DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11-13 are presented for examination. Claims 1-10 are canceled in the 10/31/2024 preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/31/2024 and 3/20/2026 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo, US 2021/0410215, in view of Wang, US 2023/0403626.
Kuo is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 11, Kuo teaches the invention including a User Equipment (UE), comprising a processor configured to:
In case the UE is a layer 2 (L2) UE-to-UE (U2U) relay UE, initiate a ID configuration for a L2 U2U Remote UE and a peer L2 U2U Remote UE via an RRC message which includes a source L2 ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE, a destination L2 ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE (pp. 0135-0136, 0225, 0399-0400, 0404-0408, 0456, 0459),
Wherein the L2 U2U Remote UE is a UE connects with and communicates with the peer L2 U2U Remote UE via the L2 U2U relay UE (figure 18: Data transfer).
Kuo does not teach wherein the configuration is a local ID configuration and the RRC message also includes a local ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE and a local ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE. Wang teaches to initiate a local ID configuration for the Remote UE via an RRC message that includes a local ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE and a local ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE (pp. 0010-0011, 0141-0149, 0159, 0162-0165, 0167, 0169). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Wang and configure and reconfigure the Remote UE with a new Remote UE ID.
As per claim 12, Kuo and Wang teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Wang further teaches the processor is further configured to:
Upon a PC5-RRC connection establishment between the UE and a L2 U2U Remote UE, the UE initiates the local ID configuration (pp. 0141-0149, 0163-0164).
As per claim 13, Kuo teaches the invention including a method performed by a User Equipment (UE), wherein the UE is a layer 2 (L2) UE-to-UE (U2U) relay UE, the method comprising:
initiating a ID configuration for a L2 U2U Remote UE and a peer L2 U2U Remote UE via an RRC message which includes a source L2 ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE, a destination L2 ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE (pp. 0135-0136, 0225, 0399-0400, 0404-0408, 0456, 0459),
Wherein the L2 U2U Remote UE is a UE connects with and communicates with the peer L2 U2U Remote UE via the L2 U2U relay UE (figure 18: Data transfer).
Kuo does not teach wherein the configuration is a local ID configuration and the RRC message also includes a local ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE and a local ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE. Wang teaches to initiate a local ID configuration for the Remote UE via an RRC message that includes a local ID of the L2 U2U Remote UE and a local ID of the peer L2 U2U Remote UE (pp. 0010-0011, 0141-0149, 0159, 0162-0165, 0167, 0169). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Kuo and Wang and configure and reconfigure the Remote UE with a new Remote UE ID.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Orsino et al, US 2023/0328526
Cheng et al, US 2024/0413936
Lee et al, US 2018/0287689
Liu et al, CN116367262A
Li et al, EP4513959A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 14, 2026