This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 11/01/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Regarding Figs. 1 and 2, the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 5, “measuring a current and a voltage” appears that it should read as “measuring a current and a voltage in a current tap position”;in line 7, “a voltage of a current” appears that it should read as “a voltage and a current”. Regarding claim 3, in line 4, “a measured current and a measured voltage” appears that it should read as “the measured current and the measured voltage”. Regarding claim 4, in line 4, “a measured current and a measured voltage” appears that it should read as “the measured current and the measured voltage”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baerthlein et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2015/0168965 A1, hereinafter “Baerthlein”) in view of Meinecke (US Patent Application Publication US 2013/0307494 A1, hereinafter “Meinecke”).
Regarding claim 1, Baerthlein discloses (see Fig. 6 and Fig. 7) a method for adapting a target voltage value (Vset, see [0058] and Fig. 7) for voltage control of a tap-changing transformer (OLTC transformer 550) by an on-load tap changer (tap changer 600), wherein the method comprises:
determining a reverse power flow on a low-voltage side of the tap-changing transformer (see Fig. 6, where secondary windings 556 are labeled “LV/SECONDARY” and primary windings 554 are labeled “HV/PRIMARY”; see [0004] “electric power flow through the OLTC transformer may be reversed, i.e., transmitted from the low voltage side to the high voltage side of the transformer. As such, the affected OLTC controller needs to be configured to detect such a power flow reversal”) by measuring a current and a voltage (see claim 15, “measuring electric power flow transmitted through the OLTC transformer; measuring a voltage of the at least a portion of the electric power system”, where power flow measurement requires both current and voltage measurement; see also [0050] and [0051] disclosing PTs 532, 551, 553 for voltage measurement and monitoring sensors 240 for current/power measurement); and
using a determined value as a gradient for a section of a straight line of the target voltage value (see [0063] “Computing device 105 generates a first OLTC transformer power flow dependent set-point characteristic 710 such that first OLTC transformer power flow dependent voltage set-point characteristic 710 is configured to extend substantially linearly between first point 706 and second point 708”; see Fig. 7, where first point 706 is at maximum reverse power flow PVmax and second point 708 is at maximum forward power flow LDmax; the substantially linear characteristic 710 between points 706 and 708 has a slope/gradient).
Baerthlein does not disclose actuating the on-load tap changer from a current tap position n to a further tap position and measuring a voltage and a current in the further tap position, and determining a value m from powers of different tap positions.
However, Meinecke teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) an on-load tap changer (7) control method for a tap-changing transformer (5) comprising measuring voltage and current on a side of the transformer (see [0056] “Said OLTC regulator and control unit 10 is configured to measure the voltage and current on the primary side u1, i1 or on the secondary side u2 i2 of the power transformer”), actuating the on-load tap changer from a current tap position n to a further tap position (see [0110] “The internal e.m.f. of the transformer may change due to stepping the OLTC”; see [0112] “Hence, the grid reactance xQ, will be calculated at least at each time the OLTC is operated”) and measuring a voltage and a current in the further tap position (see [0113] “The detection of a change of operation point initiates the storage of the voltages u1; u2, currents i1; i2 and derived electrical quantities in a memory and the calculation of said grid reactance xQ”), and determining a value (Meinecke xQ, grid reactance) from powers of different tap positions (see [0104] “two sets of values at two different operating points are used, an actual and a former operation point”; see [0107]-[0109] disclosing the algorithm where actual values are measured at a given operating point, derived quantities including q1 (reactive power) are stored in memory, and upon detection of a new operating point, xQ is calculated using the formula containing (q1,actual − q1,mem) in the denominator; see [0110] confirming that the operating point change is caused by stepping the OLTC, such that q1,actual and q1,mem are reactive powers measured at different tap positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baerthlein to include actuating the on-load tap changer from a current tap position n to a further tap position and measuring a voltage and a current in the further tap position, and determining a value m from powers of different tap positions, as taught by Meinecke, and to use the determined value m as the gradient of the linear voltage set-point characteristic, because it can help adapt the slope of the voltage set-point characteristic to actual grid conditions thereby improving voltage regulation accuracy in the presence of variable grid impedance and reverse power flow caused by distributed generation.
Regarding claim 2, Baerthlein discloses (see Fig. 6 and Fig. 7) defining the determined value as the gradient of the straight line in the section of the target voltage value and replacing the straight line in the section (see [0064] “Control scheme 700 is an adaptive power flow dependent variable voltage set-point scheme. Therefore, in the event of a tap change in the exemplary embodiment, computing device 105 generates a second OLTC transformer power flow dependent voltage set-point characteristic 712”; see Fig. 7, where second characteristic 712 includes first parallel portion 724 and second parallel portion 728 that replace corresponding sections of first characteristic 710 by shifting them, with the gradient defining the slope of the replaced/replacement linear sections).
Regarding claim 7, Baerthlein discloses (see Fig. 6 and Fig. 7) wherein the powers are either an apparent power and/or an active power (see Fig. 7, [0007], and [0080] disclosing power flow measured in kW, i.e. active power, as the power quantity for determining value m).
Regarding claim 8, Baerthlein discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) a device for adapting a target voltage value for voltage control of a tap-changing transformer (OLTC transformer 550), comprising:
at least one measuring device for measuring a current and a voltage on a low-voltage side of the tap-changing transformer (see [0046] “Electric power distribution system 500 includes one or more monitoring sensors 240 coupled to CPU 215 through at least one input channel 245. Monitoring sensors 240 collect operational measurements including, without limitation, AC voltages and currents”; see also [0051] disclosing PT 553 coupled to low voltage substation feeder bus 524 proximate transformer 550); and
a control device (computing device 105 with processor 115, see [0039]-[0042]; alternatively SCADA system 200 with CPU 215, see [0044]), which is connected to the at least one measuring device for receiving the measured current and voltage (see [0046] “system 500 includes one or more monitoring sensors 240 coupled to CPU 215 through at least one input channel 245”), the control device being configured to carry out the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baerthlein in view of Meinecke as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Beckwith (US Patent US 8,558,519 B2, hereinafter “Beckwith”).
Regarding claim 9, Baerthlein does not disclose wherein the tap-changing transformer is an autotransformer.
However, Beckwith teaches (see col. 1, lines 31-37) using “load tapchanging (LTC) transformers or series regulating auto transformers using motor-driven tapchanger switches” as voltage regulators for power distribution systems, where the auto transformer is equipped with a tap changer for voltage regulation in the same manner as a two-winding LTC transformer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baerthlein modified by Meinecke wherein the tap-changing transformer is an autotransformer, as taught by Beckwith, because autotransformers with tap changers are a well-known alternative implementation for OLTC voltage regulation that can help reduce cost, weight, and size compared to two-winding transformers while achieving the same voltage regulation function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 3, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “determining a power in the current tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage in the current tap position; actuating and moving the on-load tap changer from the current tap position to a higher tap position; determining a power of the higher tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the higher tap position; determining the value m as a quotient of the power of the higher tap position and the power of the current tap position.”. Regarding Claim 4, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “determining a power in the current tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage in the current tap position; actuating and moving the on-load tap changer from the current tap position to a lower tap position; determining a power of the lower tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the lower tap position; determining the value m as a quotient of the power of the current tap position n and the power of the lower tap position.”. Regarding Claim 5, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “determining a power of the higher tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the higher tap position; actuating the on-load tap changer twice and moving the on-load tap changer from the higher tap position to a lower tap position; determining a power of the lower tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the lower tap position; determining the value m as a quotient of the power of the higher tap position and the power of the lower tap position.”. Regarding Claim 6, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “determining a power of the lower tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the lower tap position; actuating the on-load tap changer twice and moving the on-load tap changer from the lower tap position to a higher tap position; determining a power of the higher tap position as a product of a measured current and a measured voltage of the higher tap position; determining the value m as a quotient of the power of the higher tap position and the power of the lower tap position.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 9,519,299 B2 discloses a voltage regulator with a two tap verification process where taps are actuated to verify forward/reverse power flow direction by analyzing voltage changes at the regulator terminals. US 10,048,709 B2 discloses further refinements to power-flow-dependent OLTC voltage set-point control.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838