DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/862,205. Responsive to the preliminary amendment filed 11/01/2024, Claims 11-20 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/EP2023/057667, filed on 3/24/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 7, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 9, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 2-3, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4, “the first transmission stage” should be changed to - -the at least first transmission stage- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 14, line 2, “at least a first transmission stage”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “the electric drive device” should be changed to - -the at least one electric drive device- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 11, line 2, “at least one electric drive device”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “the first transmission stage” should be changed to - -the at least first transmission stage- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 14, line 2, “at least a first transmission stage”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4, “the second transmission stage” should be changed to - -the at least second transmission stage- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 14, line 3, “at least a second transmission stage”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the respective transmission stage" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "in each case" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the transmission stages" in lines 2 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first electric machine" in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second electric machine" in lines 7 and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KNOBLAUCH (US 2010/0187026 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, KNOBLAUCH discloses a powertrain for a motor vehicle (Fig. 2), comprising: at least one electric drive device (not shown electric machines 22A and 22B (see Fig. 1) associated with each of elements 24A and 24B) by way of which the motor vehicle is drivable, a first shaft (26B) which is rotatable relative to a housing element (see 60 in Fig. 1), a second shaft (26A) which is rotatable relative to the housing element and is formed at least in certain regions as a hollow shaft (Fig. 2) in which at least one length region of the first shaft (Fig. 2) is received so as to be rotatable relative to the second shaft, wherein, for driving the motor vehicle, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive a first vehicle wheel (not shown wheel 14B (see Fig. 1) associated with shaft 26B) of the motor vehicle by way of the first shaft, wherein, for driving the motor vehicle, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive a second vehicle wheel (not shown wheel 14A (see Fig. 1) associated with shaft 26A) of the motor vehicle by way of the second shaft, and an axial bearing (top element 48 in Fig. 2) which bears against the first and the second shaft and supports the shafts in their respective axial directions on one another so as to be rotatable relative to one another (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, KNOBLAUCH discloses wherein in relation to the two vehicle wheels, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive exclusively the first vehicle wheel by way of the first shaft (Fig. 2), and, in relation to the two vehicle wheels, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive exclusively the second vehicle wheel by way of the second shaft (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 14, KNOBLAUCH discloses at least a first transmission stage (32A, 72), which is able to drive the first shaft by way of the electric drive device (Fig. 2), and at least a second transmission stage (32B, 72A), which differs from the first transmission stage and is able to drive the second shaft by way of the electric drive device (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, KNOBLAUCH discloses the electric drive device comprises a first electric machine (22A), which, in relation to the two shafts, is able to be used to drive exclusively the first shaft (Fig. 2), and a second electric machine (22B), which, in relation to the two shafts, is able to be used to drive exclusively the second shaft (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, KNOBLAUCH discloses a first radial bearing (54’), which bears against the first shaft (Fig. 2) and the housing element (Fig. 1) and supports the first shaft in its radial direction on the housing element (Figs. 1 and 2), and a second radial bearing (52’), which bears against the second shaft (Fig. 2) and the housing element (Fig. 1) and supports the second shaft in its radial direction on the housing element (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 17, KNOBLAUCH discloses a further bearing (44, 46) which is formed separately from the axial bearing and supports the shafts on one another so as to be rotatable relative to one another is arranged within the hollow shaft (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18 as best understood, KNOBLAUCH discloses the respective transmission stage (32A, 72B; 32B, 72A) in each case comprises two gears, each of which has a respective helical toothing (paragraphs [0033]-[0034], “helical”).
Regarding Claim 19 as best understood, KNOBLAUCH discloses at least a third transmission stage (74B, 34B), which differs from the transmission stages (32A, 72B; 32B, 72A) and, in relation to a first torque flow running from the first electric machine (22A) to the first vehicle wheel (14B), is arranged upstream or downstream of the first shaft in the first torque flow between the first electric machine and the first vehicle wheel (Fig. 2), and at least a fourth transmission stage (74A, 34A), which differs from the transmission stages and, in relation to a second torque flow running from the second electric machine (22B) to the second vehicle wheel, is arranged upstream or downstream of the second shaft in the second torque flow between the second electric machine and the second vehicle wheel (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, KNOBLAUCH discloses at least one gear of the first transmission stage is arranged in a first receiving region which is at least partially delimited by the housing element (Fig. 1 and 2), and at least one gear of the second transmission stage is arranged in a second receiving region which is at least partially delimited by the housing element and is spaced apart from the first receiving region (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the receiving regions are fluidically connected or connectable to one another by way of at least one passage opening (Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WILLIAMS et al. (US 2021/0381587 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, WILLIAMS et al. discloses a powertrain for a motor vehicle (Figs. 3 and 5), comprising: at least one electric drive device (380, 340) by way of which the motor vehicle is drivable, a first shaft (521, 522) which is rotatable relative to a housing element (Fig. 3), a second shaft (511, 512) which is rotatable relative to the housing element and is formed at least in certain regions as a hollow shaft (Fig. 5) in which at least one length region of the first shaft is received so as to be rotatable relative to the second shaft (Fig. 5), wherein, for driving the motor vehicle, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive a first vehicle wheel of the motor vehicle by way of the first shaft (Figs. 3 and 5; 380), wherein, for driving the motor vehicle, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive a second vehicle wheel of the motor vehicle by way of the second shaft (Figs. 3 and 5; 340), and an axial bearing (501) which bears against the first and the second shaft and supports the shafts in their respective axial directions on one another so as to be rotatable relative to one another (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, WILLIAMS et al. discloses wherein in relation to the two vehicle wheels, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive exclusively the first vehicle wheel by way of the first shaft (Figs. 3 and 5), and, in relation to the two vehicle wheels, the electric drive device is able to be used to drive exclusively the second vehicle wheel by way of the second shaft (Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 13, WILLIAMS et al. discloses the axial bearing is arranged within the hollow shaft (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, WILLIAMS et al. discloses at least a first transmission stage (365, 371), which is able to drive the first shaft by way of the electric drive device (Figs. 3 and 5), and at least a second transmission stage (325, 331), which differs from the first transmission stage and is able to drive the second shaft by way of the electric drive device (Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 15, WILLIAMS et al. discloses the electric drive device comprises a first electric machine (380), which, in relation to the two shafts, is able to be used to drive exclusively the first shaft (Figs. 3 and 5), and a second electric machine (340), which, in relation to the two shafts, is able to be used to drive exclusively the second shaft (Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 16, WILLIAMS et al. discloses a first radial bearing (504), which bears against the first shaft and the housing element and supports the first shaft in its radial direction on the housing element (Figs. 3 and 5), and a second radial bearing (503), which bears against the second shaft and the housing element and supports the second shaft in its radial direction on the housing element (Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 17, WILLIAMS et al. discloses a further bearing (502) which is formed separately from the axial bearing (Fig. 5) and supports the shafts on one another so as to be rotatable relative to one another (Fig. 5) is arranged within the hollow shaft (502 shown radially inside hollow shaft 511).
Regarding Claim 18 as best understood, WILLIAMS et al. discloses the respective transmission stage in each case comprises two gears (Fig. 3), each of which has a respective helical toothing (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 19 as best understood, WILLIAMS et al. discloses at least a third transmission stage (552, 372), which differs from the transmission stages and, in relation to a first torque flow running from the first electric machine to the first vehicle wheel, is arranged upstream or downstream of the first shaft in the first torque flow between the first electric machine and the first vehicle wheel (Figs. 3 and 5), and at least a fourth transmission stage (551, 332), which differs from the transmission stages and, in relation to a second torque flow running from the second electric machine to the second vehicle wheel, is arranged upstream or downstream of the second shaft in the second torque flow between the second electric machine and the second vehicle wheel (Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 20, WILLIAMS et al. discloses at least one gear of the first transmission stage is arranged in a first receiving region which is at least partially delimited by the housing element (Fig. 3), and at least one gear of the second transmission stage is arranged in a second receiving region which is at least partially delimited by the housing element and is spaced apart from the first receiving region (Fig. 3), wherein the receiving regions are fluidically connected or connectable to one another by way of at least one passage opening (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WANG et al. (US 2020/0384856 A1) discloses a transmission system for an electric vehicle (see Fig. 2).
PRITCHARD et al. (US 9,566,857) discloses an electric drive unit (see Figs. 1 and 2).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655