DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 16-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 12-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Minor (US 2009/0064219) and Beyda (US 2003/0229722).
Regarding claim 1, Minor teaches a push processing method, comprising steps of:
if candidate push objects associated with a current live video includes a second push object matched with a first push object, displaying push information on a live interface of the current live video ([0041], “In addition, the viewer preference information stored in a selected viewer profile 232c may include historical data indicating previously received the viewer selections, and the advertising module 222 may be configured to alert the viewer of particular available video advertising content based on the previously received viewer selections. For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”);
wherein the push information is used for indicating that the current live video includes the second push object associated with the first push object ([0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.” [0030]), and
the first push object is determined according to a historical viewed video ([0004], “According to some embodiments of the present invention, methods of advertising include alerting a viewer of available video advertising content associated with an object displayed in a sequence of video images, and receiving a viewer selection of the object responsive to alerting the viewer.” [0041], “the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”).
Beyda teaches if a display duration of information has reached a preset duration, and no trigger operation on the information is detected, displaying additional information ([0036], “As another example of a rule that may be established by a receiver of an instant message via a user device, the receiver may want nothing to happen regarding the instant message for a designated period of time after the instant message is received. If the receiver has not read or opened the instant message during the designated period of time, software operating on the user device may automatically open or otherwise display the instant message, forward the instant message to another device associated with the receiver, change the format of the instant message and send the changed message via a new delivery or communication channel, display a message on the screen of the user device, store the instant message for later viewing or retrieval by the receiver, delete the instant message, etc.” Figs. 4-5).
In view of Beyda’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor to include if a display duration of the push information has reached a preset duration, and no trigger operation on the push information is detected; or the display duration of the push information has not reached the preset duration, and a trigger operation on the push information is detected, displaying a push page of the second push object on the live interface. The modification would facilitate user access to the push page and related information.
Regarding claim 12, Minor teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable to the processor; wherein the processor is used for reading the executable instructions from the memory and executing the executable instructions so as to implement a push processing method according to claim 1 ([0026], [0036], Figs. 1A, 1B, 2). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §102 presented with respect to claim 1 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Minor teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program which is used for executing a push processing method of claim 1 ([0026], [0036], Figs. 1A, 1B, 2). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §102 presented with respect to claim 1 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claims 3, 17, and 21, the combination teaches wherein, if the historical viewed video comprises a historical push video, the first push object is determined according to the historical viewed video, which comprises at least one of the following:
if the historical viewed video contains a historical push link of an associated historical push object and a trigger operation for the historical push link is acquired, determining the historical push object corresponding to the historical push video as the first push object (Minor: [0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.” [0030]);
if a display operation for a historical push page is acquired, determining a historical push object corresponding to the historical push video as the first push object, wherein the historical push page contains push detail information of the historical push object associated with the historical viewed video (Minor: [0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.” [0030], “Responsive to alerting the viewer of the presence of the available video advertising content, the user interface 155a may be configured to receive a viewer selection of the displayed object 157. For example, when the viewer is interested in additional information about the on-screen object 157, the viewer may use the keypad 105, the pointing device 185, and/or the navigation keys 180 to select or ‘click on’ the displayed object 157 in response to seeing the graphical icon 125a indicating the available advertising content.”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches
wherein, the push page is an object detail page of the second push object (Minor: [0033], ‘As such, responsive to alerting the viewer of the available video advertising content associated with the on-screen object 157, the electronic device 100b may receive a viewer selection of the object 157 via the pointing device 185, keypad 105, and/or navigation keys 180 of the remote control 155b, and may provide the corresponding video advertising content to the display 110 after an end of the video image sequence 153, as discussed above. Accordingly, the video advertising content may be provided without interruption of the video image sequence 153. In addition, in some embodiments, a listing of products and/or services associated with one or more of the objects 157 displayed in the video image sequences 153 may also be provided via the display 110 as a viewer notification after the end of one or more video image sequences, and may be selected via the remote control 155b and/or other user interface to access the corresponding video advertising content.”); or
the push page is a presentation page of a to-be-presented object corresponding to the current live video, wherein the presentation page comprises the second push object.
Claim(s) 2, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Minor, Beyda, and Mate et al. (US 2021/0067840).
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 20, Minor teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein, if the historical viewed video comprises a historical live video, the first push object is determined according to the historical viewed video, which comprises: measuring a playing duration of the historical live video; if the playing duration is greater than a preset viewing duration, determining a historical push object corresponding to the historical live video as the first push object.
Mate teaches measuring a video, and, if the duration is greater than a preset viewing duration, determining an object corresponding as an object-of-interest ([0084], “An object-of-interest may be identified manually by the user, or may be detected automatically, for example using object recognition based on a currently consumed viewport and/or based on historical data indicating an amount of time a particular object is viewed.” [0093], “The visual field-of-view at a particular time may be referred to as viewport, that is a region of omnidirectional image or video suitable for display and viewing by the user.”).
In view of Mate’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor wherein, if the historical viewed video comprises a historical live video, the first push object is determined according to the historical viewed video, which comprises: measuring a playing duration of the historical live video; if the playing duration is greater than a preset viewing duration, determining a historical push object corresponding to the historical live video as the first push object. The modification would serve to provide an additional and/or alternative means for identifying an object that the user may be interested in. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 4, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Minor, Beyda, and Sun et al. (US 2022/0385952).
Regarding claims 4, 18, and 22, Minor teaches wherein, before displaying, if candidate push objects associated with a current live video include a second push object matched with a first push object, push information on a live interface of the current live video, the method further comprises: in response to a viewing operation on the historical push video, entering a current live video corresponding to the historical push video, wherein the historical push video is a traffic pulling video of the current live video.
Sun teaches, in response to a viewing operation on an element, entering a current live video corresponding to the element, wherein the element is a traffic pulling element of the current live video ([0044], “For example, during a display process of video advertisements, users may enter the live broadcast room to watch the live broadcast through a live broadcast room entrance on a display interface of the video advertisement, so as to realize the combination of a single video advertisement and the live broadcast room, so that the video advertisement can not only provide a display function for the user, but also provide an entrance for the user to enter the live broadcast room corresponding to the video advertisement.” [0066], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, by displaying the live broadcast data on the display interface of the video advertisement, the embodiments of the present disclosure may provide the user with the information of the live broadcast room corresponding to the video advertisement, so that the user has expectations to enter the live broadcast room and can know the live broadcast related information without entering the live broadcast room.” Fig. 2).
In view of Sun’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor wherein, before displaying, if candidate push objects associated with a current live video include a second push object matched with a first push object, push information on a live interface of the current live video, the method further comprises: in response to a viewing operation on the historical push video, entering a current live video corresponding to the historical push video, wherein the historical push video is a traffic pulling video of the current live video. The modification would facilitate an operation of viewing a current live video that may be of interest to users. The modification would thereby enhance convenience for users.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, 19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Minor Beyda, and Singh (US 2023/0316662).
Regarding claims 5, 19, and 23, Minor teaches wherein, the displaying, if candidate push objects associated with a current live video include a second push object matched with a first push object, push information on a live interface of the current live video, comprises:
determining whether a first object identifier corresponding to the first push object is acquired according to the historical viewed video where the first push object is located ([0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”);
if the first object identifier is acquired, determining second object identifiers of the candidate push objects ([0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”);
displaying the push information on the live interface of the current live video ([0030], “Responsive to alerting the viewer of the presence of the available video advertising content, the user interface 155a may be configured to receive a viewer selection of the displayed object 157. For example, when the viewer is interested in additional information about the on-screen object 157, the viewer may use the keypad 105, the pointing device 185, and/or the navigation keys 180 to select or ‘click on’ the displayed object 157 in response to seeing the graphical icon 125a indicating the available advertising content.”).
Minor does not expressly teach calculating matching degrees between the second object identifiers and the first object identifier; if there is a second object identifier with the matching degree greater than a preset matching threshold, determining the candidate push object corresponding to the second object identifier with the matching degree greater than the preset matching threshold as the second push object matched with the first push object.
Singh teaches: calculating matching degrees between second object identifiers and a first object identifier; if there is a second object identifier with the matching degree greater than a preset matching threshold, determining the an object corresponding to the second object identifier with the matching degree greater than the preset matching threshold as a second object matched with a first object ([0051], “The control circuitry may then match the scanned objects with the primary object scored at block 103. Once a match is determined between the primary object and a real-life scanned object, the control circuitry may generate a secondary content item relevant to the match. In some embodiments, the match may be a perfect (100%) match between the scanned object and the real-life object, and in other embodiments, the match may be determined if it exceeds a predetermined percentage.” [0052], “Once a match or relevancy between the scanned objects and the primary object is determined, whether it's a 100% match or a match that exceeds a predetermined percentage, then the secondary content that is customized based in part on the match may be generated.).
In view of Singh’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor to include calculating matching degrees between the second object identifiers and the first object identifier, and, if there is a second object identifier with the matching degree greater than a preset matching threshold, determining the candidate push object corresponding to the second object identifier with the matching degree greater than the preset matching threshold as the second push object matched with the first push object. The modification would serve to improving the accuracy of object identification. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the first object identifier comprises at least one of the following: an object name of the first push object, push link information of the first push object; the second object identifier comprises at least one of the following: an object name of the second push object, push link information of the second push object (Minor: [0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.” [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach:
displaying preset push tag information in an area on the push page where the second push object is located, wherein the push tag information is used for identifying a historical browsing behavior on the first push object.
Singh teaches displaying preset information in an area on a page where a second object is located, wherein the information is used for identifying a historical browsing behavior on a first object ([0027], “In some embodiments, the systems and methods described herein are used to generate impactful secondary content by determining the user's interest and associating the determined interest with a real-life setting based on their interactions with real-life objects.” [0033], “In some embodiments, the secondary content generated includes two portions. The first portion may be a reminder of a snippet from the primary content where the user showed interest. For example, it may be a highlight frame, also referred to herein as reminder frame, first portion, a reminder snippet, or an extracted portion. The second portion, also referred to as supplemental content, may include content that is context-specific to the primary object, such as a related advertisement, webpage, or purchasing options for the object of interest, that may be received from an advertisement author.”).
In view of Singh’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor to include displaying preset push tag information in an area on the push page where the second push object is located, wherein the push tag information is used for identifying a historical browsing behavior on the first push object. The modification would serve to remind a user that content is being shown to the user because of their initial interest in a first object. The modification would thereby enhance the user experience. See Singh: [0055].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Minor, Beyda, Bhat et al. (US 2020/0175303), and Yang et al. (US 2022/0415035).
Regarding claim 6, Minor teaches wherein, the displaying, if candidate push objects associated with a current live video include a second push object matched with a first push object, push information on a live interface of the current live video, comprises:
determining whether a first object identifier corresponding to the first push object is acquired according to the historical viewed video including the first push object ([0041], “For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”);
displaying the push information on the live interface of the current live video ([0041], “In addition, the viewer preference information stored in a selected viewer profile 232c may include historical data indicating previously received the viewer selections, and the advertising module 222 may be configured to alert the viewer of particular available video advertising content based on the previously received viewer selections. For example, the previously received viewer selections stored in viewer profile 232c may indicate that the viewer is interested in German automobiles. As such, when a video image sequence depicting a car chase a car chase between a Renault, a Volvo, and a BMW is shown on the display 210, the advertising module 222 may be configured to identify the Renault, the Volvo, and the BMW as objects associated with available video advertising content, but may only alert the viewer of the available advertising content associated with the BMW. For example, the advertising module 222 may transmit instructions via the processor 240 to display the textual notification ‘Click On BMW For More Details’ on the display 210. … Thus, the history of the objects that a viewer has previously selected may be used by the advertising module 222 to determine when to alert the viewer in cases where a video image sequence that includes a plurality of objects associated with the available video advertising content 290 is shown on the display 210.”).
Minor does not expressly teach, if the first object identifier is not acquired, determining a first image feature of the first push object according to the historical viewed object where the first push object is located; determining second image features of the candidate push objects; calculating similarity degrees between the second image features and the first image feature; if there is a second image feature with the similarity degree greater than a preset similarity threshold, and determining the candidate push object corresponding to the second image feature with the similarity degree greater than the preset similarity threshold as the second push object matched with the first push object.
Bhat teaches determining a first image feature of the first object; determining second image features of candidate objects; calculating similarity degrees between the second image features and the first image feature; if there is a second image feature with the similarity degree greater than a preset similarity threshold, determining the candidate object corresponding to the second image feature with the similarity degree greater than the preset similarity threshold as the second object matched with the first object ([0050], “In various embodiments, a region of interest 136 is compared to an identified image in the database 140. A similarity between the region of interest 136 and images in the database 140 may be determined. For instance, a similarity value may be based on a cosine distance, a vector comparison, a Euclidean distance, or similar techniques to determine a similarity between the region of interest 136 the identified image in the database 140. In some instances, the similarity between the region of interest 136 and the identified image may include comparing a similarity value with a predetermined similarity threshold (also referred to herein as ‘predetermined similarity threshold value’). The region of interest 136 and the identified image may be determined to be associated with one another if a similarity value is meets or exceeds the predetermined similarity threshold. Conversely, the region of interest 136 and the identified image may be determined to not be associated with one another if a similarity value is below the predetermined similarity threshold.”).
In view of Bhat’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minor to include determining a first image feature of the first push object according to the historical viewed object where the first push object is located; determining second image features of the candidate push objects; calculating similarity degrees between the second image features and the first image feature; and if there is a second image feature with the similarity degree greater than a preset similarity threshold, determining the candidate push object corresponding to the second image feature with the similarity degree greater than the preset similarity threshold as the second push object matched with the first push object. The modification would serve to enhance the accuracy of object identification.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach, if the first object identifier is not acquired, performing the step of determining the first image feature.
Yang provides a teaching wherein, if metadata is not acquired, performing a detection process ([0064], “In block 310, if the location metadata is missing, the landmark detection is implemented, as discussed earlier.” [0058], “in one embodiment, the machine learning model can be configured to use landmark detection to detect popular natural and human-made structures within an image or video.” [0109], “In order to provide more context with respect to blocks 244-248, as shown in block 605 (FIG. 6), ML model is configured to use the geographical location of a media file provided by its metadata in order to analyze the media image or media video.”).
In view of Yang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein, if the first object identifier is not acquired, performing the step of determining the first image feature. The modification would serve to provide an additional and/or alternative means for identifying an object that the user may be interested in. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426