DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an amendment filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 29-
48 are pending. Claims 29-48 represent APPARATUS, DEVICE AND STORAGE MEDIUM FOR PRESENTING A CHAT MESSAGE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-32, 36 and 40-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk U.S. 20220400093 in view of Clift et al. 20110059774.
Kruk teaches the invention substantially including System and Method for Asynchronous Messaging Combine with a Real-Time Communication (see abstract).
As to claim 29, Kruk teaches a method for presenting a chat message, comprising:
providing a widget associated with a target chat (paragraph 38, Kruk discloses sending the message via chat widget (i.e. “a widget associated with a target”), the widget presenting at least description information about the target chat (paragraph 61, Kruk discloses the user engaged in the communication over a chat widget, and then move the communication from one channel to another (i.e. “description information about the target chat”)); and
in response to receiving at least one message in the target chat, presenting a visual representation of the at least one message by the widget, a representation type (“Waiting for reply”) of the visual representation being determined based on a message type (“red text”) of the at least one message (paragraph 39).
Kruk teaches substantial features of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach wherein in accordance with the at least one message being a visual content message, at least a part of a background of the widget is filled with a picture in the visual content message as the visual representation of the visual content message, wherein the visual content message comprises a picture message or video message.
However, Clift teaches wireless communication device for providing a visual representation of a widget. Clift teaches wherein in accordance with the at least one message being a visual content message, at least a part of a background of the widget is filled with a picture in the visual content message as the visual representation of the visual content message, wherein the visual content message comprises a picture message or video message (paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Kruk to include the teaching of “at least a part of a background of the widget is filled with a picture in the visual content message as the visual representation of the visual content message, wherein the visual content message comprises a picture message or video message” of Clift with the motivation being to allow a wireless communication device comprising a display providing a visual representation of a widget (abstract).
As to claim 30, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, further comprising: in response to receiving a first predetermined operation for the widget, presenting a chat interface of the target chat, the chat interface being configured to present the received at least one message, wherein the first predetermined operation comprises a selection of the visual representation (paragraphs 27-30).
As to claim 31, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 30, further comprising: in response to the chat interface of the target chat being presented, stopping presenting the visual representation of the at least one message in the widget (paragraph 40).
As to claim 32, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein the description information of the target chat comprises at least one of the following: a chat identifier of the target chat; a participant identifier of at least one participant of the target chat (paragraph 24); and a state identifier of at least one participant of the target chat indicative of whether the at least one participant is in an online state (paragraph 38); wherein the chat representation, the participant identifier, or the state identifier comprises a text identifier and/or a graphic identifier (paragraph 39).
As to claim 36, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein the at least one message comprises a specific type of message, and the specific type of message (paragraph 41) comprises at least one of: a voice message, a red packet message, a location message, a conference message, a file message, an invitation message, a call request message, and a hyperlink message, wherein the visual representation supports an associated interaction operation corresponding to a type of the specific type of message, wherein the presenting the visual representation of the at least one message by the widget comprises: presenting, by the widget, a graphical representation corresponding to the specific type of message as a visual representation of the specific type of message (paragraph 39).
As to claim 40, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, further comprising: in response to a second predetermined operation for the widget, switching the widget to present description information of a further chat different from the target chat, wherein the second predetermined operation comprises a first swiping operation or a triggering operation for a first predetermined switching control associated with the widget (paragraph 5).
As to claim 41, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein the at least one message comprises a plurality of messages, and wherein presenting the visual representation of the at least one message by the widget comprises: presenting, by the widget, a first visual representation of a first message of the plurality of messages; and in response to a third predetermined operation for the widget, switching the widget to present a second visual representation of a second message of the plurality of messages, wherein the third predetermined operation comprises a second swiping operation or a triggering operation for a second predetermined switching control associated with the widget (paragraph 33).
As to claim 42, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein the representation type of the visual representation comprises at least one of: a text representation, a graphical representation, and a video representation (paragraph 27).
As to claim 43, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein the widget is built in response to a widget creation request received in a chat interface of the target chat or in a system desktop of an operating system (paragraph 24).
As to claim 44, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, further comprising: presenting, in a chat aggregation interface, a card type component corresponding to the target chat, wherein the card type component presents a content corresponding to the widget (paragraph 26).
As to claim 45, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein a presentation location and/or presentation style of the description information is determined based on the representation type of the visual representation (paragraph 36).
As to claim 46, Kruk and Clift teach the method of claim 29, wherein a background fill style of the widget is determined based on a first attribute associated with the target chat and/or a second attribute associated with the visual representation (paragraph 40).
3. Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk U.S. 20220400093 in view of Clift et al. 20110059774, further in view of Thayne et al. U.S. 20100037168.
Kruk teaches the invention substantially including System and Method for Asynchronous Messaging Combine with a Real-Time Communication (see abstract).
As to claim 33, Kruk and Clift teach substantial feature for the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach filling at least a part of a background of the widget with a picture associated with the image content message as the visual representation of the image content message.
However, Thayne teaches systems and methods for webpage design. Thayne teaches filling at least a part of a background of the widget with a picture associated with the image content message as the visual representation of the image content message (paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Kruk and Clift to include the teaching of “a widget containing a picture within the webpage” of Thayne with the motivation being to allow a design interface that allows a user to design a webpage through a drag-and-drop (abstract).
As to claim 34, Kruk, Clift and Thayne teach the method of claim 33, wherein the image content message comprises a picture message, and presenting the visual representation of the at least one message by the widget comprises: filling at least a part of the background of the widget with a picture in the picture message as the visual representation of the picture message, or wherein the image content message comprises a video message, and presenting the visual representation of the at least one message by the widget comprises: filling at least a part of the background of the widget with a target frame of a video in the video message as the visual representation of the video message (paragraph 12 of Thayne).
As to claim 35, Kruk, Clift and Thayne teach the method of claim 34, further comprising: in response to a selection of the visual representation, causing the video in the video message to be played in a chat interface of the target chat (paragraph 49 of Thayne).
4. Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk U.S. 20220400093 in view of Clift et al. 20110059774, further in view of Gal et al. U.S. 20230082021.
Kruk teaches the invention substantially including System and Method for Asynchronous Messaging Combine with a Real-Time Communication (see abstract).
As to claim 37, Kruk and Clift teach the claim invention substantially but fail to explicitly teach a voice reply and reply audio by an audio acquisition device.
However, Gal teaches spatialized display of chat messages. Gal teaches a voice reply, reply audio by an acquisition device and reply message to be sent (paragraphs 59-60; figure 3H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Kruk and Clift to include the teaching of “reply message and in figure 3H” of Gal with the motivation being to allow providing for a spatialized display of chat messages within a messaging platform (abstract).
As to claim 38, Kruk, Clift and Gal teach the method of claim 37, wherein the quick reply entry comprises an emoji reply entry, the emoji reply entry comprises a set of candidate emojis, and the method further comprises: in response to a selection of a target emoji in the set of candidate emojis, sending the target emoji as the reply message to the target chat (paragraph 60).
Claims 47 and 48 did not teach anything different from the rejected above claims, therefore are rejected similarly.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 39 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,claim but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EL HADJI M SALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457