DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the floor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pippin (US 20130230373 A1).
Re claim 1, Pippin discloses a method of moving items, the method comprising: positioning a support platform (402) next to a receiving surface (406), wherein an item supporter extends over at least part of a length of the support platform, the item supporter (210) comprising an elongated flexible sheet, wherein multiple items (208) are disposed on the flexible sheet of the item supporter; securing the item supporter to a puller (410); and moving the puller so as to pull the item supporter and the items thereon off the support platform and onto the receiving surface.
Re claim 2, Pippin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the support platform is formed by the floor of a transport container (Fig. 4; [043]).
Re claim 3, Pippin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving surface is formed by a portion of a conveyor (Fig. 4; [042]).
Re claim 4, Pippin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the items include palletized goods (Fig. 2; [045]).
Re claim 5, Pippin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the item supporter includes a first strip that forms at least part of the flexible sheet and extends over a length of the item supporter (Fig. 2).
Re claim 7, Pippin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the item supporter includes an attacher, and wherein securing the item supporter to the puller includes coupling the puller to the attacher (Fig. 11c; [042]).
Re claim 8, Pippin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the attacher includes a section of the flexible sheet that forms a loop (Fig. 11c; [042]).
Re claim 9, Pippin discloses the method of claim 8, wherein coupling the puller to the attacher includes extending a bar through the loop of the attacher and attaching the puller to the bar/rod (Fig. 11c; [042]).
Re claim 15, Pippin discloses a system for moving multiple items out of a transport container (202), the system comprising: an item supporter (210) comprising an elongated flexible sheet, wherein the flexible sheet is sized and shaped to hold the items while the item supporter is positioned in the transport container and has a length of at least 3 meters (Fig. 2, trailers are 13.6m long); a conveyor (406) including a receiving surface sized and shaped to be positioned next to an opening of the transport container; and a puller (410) securable to the item supporter and movable along a length of the conveyor so as to pull the item supporter and the items thereon onto the conveyor.
Re claim 17, Pippin discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the puller includes a hook.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kauhanen (WO 2005080132 A1).
Re claim 11, Kauhanen discloses a method of loading multiple items (18) into a container (19), the method comprising: positioning an item supporter (13) on a surface of a loading plate (15), the item supporter comprising an elongated flexible sheet; positioning the items on the flexible sheet of the item supporter; positioning the loading plate with the item supporter and the items thereon in the container and above a floor of the container; constraining movement of the items; and while constraining the items, retracting the loading plate from the container to enable the item supporter and items thereon to descend onto the floor of the container (page 14, lines 14-37).
Re claim 14, Kauhanen discloses the method of claim 11, wherein, while retracting the loading plate from the container, a first friction force between a first item of the items and the flexible sheet of the item supporter is higher than a second friction force between the loading plate and a portion of the flexible sheet corresponding to a footprint of the first item (implicit; page 14, lines 14-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pippin (US 20130230373 A1).
Re claim 6, Pippin does not teach the method of claim 5, wherein the item supporter includes multiple strips including the first strip, and wherein the strips are spaced across a width of the item supporter and extend substantially parallel to one another over the length of the item supporter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to increase the number of strips to increase the load capacity and handling flexibility of the system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kauhanen (WO 2005080132 A1).
Re claim 13, Kauhanen does not teach the method of claim 11, wherein after retracting the loading plate from the container, a distance between a top surface of a first item of the multiple items and an upper wall of the container is no more than 15 centimeters.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the cargo/container so that a distance between a top surface of a first item of the multiple items and an upper wall of the container is no more than 15 centimeters to maximize the capacity of the container while allowing relative movement, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pippin (US 20130230373 A1) in view of Kauhanen (WO 2005080132 A1).
Re claim 10, Pippin does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising, before positioning the support platform next to the receiving surface, loading the items onto the support platform, wherein loading the items comprises: positioning the item supporter on a surface of a loading plate; positioning the items on the flexible sheet of the item supporter; positioning the loading plate with the item supporter and items arranged thereon above the support platform; constraining movement of the items; and while constraining the items, retracting the loading plate from the support platform to enable the item supporter and items to descend onto the support platform.
Kauhanen, on the other hand, discloses a method of loading comprising the steps of loading the items onto the support platform, wherein loading the items comprises: positioning the item supporter on a surface of a loading plate; positioning the items on the flexible sheet of the item supporter; positioning the loading plate with the item supporter and items arranged thereon above the support platform; constraining movement of the items; and while constraining the items, retracting the loading plate from the support platform to enable the item supporter and items to descend onto the support platform (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Then, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in at the time of filing to combine the loading method described by Kauhanen with the unloading method of Pippin to enjoy the same level of efficiency on both ends of the loading/unloading workflow.
Re claim 16, Pippin does not teach the system of claim 15, wherein the puller is fixed on a moving element of the conveyor. Instead, the puller is driven by a separate retractor motor (e.g., 1016).
Kauhanen, on the other hand, discloses strips that are pulled by a loading conveyor (pg. 8, lines 8-9).
Then, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in at the time of filing to drive the puller by the conveyor in view Kauhanen to reduce complexity and the number of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SAUL J. RODRIGUEZ
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652