DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received on July 15th, 2025. Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17-20, 22-24 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/862,470 is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/112265 08/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 9th, 2025 and November 1st, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 13-14, 17, 19-20, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2024/0056859).
Regarding claims 1, 19, 23, Sun et al. discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0022 [The network node 104 may encode and send the UE 102 a CSI report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig 106).; the CSI-ReportConfig 106 may include a configuration for the UE 102 to measure and report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS]), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring a reporting quantity set to time domain channel property (TDCP) for a TDCP report (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0024-0027 [when UE 102 is configured to report time domain channel properties (TDCP) based on CSI-RS for tracking (TRS), in the same CSI-ReportConfig the UE 102 is not expected to be configured to report other report quantity (reportQuantity); the network node 104 may configure the reporting of other report quantities when the UE 102 is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS]), the CSI report configuration indicating a tracking reference signal (TRS) as a channel measurement resource (CMR) and omitting an interference measurement resource (IMR) (paragraphs 0025, 0027, 0030, 0037, 0039-0040, [the network node 104 may configure the reporting of other report quantities when the UE 102 is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS; If the CSI report will exceed a payload size the UE may omit the TDCP and/or other report quantity according to a defined priority.; IMR measurements may include L1-SINR and CQI; reportQuantity may be limited to one or multiple of the following choices: layer 1 or physical layer (L1)-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP); CapabilityIndex; L1-Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR); and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI). Also, when UE is configured to report time domain channel properties (TDCP) based on CSI-RS for tracking (TRS), the following are the options regarding IMR configuration; in other words, the network node 104 may not be able to configure the UE 102 to measure and report IMR]); receiving, from the network entity, the TRS based on the CSI report configuration (paragraph 0034 [102 is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for tracking (TRS)]); measuring, based on the received TRS, the TDCP of a channel between the network entity and the UE (see Abstract and paragraph 0023 [the UE 102 may perform measurements on the CSI related reference signal 110. The UE 102 may report the measurements in the CSI report 112. In some embodiments, the UE 102 may use UCI multiplexing for the CSI report 112]); and transmitting, to the network entity, the TDCP report based on the measuring of the TDCP of the channel (see Abstract and paragraph 0023 [A channel state information report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) may comprise details regarding measurement and reporting of time domain channel properties (TDCP) based on channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for tracking reference signal (TRS)]).
Regarding claims 2, 20, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 19, and further discloses transmitting, to the network entity, UE capability information indicative of at least one of: a first UE capability for the measuring the TDCP of the channel or a second UE capability for the transmitting the TDCP report to the network entity (paragraph 0036 [the UE 102 may report, to the network node 104, the UE 102 capability of to support reporting TDCP CSI measured]).
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 2, and further discloses wherein the CSI report configuration is based on the UE capability information (paragraph 0036 [the UE 102 may report, to the network node 104, the UE 102 capability of to support reporting TDCP CSI measured]), the CSI report configuration indicating a TDCP report structure for at least one of the configured reporting quantity for the TDCP report (paragraphs 0028-0030 [priority]) or a CSI processing unit duration for the TDCP report, wherein the measuring of the TDCP of the channel is associated with the CSI processing unit duration for the TDCP report (paragraphs 0030, 0055 [When UE is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for tracking (TRS), UCI omission and CSI processing unit (CPU) handling; TDCP measurement may still occupy the CPU]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses transmitting, to the network entity, at least one of a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP), report or an L1 signal-to- interference-plus-noise ratio (L1-SINR) report for the TRS used to measure the TDCP of the channel (paragraphs 0025, 0027, 0030, 0037, 0039-0040, [the network node 104 may configure the reporting of other report quantities when the UE 102 is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS; If the CSI report will exceed a payload size the UE may omit the TDCP and/or other report quantity according to a defined priority.; IMR measurements may include L1-SINR and CQI; reportQuantity may be limited to one or multiple of the following choices: layer 1 or physical layer (L1)-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP); CapabilityIndex; L1-Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR)).
Regarding claim 13, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the transmitting the TDCP report to the network entity further comprises: receiving, from the network entity, a triggering indication for the TDCP report (see Figure 1 [CSI Report Trigger]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the TDCP report is prioritized relative to at least one of: the L1-RSRP report, the L1-SINR report, or a CSI report that excludes the L1-RSRP report, the L1-SINR report, and the TDCP report (paragraphs 0025, 0027, 0030, 0037, 0039-0040, [the network node 104 may configure the reporting of other report quantities when the UE 102 is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS; If the CSI report will exceed a payload size the UE may omit the TDCP and/or other report quantity according to a defined priority.; IMR measurements may include L1-SINR and CQI; reportQuantity may be limited to one or multiple of the following choices: layer 1 or physical layer (L1)-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP); CapabilityIndex; L1-Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR)).
Regarding claim 17, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the TDCP report is associated with at least one of a phase shift over a time duration (paragraph 0049 [The UE may determine 506 invalid CSI-RS resources and valid CSI-RS resources based on a timing of the duplex direction change. In some embodiments, when the UE is configured to report TDCP based on CSI-RS for TRS, UE may measure TRS only when UE can ensure the phase continuity during the TRS measurement. The phase continuity is disrupted when the UE performs duplex direction change between CSI-RS resource in the same TRS set. In some embodiments, when the phase continuity is disrupted, the UE is not required to measure the TRS transmission in which the phase continuity is disrupted. The UE may measure 508 the TDCP based on the valid CSI-RS resources, and report, to the network node, the TDCP based on the valid CSI-RS resources via a CSI report.]), a first absolute value of the Doppler shift, a second absolute value of the Doppler spread, or a coefficient for calculation of the phase shift over the time duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2024/0056859) in view of Rahman et al. (US 2023/0318793).
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report configuration is received as part of a radio resource control (RRC) message and corresponds to a set of available TRSs for the measuring the TDCP of the channel, and wherein at least a subset of TRSs of the set of available TRSs is selected for the measuring the TDCP of the channel based on at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI).
However, Rahman et al. discloses wherein the CSI report configuration is received as part of a radio resource control (RRC) message and corresponds to a set of available TRSs for the measuring the TDCP of the channel (paragraph 0205, 0210-0212 [The UE receives the CSI-RS burst, estimates the B instances of the DL channel measurements, and uses the channel estimates to obtain the Doppler component(s) of the DL channel. The CSI-RS burst can be linked to (or associated with) a single CSI reporting setting (e.g., via higher layer parameter CSI-ReportConfig), wherein the corresponding CSI report includes an information about the Doppler component(s) of the DL channel.; each CSI-RS burst corresponds to a group of B≥1 aperiodic (Ap) CSI-RS resources. The Ap-CSI-RS resources can be triggered via a DCI with slot offsets such that they can be measured in B different time slots. [0211] In one example, each CSI-RS burst corresponds to a periodic (P) CSI-RS resource. The P-CSI-RS resource can be configured via higher layer. The first measurement instance (time slot) and the measurement window of the CSI-RS burst (from the P-CSI-RS resource) can be fixed, or configured. [0212] In one example, a CSI-RS burst can either be a P-CSI-RS, or SP-CSI-RS or Ap-CSI-RS resource. ]), and wherein at least a subset of TRSs of the set of available TRSs is selected for the measuring the TDCP of the channel based on at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph 0209 [The SP CSI-RS resource can be activated and/or deactivated based on a MAC CE and/or DCI based signaling]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize measuring the CSI-RS burst could be activated by DCI or MAC-CE. The motivation for this is to send the TDCP report.
Regarding claim 15, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 4.
However, Sun et al. further suggests wherein the TDCP report indicates a first total number of TDCPs of the channel that is less than or equal to a second total number of the TRSs selected for the measuring the TDCP of the channel (paragraphs 0049, 0023, 0025, 0052-0053 [The UE may determine 506 invalid CSI-RS resources and valid CSI-RS resources, The UE may measure 508 the TDCP based on the valid CSI-RS resources, and report, to the network node, the TDCP based on the valid CSI-RS resources via a CSI report]) and wherein the TDCP report further indicates at least one of: a corresponding first total number of CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set indexes, a beam report, or the CSI report (paragraphs 0049, 0023, 0025, 0052-0053 [CSI Report]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2024/0056859) in view of Vaze et al. US 2023/0413125.
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the TRS is configured in a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state for at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the TRS.
However, Vaze et al. discloses wherein the TRS is configured in a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state for at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the TRS (paragraph 0025 [ As such, the UE may receive the first TRS, process the first TRS, and receive one or more of PDCCH, PDSCH, DMRS corresponding to the first TRS by identifying the correct TCI state for receiving the first TRS.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize receiving one or more of PDCCH, PDSCH, DMRS corresponding to the first TRS by identifying the correct TCI state for receiving the first TRS.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2024/0056859) in view of R1-2203443.
Regarding claim 8, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the TDCP report is indicative of at least one of: a Doppler shift for one or more strongest paths, a maximum Doppler shift for a strongest path of the one or more strongest paths, a relative Doppler shift for the one or more strongest paths, a maximum relative Doppler shift for the strongest path of the one or more strongest paths, or a Doppler spread for the one or more strongest paths.
However, R1-2203443 suggests wherein the TDCP report is indicative of at least one of: a Doppler shift for one or more strongest paths, a maximum Doppler shift for a strongest path of the one or more strongest paths, a relative Doppler shift for the one or more strongest paths, a maximum relative Doppler shift for the strongest path of the one or more strongest paths, or a Doppler spread for the one or more strongest paths (Sections 2.4 and 2.2 [reporting; if we can assume that the Doppler shift and delay of each path are constant in a time interval, the only changes at different time instants are the phase shifts of each path caused by Doppler shift. Therefore, if gNB/UE can obtain Doppler shift of each path, in theory, DL CSI at any time can be predicted.; that a single or a few Doppler shifts reporting could provide satisfactory prediction performance]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize reporting Doppler information for a few paths/subpaths would reduce overhead and using the best paths would give a satisfactory prediction of the performance.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2024/0056859) in view of Lee et al. (US 2012/0250549).
Regarding claim 18, Sun et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the measuring comprises measuring the TDCP based on a wideband operation.
However, Lee et al. suggests wherein the measuring comprises measuring the TDCP based on a wideband operation (paragraph 0013 [CSI Report comprises a Wideband CQI]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a CSI Report could include a wideband CQI based on whether the WD is required to measure a wideband.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12, 22, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not explicitly disclose or make obvious:
transmitting, to the network entity, UE capability information indicating a first maximum number of CSI-RS resources per CSI report configuration for the TDCP report and a second maximum number of CSI-RS resources across a plurality of CSI report configurations for the TDCP report (Claim 5, Claim 6 depends on Claim 5).
wherein a first number of CSI processing units occupied by the UE during the CSI processing unit duration is based on a second number of TDCPs of the channel measured by the UE for a corresponding number of TRSs and a UE capability (Claim 12).
wherein the TRS corresponds to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set, the method further comprising: receiving, from the UE, UE capability information indicating a first maximum number of CSI-RS resources per CSI report configuration for the TDCP report and a second maximum number of CSI-RS resources across a plurality of CSI report configurations for the TDCP report, wherein the first maximum number of the CSI-RS resources and the second maximum number of the CSI-RS resources are configured per component carrier (CC) or per frequency band (Claims 22, 24).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465