DETAILED ACTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PLianos (US Pub 2019/0100208) in view of Jokela (US 2021/0009128 A1).
Regarding claim 13, PLianos discloses a device for controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0020) in a context of distance and/or speed control of the vehicle (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0023), wherein the device is configured to:
predict a distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode in consideration of a movement of the vehicle during a coasting entry phase (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0023); and
control, to start or to end, the coasting mode in dependence on the predicted distance and/or speed profile (sec 0011, 0016, 0017, 0146-0148, 0150).
PLianos did not particularly recite the limitation, “wherein the predicted distance and/or speed profile indicates a temporal and/or spatial distance of the vehicle to a preceding vehicle driving in front of the vehicle and a driving speed of the vehicle as a function of the driving progression”
However, Jokela teaches of a device for controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle (fig. 6; sec 0169 in a context of distance and/or speed control of the vehicle (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0178, 0179), wherein the device is configured to:
predict a distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode in consideration of a movement of the vehicle during a coasting entry phase (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0169, 0178, 0179);
wherein the predicted distance and/or speed profile indicates a temporal and/or spatial distance of the vehicle to a preceding vehicle driving in front of the vehicle and a driving speed of the vehicle as a function of the driving progression (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0178, 0179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify PLiano to include controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle including an advantage of Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC), wherein a distance and speed between a host vehicle and a preceding or target vehicle are dynamically controlled as taught by Jokela (sec 0070, 0178, 0179) for improving efficiency of the host vehicle and mitigating accidents.
Regarding claim 14, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the device is configured to take into consideration a drive and/or drag torque caused by a drive motor of the vehicle during the coasting entry phase and/or an acceleration of the vehicle caused by the drive motor during the coasting entry phase in ascertainment of the predicted distance and/or speed profile (sec 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 15, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the coasting entry phase extends over a driving progression range which begins with an initial driving progression, at which a decoupling of a drive motor of the vehicle from one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle is initiated, and which ends with an end driving progression, at which the drive motor is completely decoupled from the drivetrain (sec 0115-0124).
Regarding claim 16, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the coasting entry phase extends over a driving progression range which begins with an initial driving progression, at which a decoupling of the drive motor of the vehicle from one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle is initiated, and which ends with an end driving progression, at which the drive motor is completely decoupled from the drivetrain (sec 0115-0124, 0150, 0175).
Regarding claim 17, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the device is configured to ascertain a value of a drive and/or drag torque and/or an acceleration which is caused or was caused at an initial driving progression of the coasting entry phase by a drive motor of the vehicle on one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle (sec 0123-0136, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and
determine the predicted distance and/or speed profile based on the ascertained value of the drive and/or drag torque and/or the acceleration (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 18, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the device is configured to ascertain a value of a drive and/or drag torque and/or an acceleration which is caused or was caused at an initial driving progression of the coasting entry phase by a drive motor of the vehicle on one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle (sec 0123-0136, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and
determine the predicted distance and/or speed profile based on the ascertained value of the drive and/or drag torque and/or the acceleration (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 19, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the device is configured to ascertain a value of a drive and/or drag torque and/or an acceleration which is caused or was caused at an initial driving progression of the coasting entry phase by a drive motor of the vehicle on one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and
determine the predicted distance and/or speed profile based on the ascertained value of the drive and/or drag torque and/or the acceleration (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 20, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the device is configured to ascertain the predicted distance and/or speed profile under the assumption that if an influence of a roadway gradient is not taken into consideration a driving speed of the vehicle at the beginning of the predicted distance and/or speed profile remains unchanged for a specific driving progression range (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 21, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the device is configured to ascertain the predicted distance and/or speed profile under the assumption that if an influence of a roadway gradient is not taken into consideration a driving speed of the vehicle at the beginning of the predicted distance and/or speed profile remains unchanged for a specific driving progression range (figs, 3-7; sec 0081, 0101, 0107, 0127, 0158).
Regarding claim 22, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the device is configured to ascertain the predicted distance and/or speed profile under the assumption that if an influence of a roadway gradient is not taken into consideration a driving speed of the vehicle at the beginning of the predicted distance and/or speed profile remains unchanged for a specific driving progression range (figs, 3-7; sec 0081, 0101, 0107, 0127, 0158).
Regarding claim 23, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 20, wherein the device is configured to ascertain the specific driving progression range, in which the driving speed of the vehicle remains unchanged, based on the ascertained value of the drive and/or drag torque and/or the acceleration (figs, 3-7; sec 0081, 0101, 0107, 0127, 0158).
Regarding claim 24, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein during the coasting entry phase, a drive motor of the vehicle is decoupled from one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle; and/or the drive motor is deactivated (sec 0115-0124, 0150, 0175).
Regarding claim 25, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein during the coasting entry phase, the drive motor of the vehicle is decoupled from one or more wheels of a drivetrain of the vehicle; and/or the drive motor is deactivated (sec 0115-0124, 0150, 0175).
Regarding claim 26, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein during the coasting entry phase, the drive motor of the vehicle is decoupled from the one or more wheels of the drivetrain of the vehicle; and/or the drive motor is deactivated (sec 0115-0124, 0150, 0175).
Regarding claim 27, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein:
the predicted distance and/or speed profile extends proceeding from a current driving progression over a predefined prediction horizon (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175): and/or
the driving progression comprises:
a position of the vehicle along a roadway traveled by the vehicle (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and/or
a time during a journey of the vehicle (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 28, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the device is configured to ascertain an upcoming gradient profile of a roadway traveled by the vehicle (figs, 3-7; sec 0081, 0101, 0107, 0127, 0158); and
predict the distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode based on the upcoming gradient profile (figs, 3-7; sec 0081, 0101, 0107, 0127, 0158).
Regarding claim 29, PLianos discloses the device according to claim l 3, wherein the device is configured to ascertain status data with respect to a status of the vehicle and/or with respect to a status of a preceding vehicle driving in front of the vehicle (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0023); and
predict the distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode based on the status data (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0023).
Regarding claim 30, PLianos discloses the device according to claim 13, wherein the device is configured to compare the predicted distance and/or speed profile to a target speed or to a speed threshold value, lying below the target speed, of the distance and/or speed control (fig. 1-8; abstract; sec 0011-0023); and/or
compare the predicted distance and/or speed profile to a target distance or to a distance threshold value, lying above the target distance, of the distance and/or speed control (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and
control, to start or to end, the coasting mode in dependence on the comparison (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
Regarding claim 31, PLianos discloses a method for controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle in a context of distance and/or speed control of the vehicle (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175), the method comprising:
predicting a distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode in consideration of a movement of the vehicle during a coasting entry phase (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175); and
controlling, including starting or ending, the coasting mode in dependence on the predicted distance and/or speed profile (abstract; sec 0011, 0119, 0123-0126, 0130-0135, 0167-0170, 0173-0175).
PLianos did not particularly recite the limitation, “wherein the predicted distance and/or speed profile indicates a temporal and/or spatial distance of the vehicle to a preceding vehicle driving in front of the vehicle and a driving speed of the vehicle as a function of the driving progression”
However, Jokela teaches of a device for controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle (fig. 6; sec 0169 in a context of distance and/or speed control of the vehicle (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0178, 0179), wherein the device is configured to:
predict a distance and/or speed profile of the vehicle in the coasting mode in consideration of a movement of the vehicle during a coasting entry phase (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0169, 0178, 0179);
wherein the predicted distance and/or speed profile indicates a temporal and/or spatial distance of the vehicle to a preceding vehicle driving in front of the vehicle and a driving speed of the vehicle as a function of the driving progression (figs. 6, 9, 10; sec 0178, 0179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify PLiano to include controlling a coasting mode of a vehicle including an advantage of Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC), wherein a distance and speed between a host vehicle and a preceding or target vehicle are dynamically controlled as taught by Jokela (sec 0070, 0178, 0179) for improving efficiency of the host vehicle and mitigating accidents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657