DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/03/2024 and 05/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0269828), Shrivastava hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Shrivastava teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a network using signaling specific to the wireless communication device, indication information indicating that Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) configuration for each of a plurality of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBSs) is obtained from broadcast signaling when the wireless communication device is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC)-connected state; and (paragraph 0289 - In an embodiment, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to receive at least one MBS broadcast service, when the UE (100) is in one of a RRC connected state, a RRC idle state and a RRC inactive state. Further, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to continue to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB when the UE (100) receives one of a RRC release and a RRC release with suspend configuration from the network entity (200) or a dataInactivityTimer timer is expired. Further, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to continue to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB when the UE (100) receives one of a RRC setup and a RRC resume from a network entity (200). The broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to perform at least one action based on the continuing to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB. The at least one action comprises retain a PTM configuration received from a MCCH, retain a PTM RLC entity for broadcast MRB, release all other RLC entities, retain MAC entity and MAC configuration for broadcast MRB, release all other MAC configurations, retain at least one of an initial BWP, a configured MBS BWP and a configured MBS CFR, release other BWP, retain DRX configuration and timers for PTM for MBS broadcast and retain HARQ buffer and configuration for PTM for MBS broadcast.)
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, the PTM configuration from the broadcast signaling used for receiving the plurality of MBSs when the wireless communication device is in the RRC-connected state. ([0289] In an embodiment, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to receive at least one MBS broadcast service, when the UE (100) is in one of a RRC connected state, a RRC idle state and a RRC inactive state. … The at least one action comprises retain a PTM configuration received from a MCCH, ... )
Regarding Claim 2, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising: transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the RRC-connected state to an RRC-inactive state; ([0290] In an embodiment, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to continue reception of at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state when the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the RRC connected state and perform the action based on continuing reception of the at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state. The at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, updated PTM configuration using the broadcast signaling, wherein the updated PTM configuration is used for receiving at least one MBS when the wireless communication device is in the RRC-inactive state; and ([0290] In an embodiment, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to continue reception of at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state when the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the RRC connected state and perform the action based on continuing reception of the at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state. The at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, the at least one MBS based on the updated PTM configuration. ([0291] … Further, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to continue receive the at least one MBS multicast service in the RRC inactive state through one of a first delivery mode and a second delivery mode. Further, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to receive a dedicated signalling in the RRC connected mode for receiving the configuration of at least one MBS multicast service upon determining at least one associated configuration change in the RRC inactive state through at least one of a SIB, a MCCH, and a paging message. ... )
Regarding Claim 3, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises an indication indicating that at least one of the PTM configuration or updates to the PTM configuration is received via the broadcast signaling. ([0388] In an embodiment, the at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
Regarding Claim 5, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises System Information Block (SIB) message, wherein the SIB message contains configuration for receiving the broadcast signaling. ([0286] The MBS service controller (140) is configured to receive a broadcast signalling message and determine that a configured MBS BWP or a CFR is one of same as CORESET index 0, same as the initial BWP or larger than an initial BWP. Based on the determination, the MBS service controller (140) is configured to configure a start and length of PRBs for one of the MBS BWP or the CFR, when the MBS BWP or the CFR for a broadcast service reception is larger than the initial BWP. The broadcast signalling message may be the MBS SIB (e.g. SIBx). Further, the MBS service controller (140) is configured to receive the MBS service from the configured MBS BWP or CFR.)
Regarding Claim 6, Shrivastava teaches claim 5.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein
the SIB message is used to obtain the configuration for receiving the broadcast signaling; and
([0395] In an embodiment, the at least one action comprises release a PTM configuration for the multicast service used in the RRC inactive state, release a PTM related RLC entity, release a MAC configuration, reset a MAC entity, release at least one of BWP, search space, HARQ, DRX configuration obtained from SIB or MCCH for the multicast service, receive a configuration for multicast service through a dedicated signaling, change BWP configuration for MBS from an initial BWP or configured MBS BWP, or CFR to dedicated BWP, if the BWP configuration being used in the inactive mode, and the continues with same dedicated BWP, while transiting to the RRC connected state.)
the method further comprises receiving data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the PTM configuration. ([0395] In an embodiment, the at least one action comprises release a PTM configuration for the multicast service used in the RRC inactive state, release a PTM related RLC entity, release a MAC configuration, reset a MAC entity, release at least one of BWP, search space, HARQ, DRX configuration obtained from SIB or MCCH for the multicast service, receive a configuration for multicast service through a dedicated signaling, change BWP configuration for MBS from an initial BWP or configured MBS BWP, or CFR to dedicated BWP, if the BWP configuration being used in the inactive mode, and the continues with same dedicated BWP, while transiting to the RRC connected state.)
Regarding Claim 7, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises:
broadcast signaling information which contains the PTM configuration for the at least one MBS. ([0290] In an embodiment, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to continue reception of at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state when the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the RRC connected state and perform the action based on continuing reception of the at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state. The at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
Regarding Claim 9, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a Short Message indicating updates to the PTM configuration; and ([0205] In an embodiment, an example signaling message structure is provided for the MCCH contents (i.e., DRX and PTM service configuration mapping) in the MCCH message as follows … [0383] ... The method includes sending, by a network entity, a MCCH signalling message to a UE. The MCCH signalling message includes at least one of a list of DRX scheduling configurations and a list of MBS service configurations. Further, the method includes mapping, by the network entity, the DRX scheduling configuration with a point-to-multipoint (PTM) service configuration based on an index of the DRX scheduling configuration provided in the PTM service configuration in the MCCH signalling message. ... [0275] The MCCH configuration and the at least one parameter associated with the MCCH configuration in the SIB is received by applying the MBS SIB acquisition procedure. ... )
in response to receiving the Short Message, performing, by the wireless communication device, an acquisition procedure to acquire the broadcast signaling for receiving the updates to the PTM configuration. ([0308] … The MCCH signalling message comprises the list of DRX scheduling configurations and the list of MBS service configurations. Further, the MBS service controller is configured to map the DRX scheduling configuration with the PTM service configuration based on the index of the DRX scheduling configuration provided in the PTM service configuration in the MCCH signalling message. )
Regarding Claim 10, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) via Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH); and ([0110] When there is change of MCCH contents, the UE (100) is informed by the change notification (PDCCH or DCI) in the first sub-frame and/or first slot in every repetition period for a pertinent MCCH. The UE (100) can then acquire the updated pertinent MCCH in the same first sub-frame and/or first slot and/or specified sub-frame and/or slot, where the pertinent MCCH is scheduled as per configuration by the SIB or MBS SIB. ... [0013 ... Also, such configuration involves SIB acquisition and processing delay, which can lead to possible loss of MCCH and thereby loss of MBS data. This is especially true for low latency and critical services ... )
in response to receiving the DCI, performing, by the wireless communication device, an acquisition procedure to acquire the broadcast signaling for receiving updates to the PTM configuration. ([0110] When there is change of MCCH contents, the UE (100) is informed by the change notification (PDCCH or DCI) in the first sub-frame and/or first slot in every repetition period for a pertinent MCCH. The UE (100) can then acquire the updated pertinent MCCH in the same first sub-frame and/or first slot and/or specified sub-frame and/or slot, where the pertinent MCCH is scheduled as per configuration by the SIB or MBS SIB.)
Regarding Claim 11, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating updates to the PTM configuration; and ([0208] In an embodiment, power saving aspect is targeted due to frequently monitoring of MCCH change notification. Change in MCCH can be indicated through MAC-CE on the first sub-frame of the on-duration time for the active service. This way a UE (100) does not need to monitor the specific sub-frame for MCCH change notification and disrupt its power saving cycle. ... [0238] 1. When the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the connected mode (e.g., due to congestion) with an indication of continuation of MBS multicast service in Idle or Inactive mode. Indication can be provided to the UE (100) through RRC signalling like RRC Reconfiguration message and/or MAC signalling e.g., MAC CE and/or RRC Release and/or RRC Release with suspend configuration or NAS signalling. ... [0241] 1. PTM configuration, received in Idle/Inactive, is released for multicast service. PTM related RLC entity is released and MAC configuration is released. MAC entity may also be reset. Alternatively, same configuration is continued in connected mode (i.e., PTM configuration, used in Idle/Inactive, is continued for multicast service. PTM related RLC entity is continued and MAC configuration is continued. MAC entity is not reset)
in response to receiving the MAC CE, performing, by the wireless communication device, acquisition procedure to acquire the broadcast signaling for receiving the updates to the PTM configuration. ([0238] 1. When the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the connected mode (e.g., due to congestion) with an indication of continuation of MBS multicast service in Idle or Inactive mode. Indication can be provided to the UE (100) through RRC signalling like RRC Reconfiguration message and/or MAC signalling e.g., MAC CE and/or RRC Release and/or RRC Release with suspend configuration or NAS signalling. ... )
Regarding Claim 12, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, update signaling specific to the wireless communication device when the wireless communication device is in the RRC-connected state indicating updates to the PTM configuration, wherein the broadcasting signaling is monitored in a current or next modification period for the updates to the first PTM configuration in response to receiving the update signaling. ([0341] ... At 1710, the method includes receiving a dedicated signalling in the RRC connected mode for receiving configuration of the at least one MBS multicast service upon determining at least one associated configuration change in the RRC inactive state through at least one of the SIB, the MCCH, and the paging message. At 1712, the method includes receive a notification signalling and a configuration signalling in the RRC inactive state through at least one of the SIB, the MCCH, and the paging message. ... [0354] Accordingly, the embodiments herein provide methods for handling a MBS service in a wireless network. The method includes receiving, by a UE, a MBS Control Channel (MCCH) configuration and at least one parameter associated with the MCCH configuration in a System Information block (SIB). ... [0356] In an embodiment, the MCCH includes at least one of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a MCCH-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) providing at least one of a time domain allocation and a frequency domain allocation for receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) channel carrying a MCCH information message.)
Regarding Claim 13, Shrivastava teaches claim 1.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, indication information indicating that the PTM configuration and updates to the PTM configuration are received via the broadcast signaling both in the RRC-connected state and in the RRC-inactive state. ([0230] 2. PTM configuration (or a subset of this which is relevant for Idle/Inactive) may be retained and continued in Idle or Inactive mode. E.g., HARQ feedback configuration may not be retained for Idle/Inactive mode, however, the UE (100) can avail HARQ retransmissions. ... [0232] 4. New configuration for Idle and/or Inactive mode for MBS service is received by the UE (100) through broadcast signaling e.g., SIB, MCCH.)
Regarding Claim 16, Shrivastava teaches
16. A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network to a wireless communication device using signaling specific to the wireless communication device, indication information indicating that Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) configuration for each of a plurality of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBSs) is obtained from broadcast signaling used for sending the plurality of MBSs; and (paragraph 0289 - In an embodiment, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to receive at least one MBS broadcast service, when the UE (100) is in one of a RRC connected state, a RRC idle state and a RRC inactive state. Further, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to continue to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB when the UE (100) receives one of a RRC release and a RRC release with suspend configuration from the network entity (200) or a dataInactivityTimer timer is expired. Further, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to continue to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB when the UE (100) receives one of a RRC setup and a RRC resume from a network entity (200). The broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to perform at least one action based on the continuing to receive the MBS broadcast service and retain the broadcast MRB. The at least one action comprises retain a PTM configuration received from a MCCH, retain a PTM RLC entity for broadcast MRB, release all other RLC entities, retain MAC entity and MAC configuration for broadcast MRB, release all other MAC configurations, retain at least one of an initial BWP, a configured MBS BWP and a configured MBS CFR, release other BWP, retain DRX configuration and timers for PTM for MBS broadcast and retain HARQ buffer and configuration for PTM for MBS broadcast.)
sending, by the network to the wireless communication device using the broadcast signaling, the PTM configuration used for sending the plurality of MBSs. ([0289] In an embodiment, the broadcast MRB retention controller (160) is configured to receive at least one MBS broadcast service, when the UE (100) is in one of a RRC connected state, a RRC idle state and a RRC inactive state. … The at least one action comprises retain a PTM configuration received from a MCCH, ... )
Regarding Claim 17, Shrivastava teaches claim 16.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information is sent using signaling specific to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication information indicates that the wireless communication device is to obtain the PTM configuration from the broadcast signaling. ([0341] ... At 1710, the method includes receiving a dedicated signalling in the RRC connected mode for receiving configuration of the at least one MBS multicast service upon determining at least one associated configuration change in the RRC inactive state through at least one of the SIB, the MCCH, and the paging message. At 1712, the method includes receive a notification signalling and a configuration signalling in the RRC inactive state through at least one of the SIB, the MCCH, and the paging message. ... [0354] Accordingly, the embodiments herein provide methods for handling a MBS service in a wireless network. The method includes receiving, by a UE, a MBS Control Channel (MCCH) configuration and at least one parameter associated with the MCCH configuration in a System Information block (SIB). ... [0356] In an embodiment, the MCCH includes at least one of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a MCCH-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) providing at least one of a time domain allocation and a frequency domain allocation for receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) channel carrying a MCCH information message.)
Regarding Claim 18, Shrivastava teaches claim 17.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises an indication indicating that at least one of the PTM configuration or updates to the PTM configuration is received via the broadcast signaling. ([0388] In an embodiment, the at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
Regarding Claim 19, Shrivastava teaches claim 17.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises System Information Block (SIB) message, wherein the SIB message contains configuration for receiving the broadcast signaling. ([0286] The MBS service controller (140) is configured to receive a broadcast signalling message and determine that a configured MBS BWP or a CFR is one of same as CORESET index 0, same as the initial BWP or larger than an initial BWP. Based on the determination, the MBS service controller (140) is configured to configure a start and length of PRBs for one of the MBS BWP or the CFR, when the MBS BWP or the CFR for a broadcast service reception is larger than the initial BWP. The broadcast signalling message may be the MBS SIB (e.g. SIBx). Further, the MBS service controller (140) is configured to receive the MBS service from the configured MBS BWP or CFR.)
Regarding Claim 20, Shrivastava teaches claim 17.
Shrivastava further teaches wherein the indication information comprises broadcast signaling information which contains the PTM configuration for the at least one MBS. ([0290] In an embodiment, the multicast reception controller (170) is configured to continue reception of at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state when the network entity (200) releases the UE (100) from the RRC connected state and perform the action based on continuing reception of the at least one multicast service in the RRC inactive state. The at least one action comprises release a PTP configuration for the multicast service, release a PTP related RLC entity and MAC configuration, partially or fully reset a MAC entity, retain a PTM configuration for multicast in an inactive state, provide a configuration in an inactive state for the multicast service to the UE by a network entity through one of a broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signalling through at least one of a RRC reconfiguration, and a RRC release with suspend configuration, change a BWP configuration for the multicast from dedicated BWP to one of an initial BWP, configured MBS BWP and CFR, or continue with dedicated BWP for multicast service reception without actually being in a connected state, manage a DRX configuration for the multicast service reception in an inactive state.)
Regarding Claim 21, Shrivastava teaches claim 17.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a Short Message indicating updates to the PTM configuration, wherein the wireless communication device, in response to receiving the Short Message, performs an acquisition procedure to acquire the broadcast signaling for receiving the updates to the PTM configuration. ([0205] In an embodiment, an example signaling message structure is provided for the MCCH contents (i.e., DRX and PTM service configuration mapping) in the MCCH message as follows … [0383] ... The method includes sending, by a network entity, a MCCH signalling message to a UE. The MCCH signalling message includes at least one of a list of DRX scheduling configurations and a list of MBS service configurations. Further, the method includes mapping, by the network entity, the DRX scheduling configuration with a point-to-multipoint (PTM) service configuration based on an index of the DRX scheduling configuration provided in the PTM service configuration in the MCCH signalling message. ... [0275] The MCCH configuration and the at least one parameter associated with the MCCH configuration in the SIB is received by applying the MBS SIB acquisition procedure. ... )
Regarding Claim 22, Shrivastava teaches claim 17.
Shrivastava further teaches further comprising sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) via PDCCH indicating updates to the PTM configuration, wherein the wireless communication device, in response to receiving the DCI, performs an acquisition procedure to acquire the broadcast signaling for receiving the updates to the PTM configuration. ([0110] When there is change of MCCH contents, the UE (100) is informed by the change notification (PDCCH or DCI) in the first sub-frame and/or first slot in every repetition period for a pertinent MCCH. The UE (100) can then acquire the updated pertinent MCCH in the same first sub-frame and/or first slot and/or specified sub-frame and/or slot, where the pertinent MCCH is scheduled as per configuration by the SIB or MBS SIB. ... [0013 ... Also, such configuration involves SIB acquisition and processing delay, which can lead to possible loss of MCCH and thereby loss of MBS data. This is especially true for low latency and critical services ...)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0269828), Shrivastava hereinafter, in view of Liu (U.S. PGPub 2023/0254749), Liu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Shrivastava teaches claim 3.
Yet, Shrivastava does not expressly teach further comprising: monitoring, by the wireless communication device, System Information Block (SIB) message containing configuration for receiving the broadcast signaling; receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, the broadcast signaling containing the PTM configuration or the updates to the PTM configuration; and
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the updated PTM configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses further comprising: monitoring, by the wireless communication device, System Information Block (SIB) message containing configuration for receiving the broadcast signaling; ([0056] The terminal may obtain configuration of the PTM transmission path from a SIB, broadcast signaling, or dedicated signaling. For an MBS, there may be one or more MRBs. Each MRB bearer corresponds to one PTM transmission path. … and a PTM transmission path, and data is received from different paths and aggregated to the common PDCP layer ... [0064] In some implementations, according to the method in this embodiment of this application, the transmitting data of a target multicast service on a first transmission path includes: [0065] receiving first multicast service data on the PTM transmission path; )
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, the broadcast signaling containing the PTM configuration or the updates to the PTM configuration; ([0056] The terminal may obtain configuration of the PTM transmission path from a SIB, broadcast signaling, or dedicated signaling. For an MBS, there may be one or more MRBs. Each MRB bearer corresponds to one PTM transmission path. … and a PTM transmission path, and data is received from different paths and aggregated to the common PDCP layer ... [0064] In some implementations, according to the method in this embodiment of this application, the transmitting data of a target multicast service on a first transmission path includes: [0065] receiving first multicast service data on the PTM transmission path; )
and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the updated PTM configuration ([0056] The terminal may obtain configuration of the PTM transmission path from a SIB, broadcast signaling, or dedicated signaling. For an MBS, there may be one or more MRBs. Each MRB bearer corresponds to one PTM transmission path. … and a PTM transmission path, and data is received from different paths and aggregated to the common PDCP layer ... [0064] In some implementations, according to the method in this embodiment of this application, the transmitting data of a target multicast service on a first transmission path includes: [0065] receiving first multicast service data on the PTM transmission path; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shrivastava’s Methods and user equipment (UE) for handling MBS service in wireless network to include Liu's PTM configuration on SIB to achieve signaling efficiency through reduction in signaling overhead.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0269828), Shrivastava hereinafter, in view of Hong (U.S. PGPub 2023/0254749), Hong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Shrivastava teaches claim 7.
Yet, Shrivastava does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises receiving data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the PTM configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Hong explicitly discloses wherein the method further comprises receiving data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the PTM configuration ([0244] The RLC entity of unicast leg/path for PTP transmission may be configured in association with the logical channel identifier. Data may be received by scheduling indicated by the C-RNTI in the MAC. The RLC entity of the leg/path for PTM transmission may be configured in association with the RNTI capable of receiving data separate for each MBS session or for identifying the MBS session data transmission. Here, for convenience of description, MBS user data is denoted as NR-MTCH, but this is only for convenience of description and may be replaced with any other terms (e.g., MB Traffic Channel, Multicast Traffic Channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shrivastava’s Methods and user equipment (UE) for handling MBS service in wireless network to include Hong's reception of data corresponding to the at least one MBS based on the PTM configuration to achieve high spectrum efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0179580 which describes communication method
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0187823 which describes method and apparatus for new radio multicast broadcast service reception
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472