DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 01 November 2024.
Claims 1-4 are canceled by the Applicant.
Claims 5-15 are newly presented by the Applicant.
Claims 5-15 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner. It is noted, the cited Non-Patent Literature (NPL) “line number CC” has been lined through since there was no English translation provided. The English translation of the aforementioned NPL has been cited by the Examiner in the PTO-892.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim language, "the variable vane constituting each row" lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. As best understood, for purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted to instead be, "a [[the]] variable vane of the variable vanes constituting each row."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Emmet et al (US 20160061117), hereafter referred to as Emmet.
Regarding Claim 5, Emmet discloses the following:
A gas turbine (10) comprising:
an inlet guide vane (33) disposed at an inlet of a compressor that is rotatably driven around an axis, and a first ring (50; FIG. 3) connected to the inlet guide vane (33);
a plurality of rows of variable vanes (37, 41) disposed on a downstream side with respect to the inlet guide vane (33) in a direction of the axis, and a plurality of second rings (50; FIG. 3) corresponding to each of the plurality of rows (37, 41) and connected to the variable vane constituting each row (37, 41); and
a first actuator (64 or alternatively 164) rotating the first ring (50; FIG. 3) in a circumferential direction, and a second actuator (65 or alternatively 165) rotating the plurality of second rings (50; FIG. 3) in the circumferential direction,
wherein the first actuator (64 or alternatively 164) and the second actuator (65 or alternatively 165) have the same specifications (64 and 65 in FIG. 3 appear to be identical; 164 and 165 in FIG. 7 appear to be identical).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emmet et al (US 20160061117), hereafter referred to as Emmet, as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Non-Patent Literature “Maintenance and management of gas turbine equipment in combined cycle power generation,” Authored by Izumi Fujii, hereafter referred to as Fujii.
Regarding Claim 6, Emmet discloses the following:
A maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to Claim 5 comprising:
Emmet does not explicitly disclose the following:
a step of detaching the first actuator and attaching a third actuator at a first inspection time;
a step of detaching the second actuator and attaching the first actuator, which has completed maintenance, at a second inspection time; and
a step of detaching the third actuator and attaching the second actuator, which has completed maintenance, at a third inspection time.
However Fujii teaches the following:
a step of detaching the first actuator (A; FIG. 3) and attaching a third actuator (E; FIG. 3) at a first inspection time (end of year 1; Original, FIG. 3);
a step of detaching the second actuator (B; FIG. 3) and attaching the first actuator (A; FIG. 3), which has completed maintenance, at a second inspection time (within 2 years when A replaces B; Original, FIG. 3); and
a step of detaching the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) and attaching the second actuator (B; FIG. 3), which has completed maintenance, at a third inspection time (end of 2 years when B replaces E; Original, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas turbine engine comprising a first and second actuator, as disclosed by Emmet, with the method of maintaining turbine engine components, as disclosed by Fujii, with the reasonable expectation of successfully extending the lifespan of gas turbine components, thereby reducing gas turbine maintenance costs (see for example Fujii section 22, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7, Emmet discloses the following:
A maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to Claim 5 comprising:
Emmet does not explicitly disclose the following:
a step of detaching the second actuator and attaching a third actuator at a first inspection time;
a step of detaching the first actuator and attaching the second actuator, which has completed maintenance, at a second inspection time; and
a step of detaching the third actuator and attaching the first actuator, which has completed maintenance, at a third inspection time.
However Fujii teaches the following:
a step of detaching the second actuator (A; FIG. 3) and attaching a third actuator (E; FIG. 3) at a first inspection time (end of year 1; Original, FIG. 3);
a step of detaching the first actuator (B; FIG. 3) and attaching the second actuator (A; FIG. 3), which has completed maintenance, at a second inspection time (within 2 years when A replaces B; Original, FIG. 3); and
a step of detaching the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) and attaching the first actuator (B; FIG. 3), which has completed maintenance, at a third inspection time (end of 2 years when B replaces E; Original, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas turbine engine comprising a first and second actuator, as disclosed by Emmet, with the method of maintaining turbine engine components, as disclosed by Fujii, with the reasonable expectation of successfully extending the lifespan of gas turbine components, thereby reducing gas turbine maintenance costs (see for example Fujii section 22, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 6,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the steps are sequentially and continuously repeated (as seen in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 7,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the steps are sequentially and continuously repeated (as seen in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 6,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
a step of performing maintenance on the first actuator (A; FIG. 3) which is detached (synonymous with factor; FIG. 3); and
a step of performing maintenance on the second actuator (B; FIG. 3) which is detached (synonymous with factor; FIG. 3) (as seen in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 7,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
a step of performing maintenance on the first actuator (A; FIG. 3) which is detached (synonymous with factor; FIG. 3); and
a step of performing maintenance on the second actuator (B; FIG. 3) which is detached (synonymous with factor; FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 6,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the first actuator (A; FIG. 3), the second actuator (B; FIG. 3), and the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) are sequentially used only in the same gas turbine (units 1 and 2 in FIG. 3 as applied to Emmet).
Regarding Claim 13, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 7,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the first actuator (B; FIG. 3), the second actuator (A; FIG. 3), and the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) are sequentially used only in the same gas turbine (units 1 and 2 in FIG. 3 as applied to Emmet).
Regarding Claim 14, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 6,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) has the same specifications (as evidenced by the parts A, B, and E being interchanged; FIG. 3) as the first actuator (A; FIG. 3) and the second actuator (B; FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Emmet as modified by Fujii discloses the following:
The maintenance method for the gas turbine (10) according to claim 7,
Fujii continues to teach the following:
wherein the third actuator (E; FIG. 3) has the same specifications (as evidenced by the parts A, B, and E being interchanged; FIG. 3) as the first actuator (B; FIG. 3) and the second actuator (A; FIG. 3).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show gas turbine and/or maintenance arrangements see Page 1.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745