DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 21 and 22 were canceled by preliminary amendment. (Examiner notes that the latest claim listing shows claims 20-21 as canceled, but examiner is treating this as a typographical error since text still exists for Claim 20)
New claims are not presented.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “any of claims 2” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims use the term “synchronisation” which is the British spelling. The USPTO generally discourages, but does not forbid British spellings in patent applications and claims. However, the term must be spelled consistently throughout Applicant’s entire disclosure. Examiner notes that the specification uses the “synchronization” spelling. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “signalling” uses the British spelling. The USPTO generally discourages, but does not forbid British spellings in patent applications and claims. However, the term must be spelled consistently throughout Applicant’s entire disclosure. Examiner notes that the specification uses the “signaling” spelling. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, 8, 9 and 13 recite the limitation "the entity" in the first limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0404604 A1 (Hande et al.).
As to Claims 1 and 20, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus; and a method (Hande et al. - ¶ [0008]), respectively, comprising
at least one processor (Hande et al. - ¶ [0008]); and
at least one memory (Hande et al. - ¶ [0008]) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform:
determining burst timing information for at least one uplink periodic traffic stream of an application at an uplink ingress node (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]);
determining feedback information based on the burst timing information and radio access network, RAN, information (Hande et al. disclose adjusting an overlap between the periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, wherein the time offset {result of gathered burst timing feedback} is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]); and
providing the feedback information to a function associated with the application (Hande et al. disclose adjusting an overlap between the periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, wherein the time offset {result of gathered burst timing feedback} is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]).
As to Claim 2, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the entity comprises a RAN node (Hande et al. - ¶ [0034]) and
wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
determining the burst timing information comprise means for receiving the burst timing information from the uplink ingress node via a time sensitive communication time synchronisation function (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]).
As to Claim 3, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
receiving the burst timing information in time sensitive communication assistance information from a session management function (Hande et al. recite: “The core network 190 may include a Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management.” -¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 4, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to any of claims 2,
wherein the uplink ingress node is configured to observe the burst timing information by an indication from the time sensitive communication time synchronisation function (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]).
As to Claim 5, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the entity comprises a time sensitive communication time synchronisation function (Hande et al. disclose synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045])
wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
determining the burst timing information comprise means for receiving the burst timing information from the uplink ingress node (As to Claim 4, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to any of claims 2,
wherein the uplink ingress node is configured to observe the burst timing information by an indication from the time sensitive communication time synchronisation function (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]).
As to Claim 6, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
receiving the burst timing information using a port management information container (Hande et al. disclose the AMF - ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 7, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
providing an indication to the uplink ingress node to observe the burst timing information (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]).
As to Claim 8, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
receiving the RAN information at the entity from a RAN node (Hande et al. recite: “The base stations 102 configured for 4G LTE (collectively referred to as Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN)) may interface with the EPC 160 through first backhaul links 132 (e.g., S1 interface). The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions: transfer of user data, radio channel ciphering and deciphering, integrity protection, header compression, mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release, load balancing, distribution for non-access stratum (NAS) messages, NAS node selection, synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing, multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS), subscriber and equipment trace, RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning, and delivery of warning messages. The base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.” - ¶¶ [0034, 0043]).
As to Claim 9, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the entity comprises the uplink ingress node (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]) and
wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
determining the burst timing information comprise means for observing the burst timing information (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]).
As to Claim 10, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
providing the feedback information to the function associated with the application using a port management information container (Hande et al. disclose the AMF - ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 11, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
providing the feedback information to the function associated with the application via an access and mobility management function (Hande et al. disclose the AMF - ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 12, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
providing the feedback information to the access and mobility management function using non-access stratum session management signalling (Hande et al. disclose the SMF and AMF - ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 13, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
receiving an indication at the entity to observe the burst timing information (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]) and
determine feedback information based on the observed burst timing information (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]).
As to Claim 14, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein a port management information container comprises the indication (Hande et al. disclose the AMF - ¶ [0042]).
As to Claim 15, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the indication comprises at least one of an indication of the uplink periodic traffic stream and a measurement configuration (Hande et al. - ¶¶ [0050, 0055]).
As to Claim 16, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the burst timing information comprises at least one of burst periodicity, absolute burst arrival time, burst arrival time variation and offset time to a configured scheduling grant (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]; and synchronizing via adjusting the periodic uplink traffic bursts to achieve a desired processing timeline - ¶ [0045]).
As to Claim 17, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to of claims1,
wherein the RAN information comprises at least one of RAN configuration and RAN node burst arrival time preferences (Hande et al. recite: “The base stations 102 configured for 4G LTE (collectively referred to as Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN)) may interface with the EPC 160 through first backhaul links 132 (e.g., S1 interface). The base stations 102 configured for 5G NR (collectively referred to as Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN)) may interface with core network 190 through second backhaul links 184. In addition to other functions, the base stations 102 may perform one or more of the following functions: transfer of user data, radio channel ciphering and deciphering, integrity protection, header compression, mobility control functions (e.g., handover, dual connectivity), inter-cell interference coordination, connection setup and release, load balancing, distribution for non-access stratum (NAS) messages, NAS node selection, synchronization, radio access network (RAN) sharing, multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS), subscriber and equipment trace, RAN information management (RIM), paging, positioning, and delivery of warning messages. The base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.” - ¶¶ [0034, 0043]).
As to Claim 18, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the uplink ingress node comprises a user equipment or a device side time sensitive network translator (Hande et al. disclose the base station communicating with user equipment using periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, and adjusting an overlap between them, wherein the time offset is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]).
As to Claim 19, Hande et al. anticipate an apparatus according to any of claim 1,
wherein the feedback information comprises preferred uplink burst timing information (Hande et al. disclose adjusting an overlap between the periodic uplink traffic bursts and downlink periodic traffic bursts, wherein the time offset {result of gathered burst timing feedback} is sent to an application function. - ¶¶ [0007, 0044]).
Interview Practice
USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR)
The USPTO AIR is a new optional online interview scheduling tool that allows Applicants to request an interview with an Examiner for their pending patent application.
The USPTO AIR form is available on our website at: http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
By submitting this type of interview request, the pending patent application will be in compliance with the written authorization requirement for Internet communication in accordance with MPEP §502.03. This authorization will be in effect until the Applicant provides a written withdrawal of authorization to the Examiner of record.
If you have questions or need assistance with the USPTO AIR form or with interview practice at the USPTO, please contact an Interview Specialist at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice/interview-specialist or send an email to ExaminerInterviewPractice@USPTO.GOV.
Examiner Notes:
A) Prior to conducting any interview (whether using AIR or not), Applicant(s) must submit an agenda including the proposed date and time, all arguments in writing, and proposed claim amendments (if applicable). Any proposed amendments or arguments not presented in the agenda will only be heard by the Examiner, but because the Examiner will not have heard them in advance and been given an equitable opportunity to consider them, no decision will be rendered, nor agreement made. ALL AGENDAS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE EXAMINER AT LEAST 24 HOURS PRIOR TO THE START OF THE INTERVIEW, OR THE PREVIOUS BUSINESS DAY, WHICHEVER IS LONGER, or the interview may have to be rescheduled.
B) After-final interviews may be granted, but the agenda must be in compliance with MPEP 713.09 which limits the interview only to discussions of proposed amendments, or clarification for appeal. After-final interviews are not to be conducted for the purpose of rehashing previously made arguments. After seeing the agenda, Examiner will decide whether to grant or deny the interview.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/RICHARD G KEEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444