DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the trawl doors, the air compressor, and the cooling machine must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 9, the claim depends upon a claim that requires a cooling agent. The claim then states cooling agent is “replaced”. It is unclear if the claim requires cooling agent to be added and then removed. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blum et al. (2002/0009338).
With regard to claim 1, Blum discloses a system (e.g. fig. 3) comprising a bubble curtain (310; para 0031) configurable to manipulate a temperature of a seawater surface to be of approximately equal a defined target temperature of the seawater surface (abstract), wherein a pipe (304) of the bubble curtain is positioned at an adjustable depth below the seawater surface (fig. 3; para 0036), such that an average temperature of respective seawater layers of a sea water column located between a respective one of the adjustable positions of the pipe and the sea water surface be approximately equal the defined target temperature (abstract) and is upwelled and mixed by bubbles released through holes arranged in respective walls of the pipe (fig. 3), wherein the bubbles are ascending and entraining water from the respective seawater layers of the sea water column (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 3, Blum further discloses the depth position of the pipe is modified with a distance from a position above the pipe wherein bubbles are formed (fig. 3; para 0036).
With regard to claim 4, Blum further discloses the bubble curtain comprises at least two pipes arranged in parallel with a defined distance between them (para 0042).
With regard to claim 6, Blum further discloses the pipe is arranged with means for controlling a position of a submerged pipe to be located above a seabed surface with a defined distance from the seabed surface, or below a sea water surface (para 0036).
With regard to claim 10, Blum further discloses a ship (1208) is configured to deploy a bubble curtain at a position defined by a meteorological institution (fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (2002/0009338) in view of Asker (2016/0021834).
With regard to claim 2, Blum discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a temperature profile of a water column is established by measuring respective temperatures of seawater layers of the sea water column and iterating different combinations of temperatures of the respective sweater layers as a function of respective depth positions of the pipe until an average temperature of the column is approximately equal the defined target temperature.
Asker discloses a system utilizing a temperature profile of a water column is established by measuring respective temperatures of seawater layers of the sea water column and iterating different combinations of temperatures of the respective sweater layers as a function of respective depth positions of the pipe until an average temperature of the column is approximately equal the defined target temperature (para 0017).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blum and utilize a temperature profile of the water column as taught in Asker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide data to ensure the surface water temperature gets to the desired value.
With regard to claims 11-12, Blum further discloses a compressor feeding compressed air to the pipe (para 0044) however is silent regarding at least one temperature sensor is configured to be deployed in an induced water surface current from the bubble curtain a measured temperature from the at least one temperature sensor is used to modify a pressure of a compressor feeding compressed air to the pipe.
Asker discloses a system utilizing at least one temperature sensor is configured to be deployed in an induced water surface current to control the system (para 0017).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blum and utilize a temperature profile of the water column as taught in Asker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide data to ensure the surface water temperature gets to the desired value.
With regard to claim 13, Blum, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Blum further discloses a cold liquid may be supplied to the location of the system by pumping the liquid from another nearby location (paras 0034-0037).
Blum fails to explicitly state the liquid is water. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to utilize water as such liquid is readily available and inexpensive.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (2002/0009338).
With regard to claim 5, Blum discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as the pipe comprises a plurality of holes in respective walls of the pipe (fig. 3; para 0036) however fails to explicitly state the number of holes is limited to form a total summed hole area opening-surface being less than a cross sectional area of the pipe. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the total area of the openings be any desired size to include less that the cross-sectional area of the pipe based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 14, Blum discloses the invention substantially however fails to explicitly state the target temperature is 26.5°C. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have any desired target temperature to include 26.5°C based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (2002/0009338) in view of Clark (4,039,439).
With regard to claim 7, Blum discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the means for controlling the position is at least a float arranged with an adjustable bouncy enabling a shift of position of the pipe upwards or downwards relative to a seawater surface, or the means are trawl doors.
Clark discloses a system for creating a bubble curtain wherein means for controlling the position is at least a float (28) arranged with an adjustable bouncy enabling a shift of position of the pipe upwards or downwards relative to a seawater surface (col. 9, lines 27-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blum and utilize float as taught in Clark, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide means to readily adjust the pipe’s location depending upon the conditions of the body of water as taught by Clark (col. 9, lines 27-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim is 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Systems to create bubble curtains are known such as those taught by Blum et al. (2002/0009338) and Comstock (2020/0317303). However, the cited prior art lacks an inner tubing surrounded by an outer tubing wherein the inner tubing receives compressed air from an external located compressor while a space in between the first and second tubing receives a cooling agent from a cooling machine as required by the independent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
04/17/2026