DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karsten et al (WO 20210379541; hereinafter Karsten).
As per claim 16, Karsten discloses a method for calibrating an irradiation device of an apparatus for producing a three-dimensional workpiece [abstract; page 1, lines 5-8; “… a device for calibrating an irradiation system of an apparatus for producing a three-dimensional workpiece and an apparatus and system for producing a three-dimensional workpiece using an additive layer manufacturing technique.”], the method comprising:
applying a first powder layer onto a carrier or onto a previously applied powder layer [page 20, lines 25-30; “… at the start of construction, a layer of powder may be applied with the current setting of the coater and the relative position of the powder surface to the calibration plane may be determined with the aid of the irradiation (laser) triangulation and the values determined during calibration for different z- heights. In this case, re-adjustment of the coater can be dispensed with if the deviation remains within the tolerance to be defined.”];
irradiating the first powder layer with an irradiation beam along at least one first irradiation section [page 24, lines 1-11; “In this example, a system, in particular a selective laser melting system, is equipped with N deflection units (only three are shown for simplicity) (and energy beam sources, whereby it is also possible for several or all deflection units to use the same energy beam source) and M (<=N) sensors (in particular spatially resolved sensors, in particular cameras) (only two are shown for simplicity), which extend their observation range over a part of the deflection units onto a surface (in particular the powder bed). The optical axes of the observation path and processing path (i.e. irradiation beam path of the irradiation beam used to irradiation the material, which may be a powder) may be the same or may be at an angle ≠ 0 to each other, as shown in figure 7. The system determines the position of points of impact to each other on the surface by a method comprising the following steps.”];
defining a first correction direction having an angle in a range from 70° to 110° with regard to the at least one first irradiation section [page 8, line 30-36; “In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position. ”; here perpendicular = 900 (i.e., in between 700 to 1100];
obtaining a first image of process radiation at locations where the irradiation beam impinges on the first powder layer during irradiation along the at least one first irradiation section [page 19, lines 34-36; “During image field calibration, at least two scanners may be set up in such a way that their beams meet at a point on the exposure surface.”]; and
determining, based on the first image, a correction value along the first correction direction for calibration of the irradiation device [page 8, lines 30-36; In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position.”; page 16, lines 4-12; “It is to be noted that, with selective laser melting or sintering systems with several scanner units, drifts can occur during a build job (in one or more of the three spatial directions), so that the originally aligned construction fields of the individual scanner optics show an offset in the processing plane (x/y). This may lead to offsets of the components in transition areas of two optics. It has been difficult thus far to check and correct these drifts over the entire irradiation plane during the ongoing construction process. Examples of the device and apparatus as described herein may allow for controlling and correcting the relative offset in x/y calibrated scanner optics in the overlap area.”].
As per claim 26, Karsten discloses an apparatus for producing a three-dimensional workpiece, comprising:
a powder application device configured to apply at least one powder layer onto a carrier or onto a previously applied powder layer [page 20, lines 25-30; “… at the start of construction, a layer of powder may be applied with the current setting of the coater and the relative position of the powder surface to the calibration plane may be determined with the aid of the irradiation (laser) triangulation and the values determined during calibration for different z- heights. In this case, re-adjustment of the coater can be dispensed with if the deviation remains within the tolerance to be defined.”];
an irradiation device for selectively irradiating an irradiation beam onto an irradiation plane corresponding to the applied powder layer [page 24, lines 1-11; “In this example, a system, in particular a selective laser melting system, is equipped with N deflection units (only three are shown for simplicity) (and energy beam sources, whereby it is also possible for several or all deflection units to use the same energy beam source) and M (<=N) sensors (in particular spatially resolved sensors, in particular cameras) (only two are shown for simplicity), which extend their observation range over a part of the deflection units onto a surface (in particular the powder bed). The optical axes of the observation path and processing path (i.e. irradiation beam path of the irradiation beam used to irradiation the material, which may be a powder) may be the same or may be at an angle ≠ 0 to each other, as shown in figure 7. The system determines the position of points of impact to each other on the surface by a method comprising the following steps.”];
an optical detection device for optically detecting at least a portion of the irradiation plane [page 19, lines 34-36; “During image field calibration, at least two scanners may be set up in such a way that their beams meet at a point on the exposure surface.”]; and
a control unit [Abstract; a control unit] configured to:
instruct the powder application device to apply a first powder layer onto the carrier or onto the previously applied powder layer [page 20, lines 25-30; “… at the start of construction, a layer of powder may be applied with the current setting of the coater and the relative position of the powder surface to the calibration plane may be determined with the aid of the irradiation (laser) triangulation and the values determined during calibration for different z- heights. In this case, re-adjustment of the coater can be dispensed with if the deviation remains within the tolerance to be defined.”];
instruct the irradiation device to irradiate the first powder layer along at least one first irradiation section [page 24, lines 1-11; “In this example, a system, in particular a selective laser melting system, is equipped with N deflection units (only three are shown for simplicity) (and energy beam sources, whereby it is also possible for several or all deflection units to use the same energy beam source) and M (<=N) sensors (in particular spatially resolved sensors, in particular cameras) (only two are shown for simplicity), which extend their observation range over a part of the deflection units onto a surface (in particular the powder bed). The optical axes of the observation path and processing path (i.e. irradiation beam path of the irradiation beam used to irradiation the material, which may be a powder) may be the same or may be at an angle ≠ 0 to each other, as shown in figure 7. The system determines the position of points of impact to each other on the surface by a method comprising the following steps.”];
define a first correction direction having an angle in a range from 70° to 110° with regard to the at least one first irradiation section [page 8, line 30-36; “In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position. ”; here perpendicular = 900 (i.e., in between 700 to 1100];
instruct the optical detection device to obtain a first image of process radiation at locations where the irradiation beam impinges on the first powder layer during irradiation along the at least one first irradiation section [page 19, lines 34-36; “During image field calibration, at least two scanners may be set up in such a way that their beams meet at a point on the exposure surface.”]; and
determine, based on the first image, a correction value along the first correction direction for calibration of the irradiation device [page 8, lines 30-36; In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position.”; page 16, lines 4-12; “It is to be noted that, with selective laser melting or sintering systems with several scanner units, drifts can occur during a build job (in one or more of the three spatial directions), so that the originally aligned construction fields of the individual scanner optics show an offset in the processing plane (x/y). This may lead to offsets of the components in transition areas of two optics. It has been difficult thus far to check and correct these drifts over the entire irradiation plane during the ongoing construction process. Examples of the device and apparatus as described herein may allow for controlling and correcting the relative offset in x/y calibrated scanner optics in the overlap area.”].
As per claims 17 and 27, Karsten discloses further comprising: applying a second powder layer onto the first powder layer or onto a powder layer that has been applied after the first powder layer [page 20, lines 25-30; “… at the start of construction, a layer of powder may be applied with the current setting of the coater and the relative position of the powder surface to the calibration plane may be determined with the aid of the irradiation (laser) triangulation and the values determined during calibration for different z- heights. In this case, re-adjustment of the coater can be dispensed with if the deviation remains within the tolerance to be defined.”]; irradiating the second powder layer with the irradiation beam along at least one second irradiation section, the second irradiation section being not parallel to the first irradiation section [page 24, lines 1-11; “In this example, a system, in particular a selective laser melting system, is equipped with N deflection units (only three are shown for simplicity) (and energy beam sources, whereby it is also possible for several or all deflection units to use the same energy beam source) and M (<=N) sensors (in particular spatially resolved sensors, in particular cameras) (only two are shown for simplicity), which extend their observation range over a part of the deflection units onto a surface (in particular the powder bed). The optical axes of the observation path and processing path (i.e. irradiation beam path of the irradiation beam used to irradiation the material, which may be a powder) may be the same or may be at an angle ≠ 0 to each other, as shown in figure 7. The system determines the position of points of impact to each other on the surface by a method comprising the following steps.”]; defining a second correction direction having an angle in a range from 70° to 110° with regard to the at least one second irradiation section [page 8, line 30-36; “In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position. ”; here perpendicular = 900 (i.e., in between 700 to 1100]; obtaining a second image of process radiation at locations where the irradiation beam impinges on the second powder layer during irradiation along the at least one second irradiation section [page 19, lines 34-36; “During image field calibration, at least two scanners may be set up in such a way that their beams meet at a point on the exposure surface.”]; and determining, based on the second image, a correction value along the second correction direction for calibration of the irradiation device [page 8, lines 30-36; In some examples, the device or apparatus comprises a reference plate comprising one or more markings with known positions, wherein the device or apparatus is configured to: determine a position, in particular in a first direction, of a said marking with respect to a pattern projected, in particular generally in a second direction which is different from (for example perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to) the first direction, by a scanner onto said marking, and calibrate said irradiation beam scanner based on the determined position.”; page 16, lines 4-12; “It is to be noted that, with selective laser melting or sintering systems with several scanner units, drifts can occur during a build job (in one or more of the three spatial directions), so that the originally aligned construction fields of the individual scanner optics show an offset in the processing plane (x/y). This may lead to offsets of the components in transition areas of two optics. It has been difficult thus far to check and correct these drifts over the entire irradiation plane during the ongoing construction process. Examples of the device and apparatus as described herein may allow for controlling and correcting the relative offset in x/y calibrated scanner optics in the overlap area.”].
As per claims 18 and 28, Karsten discloses wherein the first irradiation section is a straight irradiation vector [Fig. 2b and 2d].
As per claims 19-20 and 29, Karsten discloses wherein the first irradiation section is a first irradiation vector being part of a first hatch pattern of a first layer of the three-dimensional workpiece to be produced, and the second irradiation section is a second irradiation vector being part of a second hatch pattern of a second layer of the three-dimensional workpiece to be produced, and, optionally, wherein the first hatch pattern and the second hatch pattern each comprise a plurality of parallel irradiation vectors [Fig. 2a, 2d; page 3, lines 18-22; pattern or other spatial arrangement of the irradiation beam; page 11, lines 19-20].
As per claim 21, Karsten discloses wherein the at least one first irradiation vector and the at least one second irradiation vector form an angle of more than 10°, more than 15°, or more than 20° [page 24, lines 1-11; “In this example, a system, in particular a selective laser melting system, is equipped with N deflection units (only three are shown for simplicity) (and energy beam sources, whereby it is also possible for several or all deflection units to use the same energy beam source) and M (<=N) sensors (in particular spatially resolved sensors, in particular cameras) (only two are shown for simplicity), which extend their observation range over a part of the deflection units onto a surface (in particular the powder bed). The optical axes of the observation path and processing path (i.e. irradiation beam path of the irradiation beam used to irradiation the material, which may be a powder) may be the same or may be at an angle ≠ 0 to each other, as shown in figure 7. The system determines the position of points of impact to each other on the surface by a method comprising the following steps.”].
As per claim 22, Karsten discloses wherein the first image includes a start point and an end point of the first irradiation vector [Fig. 2a, 2d; page 6, lines 28-35].
As per claim 23, Karsten discloses wherein the first irradiation section is a contour section being part of a contour (82, 86) of the three-dimensional workpiece to be produced [page 21, lines 15-17; contours of the irradiated surfaces].
As per claim 24, Karsten discloses wherein the apparatus comprises an irradiation device for irradiating the irradiation beam and a further irradiation device for irradiating a further irradiation beam, the method comprising: selectively irradiating the further irradiation beam onto the first powder layer, wherein the irradiation device is configured to scan the irradiation beam over a first scan field and the further irradiation device is configured to scan the further irradiation beam over a second scan field, at least partially overlapping the first scan field in an overlap area, and wherein an optical detection device obtaining the first image is oriented or orientable such that a field of view of the optical detection device comprises at least a section of the overlap area [page 16, lines 4-12].
As per claim 25, Karsten discloses wherein the irradiation device and the further irradiation device simultaneously irradiate in the overlap area and are simultaneously imaged by the optical detection device, or wherein the irradiation device and the further irradiation device sequentially irradiate in the overlap area and are sequentially imaged by the optical detection device [page 16, lines 4-12, 30-32; overlap area; simultaneously or sequentially; page 15, lines 22-24; overlapping image areas].
As per claim 30, Karsten discloses a computer program product, which, when carried out by an apparatus for producing a three-dimensional workpiece, instructs the apparatus to perform the method of claim 16 [page 13, lines 27-28; computer-controlled].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20210129442 discloses methods of calibrating an irradiation device of an apparatus for additively manufacturing three-dimensional objects include arranging at least one calibration body in a beam guiding region in which an energy beam can be guided via an irradiation device.
US-20210001559 discloses a device for calibrating an irradiation system of an apparatus for producing a three-dimensional work piece is suggested.
US-20200324485 discloses a method for calibrating an irradiation device of an apparatus for additively manufacturing three-dimensional objects by means of successive layer wise selective irradiation and consolidation of layers of a build material which can be consolidated by means of at least two energy beams, wherein the at least two energy beams are guided via at least two irradiation units.
US-20200050169 discloses method for calibrating an apparatus for additively manufacturing three-dimensional objects by means of successive layer wise selective irradiation and consolidation of layers of a build material which can be consolidated by means of an energy beam, which apparatus comprises at least two irradiation units.
F. US-20100264302 discloses a method and a device for calibrating an irradiation device of an apparatus for generatively manufacturing a three-dimensional object.
N. EP-3815821 discloses methods for calibrating an irradiation device for an apparatus for additively manufacturing three-dimensional objects include generating at least two first and two second calibration patterns.
O. CN-105682900 discloses a system and method for calibrating a laser scanning system using camera and reference calibration plate motion control of.
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by applicant in submitted information discloser statement.