DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit”, “first and second tilt amount sensor” and control unit in claims 1, 4 and 5. According to paragraph [0030] of the instant specification, “acquisition unit” and “control unit” are interpreted as functional configuration composed of a combination of hardware, software such as a program. Furthermore, in paragraph [0025] of instant specification, it is disclosed that “The tilt amount can be represented by a value corresponding to, for example, the tilt angle, a movement amount of a grip portion, and the like. The angle sensor can be configured by, for example, a combination of a variable resistor (potentiometer) and a signal processing circuit, a combination of a hall element and a signal processing circuit,”. Accordingly, the “first and second tilt sensor” are interpreted as angle sensors that are a combination of a variable resistor (potentiometer) and a signal processing circuit, a combination of a hall element and a signal processing circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anahara et al., US20220290411A1, hereinafter “Anahara”, in view of Gray US20170123414A1, hereinafter “Gray”.
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Anahara teaches:
A control device and method of a work machine including work equipment ([0006], Fig. 1), and the work machine and the control device comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to repeatedly acquire a first detection signal output according to a tilt amount of an operation lever by a first tilt amount sensor configured to detect the tilt amount of the operation lever of the work equipment tilted from a neutral position in a first direction or a second direction opposite to the first direction ([0026], “the operation device 4 includes operation amount sensors 4 a and 4 b for electrically detecting the inclination amount of the operation lever in each direction, that is, the operation amount of the lever, and the operation amounts of the lever sensed by the operation amount sensors 4 a and 4 b are output to the controller 20.”,__inclination amount of operation lever reads on tilt amount of operation lever__, __also [0027], teaches operation device(operation lever), operating from neutral position to a direction (left side or right side on the other hand) that meet the claimed limitation__),
a second detection signal output according to the tilt amount by a second tilt amount sensor configured to detect the tilt amount ([0026], “the operation device 4 includes operation amount sensors 4 a and 4 b for electrically detecting the inclination amount of the operation lever in each direction,”, __Sensors 4a and 4b according to the disclosure and Fig. 2 of Anahara, reads on first and second tilt amount sensor__).
Anahara doesn’t explicitly teach a control unit configured to determine whether or not the first detection signal and the second detection signal are a value corresponding to the neutral position at a time of start of the work machine; generate and output a predetermined control signal for controlling the work equipment based on the first detection signal in a case where both of the first detection signal and the second detection signal are the value corresponding to the neutral position, and in a case where any one of the first detection signal or the second detection signal is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, generate and output the control signal based on the other of the first detection signal or the second detection signal, and outputs predetermined information corresponding to a case where the one is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, from the predetermined output unit.
Nevertheless, Gray teaches:
a control unit configured to determine whether or not the first detection signal ([0032]- [0033]),
generate and output a predetermined control signal for controlling the work equipment based on the first detection signal in a case where both of the first detection signal and the second detection signal are the value corresponding to the neutral position (__Fig. 5 shows that when the position of the joystick is in neutral at step 422 (which reads on detection signal being corresponding to the neutral position), the control system enable operation of the vehicle and the tool attached to the vehicle, at step 424__, [0033], “only if after two redundant checks of the control joysticks that the control joysticks are in the neutral position, the control system 140 will then power the board in state 424 enabling operation of the vehicle and the tool attached to the vehicle.”, __two redundant checks reads on the results of two detection signals, for more detail see paragraph 15 of present office action__).
and in a case where any one of the first detection signal or the second detection signal is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, the control unit generates and outputs the control signal based on the other of the first detection signal or the second detection signal, and outputs predetermined information corresponding to a case where the one is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, from the predetermined output unit ([0032], “If they are not in the neutral position, the control system 140 then provides an error signal, potentially as a flashing light or similar device on the remote control”, __error signal reads on predetermined information and flashing light or similar device reads on the predetermined output unit__, [0033], “only if after two redundant checks of the control joysticks that the control joysticks are in the neutral position, the control system 140 will then power the board in state 424 enabling operation of the vehicle and the tool attached to the vehicle.”, __Note: the limitation is interpreted as even if one detection signal shows that the operation lever is not in neutral position, the output information and safety controlling operation are generated. In other words, two signals must provide the same result for the operation lever being in neutral position for safety. Gray also suggests two redundant checks to ensure that the joystick is in neutral position which suggest detecting two signals acquired from two tilt sensor as recited in the claim __).
Furthermore, although Anahara teaches first sensor and second sensor for detecting the position of operation lever ([0026], and Fig. 2, “Sensors 4a and 4b”), however Anahara doesn’t explicitly teach determining the results based on two sensors (first and second detection signal). However, Gray teaches two redundant checks of the control joystick being in neutral position, according to at least paragraphs ([0032]-[0033], therefore, using two tilt sensors would be obvious to one ordinary skill as taught by the combination of Anahara and Gray). The first and second detection signal both correspond to the tilt amount of the operation lever acquired by the first and second tilt amount sensor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work machine and periphery monitoring system that teaches detecting the inclination amount or tilt amount of the operation lever as taught by Anahara with the safety feature of warning the operator (outputting predetermined information), if the operation lever is not in neutral position when the vehicle starts as taught by Gray, and further using two sensors for detecting/monitoring the tilt amount of operation lever to check if it is in neutral position for redundancy and as taught by Anahara and Gray, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of increasing the safety of working vehicle and improving the safe performance by outputting warning to the operator in case the operation lever is not in neutral position at the time of powering up the vehicle which results in undesired and dangerous sudden movement of vehicle or the vehicle’s equipment. This enhances the reliability of the machine by improving easiness and confidence/trust in the system.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anahara in view of Gray, or in alternative rejection in view of Hama et al., US20230167625A1, hereinafter “Hama”.
Regarding claim 2, Anahara in view of Gray and Akahane teaches the control device according to Claim 2, and Gray teaches wherein, in a case where any one of the first detection signal or the second detection signal is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, the control unit generates and outputs the control signal based on the other of the first detection signal or the second detection signal after limiting a function of the work equipment ([0033], “only if after two redundant checks of the control joysticks that the control joysticks are in the neutral position, the control system 140 will then power the board in state 424 enabling operation of the vehicle and the tool attached to the vehicle.”, __therefore even if one of the detection signals is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, the function of the work equipment is restricted which meet the claimed limitation__).
In alternative rejection, Hama also teaches wherein, in a case where any one of the first detection signal or the second detection signal is not the value corresponding to the neutral position, the control unit generates and outputs the control signal based on the other of the first detection signal or the second detection signal after limiting a function of the work equipment ([0012], “detection value of the operation amount of the first operation lever falls within a predetermined range determined in advance for a neutral position of the first operation lever and storing and retaining a control value for the lever drive actuator in the state satisfying the first condition while actuation of the hydraulic actuator is prohibited,”, __outputting the control signal satisfying the first condition while actuation hydraulic actuator is prohibited reads on after limiting a function of the work equipment__).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work machine and periphery monitoring system that teaches detecting the inclination amount or tilt amount of the operation lever as taught by, with the safety feature of warning the operator if the operation lever is not in neutral position when the vehicle starts as taught by Anahara in view of Gray, further using two sensors (in order to improve the accuracy of the output and the safety of the system) for detecting/monitoring the tilt amount of operation lever to check if it is in neutral position as also taught by Anahara in view of Gray, an also limiting the function of working equipment before ensuring that the operation lever in in neutral position as taught by Anahara in view of Gray, or in alternative rejection, Anahara in view of Hama, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of increasing the safety of working vehicle and improving the accuracy of the acquired results based on two sensors while even if one sensor’s output represent that the operation lever is not in the neutral position, the functions of vehicle is limited . This enhances the reliability of the machine by improving easiness and confidence/trust in the system.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anahara in view of Gray, (or in alternative rejection in view of Hama), further in view of katsuaki, JP 2006328759 A, hereinafter “Katsuaki”.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Anahara in view of Gray teaches the control device according to Claims 1 and 2, however, Anahara in view of Gray doesn’t explicitly suggest or teach wherein the second tilt amount sensor outputs the second detection signal according to the tilt amount such that a total value of the first detection signal and the second detection signal is a certain value, and in a case where it is determined that both of the first detection signal and the second detection signal are the value corresponding to the neutral position, the control unit generates and outputs the control signal to determine whether or not the total value of the first detection signal and the second detection signal is the certain value, and stop the work equipment in a case where the total value is not the certain value.
Nevertheless, Katsuaki discloses a control device for an operation system that controls the operation of an electrically operable actuator to the control of the operation of a predetermined movable body in accordance with the angle of an operation lever and teaches wherein the second tilt amount sensor outputs the second detection signal according to the tilt amount such that a total value of the first detection signal and the second detection signal is a certain value ([0004], “The operation detection means has first and second detection sections that detect the angle of the operation lever and output a detection signal.”, [0011] “the abnormality determination means calculates the sum of the voltage of the detection signal of the first detection unit and the voltage of the detection signal of the second detection unit, and compares this sum with a pre-stored normal value to determine an abnormality in the operation detection means.”, __ the sum of the voltage of the first and second detection signals reads on the total value of the first detection unit and second detection unit signals and a prestored normal value reads on a certain value, Note: according to the specification of the instant application, for example, paragraph [0025], the detection signal indicates by an analog voltage value, therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim as recited, the first and second detection signals are voltage values and the total value of the first and second detection values are the sum of the voltages from first and second detector __), ([0038], “the controller 40 calculates the sum V12n (= V1n + V2n) of the voltage V1n of the detection signal of the first detection unit 33 and the voltage V2n of the detection signal of the second detection unit 34”, “compares the total value V12n with a normal value Vc”, “the total value V12n and the normal value Vc match, and it is determined that the operation detection means 32 is normal”, [0046], “the total value V12n is greater than the normal value Vc, so the operation detection means 32 determines that an abnormality has occurred”), and stop the work equipment in a case where the total value is not the certain value ([0005], “When the abnormality determination means determines that the operation detection means is normal, a control signal corresponding to the angle indicated by the detection signals of the first and second detection units is generated and output, and when the abnormality determination means determines that the operation detection means is abnormal, the output of the control signal is stopped.”).
Although, katsuaki discloses detecting the angle of the operation lever in two opposite direction from the neutral position and output a control signal for controlling the operation control means (See katsuaki, at least [0003], [0009], [0021]), however, it doesn’t explicitly recites in a case where it is determined that both of the first detection signal and the second detection signal are the value corresponding to the neutral position, however, Gray teaches where it is determined that both of the first detection signal and the second detection signal are the value corresponding to the neutral position (See Gray, Fig. 5 that shows when the position of the joystick is in neutral at step 422 (which reads on detection signal being corresponding to the neutral position), and it would be obvious to a person ordinary in the art to combine the disclosure of katsuaki with the system as taught by Anahara in view of Gray to arrive at the claimed limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work machine and periphery monitoring system that teaches detecting the inclination amount or tilt amount of the operation lever as taught by Anahara in view of Gray, and determining whether both detection signals are values corresponding to the neutral position as taught by Gray and further adding the step of determining if the total of the detection signals being a certain value as taught by katsuaki, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a signal that can be compared with a threshold/certain value to reliably determine whether the operation lever is in neutral position despite sensor variation or noise.
Conclusion
/H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669