DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 01 November 2024.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong et al (CN 208144963) Machine Translation, hereafter referred to as Kong.
Regarding Claim 1, Kong discloses the following:
A vacuum cleaning system comprising
a vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) having a vacuum motor (see [0040]), a dirt bin (20), a primary separation system (20 in combination with 51), a membrane filter (51), and an air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement configured to control air flow through at least the membrane filter (51);
wherein the vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) is configured to be operable in a surface cleaning mode (see for example [0006]) of operation and a self-cleaning (see [0042]) mode of operation;
wherein, in the surface cleaning mode (see for example [0006]) of operation, the vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) is configured such that the vacuum motor (see [0040]) draws dirty air from a dirty-air inlet through the dirt bin (20), the primary separation system (20 in combination with 51) and the membrane filter (51) in a first airflow direction, and wherein,
in the self-cleaning (see [0042]) mode of operation, the vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) is configured to permit air to flow from the air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement through the membrane filter (51) in a second airflow direction to clean dirt from the membrane filter (51).
Regarding Claim 2, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 1,
wherein the air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement is further configured to cause air to flow across a surface of the membrane filter (51) during the self-cleaning (see [0042]) mode.
Regarding Claim 11, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 1,
wherein the membrane filter (51) is at least a pre-motor (see [0040]) filter, such that it is positioned upstream of the vacuum motor (see [0040]) when considered in the direction of airflow in the surface cleaning mode (see for example [0006]) of operation.
Regarding Claim 12, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 1,
wherein the membrane filter (51) is at least a post-motor (see [0040]) filter, such that it is positioned downstream of the vacuum motor (see [0040]) when considered in the second airflow direction in the surface cleaning mode (see for example [0006]) of operation.
Regarding Claim 14, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 13,
wherein one a negative pressure level has been generated, the air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement is operated to cause a pulse of air to flow into the dirt bin (20) of the vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) thereby to eject dirt from the dirt bin (20) through the bin (20) opening and into the dirt storage chamber.
Regarding Claim 15, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 13,
wherein the vacuum cleaner (FIG. 1) is configured such that the pulse of air admitted into the dirt bin (20) during the self-cleaning (see [0042]) mode flows firstly through the membrane filter (51).
Regarding Claim 16, Kong discloses the following:
The vacuum cleaning system of Claim 15,
wherein the primary separation system (20 in combination with 51) includes at least one of a surface filter (51), a depth filter (52) and a cyclonic separator.
Regarding Claim 18, Kong discloses the following:
The system of Claim1,
wherein the air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement is configured to be operated by differential pressure between the dirt bin (20) and ambient environment.
Regarding Claim 19, Kong discloses the following:
The system of Claim1,
wherein the air valve (60; see [0042]) arrangement is configured to be operated repeatedly during sustained operation of the suction generator, thereby permitting a plurality of sequential air pulses to flow through the dirt bin (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Sato et al (US 20200315419), hereafter referred to as Sato.
Regarding Claim 3 Kong discloses the following:
The system of Claim 1,
Kong does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the membrane filter is selected from: an ePTFE membrane, PP membrane, PU membrane, Polyamide membrane, and a PVDF membrane.
However Sato teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to make filters for vacuum cleaners with a film of ePTFE on the upstream surface to easily remove the attached dust (see [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Kong, wherein the filter comprises a film of ePTFE on the upstream side of the filter, as taught by Sato, to easily remove attached dust (see Sato [0111]).
Regarding Claims 4-5 Kong as modified by Sato discloses the following:
The system of Claim 3,
Kong does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the filter element has a filter efficiency of at least 50% at a particle size of 0.3 micrometres (claim 4); wherein the filter element has an average fibril diameter of less than 100nm (claim 5);
However the Examiner notes the following:
Kong as modified by Sato discloses a self-cleaning vacuum having a filter. In other words, Kong as modified by Sato discloses the same structure as the Applicant, except the relative dimensions claimed. The Instant Application has not disclosed the limitation(s) of: wherein the filter element has a filter efficiency of at least 50% at a particle size of 0.3 micrometres (claim 4); wherein the filter element has an average fibril diameter of less than 100nm (claim 5); provides any criticality. Note that the mere existence of these relative dimensions themselves in the claim cannot impart criticality as any filter could be described in such a way. Therefore without explicit support for the relative dimensions of the claim(s) providing a critical result it appears Kong as modified by Sato would perform equally well with the relative values as claimed by Applicant. Since the courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter, as disclosed by Kong as modified by Sato, by utilizing the specific value(s) (relative dimensions) as described above, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a specific filter for the vacuum. (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, as applied to claim 1, in further view of the MPEP.
Regarding Claim 18, Kong discloses the following:
The system of Claim1,
Kong does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the air valve arrangement has a total area that is configured to be not less than 0.5 times the cross sectional area of the dirt bin.
However the Examiner notes the following:
Kong discloses a self-cleaning vacuum having an air valve. In other words, Kong discloses the same structure as the Applicant, except the relative dimensions claimed. The Instant Application has not disclosed the limitation(s) of: wherein the air valve arrangement has a total area that is configured to be not less than 0.5 times the cross sectional area of the dirt bin; provides any criticality. Note that the mere existence of these relative dimensions themselves in the claim cannot impart criticality as any filter could be described in such a way. Therefore without explicit support for the relative dimensions of the claim(s) providing a critical result it appears Kong would perform equally well with the relative values as claimed by Applicant. Since the courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter, as disclosed by Kong, by utilizing the specific value(s) (relative dimensions) as described above, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a specific ratio of valve area to bin area. (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 13 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claim 6:
wherein the membrane filter is movably mounted within the vacuum cleaner, wherein movable mounting of the membrane filter is configured to assists in dislodging dirt from the membrane filter;
Regarding Claims 7-10:
Claims 7-10 are dependent upon claim 6;
Regarding Claim 13:
further comprising a docking station, wherein the docking station comprises a dirt storage chamber and an interface configured to mate with a dirt bin of the vacuum cleaner such that dirt expelled from the dirt bin through a bin opening is ejected into the dirt storage chamber of the docking station,
wherein the vacuum cleaner is configured to evacuate air from the dirt storage chamber when docked with the docking station, wherein, in the self-cleaning mode, the vacuum cleaning system is configured to:
operate the vacuum motor to generate a partial vacuum in the dirt storage chamber, and
once a negative pressure level has been generated, operate the air valve arrangement to cause a pulse of air to flow from the air valve arrangement through the membrane filter in the second airflow direction;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Kong et al (CN 208144963) Machine Translation and Sato et al (US 20200315419).
The Examiner notes Kong is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar vacuum cleaner arrangements see Page 1.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745