DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wingender et al. (US 2018/0257619).
Regarding claim 1, Wingender discloses an electronic brake apparatus (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising: an input unit (30) configured to move in a first direction according to a movement of a brake pedal (see ¶ 0048); an output unit (60) configured to be pressed according to a movement of the input unit and press a piston of a master cylinder connected to the output unit in the first direction (see FIG. 1; ¶ 0051); an electric booster (10) including a motor (12), a rack (60) configured to press the output unit (see ¶ 0051, FIG. 8), and a motion conversion unit (16, 70) configured to convert a rotational motion of the motor into a linear motion of the rack and move the rack forward or backward in the first direction (see ¶ 0052); and an electronic control unit (14) configured to control an operation of the motor according to a movement of the input unit (see ¶ 0024), wherein the electronic control unit (14) is positioned to one side in second direction of the electric booster (see FIG. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wingender et al. (US 2018/0257619), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Leiber et al. (US 2018/0065609).
Regarding claim 2, Wingender discloses that a sensor arrangement is integrated into the electronic control unit but does not provide details of the sensor arrangement.
Leiber teaches an electromechanical brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-7) comprising an electronic control unit (ECU) (see ¶ 0020) comprising: a motor position sensor (24) configured to detect a rotation of the motor (see ¶ 0085); a pedal travel sensor (24A) configured to detect a movement of the input unit (see ¶ 0088); and a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) configuring an electronic circuit for controlling the motor (see e.g. ¶ 0094).
It would have been obvious to configure the brake apparatus of Wingender to have the pedal travel sensor and the motor rotation sensor located on a printed circuit board of the control unit to provide a compact brake actuation system, which, in particular, also offers a great deal of latitude in constructive design with regard to the sensor devices and can thus also be used flexibly in different vehicles or installation situations (see e.g. Leiber, ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 3, Leiber discloses that a rotation shaft of the motor is aligned in a second direction (see e.g. FIG. 2; ¶ 0089), the PCB is positioned to one side in second direction of the motor (see FIG. 2), and the motor position sensor is positioned to one side in second direction of the motor on the PCB and configured to detect a rotation of the motor (see FIG. 2, ¶ 0085).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wingender et al. (US 2018/0257619) and Leiber et al. (US 2018/0065609), as applied to claim 3, above, and further in view of Jurgens (US 2016/0016567).
Regarding claim 4, neither Wingender or Leiber do not disclose a sensor rod connected to the input unit, extending in the second direction, and moving together with the input unit; and a PTS magnet provided at one end of the sensor rod,wherein the pedal travel sensor is provided to one side in second direction of the PTS magnet on the PCB and configured to detect a movement of the PTS magnet. Jurgens teaches an electromechanical brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-4) comprising an input unit (12) and sensor rod (see FIG. 1, rod on which magnet (17) is mounted; see also ¶ 0036) connected to the input unit (see FIG. 1, ¶ 0036), extending in the second direction, and moving together with the input unit (see FIG. 1, ¶ 0036); and a PTS magnet (17) provided at one end of the sensor rod (see FIG. 1), wherein a pedal travel sensor (8) is provided to one side in second direction of the PTS magnet on the PCB and configured to detect a movement of the PTS magnet (see ¶ 0036). It would have been obvious to combine the sensor rod and magnet of Jurgens with the Wingender/Leiber device, to utilize a simpler construction (e.g. Jurgens utilizes a simple rod connection whereas Leiber utilizes a rack, gear and rotating rod) for placing the magnet in proximity to the sensor located on the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, Leiber teaches that the motor position sensor is positioned on a first PCB (see FIG. 2). Jurgen teaches that the PCB includes a first PCB (5) and a second PCB (6), the pedal travel sensor is positioned on the second PCB (see FIG. 1), and the first PCB is electrically connected to the second PCB (see ¶ 0038; FIG. 4). It would have been obvious to combine the second PCB of Jurgen with the Wingender/Leiber device to position the pedal travel sensor closer to the magnet connected to the input element.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wingender et al. (US 2018/0257619), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2002/0158510).
Regarding claim 7, Wingender does not disclose that the output unit includes: an output rod configured to press the piston of the master cylinder; a reaction disk configured to be pressed by the input unit and press the output rod; and a boost body configured to be pressed by the rack or the input unit and press the reaction disk.
Kobayashi teaches an electronic brake apparatus (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising an output unit (7, 25), wherein the output unit includes: an output rod (7) configured to press the piston of the master cylinder (see FIG. 1); a reaction disk (25) configured to be pressed by the input unit and press the output rod (see ¶ 0026); and a boost body (26) configured to be pressed by the rack or the input unit and press the reaction disk (see ¶ 0026).
It would have been obvious to combine the reaction disk of Kobayashi with the device of Wingender to provide an improved feedback feel on the pedal operated by a user.
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi teaches that when the rack moves forward in the first direction to press the boost body, the rack comes into contact with the input unit and moves the input unit forward in the first direction (see ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses that the brake pedal is pressed to move in the first direction, the input unit moves independently from the rack (see ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses that the brake pedal is not pressed, the input unit is spaced a preset gap from the reaction disk (see FIG. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
August 21, 2026