Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to arguments that “there is no illustration or description in Komann of the circular ring being below the holding protrusions” – figure 1F (disclosed as the only figure with a “highly magnified” bottom view) shows the bottom portion of the circular rings (14) extend below the holding elements (22). Furthermore, paragraph (0078) states that rings (14) are connected to the lower ends of the side-walls (10) and the end rings (14) project downwards from a plane of the lower ends of the side-walls (10). Thus, as shown in figure 1F, the first plane is defined by the distal end of rings (14) that would rest on a support surface (i.e. the bottommost edge of rings 14); the base thickness extends from the distal ends of rings (14) to the portions of rings (14) just below spacer elements (22) – i.e. the base thickness is the “ring” as shown in figure 1F (see below annotated figure); and the top of the spacer elements (22) define the second plane which is spaced apart from the first plane by a predetermined distance greater than said predetermined thickness (which is inherent due to the thickness of spacer elements 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komann et al. (US 2019/0343721). Komann et al disclose a holder device for holding a plurality of vials to be moved in a processing line, comprising a plate (2) having a plurality of housing seats (5) for housing the vials and a plurality of rigid spacer elements (22) arranged within said housing seats and configured to maintain the vials in a suspended position with respect to a substantially horizontal operating surface of the processing line, wherein each of said housing seats comprises an open base intended to face towards said operating surface, wherein said base has a predetermined thickness (see below annotated figure) and defines a first support plane for supporting the holder device on said operating surface and wherein at least one of said spacer elements defines, within the housing seat, a second support plane for supporting a vial, wherein said second support plane is spaced apart from said first support plane by a predetermined distance greater than said predetermined thickness [inherent as the rings 14 extend below the spacer elements. That is, the first plane is defined by the distal end of rings (14) that would rest on a support surface (i.e. the bottommost edge of rings 14); and the base thickness extends from the distal ends of rings (14) to the portions of rings (14) just below spacer elements (22) – i.e. the base thickness is the “ring” as shown in figure 1F (see below annotated figure)].
With regards to claim 2, said second support plane is parallel to said first support plane (figure 1F).
Regarding claim 11, Komann disclose an organized assembly of vials, comprising the holder device of claim 1, and the plurality of vials having respective base surfaces resting on the spacer elements of respective housing seats (figure 4C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komann et al. (US 2019/0343721). Although Komann et al. is silent to whether said predetermined distance is greater than three times said predetermined thickness, such construction would have been obvious since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation would have been to sit the vials higher within seats, e.g. provide more space from the supporting surface (i.e. thereby preventing any interference/disturbance of the vials from below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Komann et al. as specified in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komann et al. (US 2019/0343721) in view of Hutterer et al. (US 2022/0371765). Komann et al. disclose the invention of claim 1 including wherein each housing seat comprises a tubular wall extending from said base along a substantially vertical longitudinal axis. However, Komann et al. do not teach at least three spacer elements. Hutterer et al. teach a holder device comprising a housing seat with at least three spacer elements (28) radially protruding from said tubular wall towards an inside of said housing seat and circumferentially equally space from each other. Komann and Hutterer are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. holder devices. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Komann as taught by Hutterer. The motivation would have been to provide more support for the vials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Komann as specified in claim 4.
In regards to claim 5 and 14, said spacer elements are formed in a single piece with said tubular wall (Komann: figure 1F). Furthermore, “formed in a single piece…” is considered a product-by-process limitation. MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims states that "If the product in the product-by-process claim is that same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process." The process by which the spacer elements are made is not a patentable distinction.
In regards to claim 8, said housing seats extend on opposite sides with respect to said plate, and wherein the tubular walls of some pairs of adjacent housing seats comprise, on the opposite side to the respective base with respect to said plate, respective mutually facing lateral through openings (Komann: 41, figure 3E).
With regards to claim 9, each housing seat comprises at least three longitudinal ribs (Komann: 18, 19) radially protruding from said tubular wall towards the inside of said housing seat, each of said at least three spacer elements being an extension of a respective longitudinal rib.
With regards to claim 10, Hutterer teaches wherein said spacer elements are made of a material that is at least partially thermally conductive or non-thermally insulating (0028). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the spacer elements of Komann as taught by Hutterer. The motivation would have been to transfer heat to and from the holder device bottom surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Komann as specified in claim 10.
With regards to claim 12, Komann et al. as modified are silent to whether each of said vials contains a freeze-dried product. Nonetheless, Hutterer et al. does teach that it is well-known that the product may be a food product (0003). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Komann et al. to comprise freeze-dried product in the vials. The motivation would have been to provide a means to transport an additional product. Furthermore, it has been within the general skill of a worker to select a known product on the basis of its suitability.
Regarding claim 13 (see rejection of claim 4), Komann as modified teaches wherein each housing seat comprises a tubular wall extending from said base along a substantially vertical longitudinal axis and at least three spacer elements (Komann: 22, as modified by Hutterer) radially protruding from said tubular wall towards an inside of said housing seat and circumferentially equally spaced from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 15-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631