DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a controller… configured to” in claims 8 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 11, and 15 recite the limitation "the initial registration associated with a response". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1, 8, and 12 define a point in time “after successful initial registration” but they do not define any specific “initial registration” or any “initial registration” that is “associated with a response”. The applicant needs to amendment the independent claims to explicitly claim a step of initial registration, if they want to further limit a response that is part of such a registration.
Claim limitation “a controller… configured to” in claims 8 and 12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Figures 3 and 4 depict the controller as a separate entity from the processor and communication hardware. Paragraphs 93-95 and 98-100 reference generic techniques that could be used to implement hardware for a “controller” but they do not provide any clear description of the structure that the controllers comprise or how they are “configured” to perform the limitations of the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TR 23.700-87 v0.2.0 published April 2022 (Part of IDS filed on 11/1/2024).
As to claim 1, 3GPP TR 23.700-87 teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Section 6.4.1 on page 26, the UE discovers the data channel capability of the remote network) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
after successful initial registration (Section 6.4.1.3, the second bullet point reads on the initial registration described on page 11 of the applicant’s disclosure and performs a retry in the same manner as disclosed by the applicant) with a network function (Section 6.4.1, the network reads on the claimed network function), transmitting, to the network function, a first request (Section 6.4.2.1, the UE discovery procedure is a “first request”) with a subsequent registration (the UE discovery procedure referenced in section 6.4.2.1 can be performed after the retry referenced in 6.4.1.3); and in case that an internet protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS) network supports an IMS data channel, receiving, from the network function, a 200 OK response as a response to the first request, the 200 OK response including a Feature-Caps header field indicating the IMS data channel capability (Section 6.4.1.2.1).
As to claim 2, 3GPP TR 23.700-87 teaches wherein the network function includes a serving - call session control function (S-CSCF) (See section 6.4.3, the S-CSCF returns the response referenced in section 6.4.1.2.1).
As to claim 3, 3GPP TR 23.700-87 teaches transmitting, to the network function, a second request including an IMS data channel media description in a second description protocol (SDP) offer as a response to the 200 OK response (See section 6.3.2.4.1, first step).
As to claims 5-7, the mapping of the rejection of claims 1-3 shows the that the network function performs the claimed limitations in response to the UE mapped in the rejection of claims 1-3.
As to claims 8-10 and 12-14, they cover devices which implement the claimed methods of 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected according to the mapping provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-87 v0.2.0 published April 2022 (Part of IDS filed on 11/1/2024).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP TR 23.700-87 teaches as situation where a response to an initial registration does not indicate IMS data channel capability (Section 6.4.1.3); however, it does not explicitly state that the Feature-Cap header is returned when IMS data channel is not supported.
In 3GPP TR 23.700-87, the base station is clearly capable of returning a Feature-Caps header in a response (Section 6.4.1.2.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of 3GPP regarding responding to a registration when an IMS channel is not supported with the teachings of 3GPP regarding including a Feature-Gap header with a response because 3GPP section 6.4.1.3 does not detail the format of the response when IMS channel is not supported the technique described in 6.4.1.2.1 could be used without any alteration of the 3GPP document. If 3GPP TR 23.700-87 can return a Feature-Cap header in one situation then of course it is capable of doing it in any situation, even if the document does not explicitly describe this.
As to claims 11 and 15 they are rejected for the same reasoning as claim 4.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454