DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 9, 13, 14, 18, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20240014184 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220059608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses A splicing display assembly, comprising:
a plurality of display modules spliced together (Figs 1, 2, [0065] Please refer to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 . The present application provides a splicing display device 1000. The splicing display device comprises at least two display devices 100, a middle frame 200, and a light emitting diode (LED) substrate 300.) , wherein each display module comprises a splicing side (Fig. 2, slide on 1000), each display module comprises a back plate (Fig 2, [0066]), a display panel (Fig 2, [0066] Each two adjacent display devices 100 are spliced to form a gap fx. Each display device 100 comprises a backplate 111 and a panel 12 disposed on the backplate 111.), a cover plate (Fig. 3, [0067] the middle frame 200) and a first fixing member (Figs 2, 3, [0067] a fixing part 22), and the display panel and the cover plate are arranged on the back plate along a direction away from the back plate; (Figs. 2, 3, [0065] – [0070])
wherein for each display module, the first fixing member (Figs 2, 3, [0067] a fixing part 22) is located on the splicing side of the display module and is arranged on a side of the cover plate close to the back plate, ([0065] – [0067]) one end of the first fixing member is fixed to the cover plate, and the other end of the first fixing member is fixed to the back plate; (Figs 2, 3, [0067] With reference to FIG. 3 , the middle frame 200 comprises a carrying part 21 and a fixing part 22 connected to the carrying part 21. The carrying part 21 is arranged on two adjacent panels 12 and shields the gap fx. The fixing part 22 is arranged in the gap fx and is detachably connected to the backplate 111. [0085] With reference to FIGS. 2 and 3 , the fixing part 22 comprises a plate body 221 and a groove body 222 protruding from the plate body 221. A second hole k2 is defined in the groove body 222. The groove body 222 is disposed in the limiting recess Xw. The groove body 222 and the backplate 111 are detachably connected by means of a connection element Lj. The connection member Lj is inserted through the first hole k1 and the second hole k2.) and
for any two display modules spliced with each other, the cover plates of the two display modules are in contact with each other at an edge of the splicing side. ([0070] The splicing display device 1000 of the present embodiment not only uses the middle frame 200 to protect the panels 12, but also uses the middle frame 200 as a base for supporting the LED substrate 300. The middle frame 200 and the backlight module 11 of the display device 100 are detachably connected, and the LED substrate 300 is also arranged on the carrying part 21 of the middle frame 200. Therefore, by just detaching the middle frame 200, the LED substrate 300 are separated from the panels 12, which reduces the difficulty in detaching the LED substrate 300. [0072] [0096] [0097])
Chen does use the term “cover plate”.
Tseng discloses “cover plate”. ([0043] [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cover plate by Tseng into device of Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Tseng: [0044])
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the first fixing member comprises a first fixing component and a second fixing component, the first fixing component comprises a first connecting portion, a second connecting portion, and a third connecting portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, and the second fixing component is located on a side of the third connecting portion away from the display panel; (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] [0086])
the first connecting portion is fixedly connected to the cover plate; (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] [0086])
the third connecting portion is fixedly connected to the second fixing component, (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] [0086]) and
the second connecting portion is located between the back plate and the second fixing component, and the second connecting portion, the back plate and the second fixing component are fixedly connected together. (Chen [0067] [0085] [0086])
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the first connecting portion is fixedly connected to the cover plate through an adhesive layer; (Chen [0067] [0085] [0086])
the second connecting portion, the back plate and the second fixing component are fixedly connected together through a first fastener; (Chen [0067] [0085] [0086]) and
the third connecting portion is fixedly connected to the second fixing component through a second fastener. (Chen [0067] [0085] [0086])
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein each display module further comprises a non-splicing side and comprises a second fixing member on the non-splicing side, and the second fixing member comprises a third fixing component and a fourth fixing component; (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088]) wherein
the third fixing component comprises a first fixing structure and a second fixing structure connected to each other, the first fixing structure is located on a side of the cover plate close to the back plate, one end of the first fixing structure is fixed to the cover plate, the other end of the first fixing structure is fixed to the back plate, the second fixing structure protrudes from the cover plate and comprises a first receiving groove with an opening facing to a display region, each display module further comprises a first light bar in the first receiving groove, and a light emitting element of the first light bar protrudes from the cover plate; (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088]) and
the fourth fixing component comprises a fourth connecting portion, a fifth connecting portion, and a sixth connecting portion connecting the fourth connecting portion and the fifth connecting portion, the third fixing component is located on a side of the sixth connecting portion away from the display panel, the fourth connecting portion is fixedly connected to the cover plate, the sixth connecting portion is fixedly connected to the third fixing component, the fifth connecting portion is located between the back plate and the first fixing structure of the third fixing component, and the fifth connecting portion, the back plate and the first fixing structure are fixedly connected together. (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088])
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the first fixing structure and the second fixing structure have a one-piece structure. (Chen [0086] – [0088])
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the light emitting element comprises a luminescent region; (Chen [0002] – [0005]) and
in any two adjacent display modules, orthographic projections of two adjacent first fixing members on a first plane do not overlap with orthographic projections of two luminescent regions of two adjacent light emitting elements on the first plane, and the first plane is a plane where the back plate is located. (Chen [0067] [0086] – [0088])
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the light emitting element is an infrared light emitting element. (Chen [0007] [0063][0065])
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein one display module of any two adjacent display modules comprises a first latch fixed on the splicing side on the back plate of the one display module, the other display module of the two adjacent display modules comprises a first positioning block, corresponding to the first latch, fixed on the splicing side on the back plate of the other display module, and the first latch is detachably connected to the first positioning block. (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088])
Regarding claim 14, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein the first latch comprises a second positioning block and a connecting rod, wherein the second positioning block is fixed on the back plate and is arranged corresponding to the first positioning block, the connecting rod has an open-loop structure, and comprises a first end and a second end, which are rotatably connected to the second positioning block, and the connecting rod is capable of rotating to a side where the first positioning block is located and is fixedly connected to the first positioning block. (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088])
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Tseng disclose further comprising a first groove on a side of the first positioning block away from the first latch, wherein the first latch is clamped in the first groove in a splicing state. (Chen [0067][0075] [0076] [0085] - [0088])
Regarding claim 22, Chen and Tseng disclose wherein one display module of any two adjacent display modules comprises a first plug fixed on the splicing side on the back plate of the one display module, the other display module of the two adjacent display modules comprises a clamping slot fixed on the splicing side on the back plate of the other display module, and the first plug is fixedly connected to the clamping slot. (Chen [0089] – [0096])
Regarding claim 23, Chen and Tseng disclose An electronic apparatus, comprising the splicing display assembly of claims 1. (Chen [0065] [0070 [0081])
Claims 10 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20240014184 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220059608 A1) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20180261659 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Tseng do not disclose wherein each display module comprises a control chip;
one of the plurality of display modules is a first display module, the others are second display modules, the control chip in the first display module is a first control chip, the control chip in each second display module is a second control chip, and each second control chip is communicatively connected to the first control chip; and a driving circuit board of the first light bar in the first display module is connected to the first control chip, and a driving circuit board of the first light bar in each of the second display modules is connected to the driving circuit board of the first light bar in the first display module.
Liu discloses wherein each display module comprises a control chip; ([0008] [0017] [0026] [0027] [0032])
one of the plurality of display modules is a first display module, the others are second display modules, the control chip in the first display module is a first control chip, the control chip in each second display module is a second control chip, and each second control chip is communicatively connected to the first control chip; ([0008] [0017] [0026] [0027] [0032])
and a driving circuit board of the first light bar in the first display module is connected to the first control chip, and a driving circuit board of the first light bar in each of the second display modules is connected to the driving circuit board of the first light bar in the first display module. ([0008] [0017] [0026] [0027] [0032])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate controller by Liu into device of Chen and Tseng. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Liu: [0026])
Regarding claim 11, Chen, Tseng and Liu disclose comprising: the first display module and the second display modules on opposite sides of the first display module, (Chen [0065] – [0070]) wherein a size of each second display module is less than or equal to that of the first display module. (Chen [0065] – [0070])
Regarding claim 12, Chen, Tseng and Liu disclose wherein the first display module further comprises a first power line, each second display module comprises a second power line, and each second power line is electrically connected to the first power line connected to an external power module. (Liu [0002] – [0008])
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20240014184 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220059608 A1) in view of Fan et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20170192273 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Tseng do not disclose further comprising: a beam on a side of the back plate of each display module away from the cover plate, wherein the back plate is fixed on the beam.
Fan discloses further comprising: a beam on a side of the back plate of each display module away from the cover plate, wherein the back plate is fixed on the beam. ([0030] [0031] – [0037] )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate beam by Fan into device of Chen and Tseng. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Fan: [0030])
Regarding claim 20, Chen, Tseng and Fan disclose wherein the beam is divided into a plurality of segments, and each segment of the beam is arranged corresponding to one display module, (Fan [0030] [0031] – [0037] ) or the beam comprises at least one first opening therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629