DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 10/31/2024.
2. Claims 1-18, 22 and 23 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 19-21 are cancelled
4. Claims 1, 22 and 23 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-18, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ALLIBHAI et al. (hereinafter “ALLIBHAI”), U.S. Published Application No. 20220130423 A1.
Independent Claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches A method of sharing audiovisual content, comprising: (e.g., exporting audiovisual content par. 45; FIG. 21 illustrates the final chosen arrangement of a first, second, and third video segment in the assembled video program, ready for export.)
receiving a selection for a plurality of text fragments corresponding to a plurality of portions in target audiovisual content, the plurality of portions at least comprising a first portion and a second portion that are discontinuous in the target audiovisual content; (e.g., selecting text segments from a transcript and dragging the text segments to a video timeline in a user-chosen playback sequence par. 51; A user interacts with the first and second panels of the user interface by selecting text from a transcript of a selected resource in the first panel, dragging and dropping it onto the second panel, which causes the application to create a new clip. The order of clips can be arranged by the user by dragging and dropping clips. Par. 54; The highlighted text selections or text segments may be moved to a video timeline portion of the display. The video timeline shows the selected text along with the thumbnail icon of the first preview frame of the corresponding video segment. Par. 164; a timeline for dropping and dragging transcribed text segments onto the timeline in a user-chosen playback sequence)
causing fragmented audiovisual content to be created based at least on the plurality of portions in the target audiovisual content, wherein the first portion and the second portion are continuous in the fragmented audiovisual content; (e.g., assembling the text segments to create a corresponding fragmented audiovisual content par. 47; The present technology allows a user to edit and assemble a video program from transcribed text. Par. 53; The video is accurately synchronized to the text representation using timecode. Every text word has an associated timecode, and every video frame has a timecode synchronized to the text words. Par. 61; With the disclosed technology, the video assembly editor may be used to easily create a visual timeline that shows the spoken words of each speaker in a chosen sequence. The individual soundbites may be arranged in a simple manner on the timeline to assemble a rough-cut of the video program.)
and presenting a sharing portal for sharing the fragmented audiovisual content. (e.g., inviting others to collaborate on the created audiovisual content (i.e., sharing portal) par. 126; The technology of the present invention provides for the originator of the project to share the project with other collaborators by inviting others to collaborate.)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches causing a first viewing interface associated with the fragmented audiovisual content to be generated, the first viewing interface comprising a first area for controlling playback of the fragmented audiovisual content and a second area for presenting text information corresponding to the plurality of text fragments.(e.g., playback for video content and text information corresponding to text segments are displayed in separate areas par. 54; In the next phase, the transcribed text is displayed in a text window in the user interface, alongside a video window that displays the video corresponding to the text display. If the cursor is moved to a particular point in the text display, highlighting a particular word, the corresponding video frame is displayed. If several words or sentences are highlighted in the text display, the corresponding video may be played in a video window. The text may be searched, as in a conventional word processor, and text selections may be highlighted. The highlighted text selections or text segments may be moved to a video timeline portion of the display. The video timeline shows the selected text along with the thumbnail icon of the first preview frame of the corresponding video segment. Par. 61; The program can be previewed and also be previewed by authorized collaborators, who may provide comments and suggestions after viewing the rough-cut video program. Par. 109; From this point onward, the user may “click” the preview frame to play the video. )
Claim 3 depends on claim 2:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein the text information presented in the second area varies in response to an editing operation for the target audiovisual content and/or a text corresponding to the target audiovisual content. (e.g., varying text presentation by highlighting the text or displayed next to a preview frame or changing the ordering par. 6; A text segment 1006 of the transcript is selected by selecting by highlighting chosen text and choosing a positioning icon 1002 or 1004. par. 108; The selected text segment 1006 of the transcript 508 is shown highlighted on the screen. Selected elements from the leftmost panel are moved to the assembly panel 840, or timeline area, by drag-and-drop actions. The ordering and reordering of text and video segments elements are likewise arranged by drag-and-drop actions. The order of presentation on the rightmost panel is again sequenced by dragging and dropping the selected text 1006. In the rightmost panel, a preview frame 1104 is displayed alongside the selected text 1102. The preview frame 1104 is a thumbnail of one frame from the video segment 502, corresponding to the selected text 1006. par. 109; The preview frame 1104 is displayed alongside the selected text 1102.)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein causing the fragmented audiovisual content to be created based at least on the plurality of portions in the target audiovisual content comprises: sending merge time information to a merge device, to cause the merging device to create the fragmented audiovisual content based on the target audiovisual content and the merge time information, the merge time information indicating times of the plurality of portions in the target audiovisual content. (e.g., using remote service via network (i.e., sending to a merge device) to assemble the fragmented audiovisual content based on timestamps and timecodes (i.e., merge time information) of selected text fragments par. 49; The user pays a fee for using the host editing and video assembly facilities, with the cost based on the duration of the audio video editing session or other metrics. Or, the host editing facilities may be provided on a subscription basis. par. 149; The disclosed technology brings video editing and the assembly of the video program within the grasp of most Internet users from remote locations using cloud-based applications or a network. Par. 55; The video editing process begins after the initial step of transcribing and editing the text from the audio track. A timecode is associated with every spoken word. Segments of speech are identified by in-and-out timecodes. The transcribed text can be word-searched to locate soundbites, which are used in the assembly of a video program. The video assembly editor is based on text-based editing and assembly)
Claim 9 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein presenting the sharing portal for sharing the fragmented audiovisual content comprises: presenting description information associated with the fragmented audiovisual content, the description information comprising at least one of: a first content identifier of the fragmented audiovisual content or time information of the fragmented audiovisual content, wherein the first content identifier is generated based on a second content identifier of the target audiovisual content, and the time information is generated based on times of the plurality of portions in the target audiovisual content. (e.g., In the context of editing a fragmented audiovisual content presenting a plurality of speaker tags (i.e., second content identifier) for a fragmented audiovisual content and identifying bloopers for the fragmented audio visual based on the speaker tags. par. 52; When multiple speakers are involved, the software is capable of automatically assigning speaker identification headings to the various speakers. Par. 62; In one aspect of the present technology, the system provides tagging of speaker's names. The program detects features associated with the speaker's name to provide labels in the transcribed text that identify a speaker by the attributes of the speaker's voice. Par. 124; A blooper may result in a recorded interview or informational video interview, when a speaker states something that is improper, embarrassing, or otherwise inappropriate for the context of the program. It is usually desirable to remove these “bloopers” from the video program. Selected content may be identified as bloopers by providing a listing of keywords to search. The user may excise portions of the recording, both audio and video, by manipulating the words in the transcript based on this keyword search. The solution can be extended by training the transcription system to alert the user to a blooper keyword and the content immediately preceding the blooper keyword, so that the user may choose to delete the inappropriate content.)
Claim 11 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches further comprising: in response to a second sharing operation for the sharing portal, presenting, in a target session window, sharing information corresponding to the fragmented audiovisual content, the second sharing operation indicating at least one user or group to share with. (e.g., inviting others to collaborate on the fragmented audiovisual content via user interface par. 126; The technology of the present invention provides for the originator of the project to share the project with other collaborators by inviting others to collaborate. Par. 127; In one aspect, a user may invite others to collaborate and play the rough-cut video program. A collaborator may input security credentials into the application the user-interface, which allows that collaborator authorized status to provide near real-time commentary on a video program under development in the video assembly editor.)
Claim 12 depends on claim 11:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein the sharing information comprises a playback control, and the playback control is configured to play the fragmented audiovisual content in the target session window. (e.g., inviting others to playback the fragmented audiovisual content via user interface par. 127; In one aspect, a user may invite others to collaborate and play the rough-cut video program.)
Claim 13 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches further comprising: in response to the fragmented audiovisual content being created, causing a manage user associated with the target audiovisual content to receive a notification of the fragmented audiovisual content being created. (e.g., allowing invited collaborators to view the view the video project as it is being assembled (i.e., receive a notification of the fragmented audiovisual content being created) par. 129; The technology of the present invention provides for the originator of the project to share the project with other collaborators by inviting others to collaborate. par. 153; In the assembly of a video program, the disclosed technology allows the user to engage authorize collaborators to view the video project as it is being assembled.)
Claim 14 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein a first access right to the fragmented audiovisual content is determined based on at least one of: a second access right to the target audiovisual content; or organization information of a creator that creates the fragmented audiovisual content. (e.g., access rights of collaborators is based on the rights of the owner that invites to access the fragmented audiovisual content par. 153; In the assembly of a video program, the disclosed technology allows the user to engage authorize collaborators to view the video project as it is being assembled. Authorized collaborators can log on and play the video, provide comments on the project, provide suggestions for alternatives for improvements, or simply provide positive indicators in the form of emoji's.)
Claim 15 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches further comprising: causing a first management interface associated with the target audiovisual content to be generated, the first management interface corresponding to a manage user of the target audiovisual content, wherein the first management interface comprises a first fragment list comprising description information of at least one fragmented audiovisual content created based on the target audiovisual content. (e.g., users logging into interface to view different versions of created fragmented audiovisual content (i.e., management interface of created audiovisual content projects) see Figure 8; My Videos; par. 127; In one aspect, a user may invite others to collaborate and play the rough-cut video program. A collaborator may input security credentials into the application the user-interface, which allows that collaborator authorized status to provide near real-time commentary on a video program under development in the video assembly editor. par. 128; Collaborators may view and approve the rough-cut, or make suggestions for alternatives or improvements, and actually create different versions. For example, collaborators may play back different versions to view alternative sequencing of video segments and provide comments or suggested edits the user.)
Claim 16 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches further comprising: causing a second management interface associated with the fragmented audiovisual content to be generated, the second management interface corresponding to a creator of the fragmented audiovisual content, wherein the second management interface comprises a second fragment list comprising description information of at least one fragmented audiovisual content created by the creator; and/or causing a second viewing interface of the target audiovisual content to be generated, the second viewing interface comprising a third area for controlling playback of the target audiovisual content and a fourth area for presenting a set of text fragments associated with the target audiovisual content, and the set of text fragments being generated based on audio information of the target audiovisual content. (e.g., users logging into interface to view different versions of created fragmented audiovisual content (i.e., management interface of created audiovisual content projects) see Figure 8; My Videos; par. 127; In one aspect, a user may invite others to collaborate and play the rough-cut video program. A collaborator may input security credentials into the application the user-interface, which allows that collaborator authorized status to provide near real-time commentary on a video program under development in the video assembly editor. par. 128; Collaborators may view and approve the rough-cut, or make suggestions for alternatives or improvements, and actually create different versions. For example, collaborators may play back different versions to view alternative sequencing of video segments and provide comments or suggested edits the user.)
Claim 17 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein receiving the selection for the plurality of text fragments comprises: presenting a text interaction component, the text interaction component providing a set of text fragments and corresponding audio object information, the set of text fragments being generated based on audio information of the target audiovisual content, and the audio object information indicating a speaker associated with a text fragment; and receiving the selection for the plurality of text fragments in the text interaction component. (e.g., tracking and presenting spoken content for multiple speakers par. 157; The disclosed technology tracks spoken content for multiple speakers, and the content is automatically labeled for each speaker based on the speech characteristics of each speaker. In one aspect, the spoken content is labeled with speakers' names. In another aspect, the identification label for each speaker is manually applied by the user. Users may assign a speaker identification label to selected text, and it will propagate to all other paragraphs that are determined by the software to be the same speaker.)
Claim 18 depends on claim 17:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein receiving the selection for the plurality of text fragments in the set of text fragments comprises: receiving an input indicating a target speaker; and determining, based on the input, at least one text fragment associated with the target speaker to be selected. (e.g., Users may assign a speaker identification label to selected text, and it will propagate to all other paragraphs that are determined by the software to be the same speaker.
par. 157; The disclosed technology tracks spoken content for multiple speakers, and the content is automatically labeled for each speaker based on the speech characteristics of each speaker. In one aspect, the spoken content is labeled with speakers' names. In another aspect, the identification label for each speaker is manually applied by the user. Users may assign a speaker identification label to selected text, and it will propagate to all other paragraphs that are determined by the software to be the same speaker.)
Independent Claim 22:
Claim 22 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 22. (see Computer System of Figure 1 for recited computer components)
Independent Claim 23:
Claim 23 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 23. (see Computer System of Figure 1 for recited computer components)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLIBHAI et al. (hereinafter “ALLIBHAI”), U.S. Published Application No. 20220130423 A1 in view of Guo et al. ( hereinafter “Guio”), U.S. Published Application No. 20090217205 A1
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI fails to expressly teach presenting a plurality of selection controls.
However, Guo teaches wherein receiving the selection for the plurality of text fragments comprises: presenting a plurality of selection controls corresponding to the plurality of text fragments; and receiving the selection for the plurality of text fragments based on an interaction for the plurality of selection controls. (e.g., multi-select various objects by means of buttons or a checkbox in order to form an object group par. 4; In a resource browser, a user may select an appropriate object group and perform a uniform operation on the same. A user may multi-select various objects by means of buttons or a checkbox in order to form an object group, which can improve user's experience. A user interface (UI) on Windows.RTM. platform is shown in FIG. 1A. Accordingly, this multi-selection can also be done in many other UIs. In case of email selection, for example, various objects are formed into an object group, as shown in FIG. 1B. Even in a mobile phone, various objects can be formed into an object group when a user list or short messages are selected. The user may select or deselect each of messages, as shown in FIG. 1C.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection of text segments as taught by ALLIBHAI to include checkboxes in order to form an object group as taught by Guo, to provide the benefit of improving the user experience during designation of multiple interface objects.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein presenting the plurality of selection controls corresponding to the plurality of text fragments comprises: presenting a sharing control; (e.g., exporting or sharing text segments with collaborators par. 74; In a corporate organization, users may access hundreds of providers of cloud-based services to generate, store, collaborate, and share data with other users inside or outside of the organization. Par. 126; The technology of the present invention provides for the originator of the project to share the project with other collaborators by inviting others to collaborate.)
ALLIBHAI fails to expressly teach a target selection control.
However, Guo teaches in response to a selection for the sharing control, presenting the plurality of selection controls corresponding to the plurality of text fragments; or in response to a selection operation for a target text fragment in the plurality of text fragments, presenting a target selection control corresponding to the target text fragment; and in response to the target selection control being selected, presenting the plurality of selection controls corresponding to the plurality of text fragments. (e.g., multi-select various objects by means of buttons or a checkbox in order to form an object group par. 4; In a resource browser, a user may select an appropriate object group and perform a uniform operation on the same. A user may multi-select various objects by means of buttons or a checkbox in order to form an object group, which can improve user's experience. A user interface (UI) on Windows.RTM. platform is shown in FIG. 1A. Accordingly, this multi-selection can also be done in many other UIs. In case of email selection, for example, various objects are formed into an object group, as shown in FIG. 1B. Even in a mobile phone, various objects can be formed into an object group when a user list or short messages are selected. The user may select or deselect each of messages, as shown in FIG. 1C.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection of text segments as taught by ALLIBHAI to include checkboxes in order to form an object group as taught by Guo, to provide the benefit of improving the user experience during designation of multiple interface objects.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLIBHAI et al. (hereinafter “ALLIBHAI”), U.S. Published Application No. 20220130423 A1 in view of Seo et al. (hereinafter “Seo”), KR 2020-006377A.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI teaches wherein causing the fragmented audiovisual content to be created based at least on the plurality of portions in the target audiovisual content comprises: presenting a fragment time length, the fragment time length being determined based on time lengths of the plurality of portions; (e.g., time information to determine a fragment length of time is displayed Figure 11; timeline window, Figures 13-15; sequencing selected text segments to create fragmented audiovisual content par.102; As is shown in FIG. 7 the timecode increments by an amount equal to the time required for text element to be spoken as a segment of the audio track 315. Par. 104; Below this video window is an open area 840 for the video timeline 842 as will be described. The video assembly timeline area 840 is the space where the selected soundbites and video preview thumbnails will be dragged-and-dropped and sequenced during the editing and assembly process.)
ALLIBHAI fails to expressly teach a threshold length.
However, Seo teaches and in response to the time length being less than a threshold length, causing the fragmented audiovisual content to be created based at least on the plurality of portions of the target audiovisual content. (e.g., display device that shortens the total playback time by summarizing video content based on the degree of interest of the viewing user for the video content, a target time for the summary content is set and selection for creating the summary is performed. Par. 72; In addition, the summary content means summarizing a single content by combining only the area including the object of interest preferred by the user, and the playback time can be shortened. In order to generate the summary content, the processor 120 may use a plurality of interest objects preferred by the user, and may select some of the plurality of interest objects in consideration of the target time of the summary content. For example, in order to generate a 5-minute summary image from 1 hour content, the processor 120 may automatically calculate and apply a threshold similarity value of the object of interest for the summary image within 5 minutes. When the threshold value for the similarity is 60, if the image is 10 minutes, the processor 120 may increase the threshold value to increase filtering for the object of interest.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection of text segments as taught by ALLIBHAI to take into account a target time as taught by Seo, to provide the benefit of efficiently creating a video from a collection of segments that summarizes based on user interests.
Claim 7 depends on claim 6:
ALLIBHAI/Seo teaches wherein presenting the fragment time length comprises: presenting the fragment time length such that the fragment time length is updated in response to selection or deselection for a text fragment; or in response to an acknowledgement of the selection for the plurality of text fragments, presenting the fragment time length. (e.g., time information to determine a fragment length of time is displayed based on real time selection of text segments ALLIBHAI; Figure 11; timeline window, Figures 13-15; sequencing selected text segments to create fragmented audiovisual content par.102; As is shown in FIG. 7 the timecode increments by an amount equal to the time required for text element to be spoken as a segment of the audio track 315. Par. 104; Below this video window is an open area 840 for the video timeline 842 as will be described. The video assembly timeline area 840 is the space where the selected soundbites and video preview thumbnails will be dragged-and-dropped and sequenced during the editing and assembly process.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLIBHAI et al. (hereinafter “ALLIBHAI”), U.S. Published Application No. 20220130423 A1 in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”), U.S. Published Application No. 20120110474 A1.
Claim 10 depends on claim 1:
ALLIBHAI fails to expressly teach further comprising: in response to a first sharing operation for the sharing portal, replicating a link for accessing the fragmented audiovisual content.
However, Chen teaches further comprising: in response to a first sharing operation for the sharing portal, replicating a link for accessing the fragmented audiovisual content. (e.g., par. 27; The users 120a-120e can participate in the social networking service provided by the server device 112 by posting information, such as text comments (e.g., updates, announcements, replies), digital images, videos, search results, a link to other digital content (e.g., a uniform resource locator (URL) linking to a digital video and/or digital images) and/or other appropriate digital content. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shareable fragmented audiovisual content as taught by ALLIBHAI to include a URL link to access the digital content as taught by Chen, to provide the benefit of expanding access to social network or browser based users in effort to quickly share desired content.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feiereisen; Jeffrey K. et al. U.S. Published Application No. 20140282254
[0058] When in multi-select mode, the view pane 302 may display additional help or some other feature, such as another listing of the commands available on the in-place menu. The multi-select mode pane can be useful in scenarios where the user slides the in-place menu out of view to review selected items (or perform some other action).
[0059] The number of items selected may also be tracked and displayed. For example, the in-place menu can expose a counter that increments as the user selects more items. The counter may surface on the selected item(s) (for example counter 326) or at a designated location in the viewing screen (such as in the multi-select mode pane).
MAIMON; Uzi US 20200128287 A1
[0044] The “deep link” web page provided by the server includes the captured content promoting the app, and the recipient may respond by proceeding to execute or to download the app by either clicking or otherwise invoking the “deep link”, at a step 330. At a step 335, the OS of the recipient device determines if the app is installed or not. If the app is already installed on the recipient's device, clicking on the deep link causes the app to open, at a step 345, at the state of the share-enabled app, thereby replicating the state of the share-enabled app at the time that the content was captured.
Ochshorn; Robert et al. US 20200126559 A1
See Abstract; Methods, systems, apparatus, and tangible non-transitory carrier media encoded with one or more computer programs for achieving highly accurate timing alignment between spoken words in an audio recording and the written words in the associated transcript, and creating multi-media from transcript-aligned media recordings.
HENRY ORR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172