DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 37 recites “wherein an ohmic resistance between the first winding element and a negative busbar is 0.6 mΩ or less” which is not supported by the specification. The only mention in the specification of ohmic resistance is found in the paragraph starting at the bottom of page 6 and continuing on page 7 of the specification as filed which recites “an ohmic resistance between the winding element and the heat sink is 0.6 mΩ or less compared to a single winding element capacitor component welded to a negative busbar”.
Claim 47 recites “wherein a thermal contact between a capacitive element surface and the heat sink has a thermal contact resistance lower than 6 K/W” which is not supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 48 amounts to a mere reiteration of claim 26 as no further limitations beyond the capacitor of claim 26 are included and thus claim 48 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 29-32, 34-39, 41, 44, & 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (US 2019/0131078).
In regards to claim 26, Saki ‘078 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 1; [0036]); and
a heat sink (4 – fig. 1; [0035] & [0065]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0065]).
In regards to claim 29, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the first winding element has two electrodes (5 & 6 – fig. 2; [0036]) and one electrode is in direct electric contact with the heat sink ([0065]).
In regards to claim 30, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 29, wherein the heat sink establishes an external contact of the capacitor component ([0042] & [0065] – as the cathode foil is connected to the metallic case (heat sink) the case establishes an external contact (i.e. electrical connection can be made to 6 through 4)).
In regards to claim 31, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a sealing (3 – fig. 1; [0035]) for separating the first winding element from an external environment.
In regards to claim 32, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 31, wherein the sealing comprises a cover comprising a material selected from a metal, a glass, a hard paper, a rubber layer or combinations of these ([0049]).
In regards to claim 34, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a stabilization element (10A – fig. 1; [0042]) selected from a vibration reducing element, a potting element, a mechanical latch, a rib or a pin ([0042]).
In regards to claim 35, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 34, wherein the stabilization element is monolithically integrated within a material of the heat sink and/or radially or axially compresses the first winding element (fig. 1 & 9).
In regards to claim 36, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 35, further comprising an opening side and a bottom side (4A – fig. 1; [0042]), and wherein a recess (9A – fig. 1,3, & 9; [0042]) is located in the bottom side.
In regards to claim 37, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein an ohmic resistance between the first winding element and a negative busbar is 0.6 mΩ or less ([0036] & [0042] – aluminum has an ohmic resistance less than 0.6 mΩ).
In regards to claim 38, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a pressure relief element ([0047]).
In regards to claim 39, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 38, wherein the pressure relief element is a diffusion membrane enabling pressure relief from an inside of the heat sink to an external environment ([0047] – valve is consider a diffusion membrane (i.e. a membrane that will allow pressure escape)).
In regards to claim 41, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the heat sink comprises or consists of a material selected from Cu and/or Al ([0042]),
wherein the first winding element comprises electrodes (5 & 6 – fig. 2; [0036]) comprising or consisting of a material selected from Al, Ti, carbon and/or combinations thereof ([0038-0039],
wherein the first winding element comprises an separator material (7 – fig. 2; [0036]) between the electrodes,
wherein the separator material comprises or consists of a material selected from paper or synthetic fiber tissue or a combination thereof ([0036]), and
a complete winding element is impregnated with a liquid electrolyte, or impregnated / coated with a polymer dispersion, or a combination of both ([0040]).
In regards to claim 44, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the capacitor component has a longitudinal extension L perpendicular to a longitudinal plane, a first lateral extension W perpendicular to a transverse plane, and a second lateral extension H perpendicular to a frontal plane with
10 mm ≤ L ≤ 450 mm,
10 mm ≤ W ≤ 100 mm, and
10 mm ≤ H ≤ 100 mm ([0044]).
In regards to claim 47, Saki ‘078 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein a thermal contact between a capacitive element surface and the heat sink has a thermal contact resistance lower than 6 K/W ([0036] & [0042] – aluminum has a thermal contact resistance lower than 6 K/W).
In regards to claim 48, Saki ‘078 discloses
A DC-link capacitor comprising: the capacitor component according to claim 26 (see claim 26 rejection above).
In regards to claim 49, Saki ‘078 discloses
A method for manufacturing the capacitor component according to claim 26, the method comprising: inserting the first winding element into the heat sink such that the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0065]); and
sealing the first winding element in the heat sink ([0047]).
Claim(s) 26, 31-33, & 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hibi et al. (US 2009/0279231).
In regards to claim 26, Hibi ‘231 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (101 – fig. 1; [0103]); and
a heat sink (102 – fig. 1; [0104]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (seen in fig. 1; [0630]).
In regards to claim 31, Hibi ‘231 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a sealing (103/108-109 – fig. 1; [0105] & [0110-0111]) for separating the first winding element from an external environment.
In regards to claim 32, Hibi ‘231 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 31, wherein the sealing comprises a cover (103/108-109) comprising a material selected from a metal, a glass, a hard paper, a rubber layer or combinations of these ([0105] & [0710-0711]).
In regards to claim 33, Hibi ‘231 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 32, wherein the cover further comprises an insert or a ring (108 or 109) comprising rubber, plastic or glass ([0710-0711]).
In regards to claim 40, Hibi ‘231 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising a cathode foil directly welded to the heat sink ([0622] & [0630]).
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagara et al. (US 2020/0365331).
In regards to claim 26, Nagara ‘331 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (10 – fig. 1; [0021]); and
a heat sink (40 – fig. 1; [0021]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 3; [0025]).
In regards to claim 27, Nagara ‘331 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising one or more additional winding elements in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 28, Nagara ‘331 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 27, wherein the winding elements are selected from cylindrical windings and/or flat windings and/or stacks (fig. 6; [0037]).
Claim(s) 26 & 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweikert et al. (US 5,021,927).
In regards to claim 26, Schweikert ‘927 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (4 – fig. 5; abstract); and
a heat sink (6 – fig. 5; abstract),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (abstract).
In regards to claim 42, Schweikert ‘927 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, wherein the heat sink comprises a connection terminal (8 – fig. 5; C3:L3-11) configured for mechanically mounting and electrically connecting the heat sink to an external environment.
In regards to claim 43, Schweikert ‘927 discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 42, wherein the connection terminal is configured for being mechanically mountable and electrically connectable to a bus bar (C3:L3-11).
Claim(s) 26-27 & 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP1126322A hereafter referred to as Iwano.
In regards to claim 26, Iwano discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 1-2 & 4; [0008]); and
a heat sink (10 or 20 – fig. 1 & 4; [0018] & [0021]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 1; [0018]).
In regards to claim 27, Iwano discloses
The capacitor component according to claim 26, further comprising one or more additional winding elements in direct thermal contact with the heat sink (fig. 4).
In regards to claim 45, Iwano discloses
A method for fixing the winding elements of the capacitor component according to claim 27, the method comprising:
using a non-cylindrical cover disc (13 – fig. 1 & 4; [0019] – noting the sealing body will have a shape commiserate with the opening of the case (rectangular in fig. 4)) comprising a rubber layer;
pressing an open end of the heat sink into the rubber layer of the cover disc conformally along a circumference of the cover disc (fig. 1; [0020]);
pressing the winding elements against a bottom of the heat sink thereby providing a tight sealing for the winding elements inside the heat sink and a mechanical fixation of the winding elements (fig. 1; [0020]); and
controlling a pressing force for fixing the winding elements by a fixed distance between the cover disc and the bottom of the heat sink (fig. 1; [0020] – as final product is the desire product the force was controlled to for the desired final product).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US 2012/0100407).
In regards to claim 26, Inoue ‘407 discloses
A capacitor component comprising:
a first winding element (2 – fig. 2; [0032]); and
a heat sink (4 – fig. 2; [0034]),
wherein the first winding element is in direct thermal contact with the heat sink ([0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue ‘407 in view of JP2018092743A hereafter referred to as Tamaru.
In regards to claim 46,
Inoue ‘407 discloses further comprising a connection between the heat sink and a metal busbar (20 – fig. 2; [0027] & [0048]) using one of the following methods:
via a screwing connection with a washer element, wherein the washer is made from a copper-aluminum clad material, and wherein the washer is placed so that a copper part is in contact with the copper busbar and an aluminum part is in contact with the heat sink;
via a direct welding contact of the metal busbar and the heat sink by friction stir welding ([0048] - this claim limitation is considered to be a product by process claim since the claim language is directed to the step required to form the connection. Therefore, this step has been given no patentable weight since it has been held that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art)
via a copper strip/plate that is welded to the heat sink and the copper busbar is connected to the copper strip/plate;
via a copper insert that is tightly fit into a hole in the heat sink by turning and pressing and the copper busbar is connected onto the insert; or
via a copper-clad dual material strip/plate/busbar that is connected to the heat sink so that an aluminum part is connected to the heat sink and a copper part is free to connect to the copper busbar. Inoue ‘407 fails to disclose the busbar is copper.
Tamaru discloses a copper busbar (20 – fig. 1; [0013]) welded to connection two components (10 – fig. 1; [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use copper as taught by Tamaru as the metal forming the metal busbar of Inoue ‘407 to obtain a busbar with good conductivity and based on the materials available. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibi ‘231 in view of JP2004119907A hereafter referred to as Ashino.
In regards to claim 50,
Hibi ‘231 discloses a curling tool for sealing the capacitor component according to claim 26 (fig. 1; [0112] – curled portion would be formed by a curling tool), a cover (103 – fig. 1; [0105]) into a cavity (cavity formed by 102 – fig. 1; [0104]). Hibi ‘231 fails to explixtly disclose the curling tool comprising: an active side for pressing a cover into a cavity; and simultaneously curling a heat sink edge towards the cover to seal the cavity.
Ashino discloses a curling tool comprising: an active side for pressing a cover into a cavity; and simultaneously curling a heat sink edge towards the cover to seal the cavity (fig. 1-2; [0017-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the jig of Ashino when forming the capacitor component of Hibi ‘231 to obtain improved airtightness and prevent burrs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0028226 – fig. 1 US 2010/0053927 – fig. 1
US 2009/0122468 – fig. 1 US 8,748,020 – fig. 3
US 6,310,764 – fig. 2 JP0182877A – fig. 2
DE102004063559A1 – fig. 1 EP0389664A1 – fig. 5
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847