Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 15 recite "accept message". It is unclear whether “accept message” introduces a new message or refers to a previously introduced “accept message” in the independent claims. Further, the phrase lacks an appropriate article identifying whether the recited message is being newly introduced or previously established. For clarity, “accept message” should be introduced with an e article, such as “an accept message”, and any subsequent reference to the same message should recite “the accept message”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al., US 20190174449 A1 (Hereinafter Shan) in view of 3GPP TSG-SA WG6 Meeting #38-e (hereinafter 3GPP1).
Regarding claim 1, Shan teaches
A method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (AMF 321.) in a mobile communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (UE 101), a registration request message;
(“Process 1200 may be performed by an AMF 321. Process 1200 begins at operation 1205 where network interface circuitry of the AMF 321 (e.g., network controller circuitry 535) receives a registration request message from a UE 101 ”[0251])
identifying at least one local area data network (LADN) service area per data network name (DNN
(“LADN service area(s) and LADN DNN(s) are configured in the AMF 321 on a per DN 303 basis.”[0055]” For each LADN DNN configured in the AMF 321, the corresponding LADN Service Area Information includes a set of Tracking Areas that belong to the Registration Area that the AMF 321 assigns to the UE 301 (e.g., the intersection of the LADN service area and the assigned Registration Area”[0056] ”By looking into the configured LADN Information in the AMF 321 and the LADN authorization information for the UE 321 in the subscription profile, the AMF 321 determines the LADN DNN(s) that the UE 301 can use in a current Registration Area.”[0057] ” When the UE 301 performs a successful (re-)registration procedure, the AMF 321 may provide, to the UE 301 in a Registration Accept message, LADN Information for a list of LADN(s) available to the UE 301 in that Registration Area, based on a local configuration (e.g., via OAM) about LADN, UE 301 location, and UE 301 subscription information received from the UDM 327 about subscribed DNN(s).” [0058])
and transmitting (sends), to the UE(UE 301), a registration accept message as a response to the registration request message, the registration accept message including DNN information and tracking area (TA) list (set of Tracking Areas) information which correspond to the at least one LADN service area per DNN
(“At operation 421, the new AMF 321 sends, to the UE 301, a Registration Accept message”[0135] “The LADN Information (e.g., a list of LADN DNN(s) and the corresponding LADN service area(s)) is included in the Registration Accept message, and is sent to the UE 301.”[0136] “For each LADN DNN configured in the AMF 321, the corresponding LADN Service Area Information includes a set of Tracking Areas that belong to the Registration Area that the AMF 321 assigns to the UE 301 (e.g., the intersection of the LADN service area and the assigned Registration Area).”[0056])
Shan fails to teach single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI). However 3GPP1 teaches at least one local area data network (LADN) service area per data network name (DNN) and single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and DNN information and tracking area (TA) list information which correspond to the at least one LADN service area per DNN and S-NSSAI.
(explains that EDN connection information includes “'DNN/APN' IE, 'S-NSSAI' IE and 'EDN service area IE' (only for LADNs)” [page 1]. Describes the information elements DNN/APN as Data Network Name/Access Point Name and S-NSSAI as Network Slice information “EDN Service Area (NOTE 2)” as “EDN service area information. The service area information is a list of Cell list or List of TA, PLMN IDs” where “NOTE 2: The EDN service area IE is included only if the EDN is a LADN.” [Table 8.3.3.2-1, page 9] “If the Edge Data Network configuration information includes an LADN DNN as an identifier for the Edge Data Network, the Edge Enabler Client considers the LADN as the Edge Data Network. Therefore, the service area of Edge Data Network is the LADN Service Area, which can be discovered using the UE Registration Procedure” [page 5])
It would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include 3GPP1’s S-NSSAI field in the DNN-specific LADN information transmitted by Shan’s AMF because 3GPP1 teaches that DNN, S-NSSAI and TA based LADN service area information are related connectivity parameters for the same local edge data network connection. The modification would allow the UE to distinguish between LADN service area applicable to different network slices, thereby obtaining the predictable result of providing slice specific LADN availability information to the UE.
Regarding claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
wherein the information (LADN Information/ LADN authorization information) is obtained from a local configuration or is received from a unified data management (UDM) entity (the UDM 327).
(“the AMF 321 looks into the configured LADN Information configured in the AMF 321 and/or the LADN authorization information for the UE 301 in the subscription profile from the UDM 327, and determines the list the LADN DNN(s) that the UE 301 can (and/or is authorized to) use in the current Registration Area. The LADN Information (e.g., a list of LADN DNN(s) and the corresponding LADN service area(s)) is included in the Registration Accept message, and is sent to the UE 301.” [0136])
Regarding claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
wherein the TA list information is mapped with geographical information.
(“An LADN service area is a set of Tracking Areas”[0055] “Area Of Interest (AOI) that specifies a geographical area within 3GPP system” [0075])
Regarding claim 5,
claim 5 reflects a communication system for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. (“includes integrated circuitry (IC) to be implemented as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the IC comprising: processor circuitry arranged to generate a registration accept message to include local area data network (LADN) information based on one or more LADN data network names (DNNs) or a request for LADN information included in a registration request message, the LADN information to include a list of available LADNs; and interface circuitry communicatively coupled with the processor circuitry, the interface circuitry arranged to obtain the registration request message from a user equipment (UE) via a radio access network (RAN) node, and send the registration accept message to the UE.”[0260])
Regarding claim 6,
Limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Claim 6 reflects communication system for implementing method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 7,
Limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Claim 7 reflects communication system for implementing method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Shan
A method (Process 1000/ procedure 1000) performed by a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a registration request message;
(“FIG. 10 depicts an example LADN indication procedure 1000 according to various embodiments. Process 1000 may be performed by the UE 101.”[0249] “The indication of LADN DNN(s) may be included in a registration request message, which is send to an AMF (e.g., AMF 321 of FIG. 3) via a RAN node 111.”[0016] “The UE 301 may provide either the LADN DNN(s) to retrieve the LADN Information for the indicated LADN DNN(s) or an indication of Requesting LADN Information to retrieve the LADN Information for all LADN(s) available in the current Registration Area.”[0059] “If the UE 301 provides the LADN DNN(s) in the Registration Request message, the list of LADN is LADN DNN(s) the UE 301 requested”[0098])
and receiving, from the AMF entity, the registration accept message as a response to the registration request message, the registration accept message including data network name (DNN) information ( list of LADN DNN(s) and tracking area (TA) list (set of Tracking Areas) information which correspond to at least one local area data network (LADN) service area per DNN
(“Example 4 includes the one or more CRSM of examples 1-3 and/or some other examples herein, wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: receive, over an N1 interface, a registration accept message from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the registration accept message to include LADN information for a list of one or more LADNs available to be used by the UE in a registration area.”[0256] “The AMF 321 also sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 321, which includes the allowed LADN(s) Information and/or an indication of allowed/authorized LADN DNN(s) (e.g., as a list of LADN DNN(s) and corresponding LADN service area(s)).”[0057] “The AMF 321 sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 301 indicating that the Registration Request has been accepted… The LADN Information (e.g., a list of LADN DNN(s) and the corresponding LADN service area(s)) is included in the Registration Accept message, and is sent to the UE 301.”[0136] “For each LADN DNN configured in the AMF 321, the corresponding LADN Service Area Information includes a set of Tracking Areas that belong to the Registration Area that the AMF 321 assigns to the UE 301 (e.g., the intersection of the LADN service area and the assigned Registration Area)”[0056])
Shan fails to teach single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI). However 3GPP1 teaches data network name (DNN) information and tracking area (TA) list information which correspond to at least one local area data network (LADN) service area per DNN and single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)
(explains that EDN connection information includes “'DNN/APN' IE, 'S-NSSAI' IE and 'EDN service area IE' (only for LADNs)” [page 1]. Describes the information elements DNN/APN as Data Network Name/Access Point Name and S-NSSAI as Network Slice information “EDN Service Area (NOTE 2)” as “EDN service area information. The service area information is a list of Cell list or List of TA, PLMN IDs” where “NOTE 2: The EDN service area IE is included only if the EDN is a LADN.” [Table 8.3.3.2-1, page 9] “If the Edge Data Network configuration information includes an LADN DNN as an identifier for the Edge Data Network, the Edge Enabler Client considers the LADN as the Edge Data Network. Therefore, the service area of Edge Data Network is the LADN Service Area, which can be discovered using the UE Registration Procedure” [page 5])
It would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include 3GPP1’s S-NSSAI field in the DNN-specific LADN information transmitted by Shan’s AMF because 3GPP1 teaches that DNN, S-NSSAI and TA based LADN service area information are related connectivity parameters for the same local edge data network connection. The modification would allow the UE to distinguish between LADN service area applicable to different network slices, thereby obtaining the predictable result of providing slice specific LADN availability information to the UE.
Regarding claim 10, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
wherein the information associated with the at least one LADN service area is associated with a local configuration or at least one subscribed LADN service area of a unified data management (UDM) entity (UDM 327).
(“the AMF 321 looks into the configured LADN Information configured in the AMF 321 and/or the LADN authorization information for the UE 301 in the subscription profile from the UDM 327, and determines the list the LADN DNN(s) that the UE 301 can (and/or is authorized to) use in the current Registration Area.”[0136] “the AMF 321 may provide, to the UE 301 in a Registration Accept message, LADN Information for a list of LADN(s) available to the UE 301 in that Registration Area, based on a local configuration (e.g., via OAM) about LADN, UE 301 location, and UE 301 subscription information received from the UDM 327 about subscribed DNN(s).”[0058])
Regarding claim 11, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
wherein the TA list information is mapped with geographical information.
(“An LADN service area is a set of Tracking Areas”[0055] “Area Of Interest (AOI) that specifies a geographical area within 3GPP system” [0075])
Regarding claim 13,
claim 13 reflects a communication system for implementing method in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale. “includes a System-on-Chip (SoC) to be implemented in a user equipment (UE), the SoC comprising: baseband circuitry arranged to generate a registration request message to include one or more local area data network (LADN) data network names (DNNs) or a request for LADN information; and interface circuitry coupled with the baseband circuitry, the interface circuitry arranged to provide the registration request message to radiofrequency (RF) circuitry for transmission to a radio access network (RAN) node.”[0279]
Regarding claim 14,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 14 reflects communication system for implementing method in claim 11 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan, in view of the 3GPP1, in further view of Kim et al., US 20210250788 A1 (Hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 4, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
receiving, from the UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session request message in case that the UE is in the at least one LADN service area;
(“When receiving PDU Session Establishment with LADN DNN or Service Request for the established PDU Session corresponding to LADN, the AMF 321 determines the UE 301 presence in the LADN service area and forwards it to the SMF 324 if the requested DNN is configured at the AMF 321 as an LADN DNN.”[0059] “Based on the LADN Service Area Information in the UE 301, the UE 301 determines whether it is in or out of a LADN service area. When the UE 301 is out of a LADN service area, the UE 301 does not request to activate UP connection of a PDU Session for this LADN DNN; does not establish/modify a PDU Session for this LADN DNN”[0060] “When the UE 301 is in an LADN service area, the UE 301 may request a PDU Session Establishment/Modification for the corresponding LADN DNN; and/or may request to activate UP connection of the existing PDU Session for the LADN DNN.”[0060] “The SMF 324 checks the validity of the UE PDU session establishment request, and if the DNN corresponds to an LADN, the SMF 324 checks whether the UE 301 is located within the LADN service area based on the ‘UE presence in LADN service area’ indication from the AMF 321”[0074])
Shan fails to teach transmitting, to the UE, accept message as a response to the PDU session request message. However, Kim teaches transmitting, to the UE, accept message as a response to the PDU session request message (PDU Session Establishment Request).
(“The UE transmits a NAS Message (S-NSSAI(s), DNN (data network name), PDU Session ID, Request type, Old PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Request)) to AMF”[0157] ” The UE initiates the UE Requested PDU Session Establishment procedure by the transmission of a NAS message containing a PDU Session Establishment Request within the N1 SM container.”[0159] “The N1 SM container contains the PDU Session Establishment Accept that the AMF shall provide to the UE”[0246] “the AMF sends the NAS message containing PDU Session ID and PDU Session Establishment Accept targeted to the UE and the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request to the (R)AN.”[0251]” (R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) provided in step 12 to the UE.”[0254]).
It would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s PDU session establishment accept procedure with Shan’s LADN PDU session establishment accept procedure and 3GPP1 so that, after the network determines that the UE is within the applicable LADN service area and processes the UE’s PDU session establishment request, the network transmits a PDU session establishment accept to the UE, thereby completing the request and accept signaling exchange and improving reliable establishment of the location authorized LADN PDU session.
Regarding claim 8,
Limitations of parent claim 5 have been discussed above. Claim 8 reflects communication system for implementing method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale. “includes integrated circuitry (IC) to be implemented as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the IC comprising: processor circuitry arranged to generate a registration accept message to include local area data network (LADN) information based on one or more LADN data network names (DNNs) or a request for LADN information included in a registration request message, the LADN information to include a list of available LADNs; and interface circuitry communicatively coupled with the processor circuitry, the interface circuitry arranged to obtain the registration request message from a user equipment (UE) via a radio access network (RAN) node, and send the registration accept message to the UE.”[0260]
Regarding claim 12, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Shan teaches
transmitting, to the AMF entity, a protocol data unit (PDU) session request message (a PDU Session Establishment) in case that the UE is in the at least one LADN service area;
(“When receiving PDU Session Establishment with LADN DNN or Service Request for the established PDU Session corresponding to LADN, the AMF 321 determines the UE 301 presence in the LADN service area and forwards it to the SMF 324 if the requested DNN is configured at the AMF 321 as an LADN DNN. Based on the LADN Service Area Information in the UE 301, the UE 301 determines whether it is in or out of a LADN service area. If the UE 301 does not have the LADN Service Area Information for an LADN DNN, the UE 301 considers it is out of the LADN service area. When the UE 301 is out of a LADN service area, the UE 301 does not request to activate UP connection of a PDU Session for this LADN DNN; does not establish/modify a PDU Session for this LADN DNN; and need not release any existing PDU Session for this LADN DNN unless the UE 301 receives explicit SM PDU Session Release Request message from the network. When the UE 301 is in an LADN service area, the UE 301 may request a PDU Session Establishment/Modification for the corresponding LADN DNN; and/or may request to activate UP connection of the existing PDU Session for the LADN DNN” [0059 - 0060] )
Shan fails to teach receiving, from the AMF entity, accept message as a response to the PDU session request message. However, Kim teaches receiving, from the AMF entity, accept message as a response to the PDU session request message.
(“The UE transmits a NAS Message (S-NSSAI(s), DNN (data network name), PDU Session ID, Request type, Old PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Request)) to AMF”[0157] ” The UE initiates the UE Requested PDU Session Establishment procedure by the transmission of a NAS message containing a PDU Session Establishment Request within the N1 SM container.”[0159] “The N1 SM container contains the PDU Session Establishment Accept that the AMF shall provide to the UE”[0246] “the AMF sends the NAS message containing PDU Session ID and PDU Session Establishment Accept targeted to the UE and the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request to the (R)AN.”[0251]” (R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) provided in step 12 to the UE.”[0254]).
It would have been obvious to a person having of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s PDU session establishment accept procedure with Shan’s LADN PDU session establishment accept procedure and 3GPP1 so that, after the UE determines that it is within the applicable LADN service area and transmits a PDU session establishment request to the AMF, the UE receives a PDU session establishment accept from the AMF, thereby completing the request and accept signaling exchange and improving reliable establishment of the location authorized LADN PDU session.
Regarding claim 15,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects communication system for implementing method in claim 12 and is rejected along the same rationale.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al (WO 2019194954 A1 paragraphs [0040-0042], [0081], [00128]) is pertinent because it discloses LADN service area information defined by tracking areas and geographical region information.
Kawasaki et al (US 20210360722 A1 paragraphs [0222 -0224] [0294] [0302] ) is pertinent because it discloses LADN PDU session error handling when the UE is outside the LADN service area.
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646