DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on November 1, 2024. Claims 1-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 1, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 19-20, the claim recites “the or each emitter is fixed to the automotive glass and the or each sensor is fixed to the automotive glass”, it is noted that “the or each emitter” and “the or each sensor” was not previously recited within claim 18, which instead recites “one or more emitters” and “one or more sensors”. The claim has been interpreted as though it recites --“the one or more emitters is fixed to the automotive glass and the one or more sensors is fixed to the automotive glass”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kornbluth et al. (US 20230055880; hereinafter Kornbluth).
In regards to claim 1, Kornbluth discloses of a method for determining the health status of an automotive glass (“Systems and methods are disclosed for detecting a crack in an automotive windshield and alerting a user of the same. This can allow the user to repair the crack before the user might otherwise detect the crack by his/her own visual inspection. The windshield can be provided with emitters configured to emit signals (e.g., sound, light, etc.) and corresponding detectors configured to detect the emitted signals. Signal profiles or signatures can be stored that represent normal measurements when there is no crack. Upon detecting a signal signature that deviates from the stored normal signal signatures, the system can notify the user of a potential crack in the windshield. The system can also determine the location of the crack based upon which of the detectors detect a change in the detected signal.” (Abstract)), the method comprising:
by an emitter, generating a guiding wave to propagate on the automotive glass (“In general, the system can operate as follows according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 2, an array of emitters 16 can emit signals or waves 22 to be detected by a corresponding array of detectors 18. The signals or waves may be optical signals, acoustic signals, electrical signals, and the like which will be described further below. In normal operation with no cracks in the windshield, the signals propagate from the emitters 16 and are detected by the detectors 18 in normal fashion. In other words, the signal received by detectors 18 are consistent over time. The patterns of the signals or signal signatures received by the detectors 18 can be trained or stored as “normal” operation. In the presence of a crack 14, however, one or more of the signals is distorted, shown at wave 24. The detectors 18 detect this abnormality in the received signals, and the processor can correspondingly alert the driver of the presence of the crack 14 according to the teachings provided herein.” (Para 0030), see also Fig 2 and Para 0023);
by a sensor, receiving the guiding wave after propagation (“In general, the system can operate as follows according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 2, an array of emitters 16 can emit signals or waves 22 to be detected by a corresponding array of detectors 18. The signals or waves may be optical signals, acoustic signals, electrical signals, and the like which will be described further below. In normal operation with no cracks in the windshield, the signals propagate from the emitters 16 and are detected by the detectors 18 in normal fashion. In other words, the signal received by detectors 18 are consistent over time. The patterns of the signals or signal signatures received by the detectors 18 can be trained or stored as “normal” operation. In the presence of a crack 14, however, one or more of the signals is distorted, shown at wave 24. The detectors 18 detect this abnormality in the received signals, and the processor can correspondingly alert the driver of the presence of the crack 14 according to the teachings provided herein.” (Para 0030), see also Fig 2 and Para 0023); and
by a processing unit, post-processing the received wave to determine a health status of the automotive glass (“In general, the system can operate as follows according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 2, an array of emitters 16 can emit signals or waves 22 to be detected by a corresponding array of detectors 18. The signals or waves may be optical signals, acoustic signals, electrical signals, and the like which will be described further below. In normal operation with no cracks in the windshield, the signals propagate from the emitters 16 and are detected by the detectors 18 in normal fashion. In other words, the signal received by detectors 18 are consistent over time. The patterns of the signals or signal signatures received by the detectors 18 can be trained or stored as “normal” operation. In the presence of a crack 14, however, one or more of the signals is distorted, shown at wave 24. The detectors 18 detect this abnormality in the received signals, and the processor can correspondingly alert the driver of the presence of the crack 14 according to the teachings provided herein.” (Para 0030), “The processor 20 may be in communication with an associated vehicle transceiver for delivery and receipt of data and commands from a remote server (e.g., the cloud) as will be described further below. The processor 20 and/or associated controller is configured to operate the emitters 16, detect the signals emitted from the emitters 16 via detectors 18, process the associated signals from the detectors 18, and send associated alerts or information to the vehicle's owner about the presence of a crack in the windshield based on the processed information. As such, the processor 20 may be in communication with an associated input/output (I/O) interface 21 configured to display the notification of a presence of the crack. Non-limiting examples of an I/O interface 21 includes a vehicle display, a vehicle infotainment system, a mobile device such as a smartphone, audible devices such as vehicle speakers, and the like. The notification sent to the user regarding the detected presence of a crack may be, without limitation, through SMS, email, phone call, smartphone or smartwatch push notification, or lights or sounds directly within the vehicle.” (Para 0028), see also Fig 2).
In regards to claim 2, Kornbluth discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the post-processing comprises detecting a defect based on the received guiding wave (“In general, the system can operate as follows according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 2, an array of emitters 16 can emit signals or waves 22 to be detected by a corresponding array of detectors 18. The signals or waves may be optical signals, acoustic signals, electrical signals, and the like which will be described further below. In normal operation with no cracks in the windshield, the signals propagate from the emitters 16 and are detected by the detectors 18 in normal fashion. In other words, the signal received by detectors 18 are consistent over time. The patterns of the signals or signal signatures received by the detectors 18 can be trained or stored as “normal” operation. In the presence of a crack 14, however, one or more of the signals is distorted, shown at wave 24. The detectors 18 detect this abnormality in the received signals, and the processor can correspondingly alert the driver of the presence of the crack 14 according to the teachings provided herein.” (Para 0030), “The processor 20 may be in communication with an associated vehicle transceiver for delivery and receipt of data and commands from a remote server (e.g., the cloud) as will be described further below. The processor 20 and/or associated controller is configured to operate the emitters 16, detect the signals emitted from the emitters 16 via detectors 18, process the associated signals from the detectors 18, and send associated alerts or information to the vehicle's owner about the presence of a crack in the windshield based on the processed information. As such, the processor 20 may be in communication with an associated input/output (I/O) interface 21 configured to display the notification of a presence of the crack. Non-limiting examples of an I/O interface 21 includes a vehicle display, a vehicle infotainment system, a mobile device such as a smartphone, audible devices such as vehicle speakers, and the like. The notification sent to the user regarding the detected presence of a crack may be, without limitation, through SMS, email, phone call, smartphone or smartwatch push notification, or lights or sounds directly within the vehicle.” (Para 0028), see also Para 0019).
In regards to claim 3, Kornbluth discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the emitter is fixed to the automotive glass and the sensor is fixed to the automotive glass (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below.” (Para 0023), see also Claim 13).
In regards to claim 18, Kornbluth discloses of a system comprising one or more sensors, one or more emitters, and a processing unit, the system being configured to perform the method of claim 1 (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below.” (Para 0023), “The processor 20 may be in communication with an associated vehicle transceiver for delivery and receipt of data and commands from a remote server (e.g., the cloud) as will be described further below. The processor 20 and/or associated controller is configured to operate the emitters 16, detect the signals emitted from the emitters 16 via detectors 18, process the associated signals from the detectors 18, and send associated alerts or information to the vehicle's owner about the presence of a crack in the windshield based on the processed information. As such, the processor 20 may be in communication with an associated input/output (I/O) interface 21 configured to display the notification of a presence of the crack. Non-limiting examples of an I/O interface 21 includes a vehicle display, a vehicle infotainment system, a mobile device such as a smartphone, audible devices such as vehicle speakers, and the like. The notification sent to the user regarding the detected presence of a crack may be, without limitation, through SMS, email, phone call, smartphone or smartwatch push notification, or lights or sounds directly within the vehicle.” (Para 0028)).
In regards to claim 19, Kornbluth discloses of the system according to claim 18, wherein the or each emitter is fixed to the automotive glass and the or each sensor is fixed to the automotive glass (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below.” (Para 0023)).
In regards to claim 21, Kornbluth discloses of an automotive glass system comprising an automotive glass and a system according to claim 18 (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below.” (Para 0023)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornbluth in view of Takagi (US 20170276618).
In regards to claim 4, Kornbluth discloses of the method according to claim 3.
However, Kornbluth does not specifically disclose of wherein the emitter is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the sensor is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass.
Takagi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the emitter is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the sensor is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass (“The location of the processing unit 205 is merely an example. In some embodiments, the processing unit 205 may be affixed to an internal support, circuit board, or the like. The processing unit 205 may be located beneath or adjacent to a display, as another example. Likewise, the emitter(s) 202 and receiver(s) 203 illustrated in FIG. 2 and other figures are illustrative; both emitters and receivers may be placed in different locations within or adjacent to a glass, sapphire, or other component in which damage is to be detected.” (Para 0043), see also Para 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emitter and the sensor, as taught by Kornbluth, to include being fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass, as taught by Takagi, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the emitters and sensors to be placed in different locations for allowing the damage to be detected (Takagi Para 0043).
In regards to claim 20, Kornbluth discloses of the system according to claim 19.
However, Kornbluth does not specifically disclose of wherein the or each emitter is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the or each sensor is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass.
Takagi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the or each emitter is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the or each sensor is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass (“The location of the processing unit 205 is merely an example. In some embodiments, the processing unit 205 may be affixed to an internal support, circuit board, or the like. The processing unit 205 may be located beneath or adjacent to a display, as another example. Likewise, the emitter(s) 202 and receiver(s) 203 illustrated in FIG. 2 and other figures are illustrative; both emitters and receivers may be placed in different locations within or adjacent to a glass, sapphire, or other component in which damage is to be detected.” (Para 0043), see also Para 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emitter and the sensor, as taught by Kornbluth, to include being fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass, as taught by Takagi, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the emitters and sensors to be placed in different locations for allowing the damage to be detected (Takagi Para 0043).
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10, 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornbluth in view of Ariav et al. (US 20170276618; hereinafter Ariav).
In regards to claim 5, Kornbluth discloses of the method according to claim 1.
However, Kornbluth does not specifically disclose of wherein the method further comprises:
by the sensor, measuring a velocity value of the guiding wave;
by the processing unit, comparing the measured velocity value to velocity value of another guiding wave;
by the processing unit, determining whether there is a residual stress or pressure of the automotive glass if the comparison results in a discrepancy between the measured velocity value and the velocity value of the other guiding wave.
Ariav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the method further comprises:
by the sensor, measuring a velocity value of the guiding wave (“FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Para 0031), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Para 0036), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Para 0023), where the velocity is determined based on a known distance between the between the emitter and the receiver and from a travel time of the waves);
by the processing unit, comparing the measured velocity value to velocity value of another guiding wave (“FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Para 0031), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Para 0036), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Para 0023), where the velocity is compared by comparing it to the known ultra sound velocity and/or by measured a changed travel time of the wave);
by the processing unit, determining whether there is a residual stress or pressure of the automotive glass if the comparison results in a discrepancy between the measured velocity value and the velocity value of the other guiding wave (“FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Para 0031), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Para 0036), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Para 0023), where the velocity is compared by comparing it to the known ultra sound velocity and/or by measured a changed travel time of the wave).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emitter, the sensor, and the processing unit, as taught by Kornbluth, to include being based on a velocity value of the guiding wave based on a comparison between the measured velocity value and the velocity value of a different wave to determine a discrepancy, as taught by Ariav, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine a fracture or fatigue condition (Ariav Para 0023).
In regards to claim 6, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 5, wherein the method further comprises:
by another emitter, generating the other guiding wave (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below. “ (Kornbluth Para 0023), “The touch screen illustrated in FIG. 4, therein generally designated 40, includes a glass panel 41 and an underlying layer 42 of a damper or sound-absorbing material, such as rubber. Four ultrasound transducers 43a-43d are located on the four outer edges of the glass panel 41 and are underlined by the sound absorbing layer 42. Each of the sonic transducers 43a-43d is capable of transmitting and receiving sonic waves propagated through the glass panel 41.” (Ariav Para 0035), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036));
by another sensor, receiving the other guiding wave and measuring the velocity value of the other guiding wave (“The touch screen illustrated in FIG. 4, therein generally designated 40, includes a glass panel 41 and an underlying layer 42 of a damper or sound-absorbing material, such as rubber. Four ultrasound transducers 43a-43d are located on the four outer edges of the glass panel 41 and are underlined by the sound absorbing layer 42. Each of the sonic transducers 43a-43d is capable of transmitting and receiving sonic waves propagated through the glass panel 41.” (Ariav Para 0035), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), “FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Ariav Para 0031), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Ariav Para 0023)).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 7, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 6, wherein the other emitter is fixed to the automotive glass and the other sensor is fixed to the automotive glass (“The system 10 includes one or more emitters 16 located at one side of the windshield 12, and one or more detectors 18 located at an opposite side of the windshield. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located on opposite lateral sides of the windshield 12, for example adjacent the vehicle's A-pillar. Associated wires and electrical connectors can be disposed within or adjacent the A-pillar on one or either side of the windshield 12. In another embodiment, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 are each on both sides of the windshield 12 such that each side of the windshield includes both an emitter 16 and a detector 18. The emitters 16 and detectors 18 may also be on the upper or lower bounds of the windshield 12. In short, the emitters 16 and detectors 18 can be located at any location about the periphery of the windshield, or in some embodiments the detectors may be within the windshield as will be described more below.” (Kornbluth Para 0023), See also Kornbluth Fig 1).
In regards to claim 9, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 6,
wherein said emitter and said sensor are a same transducer and said another emitter and said other sensor are another same transducer (“The touch screen illustrated in FIG. 4, therein generally designated 40, includes a glass panel 41 and an underlying layer 42 of a damper or sound-absorbing material, such as rubber. Four ultrasound transducers 43a-43d are located on the four outer edges of the glass panel 41 and are underlined by the sound absorbing layer 42. Each of the sonic transducers 43a-43d is capable of transmitting and receiving sonic waves propagated through the glass panel 41.” (Ariav Para 0035), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), and “Theoretically two acoustical channels through the glass plate 41 will define the touch point by triangulation. For example, assuming that transducers 43a and 43b define one acoustical channel, line AB will define a line of equal frequency for that respective channel; and assuming transducers 43c and 43d define a second acoustical channel, line CD define a second line of equal frequency for that channel. Accordingly, the actual location of the touch point, shown at P in FIG. 4, will be the intersection of lines AB and CD.” (Ariav Para 0038), see also Ariav Fig 4).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 10, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 9, wherein the transducers are positioned at a positive angle to each other (“The touch screen illustrated in FIG. 4, therein generally designated 40, includes a glass panel 41 and an underlying layer 42 of a damper or sound-absorbing material, such as rubber. Four ultrasound transducers 43a-43d are located on the four outer edges of the glass panel 41 and are underlined by the sound absorbing layer 42. Each of the sonic transducers 43a-43d is capable of transmitting and receiving sonic waves propagated through the glass panel 41.” (Ariav Para 0035), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), and “Theoretically two acoustical channels through the glass plate 41 will define the touch point by triangulation. For example, assuming that transducers 43a and 43b define one acoustical channel, line AB will define a line of equal frequency for that respective channel; and assuming transducers 43c and 43d define a second acoustical channel, line CD define a second line of equal frequency for that channel. Accordingly, the actual location of the touch point, shown at P in FIG. 4, will be the intersection of lines AB and CD.” (Ariav Para 0038), see also Ariav Fig 4).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 13, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 5, wherein the velocity value of the other guiding wave is a reference velocity value of a reference guiding wave (“FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Ariav Para 0031), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Ariav Para 0023), where the velocity is compared by comparing it to the known ultra sound velocity and/or by measured a changed travel time of the wave).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 14, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 13, wherein the method further comprises:
by a thermal sensor, measuring a temperature of or near the automotive glass (“The system may also include a temperature sensor coupled to the windshield and the processor. This allows correction for temperature-caused fluctuations in the received sound signals. The temperature of the windshield may cause the sound detected by the detectors to change compared to the established baseline. Therefore the system may be compensated by using a temperature sensor so that as the sound signature differs with altering temperatures, the system is able to account for this knowledge. In addition or alternative to the temperature sensor coupled to the windshield, the system may use already-existing temperature sensors in the vehicle cabin or atmospheric (external) temperature sensors. A look-up table may be used that correlates a certain sound signature with a given temperature as the established baseline sound signature for an undamaged windshield.” (Kornbluth Para 0036)),
the determining of whether there is a residual stress comprising comparing the measured temperature to a reference temperature associated with velocity value of the other guiding wave (“The system may also include a temperature sensor coupled to the windshield and the processor. This allows correction for temperature-caused fluctuations in the received sound signals. The temperature of the windshield may cause the sound detected by the detectors to change compared to the established baseline. Therefore the system may be compensated by using a temperature sensor so that as the sound signature differs with altering temperatures, the system is able to account for this knowledge. In addition or alternative to the temperature sensor coupled to the windshield, the system may use already-existing temperature sensors in the vehicle cabin or atmospheric (external) temperature sensors. A look-up table may be used that correlates a certain sound signature with a given temperature as the established baseline sound signature for an undamaged windshield.” (Kornbluth Para 0036), “FIG. 1 illustrates the invention implemented in a structural panel, more particularly an aircraft wing 2, for detecting any one of various physical conditions of the wing which affects the transit time of a sonic wave through the material of the wing. Among the conditions that may be detected in this manner are pressure and/or temperature distribution of the wing, deformations in the wing, a fatigue condition in the wing material, or a fracture in the wing.” (Ariav Para 0022), “One known type of touch screen includes two transparent resistor layers separated by insulating spacers. A voltage is applied across one resistor layer, and the voltage across the second resistor layer is measured, such that the ratio between the applied and measured voltages marks the location of the point touched on the screen. Such known devices, however, are quickly worn out. Another known type of touch screen includes a special pen which is moved to change its distance between a sonic transmitter and a sonic receiver attached to the screen. In such device, however, the sonic waves propagate through air, and therefore the environmental conditions (motion of air, temperature, position of user arm, etc.) may result in considerable errors. In addition, such known devices require the use of a special pen.” (Ariav Para 0033), (“FIG. 3 illustrates the invention implemented in a window panel for detecting any one of a number of conditions affecting the transit time of a sonic wave moving through an acoustical channel in the window. Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, the window, therein generally designated 30, includes a sonic transmitter 31 at one end, and a sonic receiver 32 at the opposite end so as to define an acoustical channel 33 between them constituted of the material of the window itself. Should a pressure be applied against the window, the acoustical channel 33 will be deformed (lengthened), thereby changing the transit time of the sonic wave from the transmitter to the receiver. This transit time will also be changed if the window should be broken, or if the window is wetted, e.g., by rain. Accordingly, any one of the above conditions can be sensed by measuring the transit time, e.g., using the circuit of FIG. 2, of the sonic waves from the transmitter 31 to the receiver 32.” (Ariav Para 0031), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), “For this purpose, the wing 2 is provided with a plurality of sensors 10 arrayed as desired on the wing in order to sense the condition of the wing at a plurality of regions thereon. Each sensor includes a sonic transmitter 11 and a sonic receiver 12 spaced from the transmitter to define, between them, an acoustical channel 13 constituted of the material of the wing itself. As described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, a cyclically-repeating sonic wave is transmitted from the transmitter 11 through the portion of the wing serving as the respective acoustical channel to the receiver 12. The transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel is measured in the respective sensor 10, and is utilized to detect the predetermined condition, e.g., deformation of, or temperature in, the respective region of the wing, a fracture or fatigue condition in the wing, etc., any of which conditions affects the transit time of the sonic wave through the respective acoustical channel, from the respective transmitter to the respective receiver.” (Ariav Para 0023), where the velocity is compared by comparing it to the known ultra sound velocity and/or by measured a changed travel time of the wave).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 15, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining of whether there is a residual stress occurs in real time (“References are made in this disclosure to cracks in automotive windshields. It should be understood that a “crack” can come in many different shapes, types, and sizes. Unless otherwise noted, the term “crack” should not be limited to only a certain type of visible damage made to the windshield. Common types of cracks on windshields include chips, craters, horseshoe cracks, star cracks, bullseye, straight line, and spider webs. These types of damage to windshields are often caused by debris (e.g., stones) making contact with the windshield at high forces or velocities. It should be understood that references made herein to “crack” are intended to cover at least these types of damages.” (Kornbluth Para 0019), “The emitters 16 and/or the detectors 18 may be connected to a processor 20. The processor 20 may also generally be referred to as a controller, and can be one or more of a processor or controller capable of not only controlling the emitters 16, but receiving information from the detectors, processing the information, and outputting instructions to deliver a notification to the driver in response to a determined crack in the windshield… The computer-executable instructions of the programs may be configured to, upon execution by the processor, inform the vehicle owner or operator of a presence of a crack in the windshield so that the owner or operator is made aware of the crack as early as possible for swift repair.” (Kornbluth Para 0024), see also Kornbluth Para 0041).
In regards to claim 17, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein said emitter and said sensor are a same transducer (“The touch screen illustrated in FIG. 4, therein generally designated 40, includes a glass panel 41 and an underlying layer 42 of a damper or sound-absorbing material, such as rubber. Four ultrasound transducers 43a-43d are located on the four outer edges of the glass panel 41 and are underlined by the sound absorbing layer 42. Each of the sonic transducers 43a-43d is capable of transmitting and receiving sonic waves propagated through the glass panel 41.” (Ariav Para 0035), “The four transducers may be organized in at least two, and preferably six, pairs of transmitters/receivers which work alternately. Thus, when the user does not touch the glass surface, the ultrasound wave propagates directly from the transmitter of the pair to the receiver of the pair as shown by line 44. Since there is no reflection from the glass borders, the frequency depends just on the known distance between the transmitter and receiver and the known ultrasound velocity.” (Ariav Para 0036), and “Theoretically two acoustical channels through the glass plate 41 will define the touch point by triangulation. For example, assuming that transducers 43a and 43b define one acoustical channel, line AB will define a line of equal frequency for that respective channel; and assuming transducers 43c and 43d define a second acoustical channel, line CD define a second line of equal frequency for that channel. Accordingly, the actual location of the touch point, shown at P in FIG. 4, will be the intersection of lines AB and CD.” (Ariav Para 0038), see also Ariav Fig 4).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth and Ariav is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornbluth in view of Ariav, as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Takagi.
In regards to claim 8, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 7,.
However, Kornbluth in view of Ariav does not specifically teach of wherein the other emitter (101) is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the other sensor (101) is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass.
Takagi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the other emitter (101) is fixed to an internal surface of the automotive glass and the other sensor (101) is fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass (“The location of the processing unit 205 is merely an example. In some embodiments, the processing unit 205 may be affixed to an internal support, circuit board, or the like. The processing unit 205 may be located beneath or adjacent to a display, as another example. Likewise, the emitter(s) 202 and receiver(s) 203 illustrated in FIG. 2 and other figures are illustrative; both emitters and receivers may be placed in different locations within or adjacent to a glass, sapphire, or other component in which damage is to be detected.” (Para 0043), see also Para 0044 and 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the other emitter and the other sensor, as taught by Kornbluth in view of Ariav, to include being fixed to the internal surface of the automotive glass, as taught by Takagi, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the emitters and sensors to be placed in different locations for allowing the damage to be detected (Takagi Para 0043).
In regards to claim 11, Kornbluth in view of Ariav teaches of the method according to claim 10.
However, Kornbluth in view of Ariav does not specifically teach of wherein the angle substantially equals 90°.
Takagi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the angle substantially equals 90° (“For example, FIG. 10 depicts a schematic cross-sectional view of a fourth example configuration of components that may be used in an electronic device, such as the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, to detect damage to a cover glass 1001, taken along line B-B shown with respect to FIG. 2. Contrasted with the first example configuration of FIG. 4, the third example configuration of FIG. 10 includes one or more transceivers 1009A, 1009B, 1009C, and 1009D. In this third example configuration, the transceivers 1009A, 1009B, 1009C, and 1009D are positioned at the corners of the cover glass 1001 and are operable to emit and receive waves 1004A, 1004B, 1004C, 1004D, 1004E, 1004F, 1004G, and 1004H or other signals respectively between each other.” (Para 0059), “The multiple receivers 403A, 403B may be positioned at opposing corners of the cover glass 401 defined by edges 408A, 408B, 408C, and/or 408D of the cover glass 401. Similarly, the multiple emitters 402A, 402B may be positioned at opposing corners of the cover glass 401.” (Para 0047), see also Figs 4 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning of the transducers, as taught by Kornbluth in view of Ariav, to include being at a 90 degree angle, as taught by Takagi, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to sensors to detect damage along the edge of the glass (Takagi Para 0049 and Figs 4 and 10).
In regards to claim 12, Kornbluth in view of Ariav in view of Takagi teaches of the method according to claim 11, wherein the transducers are positioned in the top corners of the automotive glass (“For example, FIG. 10 depicts a schematic cross-sectional view of a fourth example configuration of components that may be used in an electronic device, such as the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, to detect damage to a cover glass 1001, taken along line B-B shown with respect to FIG. 2. Contrasted with the first example configuration of FIG. 4, the third example configuration of FIG. 10 includes one or more transceivers 1009A, 1009B, 1009C, and 1009D. In this third example configuration, the transceivers 1009A, 1009B, 1009C, and 1009D are positioned at the corners of the cover glass 1001 and are operable to emit and receive waves 1004A, 1004B, 1004C, 1004D, 1004E, 1004F, 1004G, and 1004H or other signals respectively between each other.” (Para 0059), “The multiple receivers 403A, 403B may be positioned at opposing corners of the cover glass 401 defined by edges 408A, 408B, 408C, and/or 408D of the cover glass 401. Similarly, the multiple emitters 402A, 402B may be positioned at opposing corners of the cover glass 401.” (Para 0047), see also Figs 4 and 10).
The motivation for combining Kornbluth, Ariav, and Takagi is the same as that recited for claim 11 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 16, the closest prior art of record is Kornbluth et al. (US 20230055880; hereinafter Kornbluth) in view of Cai et al. (US 20190302064). Kornbluth in view of Cai teaches of the method according to claim 1.
However, Kornbluth in view of Cai does not fully teach of wherein the method further comprises, before generating said guiding wave and/or generating said other guiding wave, selecting a mode of said guiding wave and/or of said other guiding wave amongst non-dispersive modes. It is noted that the prior art teaches of guiding waves for an automotive windshield, and of choosing a wave mode with either a dispersive or a non-dispersive mode. However, the prior art does not fully teach of selecting a mode of said guiding wave or said other guiding wave amongst non-dispersive modes (where it is noted that more than one non-dispersive modes are required) before generating the said guiding wave and/or generating said other guiding wave, in combination with the remaining claim limitations. Therefore the claim contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawiecki et al. (US 20120203474) discloses of multiple transducers being located at right angles from one another.
Lepage et al. (US 20160290972) discloses of determining when a wave mode is set to a non-dispersive mode.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663