DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority for PCT application PCT/JP2022/020031 filed on May 12, 2022.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: [ 1 ] in claim [ 2 ].
Claims 1 and 5 limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use generic placeholders, such as “an acquisition unit” “a start determination unit” “a collector control unit,” and “an estimation unit” coupled with functional language “configured to acquire at least one type of information,” “configured to determine whether or not to start the mist collector,” “configured to automatically control the mist collector,” and “configured to estimate a value,” respectively, that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The written description of the specification implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function. A review of the specification shows that the following describes the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations Paragraph 0053 and 0054 state that: “The computation unit 66 is constituted by a processor including, for example, a CPU (Central Processing Unit), and a GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) or the like. More specifically, the computation unit 66 can be constituted by a processing circuit(Processing Circuitry). [0054] The computation unit 66 includes an acquisition unit 73, a machining control unit 74, a start determination unit 75, and a collector control unit 76. The acquisition unit 73, the machining control unit 74, the start determination unit 75, and the collector control unit 76 are implemented by the computation unit 66 executing the control program 70. At least a portion of the acquisition unit 73, the machining control unit 74,the start determination unit 75, and the collector control unit 76 may be realized by an integrated circuit such as an ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit) or an FPGA(Field-Programmable Gate Array). At least a portion of the acquisition unit 73, the machining control unit 74, the start determination unit 75, and the collector control unit76 may be configured by an electronic circuit including a discrete device.” One having ordinary skill in the art would understand the structure of the limitations from paragraphs 0053 and 0054 as hardware.)
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 8, and 10 – 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese patent application Yamamoto Yukihiro (JP 6970319 B1), herein “Yamamoto,” in view of Japanese patent application Iida Sai (JP 2021003768 A), herein “Iida.”
Regarding claim 1,
Yamamoto teaches a control device for a machine tool comprising a table supporting a workpiece to be machined by a tool in a machining area, (Abstract: “a mist collector control unit for starting the collection process.” Page 4, Par. 7: “The “control unit 50” as used herein means a device that controls a machine tool 100.The device configuration of the control unit 50 is arbitrary. The control unit 50 may be composed of a single control unit or may be composed of a plurality of control units.” Page 5, Par. 4: “program. The CNC unit 30 controls the motor drivers 111R, 111X to 111Z according to the machining program to machine the work W fixed to the table 136.”
a spindle (spindle head 131) to which the tool is mounted and which rotates and moves relative to the table, (Page 5, last paragraph: “The motor 112X feeds and drives the moving body 113 to which the spindle head 131 is attached via a ball screw (not shown), and moves the spindle 132 to an arbitrary position in the X direction.”)
and a mist collector configured to collect mist in the machining area, (mist collector 40; Page 3, Par. 2: “The mist collector 40 collects substances in the air inside the machine tool 100 (hereinafter, also referred to as “micro substances”)…”)
the control device comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire at least one type of information from among a machining load applied to the tool by performing machining on the workpiece, a relative movement speed of the spindle with respect to the table, and a rotational speed of the spindle; (Page 16, Par. 5: “In step S110, the control unit 50 determines whether or not machining of the work has been started. As an example, the control unit 50 determines that the machining of the work has started based on the start of the execution of the machining program 322.When the control unit 50 determines that the machining of the work has started (YES in step S110), the control unit 50 switches the control to step S120. If not (NO in stepS110), the control unit 50 ends the process shown in FIG.” Page 16, Par. 6: “In step S120, the control unit 50 functions as the acquisition unit 152 described above, and determines whether or not the output of the mist sensor 80 indicates that a minute substance has been detected. .. When the control unit 50 determines that a minute substance has been detected (YES in step S120), the control unit 50 switches the control to step S124.” Page 16, Par. 8: “In step S124, the control unit 50 functions as the mist collector control unit 154 described above, and adjusts the collection speed of minute substances by the mist collector 40. As an example, the control unit 50 controls the motor driver 111M and rotates the fan 57 of the mist collector 40 at a predetermined rotation speed “V2”. The rotation speed "V2" is faster than the rotation speed "V1" shown in step S122 described above.” Page 11, Par. 5: “The control unit 50 of the machine tool 100 includes an acquisition unit 152 and a mist collector control unit 154 as functional configurations. Hereinafter, the functions of the acquisition unit 152 and the mist collector control unit 154 will be described in order.”)
Yamamoto does not teach whether or not to start the mist collector based on machining load or current of the machine tool or controlling the dust (mist) collector based on the load (current) of the machine, lathe or drill. However, IIda does teach
a start determination unit configured to determine whether or not to start the mist collector based on the at least one type of information acquired by the acquisition unit; and a collector control unit configured to automatically control the mist collector based on a determination content of the start determination unit. (Page 17, Par. 2: “As described above, in the sixth example, the control circuit 80 of the dust collector 7 controls the rotation speed of the dust collector motor 73 based on the detection results of the force sensor 62 and the switch 263. The pressing operation of the tip tool 91 against the work piece and the pulling operation of the trigger 261 are both operations performed by the user on the hammer drill 2 in order to start the processing work. Therefore, by rationally controlling the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 73 based on the detection results of these operations, it is possible to reduce the wasteful power consumption of the dust collecting motor 73.” Page 19, Par. 2: “On the other hand, the control device (CPU) 80 of the dust collector 70 controls the drive of the dust collection motor 74 via the drive circuit 810 based on the output signal of the current detection circuit 85. More specifically, when the hammer drill 20 starts driving the drive motor 32, the current detection circuit 85 detects the current supplied to the hammer drill 20 and starts outputting a signal. On the other hand, when the drive of the drive motor 32 is stopped, the output of the signal from the current detection circuit 85 is stopped. Therefore, the control circuit 80 recognizes the start or stop of the drive of the drive motor 31, and starts or stops the drive of the dust collection motor 74. Further, the control circuit 80 controls the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 74 based on the output signal of the current detection circuit 85.” Page 16, last paragraph: “The control circuit 753 of the wireless adapter 75 appropriately processes the received signal and outputs it to the control circuit 80 of the dust collector 7. When the control circuit 80 (CPU) recognizes the signal indicating that the first operation has been performed, the control circuit 80 (CPU) starts driving the dust collecting motor 73at a relatively low rotation speed (initial rotation speed) determined in advance.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the control device and method that determines, by a control unit, when the machining work has started when a machining program has been executed and then to start a mist collector as in Yamamoto with control a dust (mist) collector based on the speed of a spindle (drill) motor as in Iida in order to reduce wasteful power consumption of the dust collecting motor. (Page 17, Par. 2, last sentence)
Regarding claim 2,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 2 depends. Iida also teaches that the acquisition unit acquires the information of the machining load based on a drive current or a torque of a spindle motor of the spindle. (Page 18, Par. 6: “The current detection circuit 85 is provided on the path where the electric power supplied from the power cable 89 reaches the outlet 77, and is configured to detect the current supplied to an external device such as the hammer drill 20 via the outlet 77. The current detection circuit 85 outputs a signal indicating the detected current value to the control circuit 80.” Page 19, Par. 2: “On the other hand, the control device (CPU) 80 of the dust collector 70 controls the drive of the dust collection motor 74 via the drive circuit 810 based on the output signal of the current detection circuit 85. More specifically, when the hammer drill 20 starts driving the drive motor 32, the current detection circuit 85 detects the current supplied to the hammer drill 20 and starts outputting a signal. On the other hand, when the drive of the drive motor 32 is stopped, the output of the signal from the current detection circuit 85 is stopped. Therefore, the control circuit 80 recognizes the start or stop of the drive of the drive motor 31, and starts or stops the drive of the dust collection motor 74. Further, the control circuit 80 controls the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 74 based on the output signal of the current detection circuit 85.” Page 19, Par. 3: “For example, the control circuit 80 may be configured to increase the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 74 as the detected current value increases. This is because the current value of the current flowing from the outlet 77 to the hammer drill 20 also increases as the rotation speed of the drive motor 32 increases and / or the load increases.”)
Regarding claim 3,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 3 depends. Yamamoto and Iida also teach that the acquisition unit acquires the information of the rotational speed based on a detection signal of an encoder provided in a spindle motor of the spindle. (Yamamoto, Page 5, Par. 6: “When the motor 112R is a servomotor, the motor driver 111R calculates the actual rotation speed of the motor 112R from the feedback signal of an encoder (not shown) for detecting the rotation angle of the motor 112R.” Iida: “In the present embodiment, the control circuit 80 is configured to control the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 73 according to the driving state of the hammer drill 2. The drive state of the hammer drill 2 includes, for example, the drive state of the drive motor 31 and the drive mechanism 35 (presence / absence of drive, load, rotation speed, etc.), and the motion state (vibration state, more specifically, the main body housing 21) of the hammer drill 2. Rotational state, etc.).”
Regarding claim 6,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 6 depends. Iida also teaches that the start determination unit determines whether or not a predetermined start condition is satisfied, and determines not to start the mist collector in a case that the predetermined start condition is not satisfied, and the predetermined start condition is satisfied in a case that at least one of the machining load, the relative movement speed, and the rotational speed acquired by the acquisition unit is equal to or greater than a threshold value. (Page 11, Par. 2: “FIG. 4 schematically illustrates the correspondence information that can be adopted in the first example. In this example, it is stipulated that the rotational speed of the dust collecting motor 73 increases proportionally (linearly) from the minimum rotational speed (Rmin) to the maximum rotational speed (Rmax) as the rotational speed of the drive motor 31 increases -ing. Further, it is stipulated that when the rotation speed of the drive motor 31 exceeds a predetermined threshold value Rth, the rotation speed of the dust collection motor 73 is uniformly set to the maximum rotation speed Rmax.” See also Page 12, Par. 2)
Regarding claim 7,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 6 which claim 7 depends. Iida also teaches that the wherein the threshold value includes a plurality of the threshold values, and the start determination unit uses the threshold values different from each other in accordance with the machining load, the relative movement speed, and the rotational speed. (Page 13, Par. 2: “FIG. 6 schematically illustrates the correspondence information that can be adopted in this modification. In the example of FIG. 6, the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 73 is set to the rotation speed R3 while the acceleration indicated by the acceleration signal is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold value A1, and is changed to the rotation speed R4 when the acceleration exceeds the threshold value A1.”)
Regarding claim 8,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 6 which claim 8 depends. Iida also teaches that the start determination unit determines to start the mist collector in a case that the predetermined start condition is satisfied. (Page 19, Par. 2: “Therefore, the control circuit 80 recognizes the start or stop of the drive of the drive motor 31, and starts or stops the drive of the dust collection motor 74. Further, the control circuit 80 controls the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 74 based on the output signal of the current detection circuit 85.” See also Page 12, Par. 2.)
Regarding claim 10, it is directed to a machine tool to implement the control device as set forth in claim 1. Yamamoto and Iida teach the claimed method of steps in claims 1. Yamamoto also teaches a machine tool comprising the control device according to claim 1. (Page 2, Par. 5: “The term "machine tool" as used herein is a concept that includes various devices having a function of processing a work. In the present specification, as an example of the machine tool 100, a horizontal machining center will be described as an example, but the machine tool 100 is not limited to this. For example, the machine tool 100 may be a vertical machining center. Alternatively, the machine tool 100 may be a lathe, an additional processing machine, or another cutting machine or grinding machine. Further, the machine tool 100 may be a multifunction device in which these are combined.”)
Regarding claim 11,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 10 which claim 11 depends. Iida also teaches a sub-control device configured to control the mist collector instead of the collector control unit in a case that the control device is stopped. (Page 16, last paragraph: “The control circuit 753 of the wireless adapter 75 appropriately processes the received signal and outputs it to the control circuit 80 of the dust collector 7. When the control circuit 80 (CPU) recognizes the signal indicating that the first operation has been performed, the control circuit 80 (CPU) starts driving the dust collecting motor 73at a relatively low rotation speed (initial rotation speed) determined in advance. The initial rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 73 is stored in the memory of the control circuit 80, for example. After that, when the control circuit 80 recognizes the signal indicating that the second operation has been performed, the rotation speed of the dust collecting motor 73 is increased from the initial rotation speed.” See also Controller 5. See also Yamamoto Page 12, Par. 2: “The mist collector control unit 154 sends a control command to the motor driver 111Mdescribed above based on the detection result of the mist sensor 80. As a result, the mist collector control unit 154 controls the mist collector 40 via the motor driver 111M.” )
Regarding claim 12, it is directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 1. Yamamoto and Iida teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 1. Therefore, Yamamoto and Iida teach the method of steps in claim 12.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Iida in further view of Pearl (US Patent No. 4,328,726), herein “Pearl.”
Regarding claim 4,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 4 depends. They do not tach an encoder that measures relative speed of a spindle/machining device. However, Pearl teaches that the acquisition unit acquires the information of the relative movement speed based on a detection signal of an encoder provided in a feed axis motor configured to relatively move the spindle and the table. (Abstract: “Apparatus for cutting patterns from successive contiguous segments of an elongated layup of sheet material has a zoned vacuum table which includes an endless bristle mat conveyor, for shifting a layup along the table to position a segment of the layup in the cutting zone of the table and for holding the layup segment in the cutting zone, and a carriage assembly, which moves a cutting mechanism relative to the table and in cutting engagement with the segment to cut patterns from the segment in response to signals from a programmable controller. A rotary encoder mounted on the carriage assembly has a pinion which engages a rack carried by the conveyor to detect movement of the carriage assembly relative to the conveyor when the carriage assembly returns to its starting position after completing its cutting cycle. A responsive circuit connects the encoder to the conveyor drive motor and energizes the drive motor in response to the relative movement detected by the encoder…” Col. 9, lines 3 – 27: “Referring now particularly to FIG. 11, initial return movement of the carriage assembly 22 relative to the conveyor 18 causes the encoder shaft to turn in a clockwise direction, thereby causing the twelve bit counters to count up, which in turn results in a positive voltage output from the D/A converter whereby the conveyor drive motor 20 is energized to drive the conveyor 18 in the same direction as the carriage assembly 22. The conveyor 18 moves slowly at first, but ultimately attains a constant speed of approximately 0.5 feet per second. As the carriage assembly 22 moves the conveyor 18 follows it at a speed which is close to the speed of the carriage assembly. The encoder output corresponds to the relative positional difference (lag) between the moving carriage assembly and the moving conveyor. This condition is graphically illustrated in FIG. 12, wherein the relative positions of the carriage assembly 22 and the cutting table conveyor 18 are plotted against time. When the carriage assembly reaches its position of origin it stops moving, under computer control, however, the conveyor 18 continues to move in response to voltage output from the converter. The lag error decreases as the encoder changes direction and outputs pulses on the counterclockwise channel which, in turn, starts to count down the twelve bit counters.” Col. 6, lines 43 – 62 and Col. 6, line 66 – Col. 7, line 16.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the control device and method that determines, by a control unit, when the machining work has started when a machining program has been executed and then to start a mist collector as in Yamamoto with control a dust (mist) collector based on the speed of a spindle (drill) motor as in Iida with having an encoder output a relative motion of a carriage/table with a cutting device as in Pearl in order to precisely position a workpiece relative to a work table in a specific axial direction. (Col. 1, lines 55 – 59)
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Iida in further view of Nishikawa et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20230008435), herein “Nishikawa.”
Regarding claim 5,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 5 depends. They do not tach using a program and estimating machining parameters. However, Nishikawa teaches that an estimation unit configured to estimate a value, as an estimated value, of at least one of the machining load, the relative movement speed, and the rotational speed, based on a machining program for performing the machining, wherein the acquisition unit acquires the estimated value as the information. (Par. 0025: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an example of a configuration diagram of the tool wear monitoring system. A tool wear monitoring system 100 includes a machine tool 1 and a tool wear monitoring device 2. The tool wear monitoring system 100 is used in a cutting process. In the cutting, a main shaft 4 to which a cutting tool 3 such as an end mill is fixed is rotated at a high speed to shape a workpiece to a desired shape.” Claim 14: “The program according to claim 12, wherein the data analysis unit is further caused to, estimate a load during machining from a variation of a current, a voltage, or power based on measurement data transmitted from a current and voltage sensor, and output an analysis result.” See also Claim 12 and Par. 0040.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the control device and method that determines, by a control unit, when the machining work has started when a machining program has been executed and then to start a mist collector as in Yamamoto with control a dust (mist) collector based on the speed of a spindle (drill) motor as in Iida with a machine tool and program wherein the program is able to estimate the load during machining as in Nishikawa in order to estimate the amount of wear on a tool and to calculate a load and to detect possible breakage of the tool. (Par. 0040)
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Iida in further view of Salazar (US PG Pub. No. 20220274045), herein “Salazar.”
Regarding claim 9,
The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 9 depends. They do not teach sending an alarm and determine whether the machine and/or mist collector is operating correctly. Salazar teaches that an alarm output unit configured to output an alarm in a case that an abnormality has occurred in the machine tool, wherein, in a case that the alarm output unit has output the alarm, the collector control unit prohibits an operation of the mist collector, regardless of the determination content of the start determination unit. (Par. 0043 and 0044: “The programmable circuitry of control unit 32 can include program routines that analyze signals from the various sensors provided in the mist collector and display: a) appropriate operation information; b) status of each component; c) warnings to indicate that a component requires attention and/or is no longer operating within specifications; and d) alarms to indicate that a component is no longer operating correctly, as well as: e) set the mist collector on stand-by mode; f) stop the operation of the mist collector to avoid any damage; etc. An interactive user panel 33 is provided for user input and displaying operational information, alarms, maintenance requirements, etc. [0044] The programmable circuitry of control unit 32 can further be programmed to: a) respond to a signal from machine operating sensor O and direct the mist collector to run only when machine is in operation, saving energy; b) respond to a signal from the fluid level sensor N and signal an alarm if the level of oil emulsion in reservoir 29 is full and needs to be emptied, or signal an alarm if there is not enough of a supply of oil emulsion in reservoir 29 to operate (wet capturing only); and c) adjust the operation of the fan motor to maintain airflow rate, compensating for components that are fouling (e.g., the optional reusable filters). Here it is noted that while airflow rate through the collector could be detected using an airflow meter, since pressure drop through the scrubber correlates with airflow rate (for any given emulsion flow rate), adjusting the exhaust fan motor to maintain a pre-set differential pressure across the scrubber 19 (signal H), is equivalent to maintaining the airflow rate, eliminating the need for a dedicated airflow meter.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the control device and method that determines, by a control unit, when the machining work has started when a machining program has been executed and then to start a mist collector as in Yamamoto with control a dust (mist) collector based on the speed of a spindle (drill) motor as in Iida with a system and method that determines whether the mist collector and/or the machine is operating incorrectly, such as when the oil is low or needs emptied, and then stop the mist collector and send an alarm as in Salazar in order to compensate for components that are fouling in the oil recovery system. (Par. 0044)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nozawa Kazue (JP 2001334464 A) may also teach switching on a dust or mist collector unit based on a current change. (Abstract: “When a relay 10 detects that a current flows in a power cord 4 connected to the working tool 1, a magnet conductor 11 is turned on, a magnet switch 12 provided in a power circuit of a suction blower motor 14 of the dust collector 3 is turned on, and the suction blower motor 14 is actuated to act the suction operation of the dust collector 3 to a dust collection hood 7 provided in the working tool 1.” Par. 0008: “In a power tool dust collector configured to suck and collect dust such as dust and mist from a dust generation point with a dust collecting hood attached to the power tool, connect an electric cord of the power tool to the power tool.”)
Haverkamp et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20170234676) is relevant to the instant application and also teaches the elements of claim 4. See paragraph 0057 and 0061 and Claim 1: “A method for determining a plurality of spatial coordinates on a measurement object having a plurality of features, the method comprising the steps of: providing a working head having an image sensor which is configured to record an image of the measurement object, arranging the object at a selected position within a working space in which the working head can move relative to the measurement object, providing a coordinate system having a number of coordinate axes, providing an encoder arrangement configured to supply first position information, the first position information representing a respective working position of the working head along at least one of the coordinate axes, moving the working head relative to the measurement object to a first working position…”
/CHAD G ERDMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116