DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. US 17/635658 in view of Li et al. (Hydroxyethyl Cellulose As a Rheological Additive for Tuning the Extrusion Printability and Scaffold Properties, 2021). Claim 1 of González recites the following:
“A method for the preparation of a perfusable scaffold for cell culture , the method comprising : providing a bioink composition and a fugitive ink com position ; chaotic printing the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition to generate a microstructured precursor comprising a plurality of lamellar structures formed from the bioink composition ; curing the bioink composition to form a cured scaffold precursor ; and removing the fugitive ink from the cured scaffold precursor , thereby forming the perfusable scaffold”
This reads verbatim on claim 1 of the claimed invention up until the last line wherein the requirement for HEC is incorporated. Additionally, regarding claim 27, González teaches use of a housing element which encloses the plurality of perfusable scaffolds. (0127) However, Li et al. teaches use of HEC as an additive to bioink compositions for the purpose of improved scaffold swelling to cause better cell adhesion, molecular permeability, and can also tune scaffold degradation, giving one skilled in the art motivation to incorporate it into the bioink taught by González. (Pg 96, Conclusion) As such, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate HEC into the composition and method as taught by González to arrive at the method step of claim 1 of the present invention.
Furthermore, claims 2, 3, 5-13, 15-17, and 24-25 of the claimed invention appear to match nearly verbatim to claims 2, 3, 5-13, 15-17, and 24-25 of González (outside of the improper dependency of the claims in González) and claims 57-58 of the claimed invention appear to match claims 27 and 28 of González, barring dependency.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 513, 15-17, 24-25, 27, and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over González et al. (WO 2021/062411 A1) in view of Li et al. (Hydroxyethyl Cellulose As a Rheological Additive for Tuning the Extrusion Printability and Scaffold Properties, 2021).
Regarding claims 1 and 27: González et al. teaches in claim 1 on page 68 of the reference the following: “A method for the preparation of a perfusable scaffold for cell culture, the method comprising: providing a bioink composition and a fugitive ink composition; chaotic printing the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition to generate a microstructured precursor comprising a plurality of lamellar structures formed from the bioink composition;
curing the bioink composition to form a cured scaffold precursor; and removing the fugitive ink from the cured scaffold precursor, thereby forming the perfusable scaffold.” This reads on the entirety of claim 1 except for the addition of hydroxyethyl cellulose. Regarding claim 27, González further teaches that a housing may enclose the plurality of perfusable scaffolds. (Pg 29, ln 20-26) As such, this would lead to the perfusable scaffold being disposed within the housing after removal from the cured scaffold precursor.
Li et al. teaches a method in which different concentrations of hydroxyethyl cellulose (hereafter HEC) were added to printed bioink based structures. It was found that the addition of HEC improves the printability of the bioink without reducing the biocompatibility of said bioink. (Pg 88, Abstract) Li further teaches that HEC can increase rheological properties of said bioink printed constructs up to 100 times in order to stabilize complex structures and improve printing fidelity. (Pg 88, Abstract) Lastly, Li teaches that HEC is able to convert nonviscous inks into directly printable inks, improve scaffold swelling, aid cell adhesion, improve molecular permeability, and tune scaffold degradation. (Pg 96, Conclusion)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li of incorporation of HEC into the printable bioink composition taught by González. One skilled in the art would have had motivation and a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Li, who state that incorporation of HEC into a bioink composition leads to improved permeability, scaffold swelling, cell adhesion, molecular permeability, and allow for the tunability of scaffold degradation.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 of González recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises dispersing a population of cells in the bioink composition prior to the chaotic printing”, reading fully on claim 2 of the claimed invention
Regarding claim 3: Claim 3 of González recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises seeding the perfusable scaffold with a population of cells”, fully reading on claim 3 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5: Claim 5 of González recites “The method of any of claim 1-4, wherein chaotic printing of the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition comprises inducing laminar flow of the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition through a mixer that chaotically mixes the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition to form lamellar interfaces between the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition.”, fully reading on claim 5 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6: Claim 6 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-5, wherein chaotic printing of the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition comprises coextruding the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition through a mixer that chaotically mixes the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition to form lamellar interfaces between the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition.”, reading fully on claim 6 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7: Claim 7 of González recites “The method of any of claims 5-6, wherein the mixer comprises a static mixer, such as a Kenics static mixer”, reading fully on claim 7 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8: Claim 8 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-7, wherein the perfusable scaffold an average striation thickness of from 10 nm to 500 µm.”, reading fully on claim 8 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9: Claim 9 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-8, wherein the perfusable scaffold exhibits a surface-area-to-volume (SAV) of from 400 m-1 to 5000 m-1.”, fully reading on claim 9 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-9, wherein the perfusable scaffold exhibits a surface density of at least 0.05 m2 cm-3.”, reading fully on claim 10 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-10, wherein the perfusable scaffold is produced in the form of a fiber.”, reading fully on claim 11 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-11, further chaotic printing the bioink composition and the fugitive ink composition comprises 3D printing, electrospinning, extrusion, or any combination thereof.”, reading fully on claim 12 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-12, wherein the bioink composition comprises a polymer.”, reading fully on claim 13 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15: Claim 15 of González recites “The method of any of claims 13-14, wherein the polymer comprises a polysaccharide, such as alginate, hyaluronic acid, agarose, or any combination thereof.”, reading fully on claim 15 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 of González recites “The method of any of claims 13-15, wherein the polymer comprises a protein or peptide, such as gelatin, collagen, or any combination thereof.”, fully reading on claim 16 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 of González recites “The method of any of claims 13-16, wherein the polymer comprises a synthetic polymer, such as a polyester (e.g., poly(propylene fumarate) (PPF), polycaprolactone, poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid), polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, or any combination thereof).”, fully reading on claim 17 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 24: Claim 24 of González recites “The method of any of claims 1-23, wherein the fugitive ink composition comprises a polymer.”, reading fully on claim 24 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 25: Claim 25 of González recites “The method of claim 24, wherein the polymer comprises a poly(alkylene oxide) block copolymer, such as a polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene (PEO-PPO) block copolymers (e.g., a poloxamer).”, fully reading on claim 25 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 57: Claim 27 of González recites “A perfusable scaffold for cell culture prepared by the method of any of claims 1-26.”, fully reading on claim 57 of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 58: Claim 28 of González recites “A bioreactor comprising
a plurality of perfusable scaffolds, each prepared by the method of any of claims 1-26.”, reading fully on claim 58 of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/HANNA MARIE THUESON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638