Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2022-0054347, filed on 05/02/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 and 11/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s specification filed on 11/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOUN et al (US 20220279348 A1—hereinafter—" YOUN”) in view of KAWASAKI US 20220279378 A1.
As per claim 1, YOUN discloses a method for supporting authentication of a second user equipment (UE) by a first UE in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment message for a PDU session for the first UE to a session management function (SMF) ([0252-0254] While the PDU session establishment procedure is being performed, the Data Network-Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (DN-AAA) server may perform secondary authentication/authentication. Here, the secondary authentication/authorization may mean authentication/authorization through a data network (DN) outside the domain of the mobile operator. A DN-AAA server may belong to 5GC or DN. When the procedure for establishing a PDU session to the Data Network (DN) is performed, the following operations may be performed: The DN-specific identity of the UE can be authenticated/authorized by the DN);
receiving a PDU session establishment response message corresponding to the PDU session establishment message from the SMF ([0294-0295] FIGS. 10a and 10b show Remote UE, Relay UE, AMF, Remote UE Authentication Server Function (RAUSF), SMF, DN-AAA (DN-AAA Server), and UDM. 1) Relay UE may perform registration procedure and PDU session establishment procedure. For example, for relaying to the Remote UE, the Relay UE may perform a registration procedure and may establish (or generate) a PDU session for relaying data of the Remote UE. (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID); Note that Remote UE is considered as the second user equipment UE. [0299]5) The AMF may transmit an Authentication Request message to the Remote UE Authentication Server Function (RAUSF) to start the authentication procedure for the Remote UE. The authentication request message transmitted by the AMF may include information on the Relay UE ID and information on the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID));
transmitting a PDU session modification message including an authentication information request for the second UE to the SMF ([0323] 4) Relay UE includes information on Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI or temporary ID), type information of Remote UE ID, and information on session (eg, ID for distinguishing PC5 sessions, DNN, S-NSSAI, etc.) in the PDU Session Modification Request message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Request message to the SMF. At this time, in order to inform that the Relay UE starts relaying for the Remote UE, the Relay UE may include information on the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) and information on the session (eg, information on the session transmitted by the Remote UE) and PC5 session information (eg, including PC5 link identity) for identifying the session requested by the Remote UE) in the PDU Session Modification Request message. If the Remote UE provides information for secondary authentication in step 3), the Relay UE may also include information for secondary authentication in the PDU Session Modification Request message and may transmit the PDU Session Modification Request message. For reference, the Relay UE may transmit a PDU session modification request message to the SMF through the AMF. [0357] 25) When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server indicating that the secondary authentication has been successfully performed, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE. Here, the PDU session modification command message may include information on the Remote UE ID and information on which whether PC5 session authentication has been successful. When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server notifying that the secondary authentication has failed, the PDU session modification command message may include information about the Remote UE ID and at which stage (eg network authentication or secondary authentication) authentication failed. In addition, the SMF may include the ID (e.g. 5G-GUTI) allocated by the AMF for the Remote UE in the PDU Session Modification Command message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE);
receiving a PDU session modification response message including authentication information for the second UE from the SMF ([0300] 6 and 7) RAUSF may obtain AV (Authentication Vector) and SUPI information for remote UE authentication from UDM based on information on Remote UE ID. For example, the RAUSF may transmit a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message) including information (eg, SUCI) on the Remote UE ID to the UDM. Then, the UDM may transmit a response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) and AV (Authentication Vector) to RAUSF. The UDM may provide the RAUSF with a SUPI matching the SUCI received from the RAUSF. [0330] 5) When the information on the Remote UE ID received by the SMF in step 4) is SUCI, the SMF may transmit a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message) to the UDM. The SMF may transmit a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message including information on the Remote UE ID (SUCI) to the UDM. Additionally, the SMF may include an indication (or information) indicating that it is related to the Remote UE in the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message. [0331] 6) The UDM may generate a SUPI based on the SUCI transmitted by the SMF. The UDM may transmit a response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) to the SMF. The response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) may include information about the Remote UE ID (SUPI). [0332] When the SMF transmits an indication (or information) indicating that the UDM is related to the Remote UE, the UDM may include only the SUPI in the response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) without including the AV. Alternatively, when the SMF transmits a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message), regardless of whether the SMF transmitted an indication (or information) indicating it is related to the Remote UE or not, the UDM may not include the AV, but only include the SUPI in the response message (eg Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message). The reason why the UDM does not transmit the AV is that the AV is used when authenticating the terminal during the registration procedure and does not need to be used after step 7). [0340-0343] AUSF, SMF, AMF, Relay UE and Remote UE may perform the EAP authentication procedure. After the EAP authentication procedure is performed, the AUSF may transmit an authentication response message (eg, Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authentication Response message) including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) to the AMF. The AMF may transmit an authentication response message including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) to the SMF….When the Relay UE receives the Authentication Request message for the Remote UE, the Relay UE may transmit parameters related to the EAP message to the Remote UE using PC5 signaling (PC5 signaling may be performed as the same manner of step 10) of FIGS. 10a and 10b). The Remote UE may transmit a response (eg, a response to parameters related to the EAP message) to the Relay UE by including the response it in PC5 signaling (this transmission may be performed in the same manner of step 11 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). The Relay UE may include the Remote UE's response in the Authentication Response message and transmit the Authentication Response message to the AMF (this may be performed as the same way of step 12 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). In this case, the Relay UE may include information about Remote UE ID (e.g. SUCI or temp ID) in the Authentication Response message, in order to inform that the Authentication Response message is related to authentication for the Remote UE. When the authentication for the Remote UE (eg EAP authentication) is successfully completed, if the SMF transmitted an authentication request message including information about the Remote UE ID (SUCI) in Step 7, AUSF may transmit the authentication response message (eg, Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authentication Response message) of step 12) to the AMF by including information (SUPI) about the Remote UE ID in the authentication response message).
YOUN explicitly discloses a protocol data unit (PDU) session, but does not explicitly disclose the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session. KAWASAKI, in analogous art however, discloses the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session ([0105] Although Protocol Data Unit/Packet Data Unit (PDU) session can be defined as a relationship between the DN that provides a PDU connectivity service and the UE, the PDU session may be connectivity established between the UE and an external gateway. In the 5GS, the UE establishes a PDU session via the access network_B and the core network_B, and can thereby perform transmission and/or reception of user data to and/or from the DN by using the PDU session. Here, the external gateway may be a UPF, an SCEF, or the like. The UE can perform transmission and/or reception of user data to and/or from an apparatus deployed in the DN, such as an application server, by using a PDU session. [0108] A Protocol Data Unit/Packet Data Unit (PDU) session type indicates a type of PDU session and includes IPv4, IPv6, Ethernet, and Unstructured. In a case that IPv4 is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of data is performed using IPv4. In a case that IPv6 is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of data is performed using IPv6. In a case that Ethernet is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of an Ethernet frame is performed. Alternatively, Ethernet may indicate that communication using the IP is not performed. In a case that Unstructured is specified, it is indicated that data is transmitted and/or received to and/or from an application server in the DN or the like by using Point-to-Point (P2P) tunneling technique. For the P2P tunneling technique, for example, UDP/IP encapsulation technique may be used. Note that the PDU session type may include the IP, in addition to the above. The IP can be specified in a case that the UE can use both of IPv4 and IPv6. [0195] Specifically, the UE_A 10 transmits the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF 140 in the core network_B 190 via the NR node_A 122 using the N1 interface (S700)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of supporting authentication of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system disclosed by YOUN to include the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session). This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide a terminal apparatus that constitutes a 5GS and an apparatus in a core network perform processing such as moving management and session management for supporting functions related to a non-public network as suggested by KAWASAKI ([0014).
As per claim 2; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the authentication information for the second UE is implemented as any one of an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) authentication message for performing authentication, an EAP authentication request message, an EAP success message, and an EAP failure message (YOUN; [0301] 8) RAUSF may generate an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication to the Remote UE. RAUSF may transmit an Authentication Response message including the EAP-Request message and information about the Remote UE ID (information transmitted by the UE in step 3) (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) to the AMF. Here, when the Relay UE has a plurality of Remote UEs (when communicating with a plurality of Remote UEs), in order to inform which Remote UE the message is for authentication, RAUSF may transmit information about the Remote UE ID).
As per claim 3; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising storing the authentication information for the second UE included in the PDU session modification response message (YOUN ([0323] 4) Relay UE includes information on Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI or temporary ID), type information of Remote UE ID, and information on session (eg, ID for distinguishing PC5 sessions, DNN, S-NSSAI, etc.) in the PDU Session Modification Request message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Request message to the SMF. At this time, in order to inform that the Relay UE starts relaying for the Remote UE, the Relay UE may include information on the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) and information on the session (eg, information on the session transmitted by the Remote UE) and PC5 session information (eg, including PC5 link identity) for identifying the session requested by the Remote UE) in the PDU Session Modification Request message).
As per claim 4; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: transmitting a first message indicating the authentication for the second UE is completed to the second UE (YOUN: [0310] When authentication for the Remote UE is successfully completed and the Remote UE can receive service through the current Relay UE, the AMF may transmit a Remote UE Registration Accept message to the Relay UE. When the Remote UE transmits the SUCI in step 3), the AMF may allocate a temporary ID (eg, 5G-GUTI) to the Remote UE, and transmit the assigned temporary ID to the Relay UE. For example, the AMF may transmit a Remote UE Registration Accept message including information about the Remote UE ID (including temporary ID) to the Relay UE. The AMF may manage the Remote UE based on the remote UE's temporary ID (eg, 5G-GUTI); and
receiving a second message which is a response to the first message from the second UE (YOUN: [0343] The Remote UE may transmit a response (eg, a response to parameters related to the EAP message) to the Relay UE by including the response it in PC5 signaling (this transmission may be performed in the same manner of step 11 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). The Relay UE may include the Remote UE's response in the Authentication Response message and transmit the Authentication Response message to the AMF (this may be performed as the same way of step 12 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). In this case, the Relay UE may include information about Remote UE ID (e.g. SUCI or temp ID) in the Authentication Response message, in order to inform that the Authentication Response message is related to authentication for the Remote UE. When the authentication for the Remote UE (eg EAP authentication) is successfully completed, if the SMF transmitted an authentication request message including information about the Remote UE ID (SUCI) in Step 7, AUSF may transmit the authentication response message (eg, Nausf_ UEAuthentication _Authentication Response message) of step 12) to the AMF by including information (SUPI) about the Remote UE ID in the authentication response message).
As per claim 5; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, a security request message for the second UE to be authenticated through the first UE in a communication network (YOUN: [0335] The SMF may transmit an authentication request message to the AMF. For example, when the information on the Remote UE ID received by the SMF in step 4) is a SUCI or a temporary ID, the SMF may transmit an authentication request message to the AMF. For another example, when the Remote UE transmits the SUPI (that is, when the information on the Remote UE ID received in step 4 by the SMF is SUPI) or when the SMF receives the SUPI through the operation described in (Option 1), in order to perform authentication for the Remote UE, the SMF may transmit an authentication request message to the AMF); and
transmitting a response message to the security request message to the second UE (YOUN [0351] In step 19), the Relay UE receiving the PDU Session Authentication Command message may transmit parameters related to the EAP message included in the PDU Session Authentication Command message to the Remote UE by using PC5 signaling. For example, the Relay UE may transmit an authentication message including parameters related to the EAP message to the Remote UE by using PC5 signaling. The authentication message transmitted by the Relay UE may also include information on which PC5 session authentication is associated with (eg, PC5 session information).
As per claim 6, YOUN discloses a method for supporting authentication of a second user equipment (UE) by a session management function (SMF) in a wireless communication system [0330] 5) When the information on the Remote UE ID received by the SMF in step 4) is SUCI, the SMF may transmit a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message) to the UDM. The SMF may transmit a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message including information on the Remote UE ID (SUCI) to the UDM. Additionally, the SMF may include an indication (or information) indicating that it is related to the Remote UE in the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message. [0331] 6) The UDM may generate a SUPI based on the SUCI transmitted by the SMF. The UDM may transmit a response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) to the SMF. The response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) may include information about the Remote UE ID (SUPI). [0332] When the SMF transmits an indication (or information) indicating that the UDM is related to the Remote UE, the UDM may include only the SUPI in the response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) without including the AV. Alternatively, when the SMF transmits a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message), regardless of whether the SMF transmitted an indication (or information) indicating it is related to the Remote UE or not, the UDM may not include the AV, but only include the SUPI in the response message (eg Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message). The reason why the UDM does not transmit the AV is that the AV is used when authenticating the terminal during the registration procedure and does not need to be used after step 7), the method comprising:
receiving a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment message for a PDU session for a first UE from the first UE ([0252-0254] While the PDU session establishment procedure is being performed, the Data Network-Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (DN-AAA) server may perform secondary authentication/authentication. Here, the secondary authentication/authorization may mean authentication/authorization through a data network (DN) outside the domain of the mobile operator. A DN-AAA server may belong to 5GC or DN. When the procedure for establishing a PDU session to the Data Network (DN) is performed, the following operations may be performed: The DN-specific identity of the UE can be authenticated/authorized by the DN);
transmitting a PDU session establishment response message corresponding to the PDU session establishment message to the first UE ([0294-0295] FIGS. 10a and 10b show Remote UE, Relay UE, AMF, Remote UE Authentication Server Function (RAUSF), SMF, DN-AAA (DN-AAA Server), and UDM. 1) Relay UE may perform registration procedure and PDU session establishment procedure. For example, for relaying to the Remote UE, the Relay UE may perform a registration procedure and may establish (or generate) a PDU session for relaying data of the Remote UE. (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID); Note that Remote UE is considered as the second user equipment UE. [0299]5) The AMF may transmit an Authentication Request message to the Remote UE Authentication Server Function (RAUSF) to start the authentication procedure for the Remote UE. The authentication request message transmitted by the AMF may include information on the Relay UE ID and information on the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID));
receiving a PDU session modification message including an authentication information request for the second UE from the first UE ([0323] 4) Relay UE includes information on Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI or temporary ID), type information of Remote UE ID, and information on session (eg, ID for distinguishing PC5 sessions, DNN, S-NSSAI, etc.) in the PDU Session Modification Request message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Request message to the SMF. At this time, in order to inform that the Relay UE starts relaying for the Remote UE, the Relay UE may include information on the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) and information on the session (eg, information on the session transmitted by the Remote UE) and PC5 session information (eg, including PC5 link identity) for identifying the session requested by the Remote UE) in the PDU Session Modification Request message. If the Remote UE provides information for secondary authentication in step 3), the Relay UE may also include information for secondary authentication in the PDU Session Modification Request message and may transmit the PDU Session Modification Request message. For reference, the Relay UE may transmit a PDU session modification request message to the SMF through the AMF. [0357] 25) When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server indicating that the secondary authentication has been successfully performed, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE. Here, the PDU session modification command message may include information on the Remote UE ID and information on which whether PC5 session authentication has been successful. When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server notifying that the secondary authentication has failed, the PDU session modification command message may include information about the Remote UE ID and at which stage (eg network authentication or secondary authentication) authentication failed. In addition, the SMF may include the ID (e.g. 5G-GUTI) allocated by the AMF for the Remote UE in the PDU Session Modification Command message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE); and
transmitting a PDU session modification response message including authentication information for the second UE to the first UE ([0300] 6 and 7) RAUSF may obtain AV (Authentication Vector) and SUPI information for remote UE authentication from UDM based on information on Remote UE ID. For example, the RAUSF may transmit a request message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message) including information (eg, SUCI) on the Remote UE ID to the UDM. Then, the UDM may transmit a response message (eg, Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get response message) including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) and AV (Authentication Vector) to RAUSF. The UDM may provide the RAUSF with a SUPI matching the SUCI received from the RAUSF. [0340-0343] AUSF, SMF, AMF, Relay UE and Remote UE may perform the EAP authentication procedure. After the EAP authentication procedure is performed, the AUSF may transmit an authentication response message (eg, Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authentication Response message) including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) to the AMF. The AMF may transmit an authentication response message including information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI) to the SMF….When the Relay UE receives the Authentication Request message for the Remote UE, the Relay UE may transmit parameters related to the EAP message to the Remote UE using PC5 signaling (PC5 signaling may be performed as the same manner of step 10) of FIGS. 10a and 10b). The Remote UE may transmit a response (eg, a response to parameters related to the EAP message) to the Relay UE by including the response it in PC5 signaling (this transmission may be performed in the same manner of step 11 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). The Relay UE may include the Remote UE's response in the Authentication Response message and transmit the Authentication Response message to the AMF (this may be performed as the same way of step 12 of FIGS. 10a and 10b). In this case, the Relay UE may include information about Remote UE ID (e.g. SUCI or temp ID) in the Authentication Response message, in order to inform that the Authentication Response message is related to authentication for the Remote UE. When the authentication for the Remote UE (eg EAP authentication) is successfully completed, if the SMF transmitted an authentication request message including information about the Remote UE ID (SUCI) in Step 7, AUSF may transmit the authentication response message (eg, Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authentication Response message) of step 12) to the AMF by including information (SUPI) about the Remote UE ID in the authentication response message).
YOUN explicitly discloses a protocol data unit (PDU) session, but does not explicitly disclose the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session. KAWASAKI, in analogous art however, discloses the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session ([0105] Although Protocol Data Unit/Packet Data Unit (PDU) session can be defined as a relationship between the DN that provides a PDU connectivity service and the UE, the PDU session may be connectivity established between the UE and an external gateway. In the 5GS, the UE establishes a PDU session via the access network_B and the core network_B, and can thereby perform transmission and/or reception of user data to and/or from the DN by using the PDU session. Here, the external gateway may be a UPF, an SCEF, or the like. The UE can perform transmission and/or reception of user data to and/or from an apparatus deployed in the DN, such as an application server, by using a PDU session. [0108] A Protocol Data Unit/Packet Data Unit (PDU) session type indicates a type of PDU session and includes IPv4, IPv6, Ethernet, and Unstructured. In a case that IPv4 is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of data is performed using IPv4. In a case that IPv6 is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of data is performed using IPv6. In a case that Ethernet is specified, it is indicated that transmission and/or reception of an Ethernet frame is performed. Alternatively, Ethernet may indicate that communication using the IP is not performed. In a case that Unstructured is specified, it is indicated that data is transmitted and/or received to and/or from an application server in the DN or the like by using Point-to-Point (P2P) tunneling technique. For the P2P tunneling technique, for example, UDP/IP encapsulation technique may be used. Note that the PDU session type may include the IP, in addition to the above. The IP can be specified in a case that the UE can use both of IPv4 and IPv6. [0195] Specifically, the UE_A 10 transmits the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF 140 in the core network_B 190 via the NR node_A 122 using the N1 interface (S700)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of supporting authentication of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system disclosed by YOUN to include the protocol data unit (PDU) session is interchangeable with the packet data unit (PDU) session). This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide a terminal apparatus that constitutes a 5GS and an apparatus in a core network perform processing such as moving management and session management for supporting functions related to a non-public network as suggested by KAWASAKI ([0014).
As per claim 7; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the authentication information for the second UE is implemented as any one of an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) authentication message for performing authentication, an EAP authentication request message, an EAP success message, and an EAP failure message (YOUN; [0301] 8) RAUSF may generate an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication to the Remote UE. RAUSF may transmit an Authentication Response message including the EAP-Request message and information about the Remote UE ID (information transmitted by the UE in step 3) (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID) to the AMF. Here, when the Relay UE has a plurality of Remote UEs (when communicating with a plurality of Remote UEs), in order to inform which Remote UE the message is for authentication, RAUSF may transmit information about the Remote UE ID).
As per claim 8; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: transmitting an authentication request message for requesting authentication of the second UE to an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) based on the PDU session modification message (YOUN [0252-0254] While the PDU session establishment procedure is being performed, the Data Network-Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (DN-AAA) server may perform secondary authentication/authentication. Here, the secondary authentication/authorization may mean authentication/authorization through a data network (DN) outside the domain of the mobile operator); and
receiving an authentication response message corresponding to the authentication request message from the AAA (YOUN [0252-0254]: A DN-AAA server may belong to 5GC or DN. When the procedure for establishing a PDU session to the Data Network (DN) is performed, the following operations may be performed: The DN-specific identity of the UE can be authenticated/authorized by the DN)).
As per claim 9; YOUN in view KAWASAKI discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: transmitting a security request message for requesting authentication of the first UE to an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) based on the PDU session establishment message; and receiving a security response message corresponding to the security request message from the AAA (YOUN [0357] 25) When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server indicating that the secondary authentication has been successfully performed, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE. Here, the PDU session modification command message may include information on the Remote UE ID and information on which whether PC5 session authentication has been successful. When the SMF receives a message from the DN-AAA server notifying that the secondary authentication has failed, the PDU session modification command message may include information about the Remote UE ID and at which stage (eg network authentication or secondary authentication) authentication failed. In addition, the SMF may include the ID (e.g. 5G-GUTI) allocated by the AMF for the Remote UE in the PDU Session Modification Command message and transmit the PDU Session Modification Command message to the Relay UE).
As per claims 10-13: Claims 10-13 are directed to a first user equipment (UE) supporting authentication of a second UE in a wireless communication system, the first UE comprising: a transceiver; and a processor controlling to perform features having substantially similar corresponding limitations of claims 1-4 respectively and therefore claims 10-13 are rejected with the same rationale given above to reject corresponding limitations of claims 1-4 respectively.
As per claim 14-15: Claims 14-15 are directed to a session management function (SMF) supporting authentication of a second user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the SMF_comprising: a transceiver; and a processor controlling to features having substantially similar corresponding limitations of claims 6-7 respectively and therefore claims 14-15 are rejected with the same rationale given above to reject corresponding limitations of claims 6-7 respectively.
Concussion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the notice of reference cited in form PTO-892 for additional prior arts.
KIM et al. (US 20250016560 A1) discloses authenticating a UE in which a first UE receives authentication mode information, wherein a second UE relaying the first UE also receives the authentication mode information, and the first UE, on the basis of the authentication mode information, requests information necessary for direct search between UEs; a step in which the first UE receives the information necessary for direct searches between UEs; and a step for connecting to a network and performing authentication via the second UE on the basis of the received information necessary for direct searches between the UEs.
LIAO et al. (US 20210360742 A1) discuses relay service enabled between a residential gateway and a remote user. A 5G residential gateway (5G-RG) includes a relay user equipment (UE) to enable relay service for a 5G core (5GC)-capable UE behind the 5G-RG to connect to the 5GC. The relay UE of the 5G-RG may provide a trusted/untrusted non-3GPP access network for L2 or L3 transport connection to the 5GC-capable UE.
Baskaran et al (US 20230284030) describes UAS authentication and security establishment that includes a transceiver that sends, from a first network function of a mobile wireless communication network, an authentication request message from a user equipment (“UE”) to a UAS Service Supplier (“USS”)/UAS Traffic Management (“UTM”). The UE includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”) and a UAV controller (“UAV-C”). The transceiver receives, at the first network function from the USS/UTM, an authentication response message comprising a UAS identifier and a UAS security context.
Contact Information
/TECHANE GERGISO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408