CTNF 18/861,796 CTNF 93093 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 , 4 , 7-8 , 11 , 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., hereinafter referred to as Wang (US 2021/0314596 A1) in view of Lin et al., hereinafter referred to as Lin (US 2021/0076061 A1) . As per claim 1 , Wang discloses an image decoding method (Wang: Abstract.) comprising: searching for a reference block for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Wang: Para. [0004] discloses “performing a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) process on a coding block” and the coding block’s “plurality of subblocks” and Wang: Fig. 5 & Para. [0091] disclose “a refined MV is searched around the initial MVs in the reference picture list L0 and reference picture list L1 [claimed searching for a reference block]”.) ; determining a corresponding reference block of the current block based on a distortion value of the searched reference block (Wang: Para. [0091] discloses “calculates the distortion [claimed distortion value] between the two candidate blocks [includes claimed searched reference block] in the reference picture list L0 and list L1” and “The MV candidate with the lowest SAD becomes the refined MV and is used to generate the bi-predicted signal”.) ; and deriving a sub-block-unit motion vector of the current block from the corresponding reference block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “for each sub-block [claimed sub-block-unit], the motion information of its corresponding block [claimed corresponding reference block] … in the collocated picture is used to derive the motion information [claimed motion vector] for the sub-block in the current CU [claimed current block].”) . However, Wang does not explicitly disclose “… for each neighboring block …”. Further, Lin is in the same field of endeavor and teaches for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Lin: Para. [0007] discloses “four spatial motion candidates associated with neighboring blocks of the current PU [claimed motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block]” and Lin: Para. [0015] discloses “These MVs includes MVs from Merge candidates … For each MV pair, two reference blocks are compensated by using this MV pair [claimed for each neighboring block]”, therefore, searching for a reference block is performed for each MV pair originating from the plurality of neighboring blocks.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Wang and Lin before him or her, to modify the decoding system of Wang to include the for each neighboring block feature as described in Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of the prediction process by providing a configuration that enables advanced block-based matching techniques. As per claim 2 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the distortion value is a distortion value between a template for the searched reference block and a template of the current block (Wang: Para. [0147] discloses “a template is generated as the combination of the two prediction blocks [claimed a template of the current block]” and Wang: Para. [0148] discloses “matching costs [claimed distortion value] of a plurality of search points [claimed for the searched reference block] within the one or more reference pictures are determined based on the template”.) . As per claim 4 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the reference block and the corresponding reference block are included in a collocated reference picture different from a current picture including the current block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “the motion shift added to the current CU's coordinates is applied to obtain the collocated block [claimed the reference block and the corresponding reference block] … in the collocated picture [claimed are included in a collocated reference picture different from a current picture including the current block]”.) . As per claim 7 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the deriving the sub-block-unit motion vector comprises: partitioning the current block into a plurality of sub-blocks (Wang: Para. [0004] discloses “splitting [claimed partitioning] the coding block [claimed the current block] into a plurality of subblocks into a plurality”.) ; and deriving the sub-block-unit motion vector from the corresponding reference sub-block in the corresponding reference block corresponding to the sub-block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “for each sub-block, the motion information of its corresponding block … is used to derive the motion information for the sub-block in the current CU”.) . As per claim 8 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 7, wherein the sub-block-unit motion vector is derived based on a motion vector at a center position of the corresponding reference sub-block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “smallest motion grid that covers the center sample” and Para. [0112] discloses “motion vector of the center sample of each subblock [claimed sub-block-unit motion vector is derived based on a motion vector at a center position of the corresponding reference sub-block]”.) . As per claim 11 , Wang discloses an image encoding method (Wang: Abstract.) comprising: searching for a reference block for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Wang: Fig. 5 & Para. [0091] disclose “a refined MV is searched around the initial MVs in the reference picture list L0 and reference picture list L1 [claimed searching for a reference block]”.) ; determining a corresponding reference block of the current block based on a distortion value of the searched reference block (Wang: Para. [0091] discloses “calculates the distortion [claimed distortion value] between the two candidate blocks [includes claimed searched reference block] in the reference picture list L0 and list L1” and “The MV candidate with the lowest SAD becomes the refined MV and is used to generate the bi-predicted signal”.) ; and deriving a sub-block-unit motion vector of the current block from the corresponding reference block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “for each sub-block [claimed sub-block-unit], the motion information of its corresponding block [claimed corresponding reference block] … in the collocated picture is used to derive the motion information [claimed motion vector] for the sub-block in the current CU [claimed current block].”) . However, Wang does not explicitly disclose “… for each neighboring block …”. Further, Lin is in the same field of endeavor and teaches for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Lin: Para. [0007] discloses “four spatial motion candidates associated with neighboring blocks of the current PU [claimed motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block]” and Lin: Para. [0015] discloses “These MVs includes MVs from Merge candidates … For each MV pair, two reference blocks are compensated by using this MV pair [claimed for each neighboring block]”, therefore, searching for a reference block is performed for each MV pair originating from the plurality of neighboring blocks.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Wang and Lin before him or her, to modify the decoding system of Wang to include the for each neighboring block feature as described in Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of the prediction process by providing a configuration that enables advanced block-based matching techniques. As per claim 13 , Wang discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream generated by an image encoding method (Wang: Abstract.) , the method comprising: transmitting the bitstream (Wang: Para. [0064] discloses “The encoder can use the output data of binary coding stage 226 to generate video bitstream 228. In some embodiments, video bitstream 228 can be further packetized for network transmission”.) , wherein the image encoding method comprises: searching for a reference block for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Wang: Fig. 5 & Para. [0091] disclose “a refined MV is searched around the initial MVs in the reference picture list L0 and reference picture list L1 [claimed searching for a reference block]”.) ; determining a corresponding reference block of the current block based on a distortion value of the searched reference block (Wang: Para. [0091] discloses “calculates the distortion [claimed distortion value] between the two candidate blocks [includes claimed searched reference block] in the reference picture list L0 and list L1” and “The MV candidate with the lowest SAD becomes the refined MV and is used to generate the bi-predicted signal”.) ; and deriving a sub-block-unit motion vector of the current block from the corresponding reference block (Wang: Para. [0102] discloses “for each sub-block [claimed sub-block-unit], the motion information of its corresponding block [claimed corresponding reference block] … in the collocated picture is used to derive the motion information [claimed motion vector] for the sub-block in the current CU [claimed current block].”) . However, Wang does not explicitly disclose “… for each neighboring block …”. Further, Lin is in the same field of endeavor and teaches for each neighboring block based on motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block (Lin: Para. [0007] discloses “four spatial motion candidates associated with neighboring blocks of the current PU [claimed motion vectors of a plurality of neighboring blocks neighboring a current block]” and Lin: Para. [0015] discloses “These MVs includes MVs from Merge candidates … For each MV pair, two reference blocks are compensated by using this MV pair [claimed for each neighboring block]”, therefore, searching for a reference block is performed for each MV pair originating from the plurality of neighboring blocks.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Wang and Lin before him or her, to modify the decoding system of Wang to include the for each neighboring block feature as described in Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of the prediction process by providing a configuration that enables advanced block-based matching techniques . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lin in further view of Lee (US 2005/0201464 A1) . As per claim 3 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 1 (Wang: Abstract.) , wherein the distortion value is a distortion value between a pixel for the searched reference block and a pixel of the current block (Wang: Fig. 5 & Para. [0091] disclose the searched reference block.) . However, Wang-Lin do not explicitly disclose “… wherein the distortion value is a distortion value between a pixel for the reference block and a pixel of the current block.”. Further, Lee is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein the distortion value is a distortion value between a pixel for the reference block and a pixel of the current block (Lee: claim 4 discloses “wherein the difference is the sum of the differences [claimed distortion value] between the pixels of the present block [claimed current block] and the pixels of the reference block”.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Wang-Lin, and Lee before him or her, to modify the coding system of Wang-Lin to include the distortion value between a pixel for the reference block and a pixel of the current block feature as described in Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve motion estimation by providing techniques that expand block-based matching algorithms . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6 , 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lin in further view of Jang (US 2024/0146933 A1) . As per claim 5 , Wang-Lin disclose the image decoding method of claim 4, wherein the searching for the reference block comprises searching for the reference block using only neighboring blocks having the same reference picture as the collocated reference picture among the plurality of neighboring blocks (Wang: Fig. 5; Para. [0091] and Lin: Paras. [0007], [0015].) . However, Wang-Lin do not explicitly disclose “… having the same reference picture as the collocated reference picture among the plurality of neighboring blocks.”. Further, Jang is in the same field of endeavor and teaches having the same reference picture as the collocated reference picture among the plurality of neighboring blocks (Jang: Para. [0120] discloses “if the reference picture of the spatial neighboring block and the reference picture of the current block are the same, the corresponding spatial neighboring block may be determined as being available”.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Wang-Lin, and Jang before him or her, to modify the decoding system of Wang-Lin to include the same reference picture as the collocated reference picture feature as described in Jang. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve performance and efficiency of inter-prediction by providing techniques that leverage additional information while searching. As per claim 6 , Wang-Lin-Jang disclose the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of neighboring blocks includes a left neighboring block, a bottom-left neighboring block, a top-left neighboring block, a top neighboring block and a top-right neighboring block of the current block (Jang: Para. [0108] discloses “the spatial neighboring block may include the bottom-left corner neighboring block, left neighboring block, top-right corner neighboring block, top neighboring block, and top-left corner neighboring block of the current block”.) . As per claim 10 , Wang-Lin-Jang disclose the image decoding method of claim 7, wherein the sub-block-unit motion vector is set to a motion vector at a center position of the corresponding reference block when a motion vector does not exist in the corresponding reference sub-block (Jang: Para. [0125] discloses “where the motion vector does not exist in a specific sub-block … the motion vector of the block located in the center of the corresponding block may be used for the specific sub-block”.) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEET DHILLON whose telephone number is (571)270-5647. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 5am-1:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sath V. Perungavoor can be reached at 571-272-7455. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner Art Unit: 2488 Date: 06-16-2026 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 2 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 3 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 4 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 5 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 6 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 7 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 18/861,796 Page 8 Art Unit: 2488