-DurationTimerMBS timer and the drx-InactivityTimerMBS timer for the pertinent MBS; [0318]).
Regarding claim 2, Shrivastava discloses based on the MAC PDU further including unicast data, performing a unicast DRX operations based on the DRX command MAC CE (if the PTP DRX is the same as the unicast DRX, even though PTP has same DRX configuration as that for unicast reception, then with the PTM MBS reception, there can be linkage between the PTM and the PTP (for example, for HARQ retransmission). As a result, the unicast active time may be activated when PTM reception is pursued. However, decoding the unicast reception in the extended unicast DRX active can cause significant PDCCH blind decoding for C-RNTI/CS-RNTI, while the gNB 20 may not have any unicast data available for scheduling. With distinct PTP-RNTI, the UE 10 may be scheduled only for PTP reception, when the PTM reception is pursued and requires HARQ retransmission, whereas unicast C-RNTI/CS-RNTI allocation may be pursued in the original DRX active time. This way unicast reception and associated operations, for example, channel state information reference signal (CSIRS) measurements, CSI reporting etc. may not be affected by PTM reception; [0236]).
Regarding claim 3, Shrivastava discloses wherein, based on the MAC PDU further including the multicast data, the PDSCH is considered as a retransmission of a previously transmitted PDSCH for the multicast data (if at step 222, the PDCCH indicates a DL transmission for G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI, or C-RNTI or CS-RNTI (scheduling MBS PDSCH), the MAC entity 40 may: at step 224, if only PTP ReTx is expected (or configured): Start drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL; and If drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is expired and the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded: start drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL. at step 226, if only PTM ReTx is expected (or configured): Start drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS; and If drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS is expired and the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded: start the drx-RetransmissionTimerMBS for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS; [0125-0132]).
Regarding claim 4, Shrivastava discloses wherein, based on the MAC PDU further including the unicast data, the PDSCH is considered as an initial transmission (Each DRX (unicast and MBS) has its own parameters and timers. After initial PTM (by G-RNTI, Group-Radio Network Temporary Identifier or by G-CS-RNTI, Group-Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) HARQ transmission, PTP (by C-RNTI, Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier or by CS-RNTI, Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) HARQ retransmission can be performed; [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Shrivastava discloses based on there being a previously received PDCCH transmission addressed to a group-RNTI (G-RNTI) for the HARQ process, performing the multicast DRX operations based on the DRX command MAC CE (MBS DRX Command MAC CE and/or a MBS Long DRX Command MAC CE may be signaled to the UE 10 which is receiving the PTM MBS. The MAC CEs may be identified with specific LC IDs (logical channel identities) and/or mapped to the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and addressed with the G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI used for the relevant PTM MBS. Different types of MBS could pertain to low latency and high latency requirements and dynamic scheduling aspects. Therefore, DRX configuration for these services can have short DRX cycle and/or long DRX cycle parameters configured. The network can also dynamically alter the DRX operation between short DRX cycle and long DRX cycle with utilizing at least one of the MAC CEs. In one embodiment, the configuration for short DRX cycle and/or long DRX cycle and associated MAC CEs usage can be limited to the MBS multicast services being availed in connected mode only and/or broadcast services; [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chin et al. (US 20220286818), “METHOD AND USER EQUIPMENT FOR MANAGEMENT OF MBS DATA RECEPTION.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413