DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eliaz (US 2015/0071389 A1 – hereinafter Eliaz).
Regarding claim 1, Eliaz discloses a first node for wireless communication ([0030]; Fig. 1A – a transmitter for wireless communication via channel 107), comprising: a memory ([0023]; [0106] – a memory of a computer implementing the operations of the transmitter); and one or more processors coupled to the memory ([0023]; [0106] – a processor of the computer used to implement the operations of the transmitter), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: transmit an indication of a first set of one or more groups, wherein each group of the first set of one or more groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node ([0040]-[0041] – transmitting a control message that indicate a configuration of the transmitter, which comprises a set of one or more groups, wherein each group of the first set of one or more groups includes one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node as described at least in [0040] such as measured noise levels, temperature, battery charge level, quality of service parameters (e.g., latency and/or throughput requirements) and/or a model of non-linear distortion that the data will experience en route to a receiver, symbol error rate (SER), bit error rate (BER), signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), metrics calculated by a sequence estimation circuit, a phase error measured by the receiver, a measurement indicative of multipath present in the channel, and/or any other relevant performance indicator, etc.); and receive an indication of a second set of one or more groups, wherein the second set is a subset of the first set, and wherein each respective one or more parameter values corresponding to the second set of one or more groups correspond to digital non- linearity transmission modeling supported by a second node for digital non-linearity reception ([0051]-[0052] – receiving a feedback from a receiver indicating a second set of one or more groups, wherein the second set is a subset of the first set, and wherein each respective one or more parameter values corresponding to the second set of one or more groups correspond to digital non- linearity transmission modeling supported by a second node for digital non-linearity reception, which is the receiver as further described at least in [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of a particular group of the one or more parameter values for one or more communications transmitted by the first node, the particular group being included in the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values ([0040]; [0051] – transmitting an indication of a particular group of the one or more parameter values for one or more communications transmitted by the transmitter, the particular group being included in the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values as described in [0051], i.e. in [0051], Eliaz states “… [t]he parameters on which the configuration of the receiver may be parameters communicated (e.g., in a beacon signal) by a transmitter from which the receiver desires to receive communications. Such parameters may include, for example, power back-off (and/or other indications of non-linearity) symbol constellation in use, type of pulse shape filtering in use, baud rate, etc. The parameters on which the configuration of the receiver may be based may include a mode of operation of a transmitter from which the receiver desires to receive communications. Such mode of operation may, for example, be communicated to the receiver in a control message (e.g., in a beacon signal) and relayed to the control circuit 174”).
Regarding claim 3, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit one or more communications using a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values ([0048] – the transmitter transmitting communications using the configuration including a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values, i.e. the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values is based on the configuration of the transmitter and fed back to the transmitter as further described at least in [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Eliaz discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the second set of one or more groups comprises a single group, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit one or more communications using a group of one or more parameter values that is based on the single group of the one or more parameter values ([0048] – the transmitter transmitting communications using the configuration including a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values, i.e. the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values is based on the configuration of the transmitter and fed back to the transmitter as further described at least in [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a particular group of the second set of one or more groups to use for one or more communications ([0052] – receiving the feedback as the indication of a particular group to use for one or more communications).
Regarding claim 6, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameter values correspond to one or more of: a nonlinearity function applied to an input to generate an output signal, a linear filter applied to the input to generate the output signal, or a number of iterations of performance of one or more functions or filters before transmission of the output signal ([0040]; [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of an update to the first set of one or more groups ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly).
Regarding claim 8, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 7, wherein the update to the first set of one or more groups comprises one or more of: an indication of one or more additional groups, wherein each group of the one or more additional groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node, the respective one or more parameter values included in the first set of one or more groups or being one or more additional parameter values that the first node supports, an indication of the one or more additional parameter values supported by the first node, or an indication of one or more groups of the first set of one or more groups that the first node does not support ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly, the update comprises at least new values of parameters as described in at least [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of an update to the second set of one or more groups ([0048] – based on configuration of the transmitter is dynamically updated, an update to the second set of one or more groups is generated based on the updated configuration of the transmitter as described in [0051], and a new feedback is received as described in [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 9, wherein the update to the second set of one or more groups comprises one or more of: an indication of one or more additional groups, wherein each group of the one or more additional groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node, the respective one or more parameter values included in the first set of one or more groups or being one or more additional parameter values that the second node supports, an indication of the one or more additional parameter values, or an indication of one or more groups of the second set of one or more groups that the second node does not support ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly, an update to the second set of one or more groups is generated based on the updated configuration of the transmitter and comprises at least new values of parameters as described in at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the indication of the second set of one or more groups comprises: an indication of a first group of the second set of one or more groups, the first group to be used for first communications satisfying a first set of one or more first conditions ([0055]-[0060] – first configuration to be used for first communications satisfying a first set of one or more first conditions, i.e. based on first measurements and/or feedback, with specific values of SER around the operating SNR, etc.), and an indication of a second group of the second set of one or more groups, the second set to be used for second communications satisfying a second set of one or more second conditions ([0055]-[0060] – second configuration to be used for second communications satisfying a second set of one or more second conditions, , i.e. based on second measurements and/or feedback, with better SER around the operating SNR, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 11, wherein the first set of the one or more first conditions or the second set of the one or more second conditions correspond to one or more of: modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) for the first communications or the second communications, rank indices for the first communications or the second communications, numbers of component carriers for the first communications or the second communications, locations of component carriers for the first communications or the second communications, integrated bandwidths for the first communications or the second communications, occupied bandwidths for the first communications or the second communications, timing of the first communications or the second communications, or a geolocation of the first node ([0036]; [0057] – at least modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) for the first communications or the second communications).
Regarding claim 13, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 1, wherein the first node comprises: a user equipment, or a network node ([0040] – at least a user equipment).
Regarding claim 14, Eliaz discloses a first node for wireless communication ([0030]; Fig. 1A – a receiver for wireless communication via channel 107), comprising: a memory ([0023]; [0106] – a memory of a computer implementing the operations of the receiver); and one or more processors coupled to the memory ([0023]; [0106] – a processor of the computer used to implement the operations of the receiver), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive an indication of a first set of one or more groups, wherein each group of the first set of one or more groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node ([0040]-[0041] – receiving, by the receiver, a control message that indicate a configuration of the transmitter, which comprises a set of one or more groups, wherein each group of the first set of one or more groups includes one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node as described at least in [0040] such as measured noise levels, temperature, battery charge level, quality of service parameters (e.g., latency and/or throughput requirements) and/or a model of non-linear distortion that the data will experience en route to a receiver, symbol error rate (SER), bit error rate (BER), signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), metrics calculated by a sequence estimation circuit, a phase error measured by the receiver, a measurement indicative of multipath present in the channel, and/or any other relevant performance indicator, etc.); and transmit an indication of a second set of one or more groups, wherein the second set is a subset of the first set, and wherein each respective one or more parameter values corresponding to the second set of one or more groups correspond to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by a second node for digital non-linearity reception ([0051]-[0052] – transmitting, by the receiver, a feedback indicating a second set of one or more groups, wherein the second set is a subset of the first set, and wherein each respective one or more parameter values corresponding to the second set of one or more groups correspond to digital non- linearity transmission modeling supported by a second node for digital non-linearity reception, which is the transmitter as further described at least in [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a particular group of the one or more parameter values for one or more communications transmitted by the first node, the particular group being included in the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values ([0040]; [0051] – receiving an indication of a particular group of the one or more parameter values for one or more communications transmitted by the receiver, the particular group being included in the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values as described in [0051], i.e. in [0051], Eliaz states “… [t]he parameters on which the configuration of the receiver may be parameters communicated (e.g., in a beacon signal) by a transmitter from which the receiver desires to receive communications. Such parameters may include, for example, power back-off (and/or other indications of non-linearity) symbol constellation in use, type of pulse shape filtering in use, baud rate, etc. The parameters on which the configuration of the receiver may be based may include a mode of operation of a transmitter from which the receiver desires to receive communications. Such mode of operation may, for example, be communicated to the receiver in a control message (e.g., in a beacon signal) and relayed to the control circuit 174”).
Regarding claim 16, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive one or more communications using a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values ([0048] – the receiver receiving communications from the transmitter using the configuration including a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values, i.e. the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values is based on the configuration of the transmitter and fed back to the transmitter as further described at least in [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 17, Eliaz discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the second set of one or more groups comprises a single group, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit one or more communications using a group of one or more parameter values that is based on the single group of the one or more parameter values (Fig. 1A; [0035]-[0036] – the receiver transmitting communications using the configuration including a group of one or more parameter values based on the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values, i.e. the second set of one or more groups of the one or more parameter values is based on the configuration of the transmitter and fed back to the transmitter as further described at least in [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 18, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of a particular group of the second set of one or more groups to use for one or more communications ([0052] – transmitting the feedback as the indication of a particular group to use for one or more communications).
Regarding claim 19, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more parameter values correspond to one or more of: a nonlinearity function applied to an input to generate an output signal, a linear filter applied to the input to generate the output signal, or a number of iterations of performance of one or more functions or filters before transmission of the output signal ([0040]; [0051]).
Regarding claim 20, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of an update to the first set of one or more groups ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly).
Regarding claim 21, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 20, wherein the update to the first set of one or more groups comprises one or more of: an indication of one or more additional groups, wherein each group of the one or more additional groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node, the respective one or more parameter values included in the first set of one or more groups or being one or more additional parameter values that the first node supports, an indication of the one or more additional parameter values supported by the first node, or an indication of one or more groups of the first set of one or more groups that the first node does not support ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly, the update comprises at least new values of parameters as described in at least [0040]).
Regarding claim 22, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of an update to the second set of one or more groups ([0052] – based on configuration of the transmitter is dynamically updated as described in [0048], an update to the second set of one or more groups is generated based on the updated configuration of the transmitter as described in [0051], and a new feedback is transmitted as described in [0052]).
Regarding claim 23, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 22, wherein the update to the second set of one or more groups comprises one or more of: an indication of one or more additional groups, wherein each group of the one or more additional groups includes respective one or more parameter values corresponding to digital non-linearity transmission modeling supported by the first node, the respective one or more parameter values included in the first set of one or more groups or being one or more additional parameter values that the second node supports, an indication of the one or more additional parameter values, or an indication of one or more groups of the second set of one or more groups that the second node does not support ([0040]-[0041]; [0048] – configuration is dynamically changed, thus an update is transmitted accordingly, an update to the second set of one or more groups is generated based on the updated configuration of the transmitter and comprises at least new values of parameters as described in at least [0051]).
Regarding claim 24, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the indication of the second set of one or more groups comprises: an indication of a first group of the second set of one or more groups, the first group to be used for first communications satisfying a first set of one or more first conditions ([0055]-[0060] – first configuration to be used for first communications satisfying a first set of one or more first conditions, i.e. based on first measurements and/or feedback, with specific values of SER around the operating SNR, etc.), and an indication of a second group of the second set of one or more groups, the second set to be used for second communications satisfying a second set of one or more second conditions ([0055]-[0060] – second configuration to be used for second communications satisfying a second set of one or more second conditions, , i.e. based on second measurements and/or feedback, with better SER around the operating SNR, etc.).
Regarding claim 25, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 24, wherein the first set of the one or more first conditions or the second set of the one or more second conditions correspond to one or more of: modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) for the first communications or the second communications, rank indices for the first communications or the second communications, numbers of component carriers for the first communications or the second communications, locations of component carriers for the first communications or the second communications, integrated bandwidths for the first communications or the second communications, occupied bandwidths for the first communications or the second communications, timing of the first communications or the second communications, or a geolocation of the first node ([0036]; [0057] – at least modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) for the first communications or the second communications).
Regarding claim 26, Eliaz also discloses the first node of claim 14, wherein the first node comprises: a user equipment, or a network node ([0051] – at least a user equipment).
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 14 above.
Claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 16 above.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484