DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims 1-11 filed 01 November 2024, which are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the airbag vest does not comprise a cable intended to be connected to the horse and to trigger the inflation of the sheath” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, lines 2-3, should recite, “configured to activate the motion sensor only when the motion sensor is installed on the horse”.
Claim 11, lines 2-3, should recite, “wherein the motion sensor is fastened at [[the]] a rear of the saddle, in particular at [[the]] a level of [[the]] a cantle of said saddle.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“automatic activation means” in claim 7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-9 (and claims 4-5, 7, and 10-11 at least for depending from a rejected claim) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 1 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “a system for protecting a rider on a horse likely to of falling on him/her” in the preamble. It is unclear if the horse is required by the claim or not. Further, it is unclear if the “him/her” is the rider or the horse. Further, it is unclear if the horse is going to fall on the rider or fall on itself. Further, it is unclear if the horse is going to fall at all and if this falling is required by the claim. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “a system for protecting a rider on a horse
Independent Claim 1 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “an airbag vest to be worn by the rider, said vest having at least one inflatable sheath, a gas generator, a gas cartridge and an electronic unit connected to the gas generator and allowing triggering the inflation of the sheath, characterised in that it comprises a motion sensor intended to be installed on the horse and configured to detect a fall thereof by detecting an overpass of a limit angle which corresponds to an abnormal orientation of the horse, and in that said motion sensor is connected to the electronic unit so as to trigger the inflation of the sheath in case of detection of a fall of the horse”. It is unclear what structure is allowing for the triggering of the inflation. Further, it is unclear if “the sheath” is the same structure as the “at least one inflatable sheath”. Further, it is unclear what structure is described by the limitation “characterised in that it”. Further, it is unclear if the limitation “intended” is positive or not. Further, it is unclear if “thereof” is referencing the motion sensor, the airbag vest, or the horse. Further, it is unclear what structures or functions “in that” is meant to reference. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “an airbag vest to be worn by the rider, said vest having at least one inflatable sheath, a gas generator, a gas cartridge, and an electronic unit connected to the gas generator, and the electric unit configured for allowing a triggering of [[the]] inflation of the at least one inflatable sheath[[,]]; the airbag vest further comprising a motion sensor configured to be installed on the horse and configured to detect a fall of the horse by detecting an overpass of a limit angle which corresponds to an abnormal orientation of the horse, and electronic unit so as to trigger the inflation of the at least one inflatable sheath when the fall of the horse has been detected”.
Claim 2 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect a fall of the horse by measuring an angular position of said horse according to at least one axis”. It is unclear if “a fall” is a new fall or the same fall from claim 1. Further, it is unclear if the “angular position” is the same as the “limit angle” from claim 1, or a new/different limitation. Further, it is unclear if the “at least one axis” is part of or different from the “limit angle” of claim 1. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect [[a]] the fall of the horse by detecting the overpass of the limit angle, the limit angle being a measuring of an angular position of said horse according to at least one axis”.
Claim 3 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect a fall of the horse when the value of an angle of lateral or longitudinal inclination is larger than a predetermined limit value”. It is unclear if “a fall” is a new fall or the same fall from claims 1 and 2. Further, it is unclear if the “an angle” is the same as the “limit angle” of claim 1 and/or the “angular position” of claim 2, a combination of both the “limit angle” and the “angular position”, or different than both the “limit angle” and the “angular position”. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect [[a]] the fall of the horse[[a]] the fall of the horse by detecting the overpass of the limit angle which measures the angular position of the horse according to the at least one axis, and the angular position is measured when the value of an angle of lateral or longitudinal inclination is larger than a predetermined limit value”.
Claim 6 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “said cable triggering the inflation of the sheath as it detaches from the vest”. It is unclear if “it” is referring to the cable or the sheath. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “said cable triggering the inflation of the sheath as [[it]] the cable detaches from the vest”.
Claim 8 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “characterised in that it further comprises a motion sensor installed on the airbag vest while being connected to the electronic unit and configured to detect a fall of the rider”. It is unclear what structure is being characterised. Further, it is unclear what structure “it” is referring to since there is no structure recited before the word “characterised” nor after “characterised” and before “it”. Further, it is unclear the “motion sensor” is new/different or the same motion sensor previously recited in claim 1. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “the protection system characterised in that [[it]] the protection system further comprises [[a]] an additional motion sensor installed on the airbag vest while being connected to the electronic unit, and the additional motion sensor configured to detect a fall of the rider”.
Claim 9 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein the airbag vest does not comprise a cable intended to be connected to the horse and to trigger the inflation of the sheath”. it is unclear if “the sheath” is the same structure as the “at least one inflatable sheath”. Further, it is unclear if the limitation “intended” is positive or not. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein the airbag vest does not comprise a cable configured to be connected to the horse and to trigger the inflation of the at least one inflatable sheath”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carmeli US 20090055053.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Carmeli discloses a system (Figs. 1-6B #10/20/40) for protecting a rider (Abstract) on a horse likely to of falling on him/her (Abstact notes, “an airbag equipped garment worn by a rider of a vehicle”; the vehicle could reasonably be a horse), comprising an airbag vest (Figs. 1-2 #10) to be worn by the rider (¶0018), said vest having at least one inflatable sheath (Figs. 1-2 #12/12a-b/14a-f), a gas generator (¶0020), a gas cartridge (Figs. 1-2 #15a-f) and an electronic unit (Fig. 2 #20) connected to the gas generator (¶0021-0022) and allowing triggering the inflation of the sheath (¶0020-0021), characterised in that it comprises a motion sensor (Fig. 4 #41/42/43/44) intended to be installed on the horse (¶0031 notes the sensors are installed on the motorcycle which could be substituted for a horse) and configured to detect a fall thereof (¶0031, 0037) by detecting an overpass of a limit angle (¶0032-0046) which corresponds to an abnormal orientation of the horse (¶0032-0046), and in that said motion sensor is connected to the electronic unit so as to trigger the inflation of the sheath in case of detection of a fall of the horse (¶0032-0046).
Regarding Claim 2, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect a fall of the horse by measuring an angular position of said horse according to at least one axis (¶0032-0046).
Regarding Claim 3, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 2, wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect a fall of the horse when the value of an angle of lateral or longitudinal inclination is larger than a predetermined limit value (¶0032-0046).
Regarding Claim 4, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, wherein the motion sensor comprises a gyrometer (¶0050) and an accelerometer (¶0050).
Regarding Claim 5, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, wherein the motion sensor is connected to the electronic unit via a radio-frequency wireless link (¶0023).
Regarding Claim 6, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, wherein the airbag vest further comprises a cable intended to be detachably connected to the horse (¶0006), said cable triggering the inflation of the sheath as it detaches from the vest (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 7, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, further comprising automatic activation means configured to activate the motion sensor only when the latter is installed on the horse (¶0032-0046).
Regarding Claim 8, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, characterised in that it further comprises a motion sensor (Fig. 2 #22/24) installed on the airbag vest while being connected to the electronic unit (¶0032-0046) and configured to detect a fall of the rider (¶0032-0046).
Regarding Claim 9, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 8, wherein the airbag vest does not comprise a cable intended to be connected to the horse and to trigger the inflation of the sheath (¶0062).
Regarding Claim 10, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 1, further comprising a saddle on which the motion sensor is installed (Fig. 4 #41/44; ¶0032-0046, 0062).
Regarding Claim 11, Carmeli discloses the protection system according to claim 10, wherein the motion sensor is fastened at the rear of the saddle (Fig. 4 #44), in particular at the level of the cantle of said saddle (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davenport US 20170208874 teaches an inflatable vest
Osuchowski US 3930667 teaches a motorcycle inflatable vest
Kincheloe US 4685151 teaches a motorcycle safety apparel
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732