DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 15) in the reply filed on 6/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, as amended, claim 1 defines over the prior art and thus presents a special technical feature that is shared with the other groups. This is not found persuasive because, as set forth below, claim 1 does not define over the prior art as it is rendered obvious by the combination presented. Rejoinder will be considered in the future if/when some version of claim 1 is determined to be patentable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the moveable weight for counterbalancing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,632,610 to Wagner in view of CN 114044382 to Chenzhen.
Regarding claim 1 Wanger discloses a container handler (24) for bidirectional transfer of containers between a port of a storage grid (location in grid next to conveyor 21) of an automated storage and retrieval system and a conveyor (21) for transporting containers, wherein the container handler comprises a stand comprising two legs connected by a crossbar (see figure 1, support structure of gantry) and the container handler is connected to the crossbar (see figure 1); wherein said stand is configured to straddle the port of the storage grid of the automated storage and retrieval system and/or the conveyor for transporting containers (see figure 1), such that the container handler is aligned with a container tray of the port of the storage grid of the automated storage and retrieval system and/or the conveyor for transporting containers.
Wagner does not disclose said container handler comprising: an arm having an axis of rotation, an arm displacer, at least a first coupler provided at a first end of said arm, said first coupler for releasable engagement with a container, wherein the arm displacer is configured to: rotate the arm about the axis of rotation with at least the first coupler held in a horizontal plane between a first and a second arm rotational position, and displace the arm with at least the first coupler in a vertical direction between a first and a second vertical position.
Chenzhen teaches a handling system including an arm (222) having an axis of rotation (vertical shaft), an arm displacer (21/22), at least a first coupler (3) provided at a first end of said arm, said first coupler for releasable engagement with a container (3 is a clamp that can grip), wherein the arm displacer is configured to: rotate the arm about the axis of rotation with at least the first coupler held in a horizontal plane between a first and a second arm rotational position (rotation via 22), and displace the arm with at least the first coupler in a vertical direction between a first and a second vertical position (vertical movement via 21) in order to transfer articles to and from a designated position (para 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Wagner to include an arm having an axis of rotation, an arm displacer, at least a first coupler provided at a first end of said arm, said first coupler for releasable engagement with a container, wherein the arm displacer is configured to: rotate the arm about the axis of rotation with at least the first coupler held in a horizontal plane between a first and a second arm rotational position, and displace the arm with at least the first coupler in a vertical direction between a first and a second vertical position, as taught by Chenzhen, in order to transfer articles to and from a designated position. Additionally, doing so merely entails substituting one know transfer arrangement for another to yield predictable results. This is particularly true where the storage system has a separate system for moving articles internally.
Regarding claim 2 Chenzhen teaches the arm displacer is configured to: rotate the arm with at least the first coupler in the horizontal plane between the first and the second arm rotational position when the arm and at least the first coupler are in an upper vertical position (rotation via 22). It is noted that this claim is entirely functional and there is no controller etc. recited to require certain actions/behaviors to occur. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 3 Chenzhen teaches the container handler comprising a second coupler provided at a second, opposite end of said arm (other instance of 3 in figure 2), said second coupler for releasable engagement with a container. It is noted that this claim is entirely functional and there is no controller etc. recited to require certain actions/behaviors to occur. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 4 Chenzhen teaches when said arm is configured to be vertically displaced or rotated, only one of the first and the second couplers is in engagement with the container. The system is capable of movement with 0, 1 or 2 containers and thus reads on the claim. It is noted that this claim is entirely functional and there is no controller etc. recited to require certain actions/behaviors to occur. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 5 Chenzhen teaches the arm with the first and the second couplers is arranged to reciprocate about the axis of rotation (rotation via 22).
Regarding claim 6 Chenzhen teaches an angular stroke of the reciprocal rotation is 180 degrees (rotation via 22 is not limited). It is noted that this claim is entirely functional and there is no controller etc. recited to require certain actions/behaviors to occur. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 7 Chenzhen teaches the arm displacer comprises: a vertical displacement mechanism comprising: a vertically guiding part (211); a vertically displaceable support slidably connected with the vertically guiding part (see figure 3 and 212), the arm with at least the first coupler being fixedly attached to said support (figure 3); and a vertical displacement motor (cylinder 211) configured to displace the support with the attached arm along the vertically guiding part.
Regarding claim 8 Chenzhen teaches the arm displacer comprises: a rotational displacement mechanism (22) comprising: a rotational displacement motor (221) attached to the vertically displaceable support and configured to rotate the arm with at least the first coupler in the horizontal plane between the first and the second arm rotational position (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 12 Wagner teaches the container tray associated with the port of the automated storage and retrieval system and the conveyor for transporting containers are provided at the same level (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 15 Chenzhen teaches the container handler comprises a movable weight for counterbalancing vertical movement of the arm with at least the first coupler (the other instance of 3 can be considered a moveable weight and it will act to counterbalance a load in the in the other gripper).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other container handling arrangements that share some features with the claimed invention.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652