DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite limitations such as: “wherein the message includes a first parameter set for determining the mobility state of a normal terminal and a second parameter set for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal”; the examiner was unable to find in the specification a clear mapping of which parameters were for the “normal” terminal and which one were for the UAV terminal. It appears that the parameters are based on speed rather than type of terminal. Please indicate where in the specification support can be found for the above claims mentioned limitations.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite limitations such as: “wherein the message includes a first parameter set for determining the mobility state of a normal terminal and a second parameter set for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal”; since the examiner was unable to find support in the specification, the scope of the limitations is unclear. Please clarify the scope of the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang 20250159519.
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a method performed by a terminal [110] in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving [610, 710], from a base station [120], a message including parameters for determining a measurement configuration with a mobility state of the terminal [The aerial state information comprises at least one of an altitude range, a mobility state or a battery status… the terminal device 110 may receive a configuration indicating at least one criterion for determining the aerial state information] (see par. 0122-0124, 0135);
identifying, in the message, information for determining the mobility state of an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) terminal [110 Examples of the terminal device include, but not limited to … the unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) commonly known as a drone which is an aircraft without any human pilot] (see par. 0031, 0124, 0145); and
determining the mobility state of the terminal based on the information for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal [the terminal device 110 may receive a configuration indicating at least one criterion for determining the aerial state information, and determine the aerial state information based on the at least one criterion.] (see par. 0067, 0124).
As to claim 2, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message includes a first parameter set for determining the mobility state of a normal terminal and a second parameter set for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal [please see 112 rejection configuration of mobility state can have multiple thresholds depending on speed, altitude, etc.] (see par. 0031, 0042, 0055-0058, 0124).
As to claim 4, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message includes at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message (see par. 0053) or a system information block (SIB) message.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 9, they are the corresponding terminal claims of method claims 1-2 and 4. Therefore, claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14-15, they are the corresponding base station claims of device method claims 1-2 and 4. Therefore, claims 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
As to claims 5 and 10, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the [report result of the] mobility state of the terminal to the base station [the terminal device 110 may determine a subset of configuration parameters associated with the aerial state information from the set of configuration parameters, and report the results of the radio measurements based on the subset of configuration parameters.] (see par. 0064, 0080, 0112, 0125-0126, 0131, 0139). Although Wang does not disclose explicitly transmitting the determined mobility state of the terminal to the base station, it would be obvious that the results of the radio measurements based on the subset of configuration parameters implicitly indicate the aerial state information such as the mobility state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the present invention that since the aerial state information of a terminal device may be associated with one or more report configurations, then the report indicate the mobility state of the terminal such as Aerial state information; thereby, indicating where the measurement is valid.
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhang 20200236573.
As to claims 3, 8 and 13, Wang discloses wherein the message includes a parameter set for determining the mobility state of a normal terminal (see par. 0122-0124, 0135). Wang fails to disclose a scaling factor. In an analogous art, Zhang discloses a scaling factor for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal (see par. 0183), and wherein the scaling factor for determining the mobility state of the UAV terminal is applied to the parameter set (see par. 0184). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of correcting the measurements in high speed.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647