DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 10/31/2024
Claims 1-15 are pending in this action. Claims 1, 7, 11, and 15 are independent
This application claims the benefit of priority from Korean Patent Application No. KR10-2022-0055005 filed on 05/03/2022
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the 10/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 3 and 9 recite the limitation “in a case that”. Each of the “in a case that” clauses indicates that the associated limitations occur only when the criteria of these clauses are met. However, the present claims never affirmatively require such events to occur. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations does not require these conditional steps to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) (MPEP 2111.04 II) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. As such, the limitations preceded by “in case” clauses do not appear to have patentable weight since they are contingent upon a condition occurring. Examiner suggests positively reciting the limitation followed by the “in case” clause. For example, for claim 3, “determining different charging policies are applied to the first session and the second session; wherein the information on the charging type and the information on the charging model are configured for each of the first session and the second session in case that different charging policies are applied to the first session and the second session.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20200145538 published on 2020-05-07 (hereinafter Qiao) in view of Kotecha, U. S. Patent Application Publication 20150163731 published on 2015-06-11 (hereinafter Kotecha).
As for independent claim 1, Qiao discloses a system and method performed by a first entity that performs a session management function of a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) in a wireless communication system, comprising obtaining charging information to be applied to a first session broken out in a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) for an edge computing service among the home-routed PDU session from a second entity that performs a charging function of the HPLMN
(Qiao discloses a first entity that performs session management function of a home public land mobile network (H-SMF) receiving charging information (information used to determine a charging policy) from a second entity that performs a charging function of the HPLMN (H-CHF) and one of the services this could be applied to is an edge computing service, “In an example, 5GC may support edge computing and may enable operator(s) and 3rd party services to be hosted close to the UE's access point of attachment.” [0164], “The H-SMF may determine a home charging policy information based on the accepted/authorized charging policy information received from the H-CHF” [0272])
transmitting a message comprising the charging information to a third entity that performs a session management function of the VPLMN.
(Qiao discloses the first entity (H-SMF) sending a message sending to a third entity (V-SMF) charging information (called charging profile, “The message sent to the V-SMF from the H-SMF may comprise the home roaming charging profile.” [0274])
Qiao also disclose a roaming breakout session of a home routed protocol data unit (PDU).
(Qiao discloses a UE being identified as roaming an entering a VPLMN other than the HPLMN in a PDU session, “The UE may be identified as a roaming wireless device (e.g. PLMN ID of the received SUPI may be different from VPLMN PLMN ID)… The message sent from the V-SMF to the V-NRF may comprise PDU session related information.” [0244])
Qiao does not appear to explicitly disclose identifying that session breakout of a home routed protocol data unit (PDU) session for roaming is allowed.
However, Kotecha does disclose a system and method comprising identifying that session breakout of a home routed protocol data unit (PDU) session for roaming is allowed.
(Kotecha discloses identifying is a user device is allowed to access a roaming network, “In some implementations, the service validation request may include the information identifying the user device, and a request to validate that the user device is authorized to access the roaming wireless network (e.g., based on subscription information that identifies whether the user is authorized to access the roaming wireless network, for example, at a different service charging rate than when the user device accesses the home wireless network)” [0015])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Kotecha, adding an extra authorization step to the roaming handling, to the network manager of Qiao in order to allow for charging policies to be more consistently enforced.
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method wherein the charging information comprises information indicating whether the same charging policy is applied to a second session transmitted to the HPLMN of the home-routed session and the first session.
(Qiao discloses the charging information (called charging level) for the roaming session is based on the home session, “As an example, the V-SMF may determine the visited charging level (e.g. PDU session charging) based on the home charging level (e.g. PDU session charging).” [0276])
As for claim 3, the limitations of the parent claim 2 have been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method wherein the charging information further comprises information on a charging type and information on a charging model
(Qiao discloses the charging information including charging type and data flow which according to the specification [0094] is equivalent to charging model, “In response to the message received from the H-SMF, the V-SMF may determine a visited charging policy information based on the home charging policy information received from the H-SMF. The visited charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a visited charging method/charging type (e.g. online charging, offline charging, or converged charging)… an information element indicating a QoS flow identified by an QFI; an information element indicating at least one service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter” [0275])
wherein the information on the charging type and the information on the charging model are configured for each of the first session and the second session in case that different charging policies are applied to the first session and the second session.
(Qiao discloses the charging information having a configuration for the first session and a different configuration for the second session, “As an example, the H-CHF may determine the second charging policy information (e.g. second charging method/charging type, second charging level, second charging rate) based on the first charging policy information (e.g. first charging method/charging type, first charging level, first charging rate). As an example, the second charging policy information may be the same as the first charging policy information. As an example, the second charging policy information may be different from the first charging policy information.” [0289])
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method comprising receiving, from the third entity, information related to traffic usage in a fourth entity that performs a user plane function of the VPLMN
(Qiao discloses information (called QFI which is traffic information) being sent from the third entity (V-SMF) to the first entity (H-SMF) and the QFI being related to a fourth entity (V-UPF), “In an example, user plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU session may receive the same traffic forwarding treatment.” [0160], “If the list of rejected QFI(s) is included in N2 SM information, the V-SMF may release the rejected QFI(s) associated QoS profiles. In an example, the V-SMF may initiate an N4 Session Modification procedure with the V-UPF. The V-SMF may provide AN Tunnel Info to the V-UPF as well as the corresponding forwarding rules. The V-UPF may send to the V-SMF a response message.” [0279], “The V-SMF may send to the H-SMF a message (e.g. PDU session update request) comprising the rejected QFI(s).” [0280])
transmitting the information to the second entity
(Qiao discloses the first entity (H-SMF) sending to the second entity (H-CHF) QFI information which involve traffic usage, “The H-SMF may send to the H-CHF a message (e.g. Charging Data Request [update]) to report that the Counts per rejected QFI(s) may be closed.” [0280])
receiving updated charging information from the second entity, based on the information
(Qiao discloses the second entity (H-CHF) sending the first entity (H-SMF) information about updated charging data, “The H-CHF may update CDR and acknowledge the H-SMF by sending a charging data response [Update] message to the H-SMF.” [0280])
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method comprising transmitting a request message for requesting session management policy association establishment to a fourth entity that performs a policy control function of the HPLMN
(Qiao discloses a first entity (H-SMF) sending a message to a fourth entity (H-PCF) to establish policy controls (PCC), “The H-SMF may perform an SM Policy Association Establishment procedure (e.g. by sending a policy establishment request message to the H-PCF) to establish a PDU Session with the selected H-PCF and get the default PCC Rules for the PDU Session.” [0334])
receiving a response message to the request message from the fourth entity
(Qiao discloses the fourth entity (H-PCF) sending a response back to the first entity (H-SMF) about policy establishment, “The H-PCF may send to the H-SMF a response message (e.g. policy establishment response) comprising the one or more third PCC rules and/or the one or more third charging control rules.” [0336])
wherein the response message comprises policy information associated with the session breakout
(Qiao discloses the response message to the first entity (H-SMF) containing roaming charging (charging policy related to the break out session that is roaming), “The response message sent to the H-SMF may comprise the second roaming charging profile.” [0339])
wherein the policy information comprises a data network access identifier associated with the first session
(Qiao discloses the response containing policy information and data network identifier, “The response message may comprise at least one of…an information element indicating a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); an information element indicating a data network identified by a DNN; or an information element indicating a network slice identified by a S-NSSAI and/or a network slice instance identifier” [0339])
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 5 have been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method wherein the message further comprises the policy information
(Qiao disclose the message from the first entity (H-SMF) to the second entity (V-SMF) containing policy information, “In response to the message received from the H-SMF, the V-SMF may determine a visited charging policy information based on the home charging policy information received from the H-SMF.”)
As for independent claim 7, Qiao discloses a system and method performed by a first entity that performs a session management function of a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a message comprising charging information from a second entity that performs a session management function of a home public land mobile network (HPLMN)
(Qiao discloses the second entity (H-SMF) sending a message sending to a first entity (V-SMF) charging information (called charging profile), “The message sent to the V-SMF from the H-SMF may comprise the home roaming charging profile.” [0274])
transmitting the charging information to a third entity that performs a charging function of the VPLMN
(Qiao discloses the first entity (V-SMF) sending a message sending to a third entity (V-CHF) charging information, “The V-SMF may send to the V-CHF a message (e.g. charging data request [update]) comprising at least one of: the visited charging policy information, the home charging policy information, the visited roaming charging profile, or the home roaming charging profile.” [0277])
Qiao also discloses a roaming breakout session of a home routed protocol data unit (PDU).
(Qiao discloses a UE being identified as roaming an entering a VPLMN other than the HPLMN in a PDU session, “The UE may be identified as a roaming wireless device (e.g. PLMN ID of the received SUPI may be different from VPLMN PLMN ID)… The message sent from the V-SMF to the V-NRF may comprise PDU session related information.” [0244])
Qiao does not appear to disclose wherein the charging information is applied to a first session broken out in the VPLMN for an edge computing service among a home routed protocol data unit (PDU) session in case that session breakout of the home-routed PDU session for roaming is allowed.
However, Kotecha does disclose a system and method wherein the charging information is applied to a first session broken out in the VPLMN for an edge computing service among a home routed protocol data unit (PDU) session in case that session breakout of the home-routed PDU session for roaming is allowed.
(Kotecha discloses identifying is a user device is allowed to access a roaming network, “In some implementations, the service validation request may include the information identifying the user device, and a request to validate that the user device is authorized to access the roaming wireless network (e.g., based on subscription information that identifies whether the user is authorized to access the roaming wireless network, for example, at a different service charging rate than when the user device accesses the home wireless network)” [0015])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the network manager of Kotecha, adding an extra authorization step to the roaming handling, to the network manager of Qiao in order to allow for charging policies to be more consistently enforced.
As for claim 8, the limitations of the parent claim 7 has been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method wherein the charging information comprises information indicating whether the same charging policy is applied to a second session transmitted to the HPLMN among the home-routed PDU session and the first session.
(Qiao discloses the charging information (called charging level) for the roaming session is based on the home session, “As an example, the V-SMF may determine the visited charging level (e.g. PDU session charging) based on the home charging level (e.g. PDU session charging).” [0276])
As for claim 9, the limitations of the parent claim 8 has been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method wherein the message further comprises policy information associated with the session breakout
(Qiao disclose the message from the second entity (H-SMF) to the first entity (V-SMF) containing policy information, “In response to the message received from the H-SMF, the V-SMF may determine a visited charging policy information based on the home charging policy information received from the H-SMF.” [0275)
wherein the policy information comprises a data network access identifier associated with the first session
(Qiao discloses the response containing policy information and data network identifier, “The visited charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating an application identified by an application identifier; an information element indicating a wireless device identified by at least one user identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI); an information element indicating a data network identified by a DNN” [0275])
wherein the charging information further comprises information about a charging type and information about a charging model
(Qiao discloses the charging information including charging type and data flow which according to the specification [0094] is equivalent to charging model, “In response to the message received from the H-SMF, the V-SMF may determine a visited charging policy information based on the home charging policy information received from the H-SMF. The visited charging policy information may comprise at least one of: an information element indicating a visited charging method/charging type (e.g. online charging, offline charging, or converged charging)… an information element indicating a QoS flow identified by an QFI; an information element indicating at least one service data flow identified by at least one service data flow filter” [0275])
wherein the information about the charging type and the information about the charging model are configured for each of the first session and the second session in case that different charging policies are applied to the first session and the second session.
(Qiao discloses the charging information having a configuration for the first session and a different configuration for the second session, “As an example, the H-CHF may determine the second charging policy information (e.g. second charging method/charging type, second charging level, second charging rate) based on the first charging policy information (e.g. first charging method/charging type, first charging level, first charging rate). As an example, the second charging policy information may be the same as the first charging policy information. As an example, the second charging policy information may be different from the first charging policy information.” [0289])
As for claim 10, the limitations of the parent claim 7 has been discussed. Qiao discloses a system and method comprising transmitting, to the second entity, information related to traffic usage in a fourth entity that performs a user plane function of the VPLMN.
(Qiao discloses the second entity (H-SMF) receiving from a fourth entity (H-UPF) information about traffic usage, “In response to the message received from the H-SMF, the H-UPF may install the user plane rules, send to the H-SMF a response message (e.g. N4 session establishment/modification response), and enforce the user plane rules received from the H-SMF. As an example, the H-UPF may enforce the at least one packet detection rule by matching a user data/traffic packet with service data flow template (e.g. service data flow filters and/or application identifiers), and may apply other user plane rules (e.g. forwarding action rule, QoS enforcement rule, and usage reporting rule) to the data/traffic packets matched the packet detection rule.” [0270])
As for independent claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a system to implement the method of claim 1 and is rejected alongside the same rationale. As for the structure of claim 11, Qiao discloses its entities having a transceiver (figure 4 communication interface) and a controller (figure 4 processor)
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 12 is directed to a system to implement the method of claims 2 and 3 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 13 is directed to a system to implement the method of claim 4 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for claim 14, the limitations of the parent claim 11 have been discussed. Claim 14 is directed to a system to implement the method of claim 5 and is rejected alongside the same rationale.
As for independent claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a system to implement the method of claim 7 and is rejected alongside the same rationale. As for the structure of claim 15, Qiao discloses its entities having a transceiver (figure 4 communication interface) and a controller (figure 4 processor)
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iyer et al, U. S. patent publication number 20160057291 discloses dynamic policy enforcement in paragraphs [0043-0046].
Hu et al, U. S. patent publication number 20200120752 discloses an SMF controlling charging policy in paragraph [0083]
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646