DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sakai fails to disclose an axially force is applied to the capacitor element and points to the gap of fig. 1 and the fact that Sakai mentions the biting depth of 9A in the radial direction.
The examiner finds applicants arguments unpersuasive. As seen in fig. 9 the stabilization portion includes both portions that press in a radial direction (10A) and in an axial direction (10B). Sakai further explicitly discloses the sealing member is compressed by the winding element and tightening part (i.e. the sealing member and winding element are in contact with one another).
The examiner has further provided new grounds of rejection based on the amendment. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 29-32, 36-39, 41, 44, & 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (US 2019/0131078).
In regards to claim 26, Sakai ‘078 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 1; [0036]); and
a heat sink (4 – fig. 1; [0035] & [0065]); and
a stabilization element (10B – fig. 1 & 9; [0042]);
wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element (fig. 1 & 9; [0046-0047]) and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material, and
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0065]).
In regards to claim 29, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the first winding element has two electrodes (5 & 6 – fig. 2; [0036]) and one electrode is in direct electric contact with the heat sink ([0065]).
In regards to claim 30, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 29, wherein the heat sink establishes an external contact of the capacitor component ([0042] & [0065] – as the cathode foil is connected to the metallic case (heat sink) the case establishes an external contact (i.e. electrical connection can be made to 6 through 4)).
In regards to claim 31, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a sealing (3 – fig. 1; [0035]) configured to seal the first winding element from an external environment.
In regards to claim 32, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 31, wherein the sealing comprises a cover comprising a material selected from a metal, a glass, a hard paper, a rubber layer or combinations of these ([0049]).
In regards to claim 36, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 35, further comprising an opening side and a bottom side (4A – fig. 1; [0042]), and wherein a recess (9A – fig. 1,3, & 9; [0042]) is located in the bottom side.
In regards to claim 37, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein an ohmic resistance between the first winding element and the heat sink is 0.6 mΩ or less ([0036] & [0042] – aluminum has an ohmic resistance less than 0.6 mΩ).
In regards to claim 38, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a pressure relief element ([0047]).
In regards to claim 39, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 38, wherein the pressure relief element is a diffusion membrane enabling pressure relief from an inside of the heat sink to an external environment ([0047] – valve is consider a diffusion membrane (i.e. a membrane that will allow pressure escape)).
In regards to claim 41, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the heat sink comprises or consists of a material selected from Cu and/or Al ([0042]),
wherein the first winding element comprises electrodes (5 & 6 – fig. 2; [0036]) comprising or consisting of a material selected from Al, Ti, carbon and/or combinations thereof ([0038-0039],
wherein the first winding element comprises an separator material (7 – fig. 2; [0036]) between the electrodes,
wherein the separator material comprises or consists of a material selected from paper or synthetic fiber tissue or a combination thereof ([0036]), and
wherein a complete winding element is impregnated with a liquid electrolyte, or impregnated / coated with a polymer dispersion, or a combination of both ([0040]).
In regards to claim 44, Sakai ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the capacitor component has a longitudinal extension L perpendicular to a longitudinal plane, a first lateral extension W perpendicular to a transverse plane, and a second lateral extension H perpendicular to a frontal plane with
10 mm ≤ L ≤ 450 mm,
10 mm ≤ W ≤ 100 mm, and
10 mm ≤ H ≤ 100 mm ([0044]).
In regards to claim 48, Sakai ‘078 discloses
A DC-link capacitor comprising: the capacitor component according to claim 26 (see claim 26 rejection above).
In regards to claim 49, Sakai ‘078 discloses
A method for manufacturing the capacitor component according to claim 26, the method comprising: inserting the first winding element into the heat sink such that the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0065]); and
sealing the first winding element in the heat sink ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 31-33, & 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibi et al. (US 2009/0279231) in view of JP11045834A hereafter referred to as Ishida.
In regards to claim 26,
Hibi ‘231 discloses a capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (101 – fig. 1; [0103]); and
a heat sink (102 – fig. 1; [0104]) ; and
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (seen in fig. 1; [0630]). Hibi ‘231 fails to disclose a stabilization element; wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material.
Ishida discloses a capacitor component comprising: a first winding element (3– fig. 1; [0006]), a stabilization element (6 – fig. 1; [0006]); wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize the capacitor of Hibi ‘231 using a potting as taught by Ishida to obtain a capacitor wherein vibrations are reduced.
In regards to claim 31,
Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida further discloses further comprising a sealing (103/108-109 – fig. 1; [0105] & [0110-0111] of Hibi ‘231) configured to seal the first winding element from an external environment.
In regards to claim 32,
Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida further discloses wherein the sealing comprises a cover (103/108-109 of Hibi ‘231) comprising a material selected from a metal, a glass, a hard paper, a rubber layer or combinations of these ([0105] & [0710-0711] of Hibi ‘231).
In regards to claim 33,
Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida further discloses wherein the cover further comprises an insert or a ring (108 or 109) comprising rubber, plastic or glass ([0710-0711] of Hibi ‘231).
In regards to claim 40,
Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida further discloses further comprising a cathode foil directly welded to the heat sink ([0622] & [0630] of Hibi ‘231).
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagara et al. (US 2020/0365331) in view of Ishida.
In regards to claim 26,
Nagara ‘331 discloses a capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (10 – fig. 1; [0021]); and
a heat sink (40 – fig. 1; [0021]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 3; [0025]). Nagara ‘331 fails to disclose a stabilization element; wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material.
Ishida discloses a capacitor component comprising: a first winding element (3– fig. 1; [0006]), a stabilization element (6 – fig. 1; [0006]); wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize the capacitor of Nagara ‘331 using a potting as taught by Ishida to obtain a capacitor wherein vibrations are reduced.
In regards to claim 27,
Nagara ‘331 as modified by Ishida further discloses further comprising one or more additional winding elements in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 1 of Nagara ‘331).
In regards to claim 28,
Nagara ‘331 as modified by Ishida further discloses wherein the winding elements are selected from cylindrical windings and/or flat windings and/or stacks (fig. 6; [0037] of Nagara ‘331).
Claim(s) 26 & 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweikert et al. (US 5,021,927) in view of Ishida.
In regards to claim 26,
Schweikert ‘927 discloses a capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (4 – fig. 5; abstract); and
a heat sink (6 – fig. 5; abstract),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (abstract). Schweikert ‘927 fails to disclose a stabilization element; wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material.
Ishida discloses a capacitor component comprising: a first winding element (3– fig. 1; [0006]), a stabilization element (6 – fig. 1; [0006]); wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize the capacitor of Schweikert ‘927 using a potting as taught by Ishida to obtain a capacitor wherein vibrations are reduced.
In regards to claim 42,
Schweikert ‘927 as modified by Ishida further discloses wherein the heat sink comprises a connection terminal (8 – fig. 5; C3:L3-11 of Schweikert ‘927) configured for mechanically mounting and electrically connecting the heat sink to an external environment.
In regards to claim 43,
Schweikert ‘927 as modified by Ishida further discloses wherein the connection terminal is configured for being mechanically mountable and electrically connectable to a bus bar (C3:L3-11 of Schweikert ‘927).
Claim(s) 26-27 & 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP1126322A hereafter referred to as Iwano in view of Ishida.
In regards to claim 26,
Iwano discloses a capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 1-2 & 4; [0008]); and
a heat sink (10 or 20 – fig. 1 & 4; [0018] & [0021]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 1; [0018]). Iwano fails to disclose a stabilization element; wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material.
Ishida discloses a capacitor component comprising: a first winding element (3– fig. 1; [0006]), a stabilization element (6 – fig. 1; [0006]); wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize the capacitor of Iwano using a potting as taught by Ishida to obtain a capacitor wherein vibrations are reduced.
In regards to claim 27,
Iwano as modified by Ishida discloses further comprising one or more additional winding elements in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 4 of Iwano).
In regards to claim 45,
Iwano as modified by Ishida discloses a method for fixing the winding elements of the capacitor component according to claim 27 (see above rejection), the method comprising:
using a non-cylindrical cover disc (13 – fig. 1 & 4; [0019] of Iwano – noting the sealing body will have a shape commiserate with the opening of the case (rectangular in fig. 4 of Iwano) comprising a rubber layer;
pressing an open end of the heat sink into the rubber layer of the cover disc conformally along a circumference of the cover disc (fig. 1; [0020] of Iwano);
pressing the winding elements against a bottom of the heat sink thereby providing a tight sealing for the winding elements inside the heat sink and a mechanical fixation of the winding elements (fig. 1; [0020] of Iwano); and
controlling a pressing force for fixing the winding elements by a fixed distance between the cover disc and the bottom of the heat sink (fig. 1; [0020] of Iwano – as final product is the desire product the force was controlled to for the desired final product).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2012/0100407) in view of Ishida.
In regards to claim 26,
Inoue ‘407 discloses a capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 2; [0032]); and
a heat sink (4 – fig. 2; [0034]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0034]). Inoue ‘407 fails to disclose a stabilization element; wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material.
Ishida discloses a capacitor component comprising: a first winding element (3– fig. 1; [0006]), a stabilization element (6 – fig. 1; [0006]); wherein the stabilization element axially compresses the first winding element and/or wherein the stabilization element is a potting material ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stabilize the capacitor of Inoue ‘407 using a potting as taught by Ishida to obtain a capacitor wherein vibrations are reduced.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue ‘407 as modified by Ishida as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of JP2018092743A hereafter referred to as Tamaru.
In regards to claim 46,
Inoue ‘407 as modified by Ishida discloses further comprising a connection between the heat sink and a metal busbar (20 – fig. 2; [0027] & [0048] of Inoue ‘407) using one of the following methods:
via a screwing connection with a washer element, wherein the washer is made from a copper-aluminum clad material, and wherein the washer is placed so that a copper part is in contact with the copper busbar and an aluminum part is in contact with the heat sink;
via a direct welding contact of the metal busbar and the heat sink by friction stir welding ([0048] - this claim limitation is considered to be a product by process claim since the claim language is directed to the step required to form the connection. Therefore, this step has been given no patentable weight since it has been held that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art)
via a copper strip/plate that is welded to the heat sink and the copper busbar is connected to the copper strip/plate;
via a copper insert that is tightly fit into a hole in the heat sink by turning and pressing and the copper busbar is connected onto the insert; or
via a copper-clad dual material strip/plate/busbar that is connected to the heat sink so that an aluminum part is connected to the heat sink and a copper part is free to connect to the copper busbar. Inoue ‘407 as modified by Ishida fails to disclose the busbar is copper.
Tamaru discloses a copper busbar (20 – fig. 1; [0013]) welded to connection two components (10 – fig. 1; [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use copper as taught by Tamaru as the metal forming the metal busbar of Inoue ‘407 as modified by Ishida to obtain a busbar with good conductivity and based on the materials available. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of JP2004119907A hereafter referred to as Ashino.
In regards to claim 50,
Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida discloses a curling tool for sealing the capacitor component according to claim 26 (fig. 1; [0112] of Hibi ‘231 – curled portion would be formed by a curling tool), a cover (103 – fig. 1; [0105] of Hibi ‘231) into a cavity (cavity formed by 102 – fig. 1; [0104] of Hibi ‘231). Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida fails to explixtly disclose the curling tool comprising: an active side for pressing a cover into a cavity; and simultaneously curling a heat sink edge towards the cover to seal the cavity.
Ashino discloses a curling tool comprising: an active side for pressing a cover into a cavity; and simultaneously curling a heat sink edge towards the cover to seal the cavity (fig. 1-2; [0017-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the jig of Ashino when forming the capacitor component of Hibi ‘231 as modified by Ishida to obtain improved airtightness and prevent burrs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847