DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 27 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: The chemical formulas should be written with appropriate subscripts. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 16 and 23, the claim recites that the supplemental chemical is “necessary”. However, it is unclear as to what necessary refers to, i.e. necessary to a specific quality of the product or necessary in that no product can be achieved, or any additional definition of necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 105039691 A to Yuan et al. (Yuan).
As to claim 25, Yuan teaches a method of recovery near pure lead from an impure metal comprising a target metal, the method comprising combining the impure metal with an electrolyte, for example sodium hydroxide, to form a slurry, the slurry comprising a mixture of the impure metal material and the electrolyte such that the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-sate electrolysis (i.e. the metal stays in a slurry), performing solid state electrolysis on the slurry to form target metal deposits, sponge lead, and mechanically separating the target metal from substantially all of the electrolyte and at least some of the residual components by washing and compacting (Paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 16, 19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of WO 2016/130675 A1 to Tyagi et al. (Tyagi).
As to claims 1 and 21, Yuan teaches a method of recovery near pure lead from an impure metal comprising a target metal, the method comprising combining the impure metal with an electrolyte, for example sodium hydroxide, to form a slurry, the slurry comprising a mixture of the impure metal material and the electrolyte such that the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-sate electrolysis (i.e. the metal stays in a slurry), performing solid state electrolysis on the slurry to form target metal deposits, sponge lead, and mechanically separating the target metal from substantially all of the electrolyte and at least some of the residual components by washing and compacting (Paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020). However, Yuan fails to teach that the target metal deposits are melted until the target metal is near pure without smelting, instead teaching the use of smelting (Paragraph 0020).
However, Tyagi also discusses the production of lead ingots and teaches that smelting is hazardous, polluting and energy intensive (Paragraph 0003) and teaches that instead of smelting compacted spongy lead can be melted recovering any remaining electrolyte as dross, and converted into high purity ingots (Paragraph 0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Yuan with the step of melting the target metal deposits and drawings off dross such that the remaining melted target metal is near-pure without smelting in order to avoid the hazardous, polluting and energy intensive smelting step as taught by Tyagi.
As to claims 2 and 22, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the methods of claims 1 and 21. Yuan further teaches that the method comprises adding at least one supplement chemical, activator, to the slurry prior to performing the slid-state electrolysis (Paragraphs 0012 and 0017).
As to claim 3, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 2. Tyagi further teaches that the dross is mechanically separated, tapped, dissolved and sent through resins, to separate the dross into component materials for additional processing (Paragraphs 0045-0047).
As to claims 4, 5 and 6, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 3. However, Yuan fails to teach that the impure metal material comprises more than one form, instead teaching merely lead oxide (Paragraph 0043). However, Tyagi also teaches the electrolytic generation of high purity lead from waste sources and teaches that a known waste source is used batteries and that this source would comprise all of lead monoxide, lead dioxide and free lead (Paragraph 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the method of Yuan to the battery material of Tyagi as a known source of lead in need of purification, and thus a lead source when the lead formed during electrolysis is drawn from at least three impure forms, lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead.
As to claims 16 and 23, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the methods of claims 2 and 22. Yuan teaches that the activator is “necessary” in that it is included to achieve the specific product described at the specific operating conditions.
As to claims 19 and 24, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the methods of claims 2 and 22. Tyagi further teaches that the lead sulfate should be transformed prior to electrolysis via desulfurization (Paragraphs 0035-0038).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yuan and Tyagi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2006/0169590 A1 to Hebditch et al. (Hebditch).
As to claim 20, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 2. However, Yuan teaches that the cathodes for electrolysis are vertically placed (Figure 3). However, Hebditch also discusses electrolytic cells for metal recovery and teaches that cathode plates can be effectively oriented either horizontally or vertically (Paragraph 0033). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of the combination by placing the cathode horizontal, thus placing the slurry at least partially thereon, with the expectation of effectively forming the cathode as taught by Hebditch.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 16-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-10, 21 and 22 of copending Application No. 17/737,869 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 16, 20-23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,511 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 16, 20-23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,534 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 16, 20-23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 16, 20-23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,567 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 16, 21, 22, 23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/232,853 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 16, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/232,860 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claiming additional limitations or rewordings, all limitations are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
While subject to double patenting rejections, as discussed above, claims 7-10, 17 and 18 contain allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations, in a slurry electrolytic process with three impure forms of the target metal, the inclusion of three separate supplemental chemicals that enable solid state electrolysis of the respective impure forms.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794