DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 17-26, directed to a composition for inducing rejuvenation of at least one cell in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Examiner notes that claims 17-21 and 27-31 are directed towards inducing rejuvenation of at least one cell, while 22-26 and 32-36 are directed towards the composition/method of reducing the epigenetic age of a subject. As claims 17-21 and 27-31 are directed to the elected composition, claims 17-21 and 27-31 are under examination herein.
Claims 22-26 and 32-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/26.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochrombel (WO2019206820A1). While Ochrombel shares a common assignee, it was published more than 1 year before the effective filing date of instant application and therefore is valid prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Regarding claims 17-18, Ochrombel teaches preparations (compositions) comprising at least one probiotic B. subtilis strain and a peptide from 2-10 amino acids (claim 1). Ochrombel teaches the dipeptide can be Glycine-Glutamine, Glycine-Glutamic acid, Alanine-Glutamine, Alanine-Glutamic acid and its acetylated forms (claim 4). Ochrombel teaches the preparation can be used to enhance health status, in particular gut health, cardiovascular health, healthy weight management or immune health of an animal or a human being (administrating a composition) (p7 last 2 paragraphs).
The recitation that the composition is “for inducing rejuvenation of at least one cell” is a statement of intended use (see MPEP 2111.02). MPEP 2111.02 “To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim” see MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claims 19, Ochrombel teaches the composition can comprise curcuma and green tree extract (p8-9 bridging paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Ochrombel teaches the composition can comprise Bacillus subtilis DSM 32315, Bacillus subtilis DSM 32540, or Bacillus subtilis DSM 32592 (claim 2).
Regarding claim 21, Ochrombel teaches wherein the total amount of probiotic strain and amino acid or oligopeptide is at least 40 weight-% (claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochrombel (WO2019206820A1) and Matsubara (JP2020080856A). While Ochrombel shares a common assignee, it was published more than 1 year before the effective filing date of instant application and therefore is valid prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Regarding claims 27-28, Ochrombel teaches preparations (compositions) comprising at least one probiotic B. subtilis strain and a peptide from 2-10 amino acids (claim 1). Ochrombel teaches the dipeptide can be Glycine-Glutamine, Glycine-Glutamic acid, Alanine-Glutamine, Alanine-Glutamic acid and its acetylated forms (claim 4). Ochrombel teaches the preparation can be used to enhance health status, in particular gut health, cardiovascular health, healthy weight management or immune health of an animal or a human being (administrating a composition) (p7 last 2 paragraphs).
Ochrombel does not explicitly teach rejuvenation of cells.
Matsubara teaches an aging inhibitor consisting of B. subtilis (abstract). Matsubara teaches that 11 indicia can be improved by administration of the composition, (1) decrease in activity, 2)decrease in passivity, 3) deterioration of luster of hair, 4) covering Increased hair coarseness, 5) hair loss, 6) skin ulcer and crust formation, 7) blepharitis and erosion ofthe skin around the eye, 8) corneal opacity, 9) corneal ulcer, 1 0) cataract, (11) Enhancement of anterior-posterior curvature of the spine (p5-7). Matsubara teaches that the onset of diarrhea can be inhibited due to the rescue (rejuvenation) of the intestinal tract (p7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composition of Ochrombel for inhibition of aging as taught by Matsubara. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Ochrombel and Matsubara teach the same active ingredient and Matsubara teaches the composition is effective for the rejuvenation of cells. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as both Ochrombel and Matsubara are in the same field of endeavor of B. subtilis.
Regarding claim 29, Ochrombel teaches the composition can comprise curcuma and green tree extract (p8-9 bridging paragraph).
Regarding claim 30, Ochrombel teaches the composition can comprise Bacillus subtilis DSM 32315, Bacillus subtilis DSM 32540, or Bacillus subtilis DSM 32592 (claim 2).
Regarding claim 31, Ochrombel teaches wherein the total amount of probiotic strain and amino acid or oligopeptide is at least 40 weight-% (claim 5).
Conclusion
/TREVOR KANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657