DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025 and 11/03/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “a logic control” this should be “the logic control”. Claim 16 line 4 “a logic control” this should be “the logic control”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lumsden US 8085010 in view of Johnson US 6169383.
Regarding Claim 1, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-8) A control system (at fig. 1) for regulating a three-phase power supply (19), the control system comprising: for each one of multiple sources of alternating current (each 19), the AC sources configured to supply respective input AC signals each with defined phases (phase of each phase), a control device (3-7 and 10-15) configured to receive an input AC signal from an AC source and a neutral signal (19 and 18), each control device comprising a gated regulating system (with the operation of 10 and control of the Triac/SCRs) configured to provide an output AC signal according to a predetermined threshold value of current (determined by 34, overcurrent conditions); a phase monitor (5-7) to receive the output AC signals from each of the control devices (sent from 4); and an output device (17) configured to output a three-phase power supply using the output AC signals (with 24). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Lumsden does not teach wherein the output device is configured to receive a control signal from the phase monitor, the control signal configured to regulate the output of the output device, wherein the control signal is calculated on the basis of at least one of the input AC signals and the output AC signals.
Johnson teaches (Figures 2 and 5-6) wherein the output device (s1-s3) is configured to receive a control signal from the phase monitor (16-18), the control signal configured to regulate the output of the output device (sent to 14), wherein the control signal is calculated on the basis of at least one of the input AC signals and the output AC signals (32, see fig. 5 with T1 and L1). (For Example; Col. 3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Lumsden to include wherein the output device is configured to receive a control signal from the phase monitor, the control signal configured to regulate the output of the output device, wherein the control signal is calculated on the basis of at least one of the input AC signals and the output AC signals, as taught by Johnson so that during start up, multiple loads can often experience potentially damaging high inrush currents and starting torques.
Regarding Claim 2, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-8) wherein each gated regulating system comprises a triode for AC (Triac) or silicon controlled rectifier (with 15, also see title). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Regarding Claim 3, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7)wherein the phase monitor (5-7) is further configured to receive the input AC signal (through 4). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Regarding Claim 4, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) a system.
Lumsden does not teach wherein the phase monitor is configured to generate the control signal by comparing a phase of the input AC signal with a phase of at least one of the output AC signals.
Johnson teaches (Figures 2 and 5-6) wherein the phase monitor (16-18) is configured to generate the control signal (from 18) by comparing a phase of the input AC signal with a phase of at least one of the output AC signals (32, see fig. 5 with T1 and L1). (For Example; Col. 3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Lumsden to include wherein the phase monitor is configured to generate the control signal by comparing a phase of the input AC signal with a phase of at least one of the output AC signals, as taught by Johnson so that during start up, multiple loads can often experience potentially damaging high inrush currents and starting torques.
Regarding Claim 5, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) wherein the output device is further configured to receive the neutral signal (see fig. 1 with 18 and letter D). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Regarding Claim 6, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) the system.
Lumsden does not teach wherein the phase monitor is further configured to independently monitor the output of each of the control devices.
Johnson teaches (Figures 2 and 5-6) wherein the phase monitor (16-18) is further configured to independently monitor the output of each of the control devices (32, see fig. 5 with each phase). (For Example; Col. 3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Lumsden to include wherein the phase monitor is further configured to independently monitor the output of each of the control devices, as taught by Johnson so that during start up, multiple loads can often experience potentially damaging high inrush currents and starting torques.
Regarding Claim 8, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) the system.
Lumsden does not teach wherein each control device comprises a logic control configured to control an output of a corresponding gated regulating system
Johnson teaches (Figures 2 and 5-6) wherein each control device (3-4 and 10-15) comprises a logic control (each 3-4 and 15) configured to control an output of a corresponding gated regulating system (with 15). (For Example; Col. 3-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Lumsden to include wherein each control device comprises a logic control configured to control an output of a corresponding gated regulating system, as taught by Johnson so that during start up, multiple loads can often experience potentially damaging high inrush currents and starting torques.
Regarding Claim 9, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7)wherein a logic control (with 10-13) is further configured to generate an output signal (from 10) for the gated regulating system configured to regulate a mode of operation of the gated regulating system between active (normal operation), inactive (shutdown operation) and energy saving modes of operation (user input energy saving operation). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Regarding Claim 16, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) a logic control (10-13) configured to use the input AC signal (at 19) to: generate a first input signal for a logic control from a zero-cross detector (with 5); generate a second input signal for the logic control from a current sensing circuit(overcurrent circuitry at 10); generate a third input signal for the logic control from a voltage sensing circuit (with 6); and generate, on the basis of the first, second and third input signals, the control signal for the gated regulating system (with 10 and 15), the control signal further configured to regulate the output of the gated regulating system (with the triac/scr). (For Example: Col. 6-7)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lumsden US 8085010 in view of Johnson 6169383 and further in view of Mulcahy US 6274851.
Regarding Claim 7, Lumsden teaches (Figures 1 and 3-7) the system.
Lumsden does not teach further comprising a transformer configured to supply a stepped-down power supply to at least one of the control devices and the phase monitor.
Mulcahy teaches (Figures 2 and 5-6) further comprising a transformer (20) configured to supply a stepped-down power supply to at least one of the control devices (at 32) and the phase monitor (at 18). (For Example; Col. 3 lines 55-67 Col. 4 lines 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Lumsden to include further comprising a transformer configured to supply a stepped-down power supply to at least one of the control devices and the phase monitor, as taught by Mulcany for reducing flicker in power lines when supplying a load.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838