DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment re claim 1.
Claim 1, line 1, the limitation “the processing signals” are understood to include, collectively, the limitation “processing input signal”, recited in claim 1, lines 2-3 and “processing the predistortion signal” recited in claim 1, line 5.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 4 “ real part” is mistyped as “ real parr”; claim 5, line 5, shouldn’t “value” be replaced by “values”?
Claim 8, line 4 recites “a second weight vector” without a limitation to “a first weight vector”.
Claim 10, line 2, please spell out “tanh” as recited in the claim.
As per claim 12, line 1, “comprising” should be replaced by “comprising:”; claim 12, line 2, please delete “implement”; claim 12, line 3, please replace “determining” by “determine”; claim 12, line 6, please replace “generating” by “generate”.
Claim 15, line 5, shouldn’t “value” be replaced by “values”?
As per claim 20, with respect to “tanh”, see claim 10, line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al US 8,013,676.
As per claim 1, Su et al discloses a method and apparatus for processing signals (fig. 1), comprising: determining a predistortion signal (note output of element 105) corresponding to an input signal (note input to 105’) by processing the input signal through a multi-stage predistortion model (105’ is a first stage predistortion model and 105 is another stage predistortion model (collectively correspond to the limitation ”multi-stage pre-distortion model” that is based on neural network processing (see col. 4, lines 34-40); and generating a transmission waveform (“output” of 102) by processing the predistortion signal (output of 105) through transmission electronics ( at least 101 and 102 and Su et al further teaches in col. 1, line 11-13 that the invention is in the field of electronic technology and more particularly to a high-efficiency power amplifier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Su et al US 8,013,676 in view of Jin et al US20050140438.
As per claim 11, Su et al does not explicitly teach the input signal and the predistortion signal comprise complex values. Jin et al teaches an input signal and a predistorted signal as including complex signal (values) (see Jin et al page 4, claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have configured Su et al to configure the input signal and the predistorted signal to include complex values in the manner taught by Jin et al in order to shape the signal in a format suitable for transmission for compliance with the signal spectrum.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Su et al US 8,013,676 in view of Tanio US 2023/0275788 A1.
As per claim 12, Su et al discloses a method and apparatus for processing signals (fig. 1), comprising: determining a predistortion signal (note output of element 105) corresponding to an input signal (note input to 105’) by processing the input signal through a multi-stage predistortion model (105’ is a first stage predistortion model and 105 is another stage predistortion model (collectively correspond to the limitation ”multi-stage pre-distortion model” that is based on neural network processing (see col. 4, lines 34-40); and generating a transmission waveform (“output” of 102) by processing the predistortion signal (output of 105) through transmission electronics ( at least 101 and 102 and Su et al further teaches in col. 1, line 11-13 that the invention is in the field of electronic technology and more particularly to a high-efficiency power amplifier). However, Su et al fail to teach a processor configured to perform the method steps. Tanio teaches a similar method and apparatus including a processor configured to perform the method steps (note at least claim 1 at page 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have modified Su et al by providing a processor to implement the method steps in order to reduce the size of the transmission signal apparatus (Tanio para. [0024]).
As per claim 13, see rejection of claim 12. In addition, Su et al do not teach a non-transitory computer readable medium having code when executed by a processor causing the processor to implement the method steps. Tanio teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having code when executed by a processor causing the processor to implement the method steps (see Tanio page 16, claim 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have modify Su et al by providing a non-transitory computer readable medium having code when executed by a processor causing the processor to implement the method steps and the motivation to do so would have been the same as provided with respect to claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that the claims must be further amended, if required, to address any claim objection set forth above.
Conclusion
/JEAN B CORRIELUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633