DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the original filing of October 30, 2024. Claim(s) 1-30 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 14-16, 19, 21, 24, 27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Nee et al. (US 10,742,472 B2, hereinafter Van Nee).
As to Claim 1, Van Nee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
a processing system configured to (Van Nee; Fig. 4):
select, according to a coded modulation scheme associated with a data message and a probabilistic shaping scheme associated with information bits of the data message, a power scaling factor corresponding to the data message ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for messages, i.e. data packet.); and
an interface configured to (Van Nee; Fig. 5):
output the data message according to the coded modulation scheme, including encoding the information bits according to the probabilistic shaping scheme and applying a power scaling to the data message according to the power scaling factor ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67; [col. 32, lines 46 - 60]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for sending data messages, i.e. data packet.).
As to Claim 4, Van Nee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to select the power scaling factor, the processing system is further configured to:
calculate the power scaling factor in accordance with one or more shaping parameters associated with the probabilistic shaping scheme, wherein the one or more shaping parameters include at least one of a probability distribution scaling factor, a shaping rate, or an entropy value associated with one or more modulation symbols used for the data message ((Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, lines 27 – 44; col. 28, lines 10-23; col. 32, lines 46-60]), where Van Nee discloses applying a power scaling factor.).
As to Claim 5, Van Nee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interface is further configured to:
output a demodulation reference signal associated with the data message in accordance with the power scaling factor (Van Nee; Figs. 10-11; [col. 29, line 65 – col. 30, line 65]).
As to Claim 14, Van Nee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interface is further configured to:
output, to a second wireless device, an indication of the power scaling factor (Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, line 62 – col. 28, line 24; col. 32, lines 46-60]).
As to Claim 15, Van Nee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to select the power scaling factor, the interface is further configured to:
obtain, from a second wireless device, an indication of the power scaling factor (Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, line 62 – col. 28, line 24; col. 32, lines 46-60]).
As to Claim 16, Van Nee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
a processing system configured to (Van Nee; Fig. 4):
select, according to a coded modulation scheme associated with a data message and a probabilistic shaping scheme associated with information bits of the data message, a power scaling factor corresponding to the data message ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for messages, i.e. data packet.); and
an interface configured to (Van Nee; Fig. 4):
obtain the data message according to the coded modulation scheme, including decoding the information bits according to the probabilistic shaping scheme and accounting for a power scaling of the data message according to the power scaling factor ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67; [col. 32, lines 46 - 60]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for sending data messages, i.e. data packet.).
As to Claim 19, Van Nee discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to select the power scaling factor, the processing system is further configured to:
calculate the power scaling factor in accordance with one or more shaping parameters associated with the probabilistic shaping scheme, wherein the one or more shaping parameters include at least one of a probability distribution scaling factor, a shaping rate, or an entropy value associated with one or more modulation symbols used for the data message ((Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, lines 27 – 44; col. 28, lines 10-23; col. 32, lines 46-60]), where Van Nee discloses applying a power scaling factor.).
As to Claim 21, Van Nee discloses a method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
selecting, according to a coded modulation scheme associated with a data message and a probabilistic shaping scheme associated with information bits of the data message, a power scaling factor corresponding to the data message ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for messages, i.e. data packet.); and
transmitting the data message according to the coded modulation scheme, including encoding the information bits according to the probabilistic shaping scheme and applying a power scaling to the data message according to the power scaling factor ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67; [col. 32, lines 46 - 60]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for sending data messages, i.e. data packet.).
As to Claim 24, Van Nee discloses the method of claim 21, wherein selecting the power scaling factor comprises:
calculating the power scaling factor in accordance with one or more shaping parameters associated with the probabilistic shaping scheme, wherein the one or more shaping parameters include at least one of a probability distribution scaling factor, a shaping rate, or an entropy value associated with one or more modulation symbols used for the data message ((Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, lines 27 – 44; col. 28, lines 10-23; col. 32, lines 46-60]), where Van Nee discloses applying a power scaling factor.).
As to Claim 27, Van Nee discloses a method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
selecting, according to a coded modulation scheme associated with a data message and a probabilistic shaping scheme associated with information bits of the data message, a power scaling factor corresponding to the data message ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for messages, i.e. data packet.); and
receiving the data message according to the coded modulation scheme, including decoding the information bits according to the probabilistic shaping scheme and accounting for a power scaling of the data message according to the power scaling factor ((Van Nee; Figs. 6-12; [col. 15, lines 28 – col. 16, lines 67; col. 27, lines 27-44; col 28, line 24-67; [col. 32, lines 46 - 60]), where Van Nee discloses utilizing a modulation scheme, probabilistic scheme and power scaling for sending data messages, i.e. data packet.).
As to Claim 30, Van Nee discloses the method of claim 27, wherein selecting the power scaling factor comprises:
calculating the power scaling factor in accordance with one or more shaping parameters associated with the probabilistic shaping scheme, wherein the one or more shaping parameters include at least one of a probability distribution scaling factor, a shaping rate, or an entropy value associated with one or more modulation symbols used for the data message ((Van Nee; Fig. 6; [col. 27, lines 27 – 44; col. 28, lines 10-23; col. 32, lines 46-60]), where Van Nee discloses applying a power scaling factor.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-13, 17-18, 20, 22-23, 25-26, and 28-29 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453 8.19.2026